This business is not BBB accredited.

Twist Salon

Phone: (510) 769-9909 1906 Encinal Ave, Alameda, CA 94501 http://www.twist-salon.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers all phases of hair styling, trimming, coloring, and cutting services. This company uses organic products and focuses on curly hair.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Twist Salon include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Twist Salon
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 30, 2013 Business started: 11/21/2011 Business started locally: 11/21/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Board of Barbering & Cosmetology
2420 Del Paso Rd Suite 100, Sacramento CA 95834
www.dca.ca.gov/barber
Phone Number: (800) 952-5210
barbercosmo@dca.ca.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Tami Quan, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tami Quan, Owner
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Beauty Salons

Service Area
This business service area covers: Greater Bay Area.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1906 Encinal Ave

    Alameda, CA 94501

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** at Twist Salon cut and colored my hair. The color damaged my hair so severely that it has been breaking off at the root and I have lost much of my hair. **** refused to refund my money unless I allow her to take pictures of the damage to send to the hair color company. I think she did not make an accurate evaluation of my hair and that she left the color on far too long while she attended to other clients. Product_Or_Service: Hair cut and color

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I spent over $250 on services at Twist and my hair is destroyed. I want my money back and I do not think it is appropriate for me to be required to have photographs taken of the damage. Nothing is going to undo what **** did to my hair, only time will resolve this. However she should take responsibility for her mistake.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/06) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** Owner Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****@twist-salon.com From the moment **** ***** asked for a refund in a letter to me that I received on 9/24/13, I have granted the request. The check is in my salon. I have simply asked that she come pick it up so that I can see the damage that she claims I caused. She initially agreed to do so but now refuses to do so. My most recent email correspondence to her summarizes this incident, and again shows that I will give her a refund. That email was dated 9/30/13 and I copy it here for your review: "Dear *** *****: As I have clearly indicated to you since you brought this issue to my attention, I am happy to refund your money. I have simply asked to see the damage that you claim has occurred to your hair as a result of the product that I used. I am very concerned if a product I use may harm a client's hair. As you know, I colored your hair on May 9, 2013, approximately five months ago. When you came in at that time, the ends of your hair were very damaged. As a result, I used a very mild, organic product to lowlight your hair and cut it. One month later, you called, stating that your hair was still very damaged and breaking off. I offered to provide a free deep conditioner for you, which you accepted. When you came in to the salon, I saw no breakage in your hair shaft. Further, my colleague that styled your hair that day did not see any breakage in your hair. Nonetheless, I gave you deep conditioner as I offered to do and did not charge you that day for the services I provided. In your letter to me that I received on September 24, 2013, you stated that you had subsequently had your hair cut "multiple times" by other stylists since you saw me last but that it was my product that caused your hair to break. I immediately offered you a full refund, but simply asked that you come into my salon to pick up the check so that I could see what damage you are referring to. As I stated then, if a product I use causes problems for my clients, I take that very seriously. Such an event has never happened in the 25 years I have been cutting/coloring hair. I simply asked to see what you described so that I could respond appropriately, which could include, among other things, to notify the company that produces the product. But I have always offered you a full refund, and this email chain substantiates that fact. Instead, you have refused to comply, even though you live in Alameda and my salon is a short distance for you to travel. If you change your mind about picking up your refund check, please let me know. I always strive to make all of my clients happy, and you are no exception. Sincerely, **** ****** I did ask for her to come in and mentioned that I would like to take a picture to show to my color company but I did not condition the refund on a photo. Furthermore, if you want copies of the email exchange documenting my multiple offers to *** ***** to provide her with a refund, I am willing to provide that to you. I have never been reported to the BBB and that I take this investigation very seriously, but I believe I have treated the situation in a professional and reasonable way. Thank you. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2013/10/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To repeat what I have already stated: 1. **** and her assistant indeed did note the damage to my hair when I returned to Twist Salon which is why they did a deep condition and sold me a $30 jar of deep conditioner with instructions to use it to repair the damage. If **** denies this now perhaps she would like to explain why she insisted at the time that I have the conditioning and continue to deep condition with the expensive product she sold me. 2. I have recently seen another salon for an evaluation of my hair and have sent a copy of the evaluation, which acknowledges severe damage and breakage, to **** as well as to the BBB and the California Board of Barbering and Cosmetology. 3. Other stylists I have seen after **** first damaged my hair have simply cut it but no other processing has been done. The damage was so severe it required cutting almost immediately after the initial cut. Although **** seems determined to lay the blame on others, the fault is entirely hers. 4. **** asserts that she has never had this happen before, yet she claims she must assess the damage to possibly stop using an entire line. This only reinforces my suspicion that it was not the product that was at fault but rather the way **** used it that caused the damage. 5. **** insists that it is convenient for me to come to her salon as it is so close to my home. Actually it is not just a few blocks and she is not in the salon at any times that are convenient for me - and she did not offer to make herself available at times that were. I work off hours and I have an hour commute each way and it is not at all easy for me to make time for something like this. However, I will say ****'s attitude about this reflects her generally inconsiderate and unprofessional approach to customer service. And, as I have stated previously, **** is so rude that I would never set foot in Twist Salon again for any reason. None of this is new. I have stated all of this in previous notes. Nothing that **** has said is new either, rather she simply repeats the same thing over and over. I am not interested in dragging this out any longer. I have informed **** by mail that if she does not refund my money within 10 business days of the receipt of the analysis of my hair by the independent salon I will take her to small claims court. If this happens, I will not only ask for the $250, I will also ask for a refund of the money for the product she sold me, the tip I gave her, the additional cuts and deep conditioning and products required to repair my hair, and any other damages I am entitled to by law. Believe me, everyone I know is aware of the damage to my hair as well as ****'s rude and unprofessional behavior thereafter. The longer she continues to refuse my perfectly reasonable refund request, the worse she makes the situation, and the worse she and her business look to other residents of Alameda. I simply want her to refund my $250 and to never have to interact with her again. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/10/20) */ Dear BBB: If you are going to publish any of this information, please include all of the email correspondence that occurred between ********* and myself, as she has only submitted to you half of our correspondence. I am attaching all of the email correspondence for your review. As you can see in the attached email thread, my first response to her was to offer her a full refund, which was long before she threatened to report me to the BBB or take me to small claims court. As I have reported from our initial interaction about this matter, I have her check at the salon for her to come pick up. She lives blocks from my salon. I do not believe asking her to come into my salon to show me the damage she claims she has suffered is unreasonable, especially since there was no breakage to her hair 30 days after the coloring occurred. Moreover, as I have maintained from the beginning, if a product that I use in my salon causes problems for my customers, I must report that and take steps to remove it from my salon. The problem here, among other things, is that ********* has admitted many other stylists have worked on her hair during the last five months. Nonetheless, I am not basing my decision to give her a refund on whether or not I agree or disagree with her claim that I have caused her alleged problem. But I need to make a professional assessment of her hair so that I can ensure that the products I use in my salon are safe. In your letter you suggest that both parties meet halfway. I feel that my offer to provide her with a full refund from the beginning is more than reasonable. I still have a check for $250.00 for ********* at the salon. What more, if anything, are you suggesting occur in this case? Thank you. On Wed, Sep 25, 2013 at 7:29 PM, Twist Salon <****@twist-salon.com> wrote: Hi ********** I got your letter and I would love for you to come in so I can see what is happening with your hair. I have no problem refunding the $250.00 but I am truly concerned about your hair. This is not something that I have ever experienced in my 25 years of doing hair. (OMG! I'm feeling old saying that.) Can you come in personally and get the check so I can see what is going on. I am at the salon all day Th (tomorrow) 1130 to 8 and F 3-8 and S 10-5. Thanks! -**** Twist Salon Sure, I can come in today at 1130. Thanks, *** ***** On Sep 26, 2013, at 9:54 AM, A ******** <****************@gmail.com> wrote: I'm sorry but I've been called into work so I won't be able to come today after all. The next few weeks are extremely busy for me but I have a vacation day in October and could come in on the 17th if you'll be there. I want to get a cut but there just isn't enough hair yet so maybe in December or January. Let me know if you'll be in on Oct 17. Would you mind mailing me the check? Thanks, *** ***** On Fri, Sep 27, 2013 at 10:01 AM, Twist Salon <****@twist-salon.com> wrote: ******** I really need to see your hair first for my records and to report this to the color company. I am going to take a picture of it and I have to see the type of breakage you are experiencing. As I said, this is not something that has ever happened to me with this color line. Please let me know when you can come in. **** On Sep 27, 2013, at 3:58 PM, A ******** <****************@gmail.com> wrote: As I said I wouldn't be able to come in until October and do not have time until then. If you are unwilling to refund the money for the procedure that ruined my hair I will just have to take the loss and suffer the damage. Thank you for your time. On Fri, Sep 27, 2013 at 4:18 PM, Twist Salon <****@twist-salon.com> wrote: I didn't say I was unwilling to refund I said I would like to see your hair and could you come in and personally pick up a check when I am here so I can see it. If it is not until October that you can stop by for 5 minutes that is okay its only 2-3 weeks away. I am not sure why you are responding in this way. **** On Fri, Sep 27, 2013 at 5:06 PM, A ******** <****************@gmail.com> wrote: It's generally good business practice to respond with a complaint such as mine with 1. an apology 2. an assurance that the problem will be resolved to the customer's satisfaction. It is generally not good business practice to place multiple conditions on that resolution or to accuse the customer of some imagined inappropriate response. You damaged my hair quite severely. It was through no fault of mine, the fault was yours entirely. If you chose not to issue a refund that is your decision entirely. I sincerely hope that no one ever does to you what you have done to me. On Sep 30, 2013, at 7:20 AM, A ******** wrote: **** at Twist Salon: I have not yet received a refund for the $250 you charged me for the cut and color which so severely damaged my hair that much of it is breaking off at the root. I have reported you to the Better Business Bureau. If I do not receive a refund from you by October 15 I will file for damages in small claims court. *** ***** ******** On Mon, Sep 30, 2013 at 6:00 PM, Twist Salon <****@twist-salon.com> wrote: Dear *** *****, As I have clearly indicated to you since you brought this issue to my attention, I am happy to refund your money. I have simply asked to see the damage that you claim has occurred to your hair as a result of the product that I used. I am very concerned if a product I use may harm a client's hair. As you know, I colored your hair on May 9, 2013, approximately five months ago. When you came in at that time, the ends of your hair were very damaged. As a result, I used a very mild, organic product to lowlight your hair and cut it. One month later, you called, stating that your hair was still very damaged and breaking off. I offered to provide a free deep conditioner for you, which you accepted. When you came in to the salon, I saw no breakage in your hair shaft. Further, my colleague that styled your hair that day did not see any breakage in your hair. Nonetheless, I gave you deep conditioner as I offered to do and did not charge you that day for the services I provided. In your letter to me that I received on September 24, 2013, you stated that you had subsequently had your hair cut "multiple times" by other stylists since you saw me last but that it was my product that caused your hair to break. I immediately offered you a full refund, but simply asked that you come into my salon to pick up the check so that I could see what damage you are referring to. As I stated then, if a product I use causes problems for my clients, I take that very seriously. Such an event has never happened in the 25 years I have been cutting/coloring hair. I simply asked to see what you described so that I could respond appropriately, which could include, among other things, to notify the company that produces the product. But I have always offered you a full refund, and this email chain substantiates that fact. Instead, you have refused to comply, even though you live in Alameda and my salon is a short distance for you to travel. If you change your mind about picking up your refund check, please let me know. I always strive to make all of my clients happy, and you are no exception. Sincerely, **** **** Date: October 1, 2013 5:02:07 AM PDT To: Twist Salon <****@twist-salon.com> ****, It is interesting that you say you didn't see any breakage and damage when I came in a month after my color, as you acknowledged it then, as did your assistant. In fact, you both told me at the time that I would need to do at least monthly deep conditioning to repair the damage, which is why I purchased the product you insisted would be helpful. It was quite expensive and did not resolve the problem at all. When I came to see you the last few inches of my hair were dry from previous color, however even that never caused my hair to break off as your color did. Interesting that you can remember that but not the breakage at my return visit, but for you to state now that you saw no breakage when I returned to your salon is telling. Either you didn't document properly or you are not being truthful. And that is what I expect will happen if I should return to your salon. This appears to be simply an opportunity for you to once again deny any damage or any responsibility. In reference to your insinuation that other stylists simply cutting my hair would cause it to break, I have had no other processing of my hair since I saw you. Simply cutting someone's hair does not cause it to break off at the root for months. Again, you are attempting to deny responsibility by blaming others for your actions and I believe ultimately your goal is to deny any problem and refuse a refund. And by the way, you did not simply request that I come into your salon. You ignored the date I gave you acting as though I'd never suggested one, demanded .. Business Response /* (4000, 21, 2013/11/28) */ Dear BBB- I have set up 2 times with ********* at great expense to myself. She chose the day and times and canceled (the day of) both times. I feel I have tried to handle this in a professional manner but ********* continues to email me and has sent me a voice mail stating her plans to disrupt my business. I have saved this threatening vm and have contacted the local police department. I have revoked all permission for her to enter my business. The attached email explains everything and the demands she has put on her coming to pick up her 250.00. I cannot continue this back and forth process with her anymore. -**** ********* I am in receipt of your voice mail dated 10/31/13 advising me that you have now agreed to come into my salon and pick up the refund check I offered to you on 9/25/13. I have retained a copy of your voice mail for my records. The tone of your voice mail indicates that you intend to come into my salon during business hours for the sole purpose of causing a scene and disrupting my business. I want to avoid a problematic situation with you and prefer that you pick up your requested refund and leave. Therefore, you have my permission to enter my store during the following times only for the sole purpose of picking up your check and showing me what you claim my products have done to your hair over six months ago: 1. Sunday 11/3/13 10a-12p 2. Sunday 11/3/13 2p-4p 3. Monday 11/4/13 1p-2:30p 4. Tuesday 11/5/13 9a-10a Please confirm with me in writing when you intend to appear. I have the right to refuse access to anyone in my business. Despite my repeated efforts to resolve this issue with you in a professional manner, the tone of your voice mail indicates to me that you intend to come into my store when custormers are present to disrupt my business and show "everyone what I have done," Therefore, you do not have my permission to enter my store at any other time other than the time we agree upon for any purpose. If you appear at any other time than the time we agree to, I may call law enforcement and ask them for assistance. Please let me know which of the above times work for you. If you need more dates/ times let me know and I will give you more options. Thank you. **** ****, I have retained a copy of your letter threatening to take legal action against me for reviewing you and the damage you did to my hair, as well as the above email threatening to call the police if I voice my concern about the damage in your shop. Feel free to proceed with your "legal consultation" if you feel it necessary, however a quick review of other business's attempts to do so will indicate the inadvisability of such action as my right to free speech is protected. I don't appreciate being threatened for exercising my constitutional right to voice my opinion and would certainly respond with my own legal action. I hope you would be prepared for the negative publicity such action would generate. Perhaps your legal expert can counsel you on this. I encourage you to approach your clients with an appropriate level of customer service in the future, for the benefit of your business. You have done more damage to yourself than anyone else ever could. If you had simply offered me some dates that were convenient for me when I first contacted you, you could have avoided multiple complaints against you. Your claim that you deny any damage to my hair when I returned to your salon the first time is false, your claim that other people who simply cut my hair after you over-processed it is false, your claim that you didn't place conditions on a refund is false. The severe damage to my hair has been documented by a third party. It is of great concern to me that you continue to make the same false statements over and over again in the face of the facts and that you prefer to let your anger dictate your actions rather than true concern for your clients and your business. The next time you have a complaint and/or a negative review on Yelp, you might consider controlling your anger for the benefit of your business. And by the way, the Better Business Bureau did not "dismiss" my consumer complaint, they simply did not have the ability to make any decision other than to note that you had offered a conditional refund. I spoke to the BBB representative on the phone who explained this, and in fact she encouraged me to pursue the matter in Small Claims Court and to also complain to the California Board of Cosmetology. I can certainly understand why you would not want anyone else to see the damage you have done to my hair. I would not have to say a word for this to be a huge warning sign for anyone considering the use of your services. Despite your false accusations, I have no interest in "causing a scene" or "disrupting your business." In fact, as you are well aware, I have no desire to ever enter your business again under any circumstances. And although you have the right to refuse access to anyone in your business, you have repeatedly insisted that I do enter it. I sincerely hope you can settle on some opinion on this matter. None of the dates you have proposed above are convenient for me on such short notice however I would be able to come on Monday, November 11 between 1pm and 3pm. I will be bringing a friend as a witness. I will not do anything that might give any passersby the impression that I am a client. I will not allow pictures to be taken, I will not sit in a chair and I will not allow you to touch me. Please confirm that the above date and time is acceptable. ********* Okay. See you Monday November 11 between 1-3. (from ****) You may have one and only one other person present. No still pictures, video or audio taping are acceptable. I will stay no longer than 10 minutes. If you argue or become confrontational I will leave and you will see me in court. (from *********) I can't come today however I can come tomorrow between 1pm and 3pm. Please confirm your availability as well as your understanding and acceptance of the conditions in my previous email. (from *********) Dear ********* I have made repeated efforts to provide you with the refund you have requested and to see what damage you claim was caused to your hair. I have provided you with numerous times to come to my salon yet you are still unable to come to a resolution with me. I made arrangements today for you to come to my salon today to accommodate your schedule and now you have cancelled, which you have done before. I cannot continue to engage in this unreasonable process with you. My offer to provide you with a refund is off the table. Please do not contact me again. (from ****)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Twist Salon
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)