BBB Accredited Business since

Mechanics Banks

Phone: (800) 797-6324 1111 Civic Dr. Suite 688, Walnut Creek, CA 94596 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers banking services for individuals and commercial accounts.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mechanics Banks meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mechanics Banks
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1905 Business started locally: 01/01/1905 Business incorporated 08/03/1907 in CA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Rauly Butler, Excutive Vice President/D Ester Tan, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rauly Butler, Excutive Vice President/D
Number of Employees


Business Category

Banks Banking Services Loans Loans - Small Business

Service Area
This business service area covers the bay area.
Alternate Business Names
Mechanics Bank Mechanics Bank of Richmond

Additional Locations

  • 1111 Civic Dr. Suite 688

    Walnut Creek, CA 94596


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
5/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/14/14, teller ******* ****** at ******* branch received and stamped deposit ticket acknowledging $2,327.50 in cash deposit. On 2/18/14, teller debited account for $2,327.50. Days later when I visited the bank, teller claimed she did not receive the cash. The cash was given to the teller. Therefore, my account should be immediately credited. The manager and EVP ***** ****** have refused to do anything.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Immediate credit of $2,327.50.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/04/16) */ I have been in contact directly with Mr. ******* and have discussed this matter with him. We have conducted a thorough review of the transactions performed by Mr. ******* on that day and the manner in which he conducts his transactions. Our determination is that the Bank employee did not receive the cash listed on the deposit slip and we have denied Mr. ******'s request for reimbursement. Mr. ******* told me that he can neither prove nor disprove whether the employee receive the cash. Our records indicate that the employee balanced and that the other employees and cash machines in the branch balanced. I have worked with the employee for the past 19 years and I have personal knowledge of her skills, ability and integrity. Mr. ******* is very aware that his deposit was taken by the Assistant Manager of the branch, yet he pointedly refers to her as a teller. She is a highly skilled employee who was presented with multiple deposits in an unorganized manner and the manner in which Mr. *******' presents cash to a bank employee creates a credible argument for the error in processing. Sincerely, ***** ****** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2014/04/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response from Mr. ****** offers no evidence that my cash deposit was not made. There is no credible argument or justification for the bank to take my cash - it is simply wrong. Any benefit of the doubt should be given to me. The evidence clearly shows that the cash deposit was made, as evidenced by the stamped deposit slip. I would also like to view the video surveillance. If the cameras are pointed towards Ms. ******* the cameras will show that she repeatedly left the counter during my transactions. This repeated action alone, allowed ample opportunity for cash to go missing. Mr. ******'s claim that a "through review" was made is disingenuous. The decision determining that the cash was not received was made prior to any person from the bank interviewing me, including Mr. ******. Why wasn't the debit made on the same day of deposit? Mr. ****** sides with Ms. ****** because of her "skills, ability and integrity." However, if we follow the logic of Mr. ******, is is inconstant with the facts. At a minimum, Ms. ****** made at least two serious errors including the stamped deposit ticket and the wrong debit amount that was posted on 2/18/14. Furthermore, as Mr. ****** pointed out, Ms. ****** is the "Assistant Manager of the branch". Therefore, along with her many years of experience, Ms. ****** should be held to an even higher standard of service. Consequently, her serious errors, or worse, become even more troubling. Of course, we are all human and can make errors in both judgement and actions, especially if the person is ill, as Ms. ****** appeared to be. Mechanics Bank can easily settle this matter. Why is the Bank fighting me and escalating this matter? It does not have to be that one side is right and the other side is wrong. For over 40 years, I have made thousands of deposits with no cash being debited. The evidence and presumption of deposit is definitely in my favor. The only ethical and responsible solution is for Mechanics Bank to mail me a check for the lost cash of $2,327.50.

4/11/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Between the dates of 12/17/13-2/18/14, I had a series of (obvious) fraudulent charges (that were transacted via my bank's debit card, but used like a credit card) hit my checking account over an extended period, and amounting to approximately $6,100. I didn't discover these charges until 2/18/14, when I called the bank's customer service number over a another matter. The customer service person brought this to my attention. I immediately asked the bank to stop my card and I immediately filed a formal fraud notice with the bank. The discovery was made within the legal requirements of 60 days, from the start of the events, based on my bank's statement for December, 2013, being generated, on or near, 1/1/14, and reporting this entire event to the bank of 2/18/14. I had the following charges hit my account on these months:December, 2013: $1,460.51-fraud charges were: PayPal, SKR, MSFT XBOXJanuary, 2014: $3,222.61-fraud charges were: SKR, MSFT XBOX, Fed X, February, 2014: $1,443.65-fraud charges were: SKR, MSFT XBOXThere is no doubt in my mind that the bank should have caught the fraud nearly immediately, on or near December, 17, 2013, as there was obvious fraudulent charges/activities occurring to my account and that somehow (debit card number/without a PIN) my account had been compromised. This event clearly showed the bank has very poor security (inferior security) protection for their accountholders. At this point, the bank's representatives, namely ***** ******, Executive Vice President, Mechanics Bank, are somehow making me feel I may be liable for these charges, as well as the bank", and that I "may not get back all my stolen funds, despite providing the bank with sufficient information indicating to them that all charges/debits from my account were fraudulent.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund All funds be paid back to my account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/03/26) */ Re: ************************* Complaint XXXXXXXX I received your correspondence regarding the above referenced client. Much of the detail in the complaint to you is accurate and only a few key facts were omitted, but those facts guide us on how this claim must be handled. Also as pointed out in the complaint, I have been in regular contact with Mr. *******. The account is a business account and is under the name referenced above. Business accounts do not have the same protections afforded to consumers by Regulation E. There is ** requirement for provisionary credit, and there is liability to the company for fraudulent transactions. Mr. ******* omitted the fact that our call center agent pointed out the transactions to him during a call and that most of these fraudulent charges could have been avoided if he had reviewed his account statements and notified us earlier of the theft. On behalf of Mr. *******, we filed 25 charge back claims. We were limited to a maximum of 25 charge back requests although more had occurred. We filed these claims on his behalf and at our expense. These charge back requests will cost us approximately $1,250.00, and we incurred these fees out of our desire to help our client ************************** The charge backs can be disputed for up to 45 days and the charge backs were performed on Feb 21, 2014, or 31 days ago. Once that time has expired, we will credit the account with the undisputed proceeds. At this time, we hope to be able to recover most of the monies stolen from the account. With respect to our software, we use a national company which processes transactions for over 700 banks. The software in use by us is very good at detecting fraud, but today's criminals are professionals and are adept at avoiding detection by these software programs. Thank you for your inquiry. We hope to conclude this matter as soon as the charge back dispute period has ended, which is approximately 14 days from today. Sincerely, ***** ******

3/5/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mechanics Bank charges service fees, $5/Month since April 2013 to November 2013 on my saving account. They forgot to link to my checking account when I opened the checking account. I was told that I needed to keep minimum of $1,000 in my new checking account to avoid service charges on the Saving Account & Checking Account when I opened the checking account. However, I discovered that the Mechanics Bank had charged the service fee of $5 since April, 2013 when I checked E-Statement on December 5th, 2013.They charged me the service fees, total of $40 because they made a mistake when I opened my checking account. They forgot to link my Saving Account and Checking Account.I contacted the Mechanics Bank via their secure online email system, called XXX-XXX-XXXX & XXX XXX-XXXX, and visited them to have the fee refunded. A teller at the bank requested the fees refunded on December 18. However, they do not refund the fees. Product_Or_Service: Saving Account Account_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like to have the service fees of $40 refunded.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/02/26) */ Regarding Ms. ******, she was entirely correct and the fees should have never been incurred. I sent her an email apologizing for the incident and I have refunded her the $40 in fees she wrote about. Thanks for making us aware of the complaint. It was a pleasure to help Ms. ******. ***** ****** EVP & Director of Retail Banking **** ******* **** *** ********* *** XXXXX Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 11, 2014/03/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mechanics Banks
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)