BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/29/2011

BMG Auto Sales & Repair

Phone: (510) 894-4807Fax: (510) 894-48074239 Peralta Blvd, FremontCA 94536-4853

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers pre-owned vehicle sales and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/29/2011

BBB has determined that BMG Auto Sales & Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered BMG Auto Sales & Repair's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised BMG Auto Sales & Repair's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on BMG Auto Sales & Repair

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (5)BBB Closure Definitions
10/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
BMG auto shouldn't sell lemon car and intended to trick customer.
10/2/2013 I bought a 2001 Audi A6 4.2L from this used car dealer, at the moment made purchase no problem. Next day, check Engine light on and I told the manager ***** **** the problem, he told me the time they sold it to me there's no problem and it's because this is used car.

10/22/2013 I went to Stevens Creek Audi dealer for complimentary vehicle inspection. The result came out with lots problems: 1.Bank 2 sensor 2 O2 sensor fail 2.Fuel Injection and adapt throttle body fail 3.spark plugs fail 4.Vacuum Hoses fail 5.Serpetine belt damaged fail 6.Timing belt caution. I realize I am the victim of a big con trick from BMG auto. this car got lots problems before I bought it, but BMG auto intended to reset the check engine light off to fool people to buy "AS IS", and then when people who bought a car from them, they provide a discount repair rate for their customer.

As a used car dealer, they shouldn't sell lemon car and intended to trick customer.

My car keep check engine light on continuesly. After fix a problem, the new problem cames out. As a consumer, BMG auto should get termination of business immediately is the best sanction against a dishonese shop like this.

Thank you very much!

ADDITIONAL DETAILS:
Case is being handled by another organization: California Department of Consumer Affairs

Desired Settlement
BMG auto should get termination of business immediately is the best sanction against a dishonese shop like this.

Business Response
Customer bought the car after had it inspected at Quality Auto Repair in Fremont. Decision was made solely by the customer. So he calls us and complaints in almost a year after the purchase?

After the inspection at Quality Auto Repair, the buyer has full knowledge of what he was getting, since the price was the incentive for him, he made the decision to buy. There were no other requests made by the customer when purchase was made. Audi can be expensive to maintain.

BMG Auto Sales has followed proper guidelines when selling used vehicles, we are always trying our best. But customer also needs to understand that he is buying a used vehicle, not new, so everything in it would be used, with 82,000 Miles on it.

10/09/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bmg sold me a vehicle with a defective transmission that jerks and slams horribly. Bmg claims they inspected the vehicle, if so they had to know.
On July,11,2014 I strolled into Bmg auto sales & repair about a add I seen on Craigslist concerning a white Volvo 2002 v70 off-road with roughly 180,000 miles on it.The car salesmen directs me to the car while assuring me it's a second owner ,very we'll kept,and drives great.All I wanted to know is was there any known problems I should know about,and the salesmen who is a heavy set Asian guy said "No,we service and inspect all of our cars before sales,we have a shop with professional mechanics in the back".So I spend 2700 for the car charged to a hr block emerald card and a extra 475 for a Wheels warranty that they neglected to tell me only had minimal coverage.During the first two weeks I noticed the car would **** incredibly hard during shifts,it had long delays when shifting from reverse to drive ,from neutral to reverse and It jerked violently all the way to fifth gear.The transmission would **** and bump when coming to a complete stop.So I called Bmg and explained my symptoms and the same sales rep said "no problem,it's probably just the fluid ,bring it in".Before I bring the car in I check the fluid myself and it's filthy so I believe them(notice it's filthy after they're inspection).I bring the car in and they charge me 160 for a fluid flush and give me some receipt that look like it came from a corner store.When talking to the mechanic I asked what can I do to fix these horrible symptoms ,and he simply said " It's a old transmission ,u bought a old car,u should have knew the transmission was weak and jerky" .I asked him "how long u do u think before the tranny completely stops" and he said "maybe 20,000 miles" .Then I asked him "sir,would you buy a car with a weak tranny,old or not" he got mad and directed me back to the salesman who assured me if after the fluid change if the car didn't drive right they would take care of me.Before I leave I ask what can I do to make the car drive rite and they said maybe a rebuild 2200(why didn't u know or tell me I needed a rebuild before the sale if u inspected it and how do u know that's what I need if u didn't thoroughly check my tranny).so I drive the car until sept.11 I notice no change in the tranny and the fluid was still filthy(no evidence of a fluid flush)so I call back and this time the salesmen advised me that the store manager is going to be out until the 22nd and it's nothing he can do until then.Feeling like I'm being givin the run around I take the car to another repair shop to get a diagnostic.While test driving the car and running it through the gears the mechanic noticed what I was saying about the jerks,bumps,and delays and his very words was "somebody sold this car to you like this?".I asked him what's wrong and he said he didn't know now but it's gonna definitely need repair.I left it with him for the day and he called me and told me that I needed a new valve body and one of the internal bushings was busted and the cost for repair was 2500(close to the bmg discount).The repair man told me there was no way a professional mechanic had this car for over 2days and didn't know of these needed repairs.If I knew of these repairs I would have never bought this car.this car should have been advertised as a "fixer upper" or a "mechanic special".withholding information of needed repairs until after a sale is a form of deceptive practices and is not consistent with advertisement.I understand business is business but as Americans we're taught to do it with integrity,after all where is a country going when consumers are afraid to consume.Being used car salesmen you should know the consumers that u appeal to are the financially challenge and can't deal with the surprise hidden repairs after a big purchase such as a car.I don't want anything for free but I feel like I should be accommodated generously.Its humiliating to buy a new product and have it fall apart so soon.

Desired Settlement
I don't want anything for free but I would be glad to meet you guys half way or somewhere near that.Im willing to put effort into helping you guys make the car run as advertised.although I don't feel like a customer should have to suffer from a bad sale ,I'm open to any reasonable settlement.but I feel like if you guys are gonna need 2200 to fix my car ,then you should have sold the car to me for 4900 or advertised it for 4900

Business Response
customer came in today and BMG and the customer has mutually came to an agreement to fix the kick in the transmission problem. Customer is satisfied with the resolution provided by BMG.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I ageed to pay bmg 1500 to fix the problems I listed with the transmission.I've spoken with bmg today 10.8.14 who told me I can pick up the car 10.17.14

09/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Car was sold to me and within a week had alot of defects. Have not had the car for a month and repairs are to be done. Was told the car was in a good
Car was purchased July 5, 2014. Within two days of having car in my possession I get a service engine light on. The car gets stuck in one gear. I took to the dealer and they said it was the alternator. So I bought a new alternator and they replaced it. Total cost was $300. That same week I get increased emissions service engine light again. I take back to the dealer and now they said i need to change thermostat $188 dollar job. Now the car is jerking. I was told that the car had no mechanical problems and was in good running condition. That is not the case. I believe they reset the lights so when you test drive it didn't show up just like they did when I took the car to get it checked they were able to turn all the engine service lights off and then they showed up again a couple of days later.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking from the business that they repair all mechanical issues with the car at no cost to me. If that is not possible I want a replacement car or my downpayment money back so that I can buy a reliable car.

Business Response
No warranty is purchased by the customer, alternator failed after on July 21st, and customer called, provided labor at no cost to customer, customer brought in an alternator that is no of OEM part, shop manager ***** advised to use only OEM part only, customer refused. Customer called again on July 29th, complaint was about the check engine light, customer drove by the second day, free diagnostic was provided to the customer found code is ***** which is the electronic thermostat unit, advised customer to replace the part. Also clarified since there is no warranty, BMG can no longer cover the part and labor on repairs, the total cost of the Thermostat unit retail is at $435, BMG discounted the repair at $188 parts and labor to help out the customer. Customer needs to understand that it is a used vehicle that she/he is buying, no pre-existing problems are there, but since the high mileage, replacement of tear and wear parts will be called upon. BMG is also here to provide our customer with competitive labor rate of $45/hr for customers only, and wholesale prices on OEM parts. That would be the best we can provide for our customer without extended warranty purchased.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First reason as to why I do not accept the response is that I can not believe this business has the audacity to lie the way they did on their response. Never was the car repaired at no cost. Business charged $90 labor and took cash for it. I have a witness to this as well. The business deliberately reset the engine lights so when the car was test driven no lights came on. That is why a day later all the lights came up. This isn't some wear and tear we are talking about. When I took the car to tell them about all the lights coming on they told me it was the alternator. They then reset all the engine lights so I had no engine lights come on again. And of course that lasted for a day or two. Just how when the car was purchased.I have three kids so I needed a good running car so I purchased the alternator now that the alternator is fixed.Lights for the other stuff are still on. I do not believe this is a coincidence that all of a sudden all these problems with car will pop up at the same time. Also in less than 2 week period. It is understandable if I had the car for a few months but the car started with these problems a day or 2 later. The problem is that they sold a car that they knew was not a good running car. They guaranteed there was no problems with the car. Also I tried to buy the warranty, I told them I did not have the cash because I was giving everything I had to the down payment so I can leave a check or come back later with the cash and they refused. They made it very difficult for me to get the warranty and I believe I know why now. Because the car had so many issues. It seems to me that this is their calling card. They reset all the lights so when customer test drives it nothing shows up but as soon as it leaves the lot a day later all engine lights come on. Bottom line is the car is not fulfilling its purpose, BMG took advantage of me, perhaps because they saw I was a female and single mother they thought I did not know about cars. Thing is I am not the only customer they have done this to. I have done some research and found out that many customers have had the same problem with them.

Final Business Response
As the owner of the business, i didnt find any receipt of any repair done by us on your vehicle. When I asked *****, he said he provided you the installation when you came in last. As far as the check engine light, it reads a code for the thermostat, so that is a maint. item, such items are not even covered under the warranty if you did purchase the warranty. Used cars are going to need replacement parts as they get old. So it is common to have parts failing at the higher mileage. That is why we have a repair shop and provide our customer a discounted rate of $45/hr. I am afraid that I can not provide the repair for you for free.

01/23/2013Problems with Product / Service
12/19/2011Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/21/2010Business started: 05/01/2010
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 46534 for this company.

Type: DMV, Motor Carrier Unit

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 261692 for this company.

Type: Bureau of Automotive Repair

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Xing (Manager)Mr. Michael Wang (President)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Service Area

This business service area covers the bay area.

Alternate Business Names
Brothers Motoring Group, LLC
Industry Tips
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Purchasing a Car Online
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for BMG Auto Sales & Repair

4239 Peralta Blvd

Fremont, CA 94536-4853

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4239 Peralta Blvd 

    Fremont, CA 94536-4853(510) 894-4807

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*BMG Auto Sales & Repair is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.