BBB Accredited Business since

BMG Auto Sales & Repair

Phone: (510) 894-4807 Fax: (510) 894-4807 4239 Peralta Blvd, Fremont, CA 94536 http://www.bmgautos.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers pre-owned vehicle sales and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that BMG Auto Sales & Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for BMG Auto Sales & Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on BMG Auto Sales & Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 21, 2010 Business started: 05/01/2010 Business started locally: 05/01/2010 Business incorporated 02/10/2010 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10240 Systems Pkwy, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.dca.ca.gov/consumer/wll.shtml
Phone Number: (855) 837-7985
The number is 261692.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jason Xing, Manager Mr. Michael Wang, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Xing, Manager
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Service Area
This business service area covers the bay area.
Alternate Business Names
Brothers Motoring Group, LLC

Additional Locations

  • 4239 Peralta Blvd

    Fremont, CA 94536 (510) 894-4807

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/29/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/15/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Car advertised as in "excellent condition" actually had major mechanical problems, BMG sold me a car they claimed to be in excellent condition in their online ad, which was actually faulty and broke down less than two months from purchase. The check engine light came on the very next morning after purchase, took the vehicle back to them in which they "replaced two failed parts." This was only a temporary fix as the car smoked up and broke down on me less than six weeks later. Took to auto repair shop and they found major mechanical problems with repair costs of approximately $4,700. Tires on car where also faulty and considered in unacceptable sales condition which I was unaware of. This cost is not included in the repair costs. When initially offered the extended warranty, I asked if I would need it. Salesman replied and told me "you don't need it, it's a great car, you won't have any problems with it, I drove it myself." Which I believed.

Desired Settlement: Total cost of repairs and replacement of tires, approximately $5,500 but exact amount to be determined by independent auto repair shops.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/04/27) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **** Shop Manager Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ********@gmail.com Customer purchased a used car without extended service plan, warranty is expired due to over 100k on the miles. Week after, 2 ignition coils went out on her, drove in and complained about it, BMG went ahead changed 2 ignition coils for her at no cost. Car drove great for her for the next 7 weeks. Customer called in complained about the there were smokes from the engine bay and she is scared to drive. BMG advised her to bring the vehicle in for inspection, but since no service contract was purchased, it wont be free of charge, customer said will tow in. Car never came in. Next thing we know, there was a bad review on Yelp. If customer wants us to help out, she needs to give us the change to inspect it and properly diagnose the problem. If we didnt fix the problem, why did the car drive good for 7 weeks? Car with over 100k miles has a lot of components aging, they will eventually go out item by item. Does not mean it is a bad car, it needs maintenance and upkeep. Customer needs to understand that we cant help her if she wants to take the car to somewhere else. We also can not guarantee used cars are not going to have tear and wear items going out, it is inevitable. It is the very reason why customers get a 45/hr rate at our shop for future maintenance and repair. But if they want to take it to a place that charges them 170/hr, it was a decision by the customer. All documents were properly signed and disclosed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2015/04/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) BMG proved to be negligent as they were well aware of the major mechanical defects and repairs needed but deceptively advertised vehicle as in excellent condition. They have the abilty to temporarily clear error codes in which they did, as the check engine light came back on the very next morning after purchase. Numerous complaints posted on yelp to the same effect as they are repeat offenders. Why on earth would anyone pay over 13k for a car and bring it back to the same place to pay more for repairs? And their initial "discounted" repair offer was not acceptable. Furthermore, they claimed to have five vehicles ahead of mine and I rightfully so, choose a credible place for repair. Signing an "as-is" agreement does not give the dealer the right to defraud the buyer. Simply immorally and dishonest people running this business. I am prepared to take the next step for recourse. I would strongly urge BMG to reasonably correct the matter. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2015/05/02) */ BMG can not meet your demand. There is no implicit or explicit form of any warranty given or purchased. Vehicle is presented to you in good driving condition. IF there is problems, you MUST bring it to the selling dealer first as per contact that you have signed. Only if the dealer refuses to cooperate, then you can take it to other places. We have customers that made appointments on that day, but you can tow it in and we will get to your car as soon as we can. No misrepresentations. We did not intentional cover up any thing, if the car smokes it will smoke the minute that you test drive it, or immidiately afterwards, it wont wait few weeks. But again, the NATURE OF USED cars is unpredictable, we cant predict when or what part is going to fail next. It is your responsibility to keep up the maintanence on the vehicle that you have purchased, we are here to help our customers keeping the cost down, but it does not mean we are doing it for free, if you dont buy any service contracts, then you are going to pay of out pocket expenses each time the car breaks down. We are sorry about the breakdown of your car, but we wished that you could have taken it to us and let us help when we offered you that. It would not have been expensive at all. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2015/05/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) BMG would of course say that after the fact. Nothing changes the true conduct and deception of the business. Fact is that they not only sold me a car that was faulty and way overpriced, but they also found the HIGHEST interest rate out there and claimed that was the "best" they can do, only to make more off the sale. I found out who the previous owner of my car was. He had repeated problems with the car and traded it into BMG. They were fully aware but again, it is their business to be dishonest.

3/2/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BMG Dealer. false advertisement on products they offer most of there cars are lemon. I purchased a 2002 BMW for $4,600 one day after engine broke. F Warning BMG the worse dealer in the bay area they used false advertisement on their postings cars. I purchased a 2002 BMW for $4,600 for my son 16 new driver, and like any other responsible parent I was trying to get him a decent car on running conditions. I trusted BMG because they verbally agreed to fix the it, if any issues arise and they also remark that the water system was replace and they should be any over heating issues and that everything was tested and it was okay. I took the car home one day after engine over heated I called them and they offer me they stupid $45 rate but I'll have to tow it to them and they will not cover that. I live 60 miles and no guaranty that they will fix it, so I took it to a local mechanic and the diagnoses was that the car was over headed before to the level that the head gaskets were leaking water in to the heads, and the water pump was not running and the whole water system had to be replace. I call BMG and they changed their tone with me and of course they told me well you bought the car as is...WTF.. I had to replace the engine and water system it cost $3,000.00 I called them back and asked for help or to pay for the refurnish engine and they shut me down, so I paid my self and now I want to get a refund or let other good people out there know about this rats... I got all the false adds and recorded the conversation with the dealer sales guy because it was a cash deal and I like to record deals on cash as proof I paid or for situations like this. They know what they need to do or if not court will be.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting BMG Auto Sales to follow the California law and Refund me $2,000.00 for the refurbish engine or I'll be force to file a lawsuit if there is no actions or satisfactory answers (No Customer wants your cheap and poor quality labor so don't mention it) Educate your self by reading the following law about lemon cars The federal lemon law was passed ** Congress in 1975 and applies to all goods, including cars, which come with a written warranty and cost more than $25 dollars. Under this federal lemon law, the warrantor is required to repair your car within a reasonable time. This can be as few as two or three repair attempts. If your car is deemed a lemon under the federal lemon law, you may be entitled to a refund, a replacement car, or a substantial cash payment depending upon the written warranty you were provided with when you purchased your lemon car. I got your false advertisement about the false repairs as well. thanks you

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/24) */ In response to the complaint. Please note customer declined the warranty offered and bought the car as is for one. Secondly, when he called in, we asked him to bring it to have us check it out. But never showed up at all. We can not help any customer if they refuse to bring it here. lemon law only applies to car under factory warranty. We are always trying our best to help our customers with what we can. But when no warranty is purchased and customer would not bring the vehicle in and instead takes it somewhere else and have others work on it, we are not responsible for the outcome. Thank you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/11/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I called them and asked them to pick up the car and they never show up their location is 60 miles away from my home, and the vehicle was not on running conditions due to over heating and engine broke after due to the water pump issues. They advertisement said new water system I got proves and recorded conversation as well, If not take responsibility for the damage I'll take legal action after respond. Thank you Rat's

10/23/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BMG auto shouldn't sell lemon car and intended to trick customer. 10/2/2013 I bought a 2001 Audi A6 4.2L from this used car dealer, at the moment made purchase no problem. Next day, check Engine light on and I told the manager ***** **** the problem, he told me the time they sold it to me there's no problem and it's because this is used car. 10/22/2013 I went to Stevens Creek Audi dealer for complimentary vehicle inspection. The result came out with lots problems: 1.Bank 2 sensor 2 O2 sensor fail 2.Fuel Injection and adapt throttle body fail 3.spark plugs fail 4.Vacuum Hoses fail 5.Serpetine belt damaged fail 6.Timing belt caution. I realize I am the victim of a big con trick from BMG auto. this car got lots problems before I bought it, but BMG auto intended to reset the check engine light off to fool people to buy "AS IS", and then when people who bought a car from them, they provide a discount repair rate for their customer. As a used car dealer, they shouldn't sell lemon car and intended to trick customer. My car keep check engine light on continuesly. After fix a problem, the new problem cames out. As a consumer, BMG auto should get termination of business immediately is the best sanction against a dishonese shop like this. Thank you very much! ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: California Department of Consumer Affairs

Desired Settlement: BMG auto should get termination of business immediately is the best sanction against a dishonese shop like this.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/07) */ Customer bought the car after had it inspected at Quality Auto Repair in Fremont. Decision was made solely by the customer. So he calls us and complaints in almost a year after the purchase? After the inspection at Quality Auto Repair, the buyer has full knowledge of what he was getting, since the price was the incentive for him, he made the decision to buy. There were no other requests made by the customer when purchase was made. Audi can be expensive to maintain. BMG Auto Sales has followed proper guidelines when selling used vehicles, we are always trying our best. But customer also needs to understand that he is buying a used vehicle, not new, so everything in it would be used, with 82,000 Miles on it.

10/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bmg sold me a vehicle with a defective transmission that jerks and slams horribly. Bmg claims they inspected the vehicle, if so they had to know. On July,11,2014 I strolled into Bmg auto sales & repair about a add I seen on Craigslist concerning a white Volvo 2002 v70 off-road with roughly 180,000 miles on it.The car salesmen directs me to the car while assuring me it's a second owner ,very we'll kept,and drives great.All I wanted to know is was there any known problems I should know about,and the salesmen who is a heavy set Asian guy said "No,we service and inspect all of our cars before sales,we have a shop with professional mechanics in the back".So I spend 2700 for the car charged to a hr block emerald card and a extra 475 for a Wheels warranty that they neglected to tell me only had minimal coverage.During the first two weeks I noticed the car would **** incredibly hard during shifts,it had long delays when shifting from reverse to drive ,from neutral to reverse and It jerked violently all the way to fifth gear.The transmission would **** and bump when coming to a complete stop.So I called Bmg and explained my symptoms and the same sales rep said "no problem,it's probably just the fluid ,bring it in".Before I bring the car in I check the fluid myself and it's filthy so I believe them(notice it's filthy after they're inspection).I bring the car in and they charge me 160 for a fluid flush and give me some receipt that look like it came from a corner store.When talking to the mechanic I asked what can I do to fix these horrible symptoms ,and he simply said " It's a old transmission ,u bought a old car,u should have knew the transmission was weak and jerky" .I asked him "how long u do u think before the tranny completely stops" and he said "maybe 20,000 miles" .Then I asked him "sir,would you buy a car with a weak tranny,old or not" he got mad and directed me back to the salesman who assured me if after the fluid change if the car didn't drive right they would take care of me.Before I leave I ask what can I do to make the car drive rite and they said maybe a rebuild 2200(why didn't u know or tell me I needed a rebuild before the sale if u inspected it and how do u know that's what I need if u didn't thoroughly check my tranny).so I drive the car until sept.11 I notice no change in the tranny and the fluid was still filthy(no evidence of a fluid flush)so I call back and this time the salesmen advised me that the store manager is going to be out until the 22nd and it's nothing he can do until then.Feeling like I'm being givin the run around I take the car to another repair shop to get a diagnostic.While test driving the car and running it through the gears the mechanic noticed what I was saying about the jerks,bumps,and delays and his very words was "somebody sold this car to you like this?".I asked him what's wrong and he said he didn't know now but it's gonna definitely need repair.I left it with him for the day and he called me and told me that I needed a new valve body and one of the internal bushings was busted and the cost for repair was 2500(close to the bmg discount).The repair man told me there was no way a professional mechanic had this car for over 2days and didn't know of these needed repairs.If I knew of these repairs I would have never bought this car.this car should have been advertised as a "fixer upper" or a "mechanic special".withholding information of needed repairs until after a sale is a form of deceptive practices and is not consistent with advertisement.I understand business is business but as Americans we're taught to do it with integrity,after all where is a country going when consumers are afraid to consume.Being used car salesmen you should know the consumers that u appeal to are the financially challenge and can't deal with the surprise hidden repairs after a big purchase such as a car.I don't want anything for free but I feel like I should be accommodated generously.Its humiliating to buy a new product and have it fall apart so soon.

Desired Settlement: I don't want anything for free but I would be glad to meet you guys half way or somewhere near that.Im willing to put effort into helping you guys make the car run as advertised.although I don't feel like a customer should have to suffer from a bad sale ,I'm open to any reasonable settlement.but I feel like if you guys are gonna need 2200 to fix my car ,then you should have sold the car to me for 4900 or advertised it for 4900

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/04) */ customer came in today and BMG and the customer has mutually came to an agreement to fix the kick in the transmission problem. Customer is satisfied with the resolution provided by BMG. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/10/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I ageed to pay bmg 1500 to fix the problems I listed with the transmission.I've spoken with bmg today 10.8.14 who told me I can pick up the car 10.17.14

9/1/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Car was sold to me and within a week had alot of defects. Have not had the car for a month and repairs are to be done. Was told the car was in a good Car was purchased July 5, 2014. Within two days of having car in my possession I get a service engine light on. The car gets stuck in one gear. I took to the dealer and they said it was the alternator. So I bought a new alternator and they replaced it. Total cost was $300. That same week I get increased emissions service engine light again. I take back to the dealer and now they said i need to change thermostat $188 dollar job. Now the car is jerking. I was told that the car had no mechanical problems and was in good running condition. That is not the case. I believe they reset the lights so when you test drive it didn't show up just like they did when I took the car to get it checked they were able to turn all the engine service lights off and then they showed up again a couple of days later.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking from the business that they repair all mechanical issues with the car at no cost to me. If that is not possible I want a replacement car or my downpayment money back so that I can buy a reliable car.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/08/08) */ No warranty is purchased by the customer, alternator failed after on July 21st, and customer called, provided labor at no cost to customer, customer brought in an alternator that is no of OEM part, shop manager ***** advised to use only OEM part only, customer refused. Customer called again on July 29th, complaint was about the check engine light, customer drove by the second day, free diagnostic was provided to the customer found code is ***** which is the electronic thermostat unit, advised customer to replace the part. Also clarified since there is no warranty, BMG can no longer cover the part and labor on repairs, the total cost of the Thermostat unit retail is at $435, BMG discounted the repair at $188 parts and labor to help out the customer. Customer needs to understand that it is a used vehicle that she/he is buying, no pre-existing problems are there, but since the high mileage, replacement of tear and wear parts will be called upon. BMG is also here to provide our customer with competitive labor rate of $45/hr for customers only, and wholesale prices on OEM parts. That would be the best we can provide for our customer without extended warranty purchased. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/08/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) First reason as to why I do not accept the response is that I can not believe this business has the audacity to lie the way they did on their response. Never was the car repaired at no cost. Business charged $90 labor and took cash for it. I have a witness to this as well. The business deliberately reset the engine lights so when the car was test driven no lights came on. That is why a day later all the lights came up. This isn't some wear and tear we are talking about. When I took the car to tell them about all the lights coming on they told me it was the alternator. They then reset all the engine lights so I had no engine lights come on again. And of course that lasted for a day or two. Just how when the car was purchased.I have three kids so I needed a good running car so I purchased the alternator now that the alternator is fixed.Lights for the other stuff are still on. I do not believe this is a coincidence that all of a sudden all these problems with car will pop up at the same time. Also in less than 2 week period. It is understandable if I had the car for a few months but the car started with these problems a day or 2 later. The problem is that they sold a car that they knew was not a good running car. They guaranteed there was no problems with the car. Also I tried to buy the warranty, I told them I did not have the cash because I was giving everything I had to the down payment so I can leave a check or come back later with the cash and they refused. They made it very difficult for me to get the warranty and I believe I know why now. Because the car had so many issues. It seems to me that this is their calling card. They reset all the lights so when customer test drives it nothing shows up but as soon as it leaves the lot a day later all engine lights come on. Bottom line is the car is not fulfilling its purpose, BMG took advantage of me, perhaps because they saw I was a female and single mother they thought I did not know about cars. Thing is I am not the only customer they have done this to. I have done some research and found out that many customers have had the same problem with them. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/08/16) */ As the owner of the business, i didnt find any receipt of any repair done by us on your vehicle. When I asked *****, he said he provided you the installation when you came in last. As far as the check engine light, it reads a code for the thermostat, so that is a maint. item, such items are not even covered under the warranty if you did purchase the warranty. Used cars are going to need replacement parts as they get old. So it is common to have parts failing at the higher mileage. That is why we have a repair shop and provide our customer a discounted rate of $45/hr. I am afraid that I can not provide the repair for you for free.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on BMG Auto Sales & Repair
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)