BBB Accredited Business since

California Motors

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 457-4505 View Additional Phone Numbers 10 Bellam Blvd # A, San Rafael, CA 94901 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.californiamotors.com



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers pre owned cars and trucks including vintage. Classic, antique, and replica automobiles for sale including consignment services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that California Motors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for California Motors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on California Motors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 24, 2004 Business started: 09/24/2004 Business started locally: 09/24/2004 Business incorporated 09/24/2004 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Indira Zillachiva, Office Manager Mr. William Singerman, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Indira Zillachiva, Office Manager
Number of Employees

15

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars Consignment Service Consignment Service - Automobile Truck Dealers Auto Dealers - Antique & Classic Auto Dealers - Custom Design & Replica

Service Area
This business service area covers: Bay Area and Northern California
Alternate Business Names
Calmo, Inc

Additional Locations

  • 10 Bellam Blvd # A

    San Rafael, CA 94901 (800) 457-4505

  • 790 Anderson Drive

    San Rafael, CA 94901

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/26/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Overcharged/padded the sale by more than doubling the cost of an extended warranty purchased through them. The warranty was $938/charged $1900. My son and I purchased a 2012 Dodge Avenger in July 2015 from California Motors. During the purchase negotiations I agreed to purchase an extended warranty. I was led to believe the $1900 was the 'cost' of the warranty. On my bill of sale it says they 'paid ***** Warranty $1900'. This was a 100,000 mile warranty, which would cover the vehicle until it had 151,000 miles. The actual warranty contract was never reviewed with me during the sale. I did not have reason to believe I should question it. I had never purchased an extended warranty before. The warranty paper work was conveniently just printed and put in an envelope. After 7 months I had a need to call ***** Warranty. In that conversation and looking through the warranty contract I found California Motors did not pay ***** Warranty $1900, they paid them $938. If I had known there was such a ridiculous markup (over 100%), I would not have purchased the warranty from them. Is this legal? I called California Motors to request a refund of the difference. Their response was "we have a right to make a profit on our goods". If this is legal I guess I will have no choice but to accept it.

Desired Settlement: I would like the difference of the charge for this warranty to the actual cost refunded to the loan of the automobile, which is Wells Fargo or by check mailed to me.

Business Response:

after looking into this complaint California motors has thoroughly review our paperwork and after said review found that this particular warranty actually has a retail value of a approximately $3,000 if we do market analysis for warranty cost on this particular vehicle nationwide the price of $1900 is fair and reasonable California motors management has conducted a recent interview with the finance manager reviewed all documents and signatures from purchaser and the audit showed no wrong doing on the finance manager part.

**** ******

*********************.com

415*********

Consumer Response:
Complaint: 11316740

I am rejecting this response because: Where do they get their quote of over $3000; is that their number to make themselves look good? They did not address the issue that they only paid ***** Warranty $938, but the bill of sale says they paid ***** Warranty $1900, which is what I paid. In my telephone conversation with them prior to contacting BBB they said they can "make money on their products"..."they don't have to disclose what their mark-up is".... They do not mention anything like that in their response to BBB. I am sure their internal audit found things to be just fine, but I wonder if they had an outside government agency audit them if things would be so great. I will continue to pursue this in any manner that I can. I will be contacting the agencies that you referred me to. 

Sincerely,

****** ******** *********

1/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: California motors knowingly sold me a car with a cracked block February 27th I looked at a car at california motors that was a 1966 replica of a Shelby AC Cobra that was on consignment. I took the car for a test drive upon which the temperature of the engine immediately began to rise to about 200°. I pulled the car over and called **** at california motors who is the owner and asked him about the temperature during the conversation I found a switch that had not been told to me that was the fan switch for the radiator. **** told me he was not aware of the switch and I told him that I was going to let the car cool off before bringing it back. I asked him to have his mechanic look at the car and he agreed stating that there was no damage to the car because I had shut it off soon enough. We had a conversation about him not disclosing the switch that ran the fan and then I begin the purchase process of this vehicle with a down payment in cash. So far as I was aware the car Sat in their showroom while I was making cash payments on it until approximately May 25th when I had the car paid off. I had an employee of mine go pick up the car and take it to an upholstery shop to start work on the interior which was in bad shape. I had purchased the car for $25,000 plus tax making the car cost somewhere around $27,000. The reason I do not know the specifics of this is because I was never handed my final paperwork and still to this day cannot get a copy from them of my paperwork. After having the upholstery finished I returned back into the country after finishing a film and had the car taken to a mechanic shop right down the road. The mechanic stated that the car had low compression and may be indicative of larger problems. I paid for him to run a complete leak down test on the car and he determined that the engine needed to be rebuilt. I took the car back to california motors and told them the findings of my mechanic. They offered no refund and told me that I was just stuck with the car. I have since taking the car to several mechanics to have it looked at and have determined that the engine block is cracked. I have tried to negotiate personally with **** in regards to this and even tried to negotiate him selling the car for me so that I could just get out of the car and get into something else because he would refuse to return my money. I contacted the previous owner of the car and asked him if he had any awareness of the problems with the engine to which he stated there were never any problems with the engine. Nor has he ever put any sort of block sealer in the car which my mechanic found. I've had several mechanics look at this vehicle and have determined that the block crack was a known issue to either the previous owner or the seller of the vehicle as they had tried to affect repairs with some sort of liquid block sealer that they added to the coolant system of the engine. California motors refuses to work with me any further on this subject and **** not take my phone calls nor provide any paperwork to the original sale which is why my statement is lacking in specific details as they **** not provide me with my final selling paperwork

Desired Settlement: since the engine is unsalvagable the engine must now be replaced

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/11/16) */ CLASSIC CASE A BUYER's REMORSE! 1.CALIFORNIA MOTORS has been in business for over 18 years and most... CLASSIC CASE A BUYER's REMORSE! 1.CALIFORNIA MOTORS has been in business for over 18 years and most of our customers are repeat or referral. 2.CALIFORNIA MOTORS safety checks and test drives all vehicles before put them up on sale and this vehicle was in excellent running condition. 3.The buyer was told that there was an auxiliary fan switch located on the dash that should always be turn on if temperature reaches a certain degrees to keep the vehicle from over heating,this customer openly admitted to driving the car and forgetting to turn on the switch that cools the engine subsequently resulting in overheating of the engine and causing damage which he is eleging was a previous issue not disclosed which is COMPLETE and other fraugulent statement. 4.Buyer did not have all the funds to pay for the car so CALIFORNIA MOTORS gave him credit to pay for the car in payments,Customer suppose to pay for the car in 30 days and that didn't happen. 5.Customer took the car on an extended test drive before buying the car and car ran perfectly 6.Customer even called and HARRASSED the previous owner to ask if there was any issues with the car wheh he dropped it off on consignment and the previous owner said the car was running perfectly and told California Motors that this disgruntled buyer kept harrasing the previous owner on his home phone. 7.California Motors was also informed that local mechanic shop brought it to complain about issues even asked the mechanic at the shop to joined him in his complaint regarding the mechanical issues and the shop owner reluctantly declined to pursue any action towards CALIFORNIA MOTORS. Finally,it is very cleared that this is a case of BUYER's REMORSE the customer brought it back to CALIFORNIA MOTORS asking to consign and sell it for him because he made the wrong choice in vehicles and he needed a vehicle for everyday driving and CALIFORNIA MOTORS proceeded to sell the car for him on consignment for FREE at no cost for several months but was unsuccessful and he said he needed the money to buy another vehicle so he came in and Pick up the vehicle. **** ****** ___________________ 415.272.9695 Direct 415.457.3325 Work 415.360.7260 fax www.californiamotors.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/11/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This car has been driven less than 400 miles since I bought it and thats me limping it from repair shop to repair shop to get different opinions. The Main facts are that: The engine block is cracked. (and this was known and undisclosed) The engine is not the engine stated in writing (see Original owner Email) attached. The engine is unsalvageable. And A liquid emulsified block sealer was used to hide the Crack in the Damaged block. The Car was damaged while in the custody of California motors and the repairs affected were done without my knowledge, consent or permission, and done poorly with overspray on the tires, rims and one wing window. These things have significantly affected the value of the vehicle and I am seeking help to cover a of the costs I am incurring in replacing the engine The buisness response is without remorse and offers no middle ground by which to negotiate any kind of settlement.

1/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have not received my registration for the car I purched. I have not received my registration for the car. I was told (by the dealer)that there was a recall on the emissions computer so I had that taken care of. I overnighted the certificate of the recall completion and as my renewal date was approaching, I began to get worried and called the dealer they said everything was taken care of and I should be receiving my tags from DMV "soon". On several occasions I called DMV to check the status of thee registration and every time I was told that the outstanding fees had not been paid. I have also followed up with the dealer on several occasions only to be told it has been taken care of, or the person I need to talk to is out of the office. As of 11/0/15 I am driving with expired registration. ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: Ca. DMV

Desired Settlement: Registration tags and compensation for any tickets for having unregistered car. Contact from the company with an explanation for the 5 month delay.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/11/10) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ****@californiamotors.com We at California Motors understand the frustration this Customer must have but with dealing with the DMV things often take longer that expected and in this case the paperwork was delayed. All the Documents that were sent to the DMV for processing were correct and sent in a timely fashion The good news is on 11/09/2015 we did get confirmation from the DMV that the paperwork has finally been cleared and Registration has been issued and sent overnighted Again We apologize for the DMV's delay in processing and truly appreciate our customers patience and understanding Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2015/11/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I have spoken to the DMV on at least 5 occasions (in person and phone). The DMV was waiting for the dealership to pay the fees, there was NO other hold up or loss of paperwork on the DMV's part. The only hold up from DMV was the initial rejection and return of the registration in July because of the emissions recall, which I was not informed of until late September. I would appreciate an honest reply/response. Although I did receive the registration paperwork, their response is untrue in regards to the DMV being at fault. The DMV was actually trying to find a way for me to pay for a temporary registration until the fees were paid and the registration issued. Please be honest and be accountable for your non-action on this matter.

12/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealer reported false odometer reading and failed to fulfill promised work order for missing key and honor sales warranty coverage for oil leak. On June 27th 2015, my wife and I went to California Motors to look at and test drive a 2010 Mercedes Benz GLK 350 4Matic that was advertised on their website and other car sale websites (e.g., cars.com) with mileage of 48,438 miles. At California Motors, we were helped by **** ***** who went with me to test drive the vehicle. During the 10 minutes test drive, the Mercedes Benz GLK ran out of gasoline and stalled out on a main intersection and **** and I were stranded at a busy intersection for over 20 minutes while we waited for his colleague to bring us gasoline. We were told by **** that we qualify for a 2.9% interest rate and that the vehicle still qualified for the original manufacturer’s warranty. We later found out from the dealership’s finance manager, ****** *****, that the original manufacturer warranty already expired. After coming to an agreement with ****** to purchase the vehicle for $25,5000 with 1 month/1000 miles limited warranty, we were given paperwork to sign which indicated a 4.9% interest rate – 2-percentage point higher than the 2.9% rate originally promised by ****. We brought this up to ****** and he was only able to bring the interest rate down to 3.9%, not the 2.9% originally promised by ****. After finishing with all of the paperwork, we were given only one key for the Mercedes Benz GLK. I asked for a second key and both **** and ****** told me that they only have one key and that I would have to purchase the second key for $500. I have always received two keys in my previous purchases of used vehicles and was furious that the fact that they only had one key was not disclosed prior to the purchase. After much back-and-forth with various employees, including **** and ******, I was able to get the dealership president, **** *********, to agree to purchase a second key from Mercedes RAB Motors and to mail me the key within 1 week. This agreement was documented in a work order and remains unfulfilled five weeks later. After bringing our GLK home, we found two additional problems with the vehicle that represents deceptive and unethical practices in selling cars: 1. The reported odometer reading advertised for the vehicle and subsequently included in all of my DMV paperwork of 48,439 miles was false. The attached Carfax document shows that the vehicle already had 48,725 miles on April 6, 2015 prior to arriving at California Motors. When I arrived home after 17 mile drive from California Motors and called my car insurance company to report the odometer reading, it was already 49,263 miles, suggesting the vehicle’s actual mileage was well over 49,240 miles prior to my purchase. Since the limited warranty only covered 1 month or 1000 miles, the false odometer reading reported is not only blatant odometer fraud, but would have falsely shortened warranty’s validity. The 1 month or 1000 miles warranty should be valid through at least 50,000 miles. 2. The GLK had an oil leak as soon as I brought the vehicle home. After repeated failed attempts to contact California Motors to discuss this problem and its coverage under their warranty, I was forced to bring the vehicle to two different mechanics (Fairmount Auto and Independent Mercedes) to identify the cause of the transmission oil leak and fix this problem before it becomes more severe and cause irreparable damage. The Fairmount Auto mechanic noted that this problem was an ongoing problem and there had been previous attempts to hide it by stripping the drain fill plug instead of replacing it with a new plug to stop the leak (see attached ****). The repairs cost me a total of $1102.68 in my own out-of-pocket expenses. After over five weeks and 8 calls to California Motors, we have yet to receive a key or any response from California Motors regarding the oil leak and warranty issue. We called California Motors on July 1, 2, 6, 8, 9, 14, 24 and 30 and spoke to various employees including ****, ***********************************

Desired Settlement: I am writing this complaint because dealers like California Motors should be held accountable for their deceptive and unethical practices in selling vehicles and in their failure to deliver on promised work and warranty coverage to customers. I am also seeking a response, delivery of the promised GLK key and refund for outstanding financial expenses that California Motors is responsible for under their sales wararnty, including: 1. Second set of keys for Mercedes GLK: value of $349 (quoted to me by Mercedes of Walnut Creek for a new key) 2. Refund or financial compensation of out-of-pocket expenses for repairing the oil leak covered by warranty because California Motors refused to accept responsibility in a timely manner: $1102.68 (based on actual repair receipts from Fairmount Auto in El Cerrito, CA on July 2, 2015 and Independent Mercedes in Walnut Creek, CA on July 21, 2015) 3. Odometer fraud in under-reporting of vehicle mileage by 800 miles: $150 (loss in value in clean retail price for 2010 Mercedes GLK with 49,240 and 48,438 miles in Kelley Blue Book) TOTAL = $ 1601.68 I have all the supporting documents ready to be submitted upon request and can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX if there are any questions. I want to thank you in advance for helping me address my grievances. If my concerns and grievances are not addressed, then I **** be forced to file complaints with the California Attorney General, California Department of Motor Vehicles, and the U.S. Federal Trade Commission’s Consumer Financial Protection Bureau.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/04) */ 8-4-15 Sent via email from the business: California Motors will review all the facts concerning the sale and go over sale documents such as Due bill and Buyer's Guide and see what was promised to the customer today. Thanks, **** ****** ___________________ Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/08/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) California motors said that they will review our paperwork on August 4th but we have not received any additional information since then. They continued to be unresponsive. Final Business Response /* (4000, 43, 2015/11/05) */ The check was written for $400 the $250 for the key and $150 for the mileage discrepancy The reasoning behind not sending the key is that the dealership was unable to obtain a key it's only given to the new registered owner for security purposes so we calculated the amount the key would cost us and that we included in the check Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 45, 2015/11/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) California Motors did not respond to our last concern regarding the warranty they failed repeatedly to address and again, our request for them to honor their warranty is ignored. We have asked this dealership repeatedly to honor the 30 days limited warranty of up to $500 and provided a copy of the warranty and our receipts for out-of-pocket repairs of over $1000 covered under the warranty. It is extremely disappointing that they continue to not honor the legal warranty document they issued and used to get us to purchase the vehicle. We are still waiting for this dealership to honor the warranty by compensating us for the documented repairs covered under the warranty.

12/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was misled and lied to on the purchase of a truck. I was also pressured to sign the contract papers I need to completely review. On 09/05/14, I purchased a 2007 Ford Ranger from sales representative *** ****** There was a problem with the gear cluster. The indicator needle was off one gear. When I asked about this, *** told me, "It was a normal problem of these trucks". *** assured me it was ok. He even went so far as to say he never looks at his gauge and in a month, I would not either. I was positive it would be fixed because it was a known problem and it was dangerous. He promised to have it checked out by their mechanic. In an extended warranty plan brochure, *** showed me various vehicle repairs and how expensive they were. Reading the brochure, I was confused, A+ coverage or A+ Enhanced coverage, which one was he offering me? I asked him, he said, "there is no difference, they are both the same.'' On the work order, truck price had gone from $11,988.00 to $11,995.00. *** corrected and printed another work order, which then had to be corrected again because of the extended warranty going from 2 years $1,895.00 to 4 years $2,095.00. I trusted *** to make right the corrections and signed the work order. *** gave me the Extended Warrant Plan contract to sign. I told him I wanted to read the contract, He got agitated and said it's all the same. I just needed to sign the contract. It was not the same coverage. Only points 1-12 were covered but should have been points 1-16 as per the plan he offered me. He said again, it was all the same. I had to actually argue with him; no it wasn't the coverage he had offered. Finally, if I wanted points 1-16 I would have to pay more. I explained the situation to ****, same office, that *** had misled me on warranty coverage and now wanted to charge me more. **** said tell *** to just make the change. I asked three times, if I would be charged for an early pay off on the loan? I never got a straight answer. Also, no promised $100.00 discount was given to me on the extended warranty. *** handed me a key to the truck. I asked him, only one key? ''All used trucks and cars come with only one key''. He did not disclose this until then. I asked if the key had a chip in it? No, he didn't think so. I did not want to haggle over a $5.00 key but in the end the key cost me over $150.00. 09/10/14 California Motor's mechanic said the gear cluster could not be fixed. It wasn't until this day, that I took a closer look at all my paper work. The extended warranty price was $2290.00 on the signed sales contract. I was led to believe was $2,095.00. I was wrong and should have taken a few hours to review everything rather than feel pressured into signing like I did. 09/11/14 I called California Motors and told **** to cancel my extended warranty plan. I had the gear cluster repaired with a new part, I have not received he back tailgate handle Dan said he order. 09/21/14 I read yelp's reviews about California Motors. Many customers were happy because the sales rep was willing to negotiate a lesser price that worked within their budget or even allowed them to purchase the vehicle because of financing. The truck needed two rear tires soon. I was over budget yet other sales reps reduced the selling price for customers. *** would not budge a cent. I came into the dealership with a pre-approved loan of $49,000.00. My credit score was 805. I felt *** intently misled me and purposely would not negotiate a cent on the price of the vehicle because he was only interested in his commission. Many customers complained about many of the same issues I had. I was intently misled by dishonesty and untruths. *** expected me to incur all the costs any responsible dealership would have fixed, paid for and or supplied on a vehicle for a customer. He sold me a dangerous truck knowingly, yet tried to convince me it was not dangerous.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a settlement in the amount of $4,500.00 I believe because of my financial status, I was discriminated against, taken advantage of and was intently denied any discount on the price of the truck. I was treated differently than other customers and not helped to work within or close to my budget. The sale price of his vehicle should be reduced $3,000.00. I almost hit a pedestrian because I thought I was in neutral not reverse. My sales representative tried hard to convince me I would get used to the gear cluster being one gear off. I could not use the truck to it's full potential as the back tailgate was broken and could not be opened. I was promised one. However, I had it replaced and repaired myself. Knowing the truck needed some repairs and not disclosing any of them is bad business practices. My out of pocket costs for repairs, parts and services to make the truck safe was $400.00. It was never disclosed to me, only one key for the truck. I was led to believe; used vehicles only come with one key. This was lie. I was also misled into thinking the key did not have a computer chip. Any dealership should know about different keys because they do know how expensive those keys can be. I believe that California Motor should be held responsible to reimburse me $150.00 for the spare key I had to make. The paint is peeling off of one side of the truck. This only started happening seven days after purchasing the truck. The truck in no way was abused. It was not damaged in an accident, by another vehicle or acts of nature to cause the paint to peel. The truck had a very bad touch up paint job. $900.00 is needed to repair the paint. I have been lied to and mislead very step in the purchase of this truck. Even California Motor's own mechanic lied that the gear cluster could not be repaired. I do not trust nor will I use any of California Motors vendors to fix and or repair this truck if offered in this settlement. I still do not know if there is any pay off penalty on the loan. California Motors can send me, in writing from the loaner, confirming if there is or not a fee. If there is a fee, I require California Motor to cover this fee or pay $50.00 to settle.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/02) */ 10-2-14 Sent via email to *** ******** Dear ******, This is **** ****** in Customer Service i have spoken with **** the owner and he sincerely apologizes for dan's behavior and he since spoken to dan regarding this transaction.After reviewing your complaint he says he is happy to sit down with you and go over your specific issues with this transaction to make sure this doesn't happen again and your completely 100% satisfied,California Motors is in business mainly due to referrals and repeat customers.So,it is in our Best interest to make sure our Customers are totally satisfied,One thing that stood out to the Owner was the fact that *** offered you two extra years of Warranty Coverage for only $2.095.00 versus $1,895.00 which is only $200.00 for extra 2 years of coverage,and you complaint about that and actually cancel the warranty.In the owner's opinion that was a very bad decision on your part.Furthermore,his discrepancy in the Sales price were extremely minor the difference was only $7.00 this was obviously not intentional.We regret that you are unsatisfied with your transaction but at same time your complaints are totally without merit and very insignificant.Just a reminder we have been in business almost 20 years and most of our customers are repeat or referrals.We are sincerely sorry that you are unhappy and please give me a call so i can set up appointment with you to speak with the owner to express your opinion. Sincerely, **** ****** (XXX)XXX-XXXX **********@hotmail.com

9/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle in August that continues to have problems. Additionally, an open recall on the vehicle was not performed prior to my purchase. I purchased a **** ******** *** from this dealership in September 2013. We negotiated the terms of the sale via telephone because I live in ********* *** which is over 300 miles away from the dealership. I flew into Oakland and inspected the vehicle, I noticed a floor mat was missing and the absence of a second key. I was told that the dealership would attempt to produce a second key and the missing driver front floor mat and have them delivered to me, so I proceeded to purchase the car. After several calls the following weeks politely reminding them of these issues, they told me they were unable to come up with the missing items... Not a big deal. Approximately 1 hour into the drive home, I noticed a rattle coming from the r/f fender well area. I inspected the vehicle at a gas station to ensure it was safe, but was unable to locate the source of the rattle. I assumed there would be some rattles considering the age of the vehicle. I finally resolved the rattle earlier this week, after months of replacing little items here and there. It turns out that someone had tampered with the side skirts at some point and failed to reinstall them correctly and left a bolt loose. A week after purchasing the vehicle, the front brakes started squeaking. They were below manufacturer specs and had to be replaced. The rears were barely above minimal specs so I held off on those. At this same time, I also discovered that several of the brake light bulbs had blown out. Three months ago, the door lock on the driver side stopped working. Shortly after the locking mechanism on the driver side door started separating itself from the body. Two months ago, the bladder in the power seat that adjusts lumbar support also stopped working. This weekend, the mechanism that moves the driver seat forward and backward has also stopped working. I understand the age of the vehicle lends itself to some issues, but considering it only had 21000 miles on it at the time of purchase I am having doubts that this vehicle is free from defects. Additionally, I discovered last month that an open recall had not been performed on the vehicle that involved the replacement of an airbag safety switch. It concerns me that this dealership failed to do it's due diligence in the preparation of a vehicle for retail sale and possibly even covered up damages that should have been resolved. I paid a retail mark up for a vehicle that I am starting to feel was in wholesale condition.

Desired Settlement: With everything wrong with the vehicle, I do not believe it to be a lemon. It runs well and it looks beautiful, but the condition of the vehicle does not reflect the cost of what I paid for it. Aside from the few things I have already addressed myself in the short time owning the vehicle, I would like everything in the vehicle to perform and look as it is supposed to. I would like the rear brake pads replaced, I would like the brake light bulbs that are burned out to be replaced. I would like the power lock on the driver side door to work properly. I would like the locking mechanism on the exterior driver side door to be firmly attached to the body so that it does not invite theft. I would like the power functions on my driver seat to work. I would like the vehicle to be in the retail condition that I paid for it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/08/22) */ We sold this vehicle on consignment, and due to the low mileasge on the vehicle, the consigner wanted to sell the vehicle for $19,995. After negotiating with Mr. ***** and the consigner, we agreed on a sale price of $19,288. This price was agreed up by both the buyer and consigner. California Motors performed a safety inspection before selling the vehicle, and it passed all safety requirements, including the brakes. Mr ***** declined purchasing an available service contract, which would have covered the power seat and power lock.

2/26/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1998 BMW 540i purchased from CA Motors. Vehicle arrived in OH w/ damage to entire passenger ***** hood and all four tweeters not operating properly. Sat., Aug. 17, 2013 Based on the description from salespeople and pictures on Autotrader, Cars.com and CA Motors web sites, I agreed w/ sales mgr to purchase a **** *** ***** Verbal agreement via telephone and held w/ credit card deposit. Sep., 2013 The loan process was completed. I arranged for a third-party carrier to ship the car from ** to ** at a personal cost of $925. Sun., 9/29/13 Upon receipt of the car in OH, the driver of the semi immediately presented the vehicle inspection report showing locations of damage (dents and significant scratches) from his receipt of the vehicle at CA Motors. This damage was not disclosed by CA Motors. I'm tolerant of reasonable, small imperfections but, not damage. Oct., 2013 There were several conversations with the sales mgr and salespeople. The photographer sent e-mails of the photos to me. With these photos, for the first time, I could "zoom" and actually see the damage to the entire passenger **** and hood. On the web sites, one cannot "zoom" into the photos (taken from a considerable distance). And, after carefully examining the audio system, all four tweeters are not operating properly. Mon., 10/14/13 After two weeks of calling, CA Motors has not offered any solution.

Desired Settlement: The price of this BMW was $8,888. The estimate to repair the damage to the exterior (again, not disclosed to me and not visible on the listing) is $2,700 w/ another $400 to 1,000 to repair the audio system. Presuming CA Motors will not pay $3,000 as a remedy to repair this vehicle, I have suggested (several times) to the sales mgr and others that CA Motors void the sale and have the car shipped back to their dealership. After two weeks, I've gotten no response.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 14, 2014/01/06) */ December 27, 2013 Better Business Bureau 1000 Broadway, Suite 625 Oakland, CA 94607 RE: ******* ***** Complaint #XXXXXXXX Dear ***, You and I spoke earlier this month and you requested I send you an email explaining our side of the ***** transaction. California Motors listed for sale a one-owner with clean CarFax, **** *** **** sedan. CarFax shows vehicle was regularly serviced by the selling dealer, Sonnen BMW. ******* *****, of ***********, **** saw the vehicle listed online and called our dealership in August, 2013. He asked many questions and I recommended he get a Pre Purchase Inspection (PPI) from our local BMW dealer (Sonnen BMW). He agreed and the vehicle was inspected. The inspection must have gone well, because Mr. ***** agreed to purchase the BMW. We assisted Mr. ***** with the financing terms via FedEx, and the vehicle was picked up by a carrier that he found and commissioned. About a week after the vehicle left our possession, Mr. ***** called to inform me the transport truck carrying his XXXX XXXi and five other vehicles was seized by federal authorities, in *******. He said drugs were found in some of the vehicles. The transporter and all the vehicles were seized and the driver was arrested. Possibly, the DEA or local law enforcement may have scratched or dented Mr. *****'s BMW during their intense investigation and inspection for illegal drugs. The ************* was in acceptable visual condition when it was picked up at California Motors by the auto transport company that Mr. ***** commissioned. Please dismiss this frivolous complaint and reinstate our BBB Accreditation. Sincerely, **** ** ******* Sales Manager California Motors (XXX) XXX-XXXX Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 20, 2014/01/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) California Motors represented the vehicle as "Very clean..." (per the listing) and had "No accident/damage..." (per Carfax link offered by CA Motors). Although not part of the listing, the vehicle was damaged in several places while listed for sale at CA Motors; I learned of this damage after the transaction. Mr. ****** did not disclose the damage to me despite my repeated inquiries. Again, after the transaction, Mr. ********* photographer sent re-sizable pictures to me in which I could "zoom" in and see the damage was present while the vehicle was listed for sale at CA Motors. Mr. ******* the damage did not occur during shipping. As I have proposed a resolution: to void the sale and have CA Motors arrange return shipping; Mr. ****** has yet to offer any resolution. Any reasonable resolution will be entertained - a return of the vehicle to CA Motors, payment for the repair of the vehicle (here, in ***** by CA Motors, etc. Again, I have tried to contact and work with CA Motors (by phone, e-mail and FedEx); after two months, I'm still waiting for someone to contact me with a reasonable resolution. Mr.s ****** and *********, please suggest a reasonable resolution. Again, BBB, if your agents can assist in resolving this issue, please take action. Regards, **** ***** Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2014/01/23) */ Mr. *****, who lives in **** purchased a 15 year-old used *** (As-Is) from our dealership, located in California. After my recommendation, Mr. ***** made arrangements with our local BMW dealer to inspect the vehicle (Pre-Purchase Inspection) prior to buying it. He commissioned a transport company to deliver the car to ***** Please refer to my response letter sent by email to *** ******* on December 27th. **** ******

2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Service engine light came on three days after purchase. As of today it is still on. After i notified company of check engine light they informed me that they would repair only if i brought car into their shop. A week later I took it in they had it for three days provided a loaner car and called me when it was ready. upon receipt of my car I noticed it was still on and I called again and service manager states that it may come off, since then it is still on and I have changed the alternator twice and the starter once. I request they pay for everything I paid for and to fix what ever the problem is at a shop near my home.

Desired Settlement: To fix the problem and to refund me for any repairs I paid for only had the car five months.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/11/26) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ****, Finance Mgr. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ********@sbcglobal.net Better Business Bureau, Inc. 1000 Broadway, Suite 625 Oakland, CA XXXXX Re: Case # 57272050: ******* ******** To Whom It May Concern: ******* ******** purchased a 2000 Nissan Maxima with 173K miles from California Motors on 3/1/13. The selling price was $ 4553 plus tax and license, and sold to Ms. ******** "AS IS", with no warranty expressed or implied. Ms. ******** brought the vehicle back to us on 3/18/13, to check an oil smell, check remote key, and check engine light. Even though the vehicle was sold without a warranty, California Motors addressed all 3 issues by replacing the valve cover gasket, remote battery, and the catalytic converter. When the vehicle was returned to Ms. ********, all codes had been cleared and no warning lights were on. A copy of the repair bill has been attached to verify these repairs, along with the Buyers Guide showing vehicle sold "AS IS - NO WARRANTY" that is signed by the customer. These repairs, which cost California Motors $ 1361, were completed free of charge to Ms. ********, who was told that any future repairs would be her responsibility. Respectfully, **** **** California Motors Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/01/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To be truthful, I had been dealing with ******. After the initial repairs were made and the service engine light was still on I called ****** and ****** stated that older vehicles some time have that problem. So California Motors need to admit fault and meet the customers needs!! This is going beyond too far for the dealerships mistake. That's why they take so long to respond. Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/01/23) */ Better Business Bureau, Inc. 1000 Broadway, Suite 625 Oakland, CA XXXXX Re: Case# 57272050: ******* ******** To Whom It May Concern, As mentioned in our first response, the 2000 Nissan Maxima that Ms. ******** bought from California Motors was sold "AS IS" with no warranty. But despite selling the vehicle with no warranty, California Motors still made repairs totaling $1361 for customer good will. The "check engine light" was addressed, as codes ***** **** 2 *** came up on the scanner, meaning the catalytic converter was malfunctioning. We subsequently replaced the catalytic converter, as shown in the repair order I attached with our first response. Two days later Ms. ******** called to say the "check engine" light came back on, and our service manager ****** told her to bring the car back so we can determine why the warning light came back on. Ms. ******** never brought the vehicle back. Respectfully, **** **** California Motors


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on California Motors
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)