This business is not BBB accredited.

Mike's Auto Sales

Phone: (650) 827-9700 Fax: (650) 827-9701 529 El Camino Real, San Bruno, CA 94066 http://www.themikesautosales.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers used cars.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Mike's Auto Sales include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mike's Auto Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 10, 2008 Business started: 04/01/1998 Business started locally: 04/01/1998
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Michael Aqleh, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Aqleh, Owner
Number of Employees

4

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    529 El Camino Real

    San Bruno, CA 94066 (650) 827-9700

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/10/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a unsafe truck from the dealership and was repeatedly promised by owner by phone and in person that he would fix specific things for us. I purchased a ****************************************** from Mike's Auto Sales for my son. Was aware that the truck has some items that were not in working ordered such as a lose side step on the driver side, horn did not work, a/c worked on one side and not the other and the power locks did not lock or unlock the truck but was promised that if we came back that they would be fixed. Several phone calls later and two failed trips from ********* to ********* to get them fixed. The owner gave me the wrong contract to another vehicle purchase and we had to redo the contract so that I had the right information. On top of this we had to get the truck weighed (time off of work), go to DMV for a verification of the vehicle (time off of work), and get it smog (cost $58.20 on 3/3/13))so that we could get the license plates to the truck. The owner failed to do so while it was on his car lot so we got with the running around when this should have be already completed. Took the truck in to Big O Tires on 3/8/13 for it to be looked at and see what needed to be done to it. The truck needed brakes, pads, power steering flush, oil change, air filter, and two tires. The total cost $2,362.89. I called the owner to let him know what I paid for to fix the truck and he told me "honey", "sweety" (would never refer to me by my name)you should have came to me first so you could have used my people, however, whats funny about this is that we did call him and leave messages and we even went down there and nothing came of it except for one attempt of him, a friend, and my son trying to fix the horn but it could be done, so we were asked to come back and when we would try and set it up he would not return our calls. On 11/8/13- had to replace wheel locks on the rims because they snapped off when getting the tired rotated, cost $54.50. Well, on Friday, June 27th, my son took it to Big O Tires in ********* to get an oil leak looked at and this is what was founded to be wrong: power steering leak(steering locks up when driving), broken pro comp steering mechanism (safety issue), lift kit is disconnected and kit was welded to frame and stock brackets have been cut off, cannot bring back to stock parts. Its now recommend not to be driven by any of us. So, as of yesterday, June 28th, it sits in our driveway not drive-able. I called the owner of the dealership to tell him what was going on with the truck, he was to busy to call them to see exactly what was going on, so I had **** (from Big O) call him and tell him about the trucks issues and he basically told **** for me to sell the truck to someone else or to weld another piece on it. I called the dealership back, he said that to sell it as is or to come to him and for cheap price he will hook me up with his people. The problem with this is that he has already sold me a truck that has never been safe to drive to begin with and is much as I want him to take care of all these problems, I not comfortable with trusting him or his connections to make my son's truck safe to drive again and how do I know whether it will be done the right way. He gave us his word to fix prior issues on the truck and to this date nothing, just false promises.

Desired Settlement: My son is now without a vehicle. He works, goes to school, and takes his little brother to school for me as well. We are not made of money and cannot afford to purchase another car at this time. I would like to be reimbursed for all the cost that has been put into the truck and on Tuesday, June 31, 2014, I will be taking the truck to a body shop in *************** to get an estimate to see if there is any way this issue can be fixed. If it can be fixed, I would like this cost to be reimbursed as well.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/07/25) */ this truck were sold over a year ago , it did not come with any kind of warranty , it was sold as is where is with a salvage title that she is aware of and signed the buyers guide as stated , we gave her hug discount on the truck because of some issues that it had , and we sold it to her below our cost because she were here crying about not having any money and that she needs help , I felt bad and gave her the truck below my cost and explained to her that this truck has been modified and been lifted which voids any warranty , she is well aware of all that , and since she had it for more than a year and 3 months I don't know what to do with her , she have called me many times couple of weeks ago and I talked to her , but I cant spend 4 hours a day listening to all the lies she is telling me , even with all this I have offered to help her and have that part fixed that she is claiming that its broken , but she have to bring it here , I cant simply close my dealership and go to Livermore to do it there , and yes I called her sweetie when she were acting up and pretending that she is crying over a 5000 dollars truck that was sold long time ago to make her feels better , but the law of the used cars is that they are sold as is where is unless the buyer wants to buy a warranty , even when you buy brand new car they give you only 3 years , or 36k miles warranty , so I don't know what she wants ????????? a life time warranty ???????? I believe enough said about this , she bought it at a very low price because its salvaged and the condition its in , its modified and its lifted and usually they have more thing to go wrong , just like any race car or off road vehicle , she is aware of everything , she have signed all the documents about that , and seems like I couldn't please her as she is expecting , and since the law is against her and she is fully aware of it , she came to the BBB to complain as a last resource , I am welling to share all the documents needed to back up all I said in here , I have been in business for over 20 years , and haven't heard of a used car that dosent brake down , if you may have any questions please feel free to contact me at anytime Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/07/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) **** only disclosed at the time of the sale that the truck had a salvage title but that the engine and body was in good shape. At no time did he mention or show me anything in writing about the history or current problems of the truck. If I knew then, what I know now about the truck I would have NEVER of purchased it and would have moved on to find a another truck for my son. My son ****** and I have driven out to his auto place a couple of times only to find out that **** was not at the dealership or the one time he did look at the truck, he couldn't do the work cause it was complicated and he needed a part for it and we were asked to come back. Yes, I would call him about the truck because he told us that if things came up to call him and that he would be fix them (verbally promised by ****). For example: the horn, locks, a/c, and the side bar. After my phone calls went unanswered and I got tired of hearing him calling me sweetie and honey, I gave up trying because it was a useless. As a small business owner, he should make sure that when he purchases or sales a vehicle to a customer that the car or truck is in working order and safe to drive off his lot. Its apparent that his first priority is money and his second is his costumers safety. Now, two auto mechanics later, I have been told verbally and in writing that the frame on the truck is damaged and bent in a couple of places and is not safe to drive and that we should sale it or scrape it for our safety. We feel that **** should refund us our money for the purchase of the truck or give us what we put into it so that my son ****** can put a down payment a safe vehicle. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/08/08) */ I believe that I already explained everything and what I said before should be enough ,,, she bought the truck as is with salvage title and suspension altered and lifted , which is usually there is a risk when its that way , which means that the truck is not in the best shape and its been in an accident and been total loss , I have explained all this to her , and when she came to buy it , she were crying here to drop the price which I end up giving it to her below my cost , just because I felt bad about her crying about her life and all , anyways , I was clear about all this , and she knows what she bought , she bought a 10 years old used salvaged vehicle , she bought it as is where is with salvage title and she signed on that , which release me from all liabilities , and as you see it did not break down the first day or second day or first week or month , it broke down a year and half after , a truck like this worth over 12k dollars at that time if it wasn't lifted and salvaged , but because of all this she bought it for less than half the price , just because she played me well and start crying at my office so I let her have it , and about calling her honey and sweetie , there is no other intentions for doing that other than trying to calm her down when she uses her crocodile tears to get what she wants , anyways we should be done with all this by now Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/08/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) **** has not offered any resolution regarding my son's truck. Two weeks into owning this truck I was having issues with it and kept you (****) updated through phone calls and by making visits to his place of business. I was aware of the salvage title but at no other time did he state verbally or in writing that anything else was wrong with this vehicle. If he would have been honest from the get go, I would have walked away from the sale of this truck. You sold me an unsafe truck and you know it and you could care less about the safety of my child and the people who have been in it. The least **** could do is either pay for the frame to be replaced, which I have a written estimate for or refund my money back so that my son ****** can purchase a safe vehicle to drive. At this point. I guess I will have to look into other ways of how I need to handle this on going problem. I can only hope that **** does not sale another unsafe car or truck to another customer.

8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car, paid $2000 down payment and first months car payment of $309, the car stopped running in 5 weeks. They will not give my money back I purchased a car on 3/24/14 and paid $2000 down. The car broke down a few days later, they had their shop repair it (it took a couple weeks) and gave me a loaner. I picked up the car again, and it broke down again a few days later. I drove it to their lot, they worked on it for a couple hours and then said it was fine. During this time, I paid my first car payment of $309. I drove it home; the next day it broke down again. I called them ****** and he said to bring it in and they would fix it. I tried to drive it to them the next day, and it broke down again. I was stuck by the side of the road. I called them, they ******** said that one of their employees would come pick me up and they would tow the car to the shop. They never showed up, and did not pick up their phone for the rest of the day. **** then avoided my calls. I had the car towed to them (at my expense of $300) and told them that I could not make payments on a car that doesn't run. After calling several times and not reaching ***** I came to the car lot and asked him for at least a portion of my money back. He refused, but did offer to sell me another car. ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: Small claims court, Judge Faith Show

Desired Settlement: I procured a quote for a rental car for the period of time that I had the car (est $1,000). The total amount I paid was $2309. I also paid $300 to tow the car. I would like the total I paid, minus what it would have cost me to rent a car for the period of time I had the car. That would be $1600.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2014/08/05) */


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mike's Auto Sales
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)