BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/29/2011

Cal West Motors

Phone: (510) 352-9230Fax: (510) 357-25151977 E 14th St, San LeandroCA 94577-5022

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides automobile sales & financing.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/29/2011

BBB has determined that Cal West Motors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Cal West Motors' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Cal West Motors

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
12/02/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Waiting over one month for dmv paperwork to be delivered from Cal west motors, they claim they sent to wrong address and will not fix
They have the dmv send paperwork for them after i bought the car and they also hold an extra key until it is sent

Desired Settlement
Had taken nearly a month to get my dmv registration and extra key to my car.will not negotiate to go fix dmv paperwork which they claim was labeled with the wrong address from them.horrible customer service between both sakes department and customer service

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****-General Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************@aol.com
To whom it may concern,
We sold ****** ********* a vehicle on ******** and registered it at CA DMV on his behalf on ********** At the time of sale we placed a ** Used Vehicle Report of Sale on his windshield which temporarily registers vehicles sold by ** Dealers for 90 days. His address on all of our paperwork, including DMV forms, is his correct **** ********** **** address. Somehow and erroneously a DMV Clerk Employee entered his address into the DMV Computer System incorrectly as **** ********** ***** ****** was in a hurry to get his registration and called our Office Manager. She told ****** she had mailed his registration to him and he said he had not received it. She further investigated, checked addresses and realized the DMV error. On 10//10/2013 she asked DMV in to correct his address information in the DMV Computer System and a corrected Registration was issued. This was then mailed to ******. Mistakes like this are rare but can sometimes happen. Our Office Manager went out of her way to help our customer on his behalf with DMV. DMV transfers can often take up to the allotted 90 day time frame due to the complicated processes at ** DMV. We did everything right in this case. DMV made the error. Cal West Motors corrected the error and in a very short period of time. We want to again take this opportunity to thank ****** for his business. We appreciate it! Cal West Motors Team.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When you have waited 20 days to even register the car is not even me being in a hurry, it's bad business management.you wouldn't have waited over 20 days for any kind of down payment, why would i want to wait over a month for my registration? Another thing is someone going out of their way to help someone in a situation like this doesn't take over two weeks.also the key fob i was finally sent is not operable without using something to push the switches since all the rubber buttons are gone from it

Final Business Response
We register dozens of cars every month and hundreds each year. We register vehicles for our customers in order they are sold. We attach a CA State Report of Sale to every sold vehicle. These State issued documents temporarily register vehicles sold by CA dealerships and are valid for 90 days. We did everything right and as fast as possible.
When we received the ******* *** we noticed the key remote was damaged and not working properly. We then ordered a new key and remote from our lock company which was included with the vehicle. ****** asked if had an extra key we could send him so we sent the original damaged key to him. Most vehicles we receive have only 1 key and or remote. At least he has a spare to use now in case he loses the new key and remote we provided. **** *****

05/02/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/11/2001Business started: 05/01/1981
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 34831 for this company.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicle

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 1997, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Casey (General Manager)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Cal West Trades Best, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cal West Motors

1977 E 14th St

San Leandro, CA 94577-5022

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1977 E 14th St 

    San Leandro, CA 94577-5022(510) 352-9230

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cal West Motors is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - Used Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.