BBB Accredited Business since

Sanford Firestone

Phone: (650) 355-1154 Fax: (650) 355-1181 View Additional Phone Numbers 705 Hickey Blvd, Pacifica, CA 94044 http://www.sanfordfirestone.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a full service, automotive repair and maintenance shop including tires, brakes, batteries, tune up, smog, transmission and engine repairs.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sanford Firestone meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sanford Firestone include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sanford Firestone
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 05, 1984 Business started: 05/24/1971 Business started locally: 05/24/1971 Business incorporated 09/01/1971 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10240 Systems Pkwy, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.dca.ca.gov/consumer/wll.shtml
Phone Number: (855) 837-7985

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John A. Sanford, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John A. Sanford, President
Number of Employees

9

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Transmissions - Automobile Tire Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Sanford Tire & Brake Center, Inc.

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Missed diagnosis of my car resulted in it being unfixable. my check engine light came on nest day i brought it in. they told me what the issues were and i told them to fix everything. picked up my car the next day it broke down i had it towed back to firestone they said it had a blown head gasket because the car was driven and was unfixable. i asked them why they did not tell me that yesterday and they said their computer missed it. I then asked for my money back from the day before and they refused. when i picked up the car they said everything was fixed which was not true and resulted in the car blowing the head gasket. Now i do not have a car.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the work I had done and i want the value of my car at the time i brought it in.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/14) */ Contact Name and Title: **** *******, President Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****************@gmail.com The above 2002 Chevrolet Malibu was brought in on March 4th to diagnose a check engine light.We found multiple misfire codes stored in the computer.We performed a compression check which checked out good,(150 psi for each cylinder).Upon further inspection we found the spark plugs very worn out, weak coil spark and ignition wires worn. We informed the customer of the cost of repairs which were okay'ed by *** ***********,(the father?).We replaced the parts, cleared the codes/light, and road tested the vehicle.Road tested good, we released the vehicle to ***. The next day in the afternoon *** *********** brought back the vehicle stating it was overheating.A problem we never had with this vehicle. We performed a courtesy recheck at no cost to the customer (normally $135.00). We found the cooling system low on coolant. We topped off the cooling system,pressure checked the system and found no apparent leaks. Upon further inspection we found that the electric cooling fans for the radiator were not coming on,overheating the vehicle.We verified the problem,and installed a high and low fan relay an coolant temperature sensor.Now the fans were coming on at the proper time. Because we never know just how over heated the engine got, we performed a chemical head gasket check.This test showed positive for an internal problem. Possible head gasket, crack in head, or block.We informed *** *********** of the parts we installed and suggested leaving them in if he was going to drive it home. He agreed. All labor was already refunded to *** *********** as a customer satisfaction refund. This car can be fixed. I just needs to go to a heavy duty shop that does engine work. This car had two separate problems. We have no maintenance history in the last 127,000 miles concerning this vehicle.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Sanford Firestone
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)