BBB Accredited Business since

Toyota 101

Phone: (650) 365-5000 Fax: (650) 364-9068 View Additional Phone Numbers 525 E Bayshore Rd, Redwood City, CA 94063 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.toyota101.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales, service, and parts for new & used cars including hybrid autos.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Toyota 101 meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Toyota 101 include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Toyota 101
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 15, 1992 Business started: 02/25/1992 Business started locally: 02/25/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10240 Systems Pkwy, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.dca.ca.gov/consumer/wll.shtml
Phone Number: (855) 837-7985

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jim Rimmer, General Manager Ms. Lorena Diaz Mr. Steve Hiller, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Rimmer, General Manager
Number of Employees

120

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Service Area
This business service area covers: Atherton, Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Colma, Daly City, East Palo Alto, Foster City, Half Moon Bay, Hillsborough, Menlo Park, Millbrae, Pacifica, Portola Valley, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Carlos, San Mateo, South San Francisco, Woodside.
Alternate Business Names
Bayshore Motor Group Scion 101

Additional Locations

  • 525 E Bayshore Rd

    Redwood City, CA 94063 (877) 203-4383

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Toyota 101 sales rep promised vehicle had been sold from me, accepted a blank check, then reneged on promise and ignored all communication. ***** ****** provided awful communication, false promises, broken commitments, and an utterly terrible customer experience from beginning to end. My attempts to spend upward of $30,000 were rewarded with nothing but scorn and abandonment. In my case, I was told by the salesman, ***** ******, that I had purchased a vehicle and it was off the market. I had sent a bank financing check in per his instructions. Everything was in order. He then disappeared and I had to spend two days finding out he had forgotten to tell anybody else, and the vehicle had been sold. Even though he had promised the vehicle had been sold to me (“I’ll put a sold sign on it.”), nothing mattered. Perhaps most surprising, he was unwilling to attempt to do anything at all to make it right. A heartfelt apology and some sort of offer to help find another alternative vehicle would have softened the blow, but he could not be troubled to even respond to me. Who does that to their customers? Who leave them at the altar? And then doesn't even bother to communicate? What a dismal failure at the dealership, utterly failing at the basics of being able to sell a car and create a satisfied customer. Management needs to understand ***** ****** needs, at a minimum, significant additional training. I would at least appreciate acknowledgement of the significant problem.

Desired Settlement: As a business owner myself, I would appreciate acknowledgement by management of the significant problem with their sales staff. I would like to send the email thread involving ***** ****** to an executive with significant authority at the dealership.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/21) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ***** GSM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX **** Contact Email: *****@toyota101.com I have attempted to reach out to Mr ******** immediately following his YELP review. The response was sent through a private messaging on 7/12/2015. He went by the name of "****** S" who posted this exact same content dated 7/11/2015 I'll paste the response that was sent to Mr ******** from my email. I have not heard back from him any further comments. **** L. Manager 7/12/2015 ****** - I realize that it's too late but I hope you and your wife will accept my most sincerest apology. Words can't express how disappointed I am with my team for letting you and your wife down. This is not how we want our guest to be treated. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I'm out of the country but I give you my word I will have a conversation with ***** upon my return. Again, I want to apologize to you and your wife for such a poor experience. Please feel free to contact me if you have any further comments that you would like to add. Thank you for sharing your story, and for it's worth, congratulations on your new Sienna. **** **** General Sales Manager *****@toyota101.com XXX-XXX-XXXX *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Toyota 101
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)