BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/17/2013

Stewart Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, Inc.

(650) 994-9800800 Serramonte Blvd, ColmaCA 94014-3222

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used auto sales and full service parts and repairs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/17/2013

BBB has determined that Stewart Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Stewart Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Stewart Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
02/12/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Powertrain Warranty **** ***** ****** denied
Dealer and District Manager is denying warranty due to a number of "issues" 1) speed at time of engine failure 2) not using GM specific Dexos oil(warranty states Dexos Oil 3) no mileage indicated on last service entry on maintanience log. 4) Dealership refuses to provide warranty declination in writing without a $300 payment for invesigation. We have spoken to at least 8 or 9 different respresentatives over the course of 2 weeks with no resolution. Feel like were getting the run around and have been treated in a unprofessional manner and rude at times. Warranty provided & extended warranty purchased covers engine failure up to 100K miles. They in itially stated that the warranty wouldnt cover the replacement of the engine because the vehicle was going 97 mph and they deemed this as negligent. No where in the warranty does it state that above a specific speed the warranty is voided (only if racing which I was not). Next they stated that there were no service records. Service records were collected in three days. Called the dealership to give them copies of service records and they told me not to bring them in and take it up with the manufacturer. Spent 5 days speaking with different regional managers, customer service, and dealership managers. After 5 more days I sent a letter and in response they requested I bring the documents in to the dealership as I initially tried to do. After having someone look at the vehicle again, they said they would try to have the denial overturned. After the weekend went by they called again to say they're now refusing the warranty again because the type of oil used was not dexos 1 oil and there was no mileage available for when the vehicle was last serviced. According to the Magnusson-Moss Warranty Act, if the dealership is refusing the warranty claiming the failure was due to type of oil, they are responsible for proving that the oil used is what caused the vehicle to fail. They refused from day one through present to provide any documentation of the inspection performed or reason they are denying the warranty. They will only release written documentation after I pay $300 for the vehicle inspection. I requested to take pictures of the engine to see that they performed an investigation extensive enough to prove the type of oil is what caused the failure. The engine had not been touched. Once I requested to take pictures they told me they had not internally investigated the engine but concluded that it failed from the type of oil used by performing an external visual inspection. There is no possible way to prove that the oil caused the engine failure without opening up the engione itself to investigate properly and correctly.

Desired Settlement
Warranty coverage for engine failure. Compensation for vehicle rental fees, Compensation for time spent to resolve this matter. I would like a speedy resolution. I need my vehicle back and in working order as soon as possible. Warranty states reasonable time for repairs not to exceed 30 days, its alrady been two weeks.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ********** ServiceManager
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ********@StewartCars.com
This customers concern was emailed to me from Stewart Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram. ******* ******** didn't have his vehicle at Stewart Chrysler, Dodge, Jeep, Ram, he had it towed to Stewart Chevrolet Cadillac after the engine failed due to a lack of proper maintenance. Mr. ********'s vehicle was inspected by the General Motors District Manager of Aftersales and he determined that the repairs would not be covered under warranty. Stewart Chevrolet Cadillac did not make this deny Mr. ********'s warranty claim, the manufacturer did.

01/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
$4,025.37 charged for things that were not a problem when
Car towed on 12/12/13 to dealer with written statement of the problem I was experiecing over the visor. Purchase date of car 9/2008. Chrysler Town & Country (new) Order #**** Salesrep. (***) $4,025.37 VISA ,When I picked up the car and drove less than half mile the grinding in the rear was still there and the brakes were making a grinding sound. Prior to this my brakes always sqeaking noise when there was a problem of which there has been problems on four separate occasions. Car has never been in an accident, I am the only driver. Car always serviced by Chrysler dealerships 39,575 miles. None of the repairs performed were apparent prior to car being towed.SAE/BAS light and engine light were on and car was not responding so I drove it around the block returned home and called AAA for tow.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking return of over charges fees for repair that was not an issue prior to my vehicle being taken to the dealership. including four new tires that I was cooerced into buying since I had purchased two of them this year.

Business Response
We are working with ******* to fix some of her concerns and she is coming into the dealership tomorrow to address the break issue. There must have been a communication breakdown which we are addressing with her and our staff. We should have resolution with ******* after tomorrow's appointment.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will go to dealership in the meantime I have sent written authoriziation requesting copies of all service invoices from Putnam Chrysler in Burlingame CA and Steads Chrysler in Richmond CA. I have not had a response to date. I would like to have a copy of the actual mechanics copy of the work done by Stewerts dealership and not the customers copy. This would justify some of the charges (notes attached) and show work that was actually needed and done.

Final Business Response
We have reached out to the customer to invite her back into the dealership. Everything that was done to her vehicle was a valid concern that needs to be fixed or repaired. Nothing was done mechanically without here approval. Can you please have her call *** back in service so we can discuss all repairs with her again. We have not been in business for over 80 plus years by taking advantage of our customers.

09/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a 2005 used Chevy Astro At Stewart Dealership and told all was in working order. After purchase discovered air conditioner, nor working.
Was told at purchase that the van was in good working order including the air conditioner. Only test of air conditioner was at dealership which was a cold climate. Attempt to use after purchase, and clearly air conditioner did not work. Was told by dealership the purchase was "as is".
I think they knew the air conditioner was faulty and did not disclose the fact on purchase.
I am a 64 yr old disabled social worker fighting lung Cancer living on a fixed income. I live in Paradise Ca and driving a van in 100 degrees is a major hardship.

Desired Settlement
I think the dealership should repair the air conditioner at no cost.

Business Response
******,

Thank you for your response on this matter. I do not want you to think that we do not try and take care of our customers when issues like these come up. We do inspect and make sure that all of our as-is vehicles are safe and in running order. We let our customers know that when you purchase a vehicle as-is that is what you are buying the vehicle the way that it is. If we had to fix every issue that was wrong with an as-is vehicle then we would more then likely not keep them because of the cost factor. If you would like to call me to discuss this matter further, please let me know. *****

08/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The dealership failed to disclose that the Jeep is untreated steel and would severly rust. It's 4k miles now and the underside is rusted!
I purchased the 2012 Jeep Wrangler on November 15, 2012 brand new for $27k. I had been to the dealership and spoken with two salesman about the purchase of a jeep. I was NEVER informed that the car is built with untreated steel and would rust immediately. When I noticed all of the rust, 4k miles and 8 months later, I read my sales contract and all of the literature they provided, as well as the owner's manual, and there is no mention of untreated steel and a propensity to rust rapidly. I took the Jeep to the dealer's service dept. and was told rust is normal. I told them not on an 8month old car! I spoke to the*****, *****, and although he was very nice, he said it is something I need to take up with Chrysler.
I said it is his dealerships failure to disclose the nature of the product they sold me that caused this problem. I clearly understand now that Jeep makes an inferior product, but as sellers of this product, they have a duty to consumers to disclose the nature of the degradation that would occur so rapidly.

I have asked them to give me my money back, to do an "unwinding" of the deal and the GM told me he couldn't because it was 8 months later! So, they fail to disclose, I don't discover it for 8 months, and now it's my problem?

I then asked the *****, *****, if he thinks they should be disclosing it to future buyers and he said, "Yes, we probably should." But, still refuses to take my car back.

All I want is for them to take this car back. I feel so lied to and manipulated. The GM clearly said the salesman wouldn't know about the steel in the car, but if not them then who?

Please help me. I'm driving a rusted, 8 month old car that I'm paying for every month and it is so unfair. They have to be held accountable for the products they sell and the information, or lack there of, provided by their sales people.

Desired Settlement
I want them to unwind this transaction and take this car back. I DO NOT WANT ANOTHER Chrysler, Jeep, or any other car from them.

I want them to include in all future sales of Jeeps a full disclosure that they are built with untreated steel and that they will rust immediately.

Business' Initial Response
I've had many conversations with ***** with regards to her Jeep Wrangler and the rust concern. The issue that she is complaining about is an untreated metal component on the drive line of the vehicle and a few bolts that have a rust colored look. The whole car is not built with untreated steel as she is trying to allude in her story and complaint. We have inspected the Jeep and found that the areas that have rust are only on the surface of the untreated metal. This metal is completely safe and a normal condition. This issue is more of a cosmetic concern but not one of safety. If there was something on this vehicle that was unsafe in any way then I would not allow her nor would the manufacture to drive this vehicle until it was fixed. I've mentioned this to her over and over again. This is not a safety issue...it cosmetic! It's underneath the vehicle where no one can see this component and in fact most heavy duty vehicles from *****, ******, *****, etc., have similar metals that are used on their vehicles. We sent the pictures and inspection report that we performed on her Jeep to the manufacture. They agreed with our inspection and found that there is nothing wrong with the vehicle. All untreated steel at some point will show signs of a surface rust color. This is a heavy duty piece of metal and is not unsafe. The customer feels that we should have disclosed this to her at the time of purchase and that Jeeps have components on them that rust.
The customer has refused to listen to us or the manufacture. She has sent multiple reviews trying to ruin our reputation on Yelp and Facebook. She has even come into the dealership with a recording device without our knowledge and tried asking us question about these surface rust issues. She is now going to post this on other social media sites until she gets what she wants.
We've done everything that Chrysler has told us to do with regards to her vehicle. I feel that no matter what we do at this point she will not be happy unless the car is bought back. Her decision to try and ruin our reputation to get even with us tells me that she will go to all measures to try and get what she wants. I have forwarded all of her emails and issues to Chrysler's customer care department and it is in their hands at this point.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
******, Inc. had a responsibility to disclose to me that the underside of my car was not built with galvanized steel and was in no way treated to protect against rust. The *****, ******, continues to redirect this issue to Chrysler; however, he and his staff were well aware of the product they are selling and are intentionally omitting this critical fact just to sell cars.

I took my car in to their dealership on July 31, 2013, dropped it off to be inspected, and returned at the end of the day. The dealership DID NOT generate a work order when taking possession of my car. They did not give me any paperwork when I picked up my car. They simply said they'd "inspected it" and found no problem. I still have no record that they ever "inspected" my car.

The GM specifically said that he would create a work order and that I could pick it up ant 10 a.m. on August 3, 2013. I turned my iphone on to record my questions to them so I would fully understand what they were telling me. As a result, I recorded their salesman telling me that they knew the car was untreated and would rust, but "of course they wouldn't tell customers that information." I also spoke with two of their mechanics on that day who both said it is common knowledge the cars are not treated and rust and that it surprised them that it isn't revealed to customers.

After being on the lot for over an hour, I was confronted by the sales manager of the day and told I was to leave or the police would be called. I asked why, to which he responded that my asking questions about the Jeep product was disrupting their business. I left without a work order and now I have no proof the car was ever inspected. They are in effect preventing me from a lemon law claim and from getting any further service on my vehicle.

I would not have purchased this car ($27,000) if I had been told it was built with untreated steel and would rust extensively within 4k miles. They are aware of this and intentionally don't tell their customers to sell their cars. That's fraud. I want my money back.

I am reaching out to every agency possible to get help with this and to let the public know of this dealerships fraudulent sales tactics.

Business' Final Response
Stewart Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram does not build any of the vehicles that we sell here at the dealership or choose what types of materials are used when these vehicles are built at the plant. Chrysler determines what type of materials and parts distributors they are going to use when constructing the vehicle. They provide a warranty to the customer should any of these materials or parts fail. We sell and service vehicles! If a part is faulty or may become faulty then the manufacture takes responsibility for that by providing a warranty to the customer to bring into the dealership for repairs. If there was a major issue with this part then the government would have stepped in and made Chrysler recall Wrangle's for this issue. There is nothing structurally wrong with the metal on this Jeep.
If the customer feels that we did not handle her service needs for her vehicle then she can try another Jeep dealership and have them inspect the Jeep for her concerns. There are multiple Jeep dealerships in the area that can give her a second opinion on her vehicle. I would actually recommend that she does that.
There was no fraud that was committed when selling her this vehicle. I would imagine that she did her research, knew the pros and cons of owning the Wrangler, and she made the decision to move forward with the purchase.
We stopped answering her questions at the dealership when she started slandering our name all over the internet and social media sites. Coming into our business and secretly hiding a recording device to try and ask our employees questions about the Jeep and the untreated metal is wrong to me. Call the manufacture and ask them why they put untreated metal on this component of the Jeep. If they want to buy her vehicle back or fix the issue on her vehicle then that is up to them to make the decision.
I have forwarded all of the documents, pictures, and complaints to Chrysler customer care department where a case number has been generated and they are reviewing the issue. If they determine that something needs to be fixed or repaired on the Jeep then they will give the customer a call.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Services, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/13/2013Business started: 10/05/2011Business started locally: 09/01/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10240 Systems Pkwy
Sacramento, CA95827-3006
http://www.autorepair.ca.gov

BBB records show a license number of 266547 for this company.

Type: Bureau of Automotive Repair

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 18289 for this company.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicle

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 1995, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Keylin (Sales Manager)Customer Contact: Mr. Scott Wright (Owner)
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Repair - Maintenance, Auto Services, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Service Area

This business service area covers: Bay Area

Alternate Business Names
Stewart Chevrolet/Stewart Cadillac

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Stewart Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, Inc.

800 Serramonte Blvd

Colma, CA 94014-3222

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 800 Serramonte Blvd 

    Colma, CA 94014-3222(650) 994-9800

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Stewart Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.