BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

San Leandro Honda

Phone: (510) 347-5100Fax: (510) 347-5120View Additional Phone Numbers1302 Marina Blvd, San LeandroCA 94577-3325http://www.slhonda.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and service of new and used cars.

BBB Accreditation

San Leandro Honda is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

This business has no rating at this time.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on San Leandro Honda

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
12/18/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
dishonest sales practice
on 8/29/07 i purchased a new *********** from San Leandro Honda. An extended warranty was offered which I refused. I was later convinced to take the extended warranty because the full amount would be returned to me at the end of 7 years or 80,000 miles; which ever came first. I have waited those seven years, and now they say they do not returned money for an unused extended warranty. This is my second new car I have bought from this dealership and know I did not need an extended warranty, but because of the coaching, I conceded and bought the extended warranty because I felt the money would be returned to me. I spoke with the manager, Brookmaster about the issue and he had a person by the name of **** return a call to me saying they have never offered to return unused warranty money. You loose it if you do not use it. That was definitely NOT their sales pitch when I bought my car.

Desired Settlement
I want the $1200 or $1400 dollars paid for an extended warranty be returned to me as promised.

Business Response
I am working on this issue and have a question before moving forward. I pulled *****'s documents and it shows ***** paid $781 for a warrant, but in the bbb issue she states 1200 to 1400. Why is this? Please let me know so I can move forward.
thank you.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Yes, I have found my contract and the correct amount paid was $781.87.

Consumer Response
If the case was closed, what action was taken? Have not heard from San Leandro Honda


Consumer Response
If the file was closed, what action was taken? I have had no response from San Leandro Honda. Case XXXXXXXX


Consumer Response
Yes, I have found my contract and the correct amount paid was $781.87.


Consumer Response
I have not had any response from San Leandro Honda.
My understanding was that they had until 10/24/2014 to respond.

Business Response
***** ******:

San Leandro Honda did return the money they charged me for the extended warranty. I notified you as soon as I received the check. Thank you for your assistance.

***** *******

01/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This is regarding transactions with the dealership. I have been charged much to much money for charges unforseen by the mechanic such as a brake inspection charges. 1. I was approached by the mechanic to give honda $100 to inspect for leaks upon changing my oil (this was a separate charge from the mechanic), as if the mechanic wanted money under the table. It seemed very peculiar to be approached individually by the mechanic. I never did follow through with it rather I paid for the oil change and watched for any leaks after I took the car home. There were no leaks. It was the mechanic bad judgement. 2. Recently I was informed by the sales person (*******) after having fixed my wheel bearings I had an issue with my muffler and the catalitic converter. It dawned on me that they must have messed with this when fixing my bearings??? as they are in the back end of the car. I felt very uneasy because i had recently had my car smogged with no problems (passed the first time). This news made me very scheptical and unwilling to believe this was a nature problem with my car. They approached me in the same fashioned as they did when they thought they discovered an oil leak, but this time I wasn't willing to believe in their judgement. I also was charged $140.00 to check the engine light, check tire pressure, and have an multi-point inspection performed??? This is a rip-offffff!!!!!! Furthermore, they wanted $1600,00 for the replacement of the muffle and the catalitic converter brand new on a 2000 Honda accord. A total rippp offfff!!!!! I is apparent that I am taken advantage of...as the price for such items are not reasonably priced!! I wish to dispute these charges and light of my loyal trust in Honda Dealership. Regards, ********* ****
Product_Or_Service: check up
Order_Number: ******

Desired Settlement
I wish to be refunded for the $140.00.

Business Response
We believe that we have already resolved this issue with ********* **** and that this complaint was posted before she came in and had the diagnostic amount reduced prior to paying at the cashier. Here at San leandro Honda we want to go the extra mile for our customers, so when ********* complained at the cashier window that she felt she wasn't getting value for the diagnostic servcie we lowered the $140.00 charge by half! Even though she had agreed to pay the full amount when she dropped the car off. We want to make sure that our customers are well taken care of.so in light that ********* has already received a partial refund, we view this matter as closed.

10/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****
Contact Phone: ***-***-****
Contact Email: ****.****@SLHONDA.COM
ON JUNE 24TH, *** **** CAME IN TO OUR FACILITY AND REQUESTED, AGREED TO AND SIGNED FOR $140.00 TO DIAGNOSE A CHECK ENGINE LIGHT ON HIS VEHICLE. WE FOUND A CODE STORED IN THE VEHICLE COMPUTERS SYSTEM (P0740) WHICH INDICATES A PROBLEM IN THE TRANSMISSION LOCK UP CONTROL SYSTEM, AND ON TEST DRIVE WE FOUND TEH TRANSMISSION WAS SLIPPING WHEN SHIFTING GEARS. FOLLOWING MANUFACTURER GUIDELINES, THEY DO NOT WANT TO HAVE THE SOLENOIDS OF THE TRANSMISSION REPLACED, SO THE RECOMMENDATION TO REPLACE THE TRANSMISSION IS CORRECT. WHEN I SPOKE TO *** **** IN MY OFFICE I EXPLAINED THIS TO HIM AND PROVIDED HIM WITH THE DOCUMENTATION FROM THE MANUFACTURER ABOUT NOT REPLACING THE SOLENOIDS. WE ONLY CHARGED HIM FOR THE DIAGNOSTIC AND ONLY FOR THE AMOUNT OF $140.00 THAT HE SIGNED FOR AND AGREED TO.

Final Consumer Response

04/17/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/02/1999Business started: 03/19/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 37250 for this company.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicle

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 203775 for this company.

Type: Bureau of Automotive Repair

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1998, CA

Number of Employees

100

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Service Area

This business service area covers: The Bay Area.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for San Leandro Honda

1302 Marina Blvd

San Leandro, CA 94577-3325

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1302 Marina Blvd 

    San Leandro, CA 94577-3325(866) 779-1918

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*San Leandro Honda is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 779-1918

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (510) 347-5199
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.