This business is not BBB accredited.

Japan Auto Repair

Phone: (415) 258-9376 Fax: (415) 258-8276 48 Front St, San Rafael, CA 94901 http://www.japanautorepair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto repair services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Japan Auto Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Japan Auto Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 29, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1988 Business started locally: 01/01/1988 Business incorporated 07/15/1991 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10240 Systems Pkwy, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.dca.ca.gov/consumer/wll.shtml
Phone Number: (855) 837-7985

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kenzo Kojima, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kenzo Kojima, President
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    48 Front St

    San Rafael, CA 94901 (415) 258-9376

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid for comprehensive repair of a Catalytic Converter. Repair was done and 1617 was paid but repair was incorrect and now they are trying to rebill. On August 18, 2013 I took my *********** *** for a third time to Japan Auto Repair. I was told in writing that the check engine light was on due to the rear catalytic converter being bad. I paid $1,617 to the firm to replace the converter. 2 months later the check engine light went on again and I returned to Japan Auto Repiar. The staff told me I needed to replace the Catalytic Converter, I stated we already replaced this and they verified in their computer system. They acknowledged that it was replaced but they replaced the wrong one and now I need to replaced the "other" Catalytic converter. I then asked how much and they stated $250 for the repairs, I hesitantly agreed and then when I brought the vehicle in the staff told me they had made another mistake it would actually cost me over $1,500 more for this repair. The SUV is old an most I already paid $1617 plus another $200 for repairs this summer at this shop. I attempted to remedy the situation by explaining that at the onset of this issue I was guaranteed that the replacement of the converter would remedy the situation and that now they are asking me to pay for another major repair that was not mentioned or overlooked per thier verbal and written statements. The repair invoice number is XXXXXX the payment method was Visa.

Desired Settlement: I would like the Catalytic converter fixed as I have already paid in full for this repair.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/12/04) */ Received business response via email on 12/4/13: I talked to ***** before Thanksgiving, I offered discount on next repair for replacing cat.converter. so I hope this problem get clear soon. Thank you ***** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 12, 2013/12/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I spoke with ***** and is s trying to charge me another $800 to fix the issue I originally pay for. I would like the vehicle repaired.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Japan Auto Repair
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)