This business is not BBB accredited.

Top Notch Auto Sales

Phone: (707) 759-4114 Fax: (707) 759-4770 1748 N Texas St Ste C, Fairfield, CA 94533 http://www.topnotch-autosales.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers used auto dealer services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Top Notch Auto Sales include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Top Notch Auto Sales include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Top Notch Auto Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 05, 2012 Business started: 10/10/2011 Business started locally: 10/10/2011 Business incorporated 02/03/2012 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Brew, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Brew, President
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Service Area
This business service area covers: Northern California.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1748 N Texas St Ste C

    Fairfield, CA 94533 (707) 759-4114

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ive been waiting on my vechicle for 3 months now. ******* ****'s way of conducting business is ignoring your phone calls,not returning voicemails. Ive been dealing with ******* **** for the last 3 months.I gave him my deposit in 4/14. He had provided a Nissan ****** on 4/28 which i told him i did not want he then stated he would sell it to me for XXXXX and resell it and pay my loan off. He stated that he pay the note and insurance on the vehicle until he gets the vehicle I want.Which he paid the insurance once.I never even rode in the Nissan ****** since I signed the documents on May 1st. He put me in one of his loaners(lexus coupe) the tire blew out and he had to tow it he then put me in a rental on 6/13/14 he stated he would pay for it which he did for 1 week on 6/20/14 the rental was due.I then had to come out my own pocket $340 due to the fact I still dont have my own vehicle and could not even get in contact with Mr.**** to even get a loaner. I tried contacting **** no answer or response. I then contacted the police department on 6/20/14 to report the vechicle sotlen they informed that the vehicle is not registered to me. I then contacted the Self Help Loan place and ***** informed that she been trying to get in contact with Mr.**** and **** send him a certified letter stating he needs to transfer the vehicle in my name.***** also stated that the first payment hasnt been made yet and **** 30 days deliquent, Mr.**** yet again lied and stated that he paid that I couldnt get in contact with Mr.**** from 6/18/14 til 6/27/14. Mr.**** finally decided to return my calls on 6/28 and stated that he paid the note he talk to ***** on 6/29 about transfering the vehicle.He also stated he would meet me on 6/28 to pay me the money he owe me for the rental and the car payment, i still havent received anything from ****. On 6/30 I called ***** just to confirm what Mr.**** said and she stated she has not talk to ****.***** stated she emailed him asking bout the transferring of the vehicle and **** responeded stating that he has to get with the person he has deal with that. Mr.**** is not a man of his word, he tells you he handled or handling the situation just to get you off his back but not taking care of any business in the approiate matter or timing.He **** tell you he **** call you but never calls you, you have to call him **** *** *** Today is 7/1/14 and still have not seen the Nissan ****** or my own vehicle. I had pevious dealings with Mr.**** before i had purchased a Acura cl from him and only took 2 weeks and the communication was nothing like this. so i grew a bond with **** but after all this I **** not deal with him again and do not recommend nobody to deal with Top Notch Auto Sales. It should never take 3 months to get a car.

Desired Settlement: At this point I do not want to have any dealings with Mr.****. His lack of communication makes it really frustrating to deal with. He caused real hardship on myself due to my lack of funds. I just want my 4000 deposit I gave him. $340 for the rental i had to come the pocket for. $350 for the first month carnote. also pay that loan off or give me the *************.

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (3000, 27, 2014/08/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) **** never had intentions in returning this suv to me thats why i had to contact the local PD to recover the svu he informed me he resold 3 months from the date i signed the actual contract. Waiting on the car i really wantes shouldnt have taking 3 months. And til this date 8/13/14 he still havent transfered the car suv over to my name. He is selling cars and does not even have a valid business license his license has been expired since 8/2013. I am not the only peraon dealing with these problems. Consumer Response /* (-5, 28, 2014/08/13) */ If **** was so willing to give the suv I should have been got it back in June. I tried contacting him on numerous occasions telling him the process was taking too long to either give me the suv back or return my money,which neither did happen because he would not return phone calls or messages. Thats when I had to get the police involved. Also when the suv was recovered he added 4,000 miles on it.I also told him when he pulled up that I nedded my car he replied "what car? I sold this(the suv).Which let me know he used it as his own personal car.I will never conduct business with this man again. Even the lady at the loan office tried to get in contact with himon several occasions and he has failed to comply with not only me another person who purchased another car from him. Consumer Response /* (-5, 29, 2014/08/13) */ No matter what he say it shouldnt have took 3 months to even provide me with my own car. he was very unprofessional goes on trips having people waiting on him. Disappears does not return calls or messages. Like I said if it wasnt for me calling the local pd to make turn over the suv I still wouldnt have no car but his loaner stuck paying a carnote. Consumer Response /* (-5, 30, 2014/08/13) */ **** says he handling the dmv paperwork, I just went to the dmv yesterday and I now have to get a defective title bond due to the fact he hasnt did anything. **** tells you he is goin to do what hes says as in meeting you, calling to let you know whats goin on at the time to get you off his back, but never does anything that comes out his mouth. Just basically brushing you off. The first time i dealt with him none of this occured but then again he did have his business license. I wish I would of just went to a dealer instead of putting my trust in this dude I wouldnt have gone thru any of these issues.

10/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I gave ******* **** #$1200.00 as a deposit to buy a vehicle. 2 months had went by I asked for my money back and he has ignored all phone calls an text on July 12th 2014 I contacted ******* **** about buying a vehicle. He told me he needed $1200.00 down. I made 4 payments Of $300.00 each. ******* told me that the $1200.00 was fully refundable unless a contract to purchase a vehicle was signed at which time the $1200.00 would be applied to the loan as a down payment. I have been getting the run around from ******* for the last 2 months at which time I have decided to take my business elsewhere. I contacted ******* via text message and let him Know that I wanted my $1200.00 back so I could purchase a Vehicle elsewhere, He called back and asked for my bank acct. number. ******* said he would deposit the money into my acct. the next morning on Sept.9th. I sent a text asking him when he would be able to get the $1200.00 deposited into my acct. here it is Sept.12th and I haven't heard anything back from him. I have called his cell phone, the business phone, and sent numerous text messages, he has not replied.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking the $1200.00 used as a deposit/down payment to be refunded, as I was promised.

2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I met with ******* **** on 11/26/2013 @ **** N ***** St Ste ** ********* CA XXXXX with the intent on buying 3 cars as weve discussed in the past for a project in Haiti. All 3 cars were to be shipped and delivered in Haiti by year end 2013. We met as he has sent me information on 2 of the 3 cars. He has sent me information on a **** Nissan ****** and a***** Mitsubishi *******. When we met, only the ****** was available for viewing. We discussed the items that needed correction on the **** *******. We settled on a price of $20,000 for all 3 cars, the **** *******,***** ******* and a **** or better Toyota RAV4. All 3 cars to have less than 100,000 miles and be in show room condition. Mr. **** then came over my house that evening and picked up the check (#2116). He cleared the check on 11/29/2013. I was to leave for Haiti on 12/12/2013. 12/12 came and I still not had the cars and end up postponing my trip to 12/27. On 12/19, we set up a follow up appointment for me to preview all 3 cars. I went there and not only the **** RAV4 wasn't there neither the **** ****** nor the***** ******* were ready. The odometer reading from the ******* was also at 103K. He shared with me that the RAV4 that he had secured had some engine issue and he would exchange it for a **** and would have it by Tuesday 12/24 and the cars would be shipped by 12/26/2013. I inquired about status on 12/20, ******* texted me back that he was in a dealer function and would follow up after 6. I didn't hear from him. I continued to texted, called and emailed him and didn't hear from him for 6 days until I treated him on 12/26 to file formal complaints against him. He called me back and told me that he was spending time with his son in LA for the holidays. I replied that I do understand it is the holidays but acknowledging the messages would have been enough. He proceeded to let me know that he would follow up with me on the afternoon of 12/26. I didn't hear back from him, today, I called, texted and emailed him without any response

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Mr. **** to immediately refund my $20,000. Any delay to be subject to a 15% interest and Mr. **** to be responsible for any attorney and legal fees in dealing with this matter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/01/20) */ Good morning. I am ******* ****. I am responding to a complaint that was filed against Top Notch Auto Sales by ***** ******. I have known Mr. ****** for a few years now personally,he was my realtor. ***** approached me and asked me to help him purchase cars. He knew I had owned Top Notch Auto Sales and we have talked in the past about doing some business together. I was told by ***** that he had a budget of $22,000.00 and he would like to send cars to his country. I told him that I had two of my personal vehicles that I thought might work and he agreed and wrote me a check for $20,000.00. I have to now state that because the **** Nissan******* and the **** Mitsubishi that ***** bought from me were my personal cars and not owned by Top Notch Auto Sales and that was explained to him in detail before he signed the documentation to purchase the two vehicles from me. I am requesting this case be closed and I **** entertain a request from ***** asking me to help him to sell the two cars that he bought from me and re-coupe the funds that he paid me for MY vehicles. This matter is between ***** and I and I **** have my attorney get in the middle of this do to the fact that the two trucks were sold to ***** by ******* **** and not Top Notch Auto Sales. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2014/01/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Mr. ****'s statement above is far from being the truth and or factual. The facts are; we settled and agreed on 3 cars for the price of $20,000. His receipt states $20,000 for 3 cars and so does the check that he picked up at my house on 11/26/2013. There was not a discussion about who owned the cars when we met or a budget of $22,000. When we met on 11/26 @ Top Notch Auto Sales located at *********************************** XXXXX, I reviewed the 2 cars that were on the lot, pointed out repairs to be done on them and we agreed on 3 cars for $20,000. He was to obtain a 3rd car, a 2004 Toyota RAV4 or new and under 100K mileage for the $20,000. I'll email you a copy of his receipt and my check that he cleared as proof. Mr **** made mention of a $22,000 budget on 1/8/2014 when we met about a resolution. He told me that he only set aside $5,000 for the Toyota and they are running about $7,000. I clearly corrected him that there was not a budget. We agreed on 3 cars for $20,000. After he felt to deliver on the timeline established on 1/8/2014; on 1/13/2014, I subsequently sent him an email noting the options below: 1) You can keep and resale the 2 vehicles that you have in hands and refund me my $20,000 by this Friday (1/17/2014). OR 2) I can take the existing 2 cars after you finish getting them ready by addressing the items previously discussed. I **** pay you $12,000 for the 2 cars and you refund me $8,000. At this point, he has not delivered either the cars and or funds. This is now becoming a legal matter. I **** not only expect Mr **** to fully repay me my $20,000 but he **** also be responsible for all legal fees, not to mention lost wages for my time dealing with this matter, etc... Thank you for your time. Respectfully submitted, ***** ******

9/9/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealer said nothing was wrong with the vehicle. Contract/paper stated car had 167,xxx miles and really had more than 193,xxx miles and won't pass smog Had problems with vehicle since first day when I was told there were NO PROBLEMS including being locked in vehicle for more than 30minutes because driver door handle was broken and couldn't roll window down. Over priced cars with check engine light on, also having registration and passing smog issues, tags expired July 2013. This company is a FRAUD , SCAM and all of the above!!!!

Desired Settlement: To have registration completed and smog fixed to get 2014 tags.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/08/01) */ Hello my name is ******* ****, I am the Owner of Top Notch Auto Sales! Yesterday July 31 2013 I personally sat down with Ms. ****** at Mosoon Resturant in Fairfield Ca and addressed her issues! I believe we are now on the same page! Her tags are current for another month and she asked me to personally put a quart of oil in her car for her! I took the time to explain that a car needs certain things to keep running well just like a person does!! You buy a car As Is but I do try and make sure my people are happy! If you have any other questions please feel free to give me a call! I gave Ms ****** my personal cell phone. ************. Thank you. ******* ****, Owner. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/08/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My issue is not how the car is driving. Yes I understand this as is and it needs proper maintenance. The issue is getting my 2014 tags because the car won't pass smog. I still have not yet received. I talked to ******* **** everyday after meeting with him to try and get this process started somehow or even to get a temporary sticker and it always seem to be a "yes, ok I'm going today" type of response but still have not yet received anything. My tags expired 7/10/2013.

9/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Im Complaining on this Company Because my Repairs were never done... When i First got the car i was Told Nothing was Wrong with the vehicle and there is....I put and a Work order for my Car and it seem like my vehicle was never fixxed properly...Also i Still Havent Recieved a License plate for my Car...Its going on 6months...I pay my Payments on Time. Also i'm tired of Dealing with this Company.Top Notch Auto Sales is False Advertising.I Dont think my Car is Wroth 4500. At first the price on the car was 3800 but ******** **** Change the price on the Vehicle...And Not once have the Company mentioned the Car was Savalge Title.i Had to Find out myself

Desired Settlement: I know i Brought the vehicle as is..But the Company said they will Fix the problems thats wrong with the car..i Just want my Car fixxed properly and not Rigging up Stuff on the vehicle..Lower the Price Back to What it Was Oringinally Wroth $3800...The Car is Savalge Title it is not Going to be Wroth Alot Or just Give me My Money Back on What i Spent on the Car So Far

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 5, 2013/08/13) */ So I been trying to Contact ******* **** for 2Days He finally answer the phone and i tell him my car want start and he tell me what he suspose to do...This Is the 3rd Time i Had to Miss Work because of the Car...My Car Just Now Getting Smogged 2weeks ago...i Called him for my license plate and he tell me thier at his office he on his way over there...30mins later i called him back i get no answer.I dont understand whats the hold up...Called him today he finally answer but its When he at home with his family as he say and he can't do nothing about my car not starting..its Not Fair ******** **** Lied to me From the jump False advertising told me there was nothing wrong with the car yea right..I pay this man days earlier before my payment is even do i dont understand why i cant get the same courtsey ******** **** Just lie and lie to Me and my Sister to just Keep us On his Way.. HE TOLD ME HE NOT DEALING WITH ME NO MORE...ONLY GOING DEAL WITH ME THREW BBB

8/6/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Placed a deposit and Signed an agreement to purchase a car that was never provided to date. On 6.20.2013 I was shown pictures by owner of a 2000 GMC Yukon Denali Suv (VIN #*****************) with an odometor reading of ******. I was told that if I sign a contract for this vehicle on 6.20.2013 and place a $500 deposit that I would be delivered this vehicle on 6.25.2013. On 6.25.2013 I went to location to pick up the vehicle and pay remaining down payment balance of $700. The office was closed. I attempted to call the owner throughout the day, but he did not answer his phone. I continued to call him everyday from 6.25.2013 to 7.01.2013 when he finally answered my call. He stated that the car was not ready because his mechanic out of town and he would supply me a another vehicle until the car was ready. He sent me an additional picture of the SUV on 7.1.2013 and I noticed that the odometer reading was diffrent from the odemeter reading in my contract. I attempted to call him agian but he did not answer. I texted him asking when the car would be ready but he did not respond to my text. On 7.5.2013 he stated that i needed contact his sales rep to pick up another loaner that was located in Martinez, Ca. I traveled to Martinez and switch loaner cars with sales rep in the quik stop gas station located in Martinez. Once I arrived home I reviewed the paper work in the glove compartment to find that there was no registration on the vehicle i was driving. I have not since then drove or moved the vehicle. I attepted to call him from 7.5.2013 to 7.8.2013 with no response. Leaving messages stating that I wanted to return loaner and recieve my deposit back because he been unable to provide the SUV. On 7.09.2013 he did answer call stating he was out of town but would provide me my monies back once he is back in town. On 7.15.2013 he stated that we would meet me at sales office to retract to contract and give me my deposit back. On 7.15.2013 he failed to show up at sales office or answer any of my calls on that day. As of 7.17.2013 he has not called or reponded to any of my calls.

Desired Settlement: I am request my full deposit be returned in the same payment method that it was given (Cash).

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/19) */ Good morning. I am ****** **** the owner of Top Notch Auto Sales. I personally helped Ms. ******** with her purchase of her new vehicle. Ms.******** is currently in one of my cars that is owned by the dealership. She is and have been in one my vehicles since the day she came to my office asking for my help. She looked and a number of vehicles and decided to purchase my SUV that I had just purchased. She was told that it would need to get a smog and safety completed on it and a full detail. She only put down a $500.00 deposit. She was suppose to bring back the remaining balance of her deposit on the following Monday, never did. I got a call from Ms.******* asking me to meet her at another dealership where she was buying a new car and bring her full deposit to her and then she would return my Volvo. Ms. ******** has driven MY loaner car around for a month now, calls me and tells me that I need to meet her at another dealership so I can give her $500.00 so she can purchase a new car. The loaner car was given to her to help her get back and forth to work while her SUV was being worked on, since she was walking. I have no problem with anyone wanting to take their business somewhere else, but don't have me put all of this time, effort and money into something that you wanted, drive my car everyday like a rental and the TELL me what I have to do to get MY vehicle back. My phone number is ***-***-****. Please give me a cal.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Top Notch Auto Sales
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)