This business is not BBB accredited.

The Shop

Phone: (650) 624-7467 Fax: (650) 624-7468 1153 San Mateo Ave, San Bruno, CA 94066 http://www.theshopsanbruno.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company specializes in Japanese and European performance and maintenance. Also general auto repair and aftermarket performance. Tires and alignment.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Shop include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Shop
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 17, 2006 Business started: 01/17/2006 Business started locally: 01/17/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10240 Systems Pkwy, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.dca.ca.gov/consumer/wll.shtml
Phone Number: (855) 837-7985

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Matthel MA, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matthel MA, Owner
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Auto Repairing - Foreign


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1153 San Mateo Ave

    San Bruno, CA 94066 (650) 624-7467

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Shop bent the subframe on my car while performing an alignment and has refused to properly fix the damage. I brought my car into The Shop for an alignment. After they had my car on the alignment rack for an hour, they called me in and told me that the subframe was bent and they could not bring the alignment within spec. They worked on my car for 3 hours, which is way longer than any other alignment has taken in my experience, and could set the alignment properly. They told me that I would have some uneven tire wear as a result. I paid for the service and drove the car home. On the drive home, I could feel that the car didn't want to turn right as well as it did to the left. This definitely was not the case when I drove the car to The Shop nor was it the case any other time since I've owned the car. I checked my records, and the last time the car had an alignment, they had no problems setting it properly within spec. I did some research into how this part of the subframe gets bent and it appears it is a result of not loosening the eccentric bolt properly when setting the alignment. I contacted The Shop with my concerns and they offered me two options: They could either try to bend it back and set the alignment for me all free of charge, or they would split the cost of aftermarket suspension parts that will allow them to align the car with a bent subframe and he would install them and set the alignment for free. I've spoke with another mechanic from a different shop for advice and was told that those repairs would not hold up over time and the only option is to replace the subframe. I asked The Shop to replace the subframe and they have refused. I do not want to compromise my nor my families safety on the repair of a structural, load bearing part of the car. I would like to have the subframe repaired properly, as the manufacturer would advise. I am also hesitant to have The Shop repair my vehicle after the mistakes they have already made and after reading reviews that they have retaliated when customers have complained about service.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have Lexus inspect the car and advise on corrective measures. I would like to have a qualified repair facility other than The shop perform the repairs. I would like The Shop to cover the expense to do this.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/16) */ My name is ****, I am the owner of The Shop. On Sept 1st 2015, Mr ********** brought his 2002 Lexus IS300 to The Shop to have an alignment performed. Mr ********** arrived at 1:38pm with a 2pm appointment. We finished his car at 3:55pm. Total work time was 115 minutes. This was a bit longer then usual but this was because of the issues we encountered. The car has aftermarket suspension installed and is lower than the original ride height. My technician informed me that the subframe tab was bent and he could not align it properly. I cannot prove that my technician caused this problem nor can I prove that the damage was there previously. It is the opinion of Mr ********** that we bent the subframe tab. My technician claims the damages were already there and he realized it when he attempted to align the car. The two options Mr ********** mentioned are correct. Option one, We would attempt to bend the subframe tab back and redo the alignment for free. There was an appointment set for Mr ********** to come in to have us attempt to fix the subframe tab and realign. Unfortunately, Mr ********** canceled the appointment, stating he did not want to waste any more time on something that would not work. Option two, we would split the cost of aftermarket suspension parts and we install them and align for free. Aftermarket suspension parts are considered permanent fixes,very common and sold at most major auto parts stores. They allow for more adjustments when the factory adjustments are not satisfactory. The subframe is not "bent" perse, there is a tab at the end of the subframe that is bent out of place not allowing alignment adjustments. I have a third option. Option three, If Mr ********** would like to purchase a rear subframe we would split the cost of the part and install it free of charge. Unfortunately no options will work if Mr ********** is unwilling to bring his car back in to have us inspect and fix the issues. In my opinion, I believe the damages to the subframe was there already. The subframe could have been bent by a previous place that aligned the car and we just happened to be the unlucky party to service the car next. I have no way of proving this so we wanted to offer a resolution that is fair to all parties and try to satisfy the customer. If we caused the damage then we would repair or fix everything at zero cost to the customer. We have been in business for over 10 years, servicing over ten thousand different customers. I am an honest and fair small business owner. Our customers are very important to us and I do not appreciate accusations of retaliation. I never have and will never do anything of the sort. Thank you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I appreciate ****'s third offer included in his response, but it does not fully address my concerns. Additionally, some of the information that **** has included is false such as my appointment time, arrival time, how long the car was in the garage, the aftermarket suspension and lowered ride height. As such, I don't feel comfortable trusting a shop that could not perform an alignment properly and continues to lie and skew information with the task of replacing the subframe on my carwhich the workshop manual indicates will take 9 hours and require most of the rear suspension and drivetrain components to be removed and reinstalled. As for the owner's doubts of their fault, the car was previously aligned at the dealership with no issues and I have the service records showing this. The car has not had an issue with the wheel in question wearing tires unevenly or irregularly when I brought it into The Shop. Now with just 300 miles on the car since The Shop attempted to perform an alignment I am already seeing uneven tire wear for that wheel. In hopes of finding a middle ground, I would like The Shop to cover the full cost of a new subframe and the bushings and bolts required to install it. Although I believe that The Shop, their incompetence, and their misrepresentations are the cause for my lack of confidence in bringing the car back to them, I am willing to make a compromise and cover the cost of labor myself at a facility of my choosing. I would also like a refund for the work The Shop attempted to complete on Sept. 1, 2015. As for the issue of retaliation, I am making no accusations. I am only reiterating the experience past customers have shared on Yelp. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/10/08) */


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on The Shop
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)