This business is not BBB accredited.

Bank of The West

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 488-2265 180 Montgomery Street, San Francisco, CA 94104 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.bankofthewest.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers banking services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bank of The West include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 136 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

136 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 45 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 42
Billing/Collection Issues 11
Delivery Issues 20
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 62
Total Closed Complaints 136

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on Bank of The West
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 7
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1977 Business started: 06/01/1972 Business started locally: 06/01/1972
Business Management
Jeff Jaffee, Complaints Branch Manager Headquarters, Manager Darcey Horejsh, Compliance Suppor Officer Christie Matos, Manager Mr. Michael Shepherd, President & CEO Shelly Tallakson, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Jeff Jaffee, Complaints
Number of Employees

10,000

Business Category

Banks Banking Services Loans Mortgage Bankers

Alternate Business Names
Bank of the West Headquarters
Products & Services

This company offers


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bank of The West has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1450 Treat Blvd.

    Walnut Creek, CA 94597

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    149 Park Rd

    Burlingame, CA 94010

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1601 Washington Avenue

    San Leandro, CA 94577

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    180 Montgomery Street

    San Francisco, CA 94104

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    19005 Colima Road

    Rowland Heights, CA 91748

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1969 Diamond Blvd

    Concord, CA 94520

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    20 Petaluma Blvd. South

    Petaluma, CA 94952

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2050 N. California

    Walnut Creek, CA 94596

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2507 Somersville Rd

    Antioch, CA 94509

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    295 Bush Street

    San Francisco, CA 94104

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3305 Broadway

    Oakland, CA 94611

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    505 Montgomery

    San Francisco, CA 94111 (800) 488-2265

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5120 Mowry Ave

    Fremont, CA 94538

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    520 Main Ave

    Fargo, ND 58124

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5901 Menaul Blvd NE

    Albuquerque, NM 87110

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1070 73rd St

    Clive, IA 50311

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    211 E Boston Ave

    Indianola, IA 50125

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2596 Hubbell Ave

    Des Moines, IA 50317

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    307 S Jefferson Way

    Indianola, IA 50125

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    411 N Ankeny Blvd

    Ankeny, IA 50023

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4444 1st Avenue NE Sutie 3203

    Cedar Rapids, IA 52402

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4885 Mills Civic Pkwy

    West Des Moines, IA 50265

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    525 Main St

    Ames, IA 50010

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    700 1st Ave NE

    Cedar Rapids, IA 52401

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    801 Grand Ave Ste 300

    Des Moines, IA 50309

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    802 S Center St

    Marshalltown, IA 50158

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13080 W 87th Street Pkwy

    Lenexa, KS 66215

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13080 West 87th St Parkway

    Lenexa, KS 66215

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3121 S Highway 7

    Blue Springs, MO 64015

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4610 S Noland Rd

    Independence, MO 64055

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6263 Nall Ave

    Mission, KS 66202

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    700N NE State Route 291

    Lees Summit, MO 64086

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    740 NW Blue Pkwy

    Lees Summit, MO 64086

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    101 E Newburg Ave

    Mabel, MN 55954

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    123 N Jefferson

    Minneota, MN 56264

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14125 Saint Francis Blvd

    Ramsey, MN 55303

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    150 W Villard St Ste 1

    Dickinson, ND 58601

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    201 W James St

    Paynesville, MN 56362

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    501 Dakota Ave

    Wahpeton, ND 58075

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    520 Main Ave 4th Fl

    Fargo, ND 58124

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    520 Main Ave Fl 8
    Corporate Compliance

    Fargo, ND 58124

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 107

    Paynesville, MN 56362

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 367

    Mabel, MN 55954

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 878

    Wahpeton, ND 58074

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 88

    Minneota, MN 56264

  • 12255 W Center Rd

    Omaha, NE 68144

  • 13220 California St

    Omaha, NE 68154

  • 1330 E 23rd St
    PO Box 1239

    Fremont, NE 68025

  • 13506 W Maple Rd

    Omaha, NE 68164

  • 13737 Q St

    Omaha, NE 68137

  • 16808 Harrison St

    Omaha, NE 68136

  • 18102 Wright St

    Omaha, NE 68130

  • 1921 Harney St

    Omaha, NE 68102

  • 2103 S 16th St

    Lincoln, NE 68502

  • 2710 Dan Ave

    Lincoln, NE 68504

  • 2714 23rd St
    PO Box 1187

    Columbus, NE 68601

  • 301 W 4th St

    North Platte, NE 69101

  • 3301 W State St

    Grand Island, NE 68803

  • 3520 N 90th St

    Omaha, NE 68134

  • 4009 Twin Creek Dr

    Bellevue, NE 68123

  • 425 Walker St
    PO Box 3

    Woodbine, IA 51579

  • 4407 2nd Ave

    Kearney, NE 68847

  • 4444 Farnam St

    Omaha, NE 68131

  • 4724 S 24th St

    Omaha, NE 68107

  • 4860 S 96th St

    Omaha, NE 68127

  • 5007 Grover St

    Omaha, NE 68106

  • 5225 O St

    Lincoln, NE 68510

  • 5700 Village Blvd

    Lincoln, NE 68516

  • 5901 NW Radial Hwy

    Omaha, NE 68104

  • 602 W Norfolk Ave

    Norfolk, NE 68701

  • 633 N 6th St

    Beatrice, NE 68310

  • 712 Durant St

    Harlan, IA 51537

  • 8125 S 84th St

    La Vista, NE 68128

  • 8510 W Dodge Rd

    Omaha, NE 68114

  • 8707 W Center Rd

    Omaha, NE 68124

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    120 S Main St.

    Wichita, KS 67202

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1222 Kansas Avenue

    Great Bend, KS 67530

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    225 North Main

    Wichita, KS 67202

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    324 W 14th St

    Larned, KS 67550

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    829 East 30th Avenue

    Hutchinson, KS 67502

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1000 W 6th St

    Pueblo, CO 81003

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    125 N Commercial St

    Trinidad, CO 81082

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10 Shoshone Ave

    Green River, WY 82935

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1000 N Summit Blvd

    Frisco, CO 80443

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    106 N French St

    Breckenridge, CO 80424

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1075 W Horsetooth Rd

    Fort Collins, CO 80526

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1515 Del Range Blvd

    Cheyenne, WY 82001

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2 N Main St

    Sheridan, WY 82801

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2200 E Lincolnway

    Cheyenne, WY 82001

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    222 E Garfield St

    Laramie, WY 82070

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    300 S Wolcott St

    Casper, WY 82601

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    302 N 1st St

    Saratoga, WY 82331

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    303 E 6 St

    Loveland, CO 80537

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    410 S. E. Wyoming Blvd

    Casper, WY 82609

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    415 Mountain Ave

    Berthoud, CO 80513

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4290 W 10th St

    Greeley, CO 80634

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    440 Budd Ave

    Big Piney, WY 83113

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10050 Coors Blvd NW

    Albuquerque, NM 87114

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12127 N Hwy 14

    Cedar Crest, NM 87008

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1422 Carlisle Blvd NE

    Albuquerque, NM 87110

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1601 Arenal St SW

    Albuquerque, NM 87105

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2101 Eubank Blvd NE

    Albuquerque, NM 87112

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2351 Main St SE

    Los Lunas, NM 87031

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3201 Juan Tabo Blvd NE

    Albuquerque, NM 87111

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3733 Isleta Blvd SW

    Albuquerque, NM 87105

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3735 Southern Blvd

    Rio Rancho, NM 87124

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    402 Main St

    Delta, CO 81416

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4221 San Mateo Blvd NE

    Albuquerque, NM 87110

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    500 Dr Martin Luther King Jr Ave NE

    Albuquerque, NM 87102

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    500 Marquette Ave NW Ste 1400

    Albuquerque, NM 87102

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5228 Central Ave SW

    Albuquerque, NM 87105

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5301 Central Ave NE

    Albuquerque, NM 87108

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5401 Gibson Blvd SE

    Albuquerque, NM 87108

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5501 Jefferson St NE

    Albuquerque, NM 87109

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5901 Menaul Blvd NE

    Albuquerque, NM 87110

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6125 4th St NW

    Albuquerque, NM 87107

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6600 Central Ave SW

    Albuquerque, NM 87121

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6701 Academy Rd NE

    Albuquerque, NM 87109

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    780 Juan Tabo Blvd NE

    Albuquerque, NM 87123

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    795 S Telshor Blvd

    Las Cruces, NM 88011

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1 (one) Garden Center

    Broomfield, CO 80020

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10393 N Huron St

    Northglenn, CO 80233

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10425 W Colfax Av

    Lakewood, CO 80215

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12080 Colorado Bv

    Thornton, CO 80241

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13781 E Yale Ave

    Aurora, CO 80014

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    16778 Smoky Hill Rd

    Aurora, CO 80015

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2 Steele St

    Denver, CO 80206

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    215 S Wadsworth Bv

    Lakewood, CO 80226

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2700 S Colorado Bv

    Denver, CO 80222

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3033 E 1st Av

    Denver, CO 80206

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3102 S Sheridan Bv

    Denver, CO 80227

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    330 S Dayton St

    Denver, CO 80231

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3531 S Logan St #a

    Englewood, CO 80110

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    600 17th St. #100N

    Denver, CO 80202

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6050 S Holly St

    Englewood, CO 80111

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6941 S University Bv

    Littleton, CO 80122

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    700 5th Av

    Longmont, CO 80501

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    700 S Abline St

    Aurora, CO 80012

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7111 W Alameda Av #e

    Lakewood, CO 80226

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7120 E County Line Rd

    Highlands Ranch, CO 80126

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7310 E Arapahoe Rd

    Englewood, CO 80112

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7326 Magnolia St

    Commerce City, CO 80022

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7575 W 44th Av

    Wheat Ridge, CO 80033

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7995 E Hampden Av

    Denver, CO 80231

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9111 W Bowles Av

    Littleton, CO 80123

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Po Box 17028 Ta

    Denver, CO 80217

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3549 S Peoria Ave

    Tulsa, OK 74105

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6100 E. 51st

    Tulsa, OK 74135

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9140 W Emerald St Ste 100

    Boise, ID 83704

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2110 W Shaw Ave

    Fresno, CA 93711

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2339 Kamehameha Hwy

    Honolulu, HI 96819

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2980 W Sahara Ave

    Las Vegas, NV 89102

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9021 W Sahara Ave

    Las Vegas, NV 89117

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2976 N Carson St

    Carson City, NV 89706

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4950 Kietzke Ln

    Reno, NV 89509

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    855 Sparks Blvd

    Sparks, NV 89434

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1112 Galleria Blvd

    Roseville, CA 95678

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13299 E Highway 88

    Lockeford, CA 95237

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    134 S Maag Ave

    Oakdale, CA 95361

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1340 N El Dorado St

    Stockton, CA 95202

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1401 Oakdale Rd

    Modesto, CA 95355

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1531 1st St

    Escalon, CA 95320

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1651 Response Rd.

    Sacramento, CA 95815

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2101 Fulkerth Rd

    Turlock, CA 95380

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2277 Watt Ave.

    Sacramento, CA 95825

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2581 Fair Oaks Blvd

    Sacramento, CA 95825

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3801 Pelandale Ave

    Modesto, CA 95356

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4932 Pacific Ave

    Stockton, CA 95207

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5555 N Pershing Ave

    Stockton, CA 95207

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    601 J St

    Sacramento, CA 95814

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7381 Greenback Lane

    Citrus Heights, CA 95621

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7810 Thornton Rd

    Stockton, CA 95207

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    EL Dorado Branch
    P.O. Box 201074

    Stockton, CA 95207

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    103 E Memory Ln

    Santa Ana, CA 92705

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11051 Beach Blvd

    Stanton, CA 90680

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12976 Main St

    Garden Grove, CA 92840

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1330 S Beach Blvd #A

    La Habra, CA 90631

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14477 Culver Dr

    Irvine, CA 92604

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3021 Yorba Linda Blvd

    Fullerton, CA 92831

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    311 S State College Blvd

    Brea, CA 92821

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4501 E La Palma Ave

    Anaheim, CA 92807

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    611 Anton

    Costa Mesa, CA 92626

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    619 S Brookhurst St

    Anaheim, CA 92804

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    701 E 1st St

    Tustin, CA 92780

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1036 State St.

    Santa Barbara, CA 93101

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1794 S Victoria Ave # A

    Ventura, CA 93003

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7525 W. Canal Drive

    Kennewick, WA 99336

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3041 S Kinney Rd

    Tucson, AZ 85713

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7225 N Oracle Rd STE 100

    Tucson, AZ 85704

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7901 E Speedway Blvd

    Tucson, AZ 85710

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9140 W Emerald St Ste 100

    Boise, ID 83704

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7525 W. Canal Drive

    Kennewick, WA 99336

  • 1301 Molalla Ave

    Oregon City, OR 97045

  • 16200 SW PCF Hwy Ste J2

    Portland, OR 97224

  • 810 W Broadway

    Portland, OR 97205

  • 905 NE Halsey St

    Portland, OR 97232

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service
7/1/2016 Delivery Issues
6/15/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
6/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/9/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
5/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/25/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/24/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/6/2016 Delivery Issues
4/30/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/10/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/29/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/22/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service
2/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/27/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/12/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bank of the West representatives continue to call to solicit products after multiple requests were given to stop. Representatives from Bank of the West on XXXXX W***************************** continue to call us soliciting their products although they have been told not to. The first time was directly from the ****** and a message was left advising us to call them back in reference to our bank account. When we returned the call expecting that there was an issue with our accounts, we were then solicited products by the male representative. We politely declined and asked him not to call unless their was an actual issue with our accounts. Roughly a month later, the same male representative left a similar message and when the call was returned, the same pitch was made. Again, we directed the individual to never call us in regard to product solicitation and to only call us if there is a specific issue with our accounts. This was followed by a threat from us to close all accounts and move to another bank if the calls continued. The agreement was made and the call was concluded. Months later, on the 3rd of December 2015, another call was made by a Bank of the West representative. This time it was a female and again pitches were made. It was not clear whether or not the call was placed by Corporate or by the ****** itself. It was relayed to the representative that attempts have been made to cease the calls with the threat of closing the accounts and moving the funds to a different bank. The representative was extremely apologetic and a request was made by us to document in "our files" to not call for any solicitations. I would like to file this complaint to make it very clear of our request to be removed from their list of telemarketing. And that this complaint will serve as their final warning. Any further calls from any ******, corporate offices, or any other representative of the Bank of the West for any reason, other than issues with our accounts, will result in the closure of all accounts associated with them, and possible litigation.

Desired Settlement: Stop calling and soliciting products. I have been a customer for about 20 years (previously Commercial Federal Bank). Solicitations have never been an issue until this last summer. I understand the need to pitch products, but when a customer asks you to discontinue the calls, the accommodation is expected.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/12/23) */ December 18, 2015 VIA FACSIMILE ONLY (XXX) XXX-XXXX ***** ********** Dispute Resolution Specialist Better Business Bureau 1000 Broadway, Suite 625 Oakland, CA XXXXX Re: Case No.: XXXXXXXX **** ******* Dear Ms. *********** The above referenced letter submitted to your office by **** ******* has been referred to me for review and response on behalf of Bank of the West (the "Bank"). To summarize the complaint, Mr. ******* states that the Bank continues to solicit its products and services to him when he has previously advised the Bank not to. He would like the Bank to cease marketing calls to him, or he will consider closing his accounts. The Bank is committed to fair and responsible banking and we take allegations of conduct contrary to these principles very seriously. We first wish to apologize for the amount of time and effort it has taken Mr. ******* to resolve this issue. On December 3, 2015 upon Mr. *******'s phone call to the Bank's Customer Service Contact Center, he was placed on the Bank's "Do Not Call List." No further solicitation calls will be made to Mr. *******. If Mr. ******* should have any further questions or concerns, he *** contact ***** ******** Eagle Run Customer Service Manager, at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. We trust this letter satisfactorily addresses Mr. *******'s concerns. Sincerely, /s/ ******* ****** Senior Vice President Corporate Compliance Equal Housing Lender *** **** Avenue ****** ** XXXXX Member FDIC Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2015/12/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

12/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
12/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service
11/26/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
11/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service
10/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
9/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
9/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/14/2015 Delivery Issues
9/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service
9/8/2015 Delivery Issues
8/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service
7/14/2015 Delivery Issues
6/25/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/12/2015 Delivery Issues
6/5/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/12/2015 Delivery Issues
5/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service
5/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/10/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/30/2015 Delivery Issues
3/30/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 18th, 2015, I paid off the remaining balance on a vehicle loan I had with Bank of the West. On March 2nd, 2015, I received the title in the mail. On March 3rd, 2015, $150.68 was deducted from my checking account via automatic bill pay. This amount is what I was paying monthly on the loan. I realized after the money was deducted that I forgot to cancel the automatic bill pay with my bank. Since March 3rd, I have been trying to get Bank of the West to return the last payment of $150.68 as this money was sent in error. I have contacted Bank of the West once by email and three times by phone to try and expedite this matter. Unfortunately, I still have not received the money due to me. Each time I have spoken to a customer service representative on the telephone, I have been told that the bank would hold the money for ten days and then send me a check. Yesterday was the 15th business day and still do not have the money! Frankly I am tired of hearing the same story every time I call!

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I am requesting that Bank of the West return the $150.68 that was sent to them in error to me immediately!

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2015/03/24) */ Payment was received on March 23rd. You *** close the case. Thank you for your assistance.

3/4/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been attempting to get an official lien release and signed title for two months now on a boat loan we paid off in 2009. We recently sold this boat and the new owner can't register it with the documents that were sent to us by Bank of the West. He is now talking about cancelling the sale because we can't get a valid lien release. I have called numerous times and have been placed on hold for a minimum of an hour each time. Today I waited an hour just to be told "system problems" please call back. I have sent written requests to the address given to me and numerous faxes. I have only gotten lip service and no documents. Product_Or_Service: 2005 Premier Pontoon Castaway Model Account_Number: Loan XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want Bank of the West to send me the official lien release and signed title as soon as possible.

3/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/24/2015 Delivery Issues
2/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service
1/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/13/2015 Delivery Issues
12/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/18/2014 Delivery Issues
12/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Bank of the West to get my final payoff in August 2014. The representative informed me that I had until September 22, 2014 to send in my payoff on my vehicle. She told me that I had to mail my payment stub in with the check for my last payment. I had also called the automated phone system to check my payoff and it had the same date. On August 26, 2014 I received letter in them mail telling me that my account had matured and past due. It also stated that it was payable in full within fifteen(15) days from the date of the letter which was August 21, 2014. I received the letter on August 26 so 5 days had already passed. I live in ******* and the letter was mailed from ****** ******** to *******. I contacted Bank of the West and explained that my final payment was due on September 22,2014 and not September 5, 2014 and they said that their records did not show that date. I explained that I was out of town and could not mail it in. The representative ********* told me that I could have called it in and I explained to her that I was told it had to be mailed in because I had tried to pay it by phone. When I returned from out of town, I mailed the payment but it was on September 8, 2014, 3 days after the 5th. When I called to see if the payment had been received I spoke to ********* and she told me that she had to report a charge-off on my account because it had missed the September 5, 2014 deadline. I told her that I did not think that was fair because I had been told the given the wrong information. She stated that even after they receive the payment it will show up on my credit report as a charged-off paid. I told her that I did not agree with this and it was not acceptable to me. I do not want my credit damaged because of their representatives giving me incorrect information. I traced my the letter mailed through the post office and they received it on September 10, 2014 but as of September 16, 2014 the payment has not been posted.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like my report from Bank of the West to all of the major credit bureaus to state that my account was paid in full instead of charged off paid.

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (2000, 22, 2014/11/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I accept the response because the charge off will be removed from my record.

11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Charged 2 x by local merchant, Bank of the West refused to credit my account $44.90, evan though the merchant called bank to ask for same day release I was charged twice by a local pizza place, the amount of $44.90. The first transcaction lost communication w/ bank host. Second attempt went thru & I was properly deducted my $44.90. I called Bank of the West to check balance & a ******* said "oh by the way, you were charged 2x @ the pizza place", so call them & they can call us with a code from his bank/merchant services and we can release the 2nd amount. I called pizza place told the owner ***** & he said he will call & get code. He called me back, gave me code, I called bank spoke to a ***** & he said "no the owner has to have his bank call us @ Bank of the West to give this code". So I called pizza owner ***** back & asked him to call my bank. He did, he did a 3 way call & his bank told me my bank refused to do the same day release of $44.90 that was pending. So I called Bank of the West back spoke to a ***** & he said I would have to have pizza owners bank fax something to have it released. At that time i wasnt patient an asked to speak to a manager, then spoke to someone name ***** "mananger". She was basically a middle man & said NO, there is no way to release the pending transaction, I would have to wait 3-5 days for my credit. Then I wanted to speak to someone above her & she said they were all busy & could get my number & they would "try" and call me back today, maybe tomorrow, she wasnt sure when & had no names for me to write down. So I ended up fustrated & saddened by the lack of care and mis information by all emloyees at Bank of the West customer service. The number I called is XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Desired Settlement: I just wanted my pending amount of $44.90 to to be released by my own bank & credited. Since the owner of the pizza place Davids Pizza in Stockton Ca Hammer lane had gotten paid for his services & food.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/07) */ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/11/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/26/2014 Delivery Issues
8/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/17/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
7/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/26/2014 Delivery Issues
5/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/6/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/2/2014 Delivery Issues
4/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/16/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/24/2014 Delivery Issues
3/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/14/2014 Delivery Issues
1/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
1/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
12/30/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
12/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/13/2013 Delivery Issues
11/21/2013 Delivery Issues
11/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
11/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THIS IS HOW IT ALL STARTED. CALLED THE BRANCH TO HAVE A DEBIT TRANSACTION STOPPED AND SAID IT HAD TO BE A DISPUTE FORM AND I HAD TO COME INTO BANK TO TRIED TO STOP A DEBIT FROM OUR ACCOUNT THAT WE DID NOT AUTHORIZE AND SINCE IT WAS THRU A DEBIT CARD WE HAD TO FILL OUT A FORM WITH A DISPUTE. SINCE THE DEBIT CARD WAS IN MY HUSBANDS NAME EVEN THOUGH I WAS ON THE ACCOUNT HE HAD TO SIGN IT. I CALLED VARIOUS LOCATIONS AND THEY DID NOT STATE THAT THE DEBIT CARD HAD TO BE CANCELLED IN ORDER TO FILE THE DISPUTE. I WENT TO THE BANK AND GOT THE FORM AND ON OCTOBER 23. 2013. BROUGHT IT BACK TO THE BRANCH ON THAT THRURSDAY AND THEY ACCEPTED THE FORM AND I SAID THAT I DID NOT WANT MY CARD CANCELLED BECAUSE THE OTHER BANK SAID THE ONLY WAY THEY WILL NOT DEBIT IT AGAIN WAS TO CANCEL THE CARD OR WE COULD TAKE THE CHANCE OF IT COMING OUT AGAIN AND I SPECIFICALLY GAVE THE FORM TO THE CLERK AND SAID I DO NOT WANT THE DEBIT CANCELLED AND SHE SAID I DO NOT BLAME YOU. MY HUSBAND CAME INTO THE BANK THE NEXT DAY THE 25TH OF OCT TO TRANSFER MONEY FROM HIS PERSONAL SAVINGS AND HE TRIED TO PUT INTO OUR ACCOUNT AND WAS TOLD THE DEBIT CARD WAS CANCELLED. OF COURSE HE WAS LIVID AND WAS TREATED LIKE SOME CRIMINAL AND WAS IN THE BANK FOREVER AND HE SAID TO ORDER A NEW CARD IMMEDIATLY AND THEY SAID IT WOULD TAKE 7-10 DAYS AND TO THIS DATE WE DO NOT HAVE ONE. I WAS IN THE BANK A WEEK AGO AND I TOLD HIM THAT WE DID NOT GET THE CARD AND THEY JUST LOOKED AT ME. I CALLED THE BANK TODAY AND TALKED TO THE SO CALLED CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER **** AND HE BASICALLY CALLED ME A LIAR SAYING THERE ARE CONFLICTING STORIES. HE SAID MY HUSBAND BROUGHT IN THE DISPUTE FORM AND THAT WAS A LIE AND SAID THAT HE WAS TOLD THAT THE CARD WOULD BE CANCELLED AND THAT IS A LIE AND THAT WHEN HE CAME INTO THE BANK THE NEXT DAY ON THE FRIDAY HE NEVER TOLD THEM TO ORDER A CARD ANOTHER LIE. WE STILL HAVE NOT GOTTEN OUR CREDIT OF $86.00 FROM THE DISPUTE AND THEY REFUSE TO OVERNITE A CARD AND THEY ARE BELIEVING THE CLERKS THAT ARE NOT TRUTHFUL TO SAVE THEIR JOB AND THEY ARE FORCING HIM TO CALL THE BANK TO GET THE CARD. THIS IS LOUSY CUSTOMER SERVICE AND I LEFT A PHONE MESSAGE WITH THE BRANCH MANAGER GREG AND i HIGHLY DOUBT HE WILL CALL ME BACK. CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER SAID GO AHEAD AND CALL THE BRANCH MANAGER BUT HE WILL STILL TALK TO ME. THIS BRANCH EMPLOY LIARS WHO LIE TO SAVE THEIR JOBS AND HE SAID THEY EXPLAINED TO ME THAT THEY TOLD ME THE CARD WOULD BE CANCELLED AND THEY DID NOT AND WHAT DID HE LISTEN TO A RECORDED CONVERSATION AND HE WOULD NOT LISTEN TO WHAT I WAS SAYING AND KEPT SAYING WHAT HE BELIEVED. KEPT SAYING THAT THERE WAS NOT RECORD OF MY HUSBAND ACCESSING THE ACCOUNT AND I SAID WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT THE DEBIT WAS CLOSED. LOOK AT THE TRANSACTION THAT HE TOOK MONEY OUT OF HIS SAVINGS AND YOU WILL SEE HE ACCESSED THE ACCOUNT AND HE SAID NO RECORD THAT HE ORDERED A NEW DEBIT CARD AND SAID WHAT DID HE HAVE TO FILL OUT PAPER WORK AND HE SAID NOT HE HAD TO TELL THE TELLER TO ORDER IT AND HE SAID HE DID. THIS IS SERIOUS AND NEEDS TO BE DEALT WITH IMMEDIATLY. WE NEED OUR CREDIT BACK AT THIS POINT AND THE CARD IMMEDIATLY AND AN APOLOGOY FOR CALLING US LIARS. THIS IS REALLY A CRAPPY CUSTOMER SERVICE MANAGER AND I WILL NEVER GOT THAT BRANCH AGAIN.

Desired Settlement: NEED OUR ACCOUNT CREDITED FOR THE DISPUTED AMOUNT FOR $86 AND WOULD LIKE THE CARD OVERNITED AT THE BANKS EXPENSE. REALLY IF THEY WOULD HAVE ADMITTED FAULT AND APOLOGIZED AND PAID THE $65 TO OVERNITE I WOULD NOT BE FILING THIS CLAIM SO I GUESS FOR A FEW APOLOGIES AND A DEBIT CARD OVERNITED THEY ARE BEING TURNED IN AND I WILL NOT BE HAPPY TO SETTLE THIS DISPUTE TILL THEY COME TO MY TERMS

10/21/2013 Delivery Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

7 Customer Reviews on Bank of The West
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart