BBB Accredited Business since

Acutech Autos, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (650) 871-7797 Fax: (650) 871-2408 69 S. Linden Ave, South San Francisco, CA 94080

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers foreign automotive repair-all Japanese and European makes and models. Road racing service, high performance tuning, complete auto repair, CA STAR certified smog station: smog inspection, diagnosis and repair, State license

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Acutech Autos, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Acutech Autos, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 31, 2006 Business started: 12/01/1991 Business started locally: 12/01/1991 Business incorporated 10/28/1991 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10240 Systems Pkwy, Sacramento CA 95827
Phone Number: (855) 837-7985

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Niki Tam, OWNER
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Niki Tam, OWNER
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Smog Inspection Auto Perform, Race & Sport Equipment Auto Body Repair & Painting

Service Area
South San Francisco and the Bay Area

Additional Locations

  • 140 S Linden Ave Ste A

    South San Francisco, CA 94080

  • 69 S. Linden Ave

    South San Francisco, CA 94080


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: They say they'e been in business 25+ years, but their common sense and essential communications say otherwise. They have a blank check from the DMV to "inspect", and to charge ridiculous and exorbitant fees for the DMV "lamp" and "brake" inspection certificates, They wanted $530 ($108 "inspection" fee, and then, the work needed in their opinion: $415.48) to do some work on the headlights ...E.g., A "polishing" fee of $86.40... which was done in less than 10 minutes elsewhere....and, to replace a small licence brake light ($21.60) and some work on the rear brake rotor and pads ($330+) - the balance.... I HAD THE SAME WORK DONE ELSEWHERE INCLUDING THE TWO DMV CERTIFICATES FOR $140 TOTAL INCLUDING THE LESS THAN 10 MIN TO POLISH THE HEADLIGHTS. (Note, the parts for the brake work cost the same, ~ $70 - at both acutech and elsewhere. The difference was acutech's exorbitant and inflated labor, and deceptive "inspection" fee. At the outset, given their vast experience, they should've explained that their "inspection" was to bring the systems up to near-new functionality. I supose I'm lucky that they didn't propose work on both pairs of brakes, and that I wasn't trapped at their location. DMV apparently blesses and facilitates these business practices, not making it easy,to be inspected quickly and inexpensively for functioning systems... I am asking for a refund of most or all of their "inspection" fee of $108 - without certificates.... I am also making a complaint to the BBB (they belong!) and the *** ***** ****** ** ********** ****** if they make no refunds.

Desired Settlement: Refund of at least HALF of their $108 "inspection" fee. And an online apology added to my YELP review.

Business Response:

Customer came in for a brake and lamp inspection. Quote was for $108 for brake and lamp inspection and if passed inspections we charge $3.50 for each certificate totally $7.00. After inspection we found that his vehicle rear brake pad had less than 1/32 inch and rear brake rotor has uneven wear and that is way below the factory safety specifications. Brake fluid moisture content was over 4% indicating the brake fluid was contaminated which caused the vehicle to fail the inspection. 

Also during the lamp inspection found rear license plate light was not working and headlight lens was cloudy making the light not pass through the lens causing low visibility at night, which caused the lamp inspection to fail.

After the inspection we informed the customer of the results, he became irate and upset. We understand of his concerns. Because we are an official state brake and lamp inspection station but we have to follow all rules and regulations set by the state.

I recommend that the customer contact the Bureau of automotive repair.

We gave the customer the repair estimate which we followed the industrial standard. The customer wanted a 50% discount and threatened to file a complaint if we refused. We offered the customer a $50.00 discount for the recommended repair estimate. Customer declined. We tried our best to satisfy the customer but we were unsuccessful under reasonable circumstances.If you have any further questions please feel free to contact me.


**** ***







Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Acutune's discount offered, on an inflated hourly rate,

was clearly inadequate; and still reflected an inflated hourly rate,

and an inflated estimate of the "repair" time. This was common sense,

and which I DID complain about - as they say - even BEFORE I had the

same work done elsewhere, and obtained certificates, for approximately 

ONE-FOURTH what Acutech wanted. I gave them a chance to do the

right thing, but they refused.  The facts indicate that

Acutech's labor is overpriced by any measure. LET THE BUYER BEWARE!!!


****** ***

5/31/2016 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Acutech Autos, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)