BBB Accredited Business since

Peter Pan BMW

Phone: (650) 349-9077 Fax: (650) 286-8700 2695 S El Camino Real, San Mateo, CA 94403 http://www.peterpanbmw.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales, service and parts for new BMW and pre-owned vehicles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Peter Pan BMW meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Peter Pan BMW include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Peter Pan BMW
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1965 Business started: 01/01/1959 Business started locally: 01/01/1959 Business incorporated 04/19/1971 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10240 Systems Pkwy, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.dca.ca.gov/consumer/wll.shtml
Phone Number: (855) 837-7985

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jim Cyr, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Cyr, General Manager
Number of Employees

130

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Services

Service Area
This business service area covers San Mateo County and the Bay Area.
Alternate Business Names
Peter Pan Motors, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 2695 S El Camino Real

    San Mateo, CA 94403

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/1/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
2/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had low pressure and needed air in my tire. The assistant service manager stated I had a nail in my tire and needed a new one. This was not true. On 9/05/14 at 9:00am I went into Peter Pan BMW Service and Parts Center to get a head light replaced. My indicator light was on for low tire pressure on my right rear tire. I checked the tire and knew I just needed air because it had happened previously with other tires on my vehicle and in the past, BMW of Atlanta checked the tires and stated they needed air. After my vehicle had been assessed, my service advisor ********** (advisor#***) informed me the price of the bulb and service charge. He also informed me I had a nail in the right rear tire and replacement estimate would be $680. I informed him that I had checked the tire and would like to see the nail. He appeared shocked that I asked to see the nail. He began to hesitate with the conversation but said he would show me the nail. About five minutes later I went to his office and informed that I was declining to replace the tire there and would have it checked elsewhere. He obliged and I went back to the waiting area. While in the waiting area another gentleman with apparent tire issue was approach by a technician a stated he had nail in his tire and would like to show him. That never happened with my situation. My advisor ********** returned and stated my vehicle was ready. He then stated to go to checkout counter and my invoice would be there. He also stated that after I check out, he would show me the nail in my tire. After paying for the bulb replacement I informed the young lady at the checkout counter I was waiting on my advisor **********. She called him but did not get an answer. I waited by the desk for about 15min and then went outside to my vehicle to check the tire again. I did not see a nail. At this moment I thought is was pointless to wait around for something that clearly was not there. I went back inside and inform the checkout associate that I could not wait any longer for **********. I immediately went to a tire service place and all I needed was air in the tire. If I truly had a nail I'm sure the following tire service place would gladly replaced it. My customer # is XXXXX. My invoice is BMCSXXXXXX. Job # 3 36BMZ on the invoice is about the tire. The Tech # is 105. The MO number is XXXXX. I paid $156.39 with a VISA for the bulb replacement.

Desired Settlement: I thought I wouldn't have to worry about something like this from a company such BMW. I want to have peace of mind and not anxiety when I take my vehicle in for service. I would like to have a bmw service warranty extension to ensure I won't be taken advantage of.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/19) */ The Better Business Bureau, we received your letter from our customer, A.P. The customer brought their vehicle into to Peter Pan BMW on 9/5/2014 at 9:12am, all the repairs were completed and paperwork invoiced by 10:59am. The customer waited in our customer lounge while the repairs were being completed. A bulb was replaced for the $156.39, in which the customer paid the invoice at 11:08am. The customer paid nothing to have us check out the Right Rear Tire losing air. Our technician is the individual that worked on the vehicle, saw the nail puncture, noted a slight leak (the reason why the tire continuously is losing air) and the technician recommended the replacement of the right rear tire (Peter pan BMW does not plug run-flat tires). Our Asst. Service Manager then informed the customer while they were in our lounge, that the tire needed to be replaced. The customer declined the replacement, and again as mentioned above, was not charged for us checking the condition of the tire. As a side note, if a tire or tires are continuously losing air, as the customer mentioned in the letter, most likely there is a slight leak in the tire (somewhere), or the rim could have a hair-line crack causing the air to escape. We apologize that the Asst. Service Manager did not come back and see you after the Invoice was printed and you went to our cashier. He must have been helping other customers at that time. Our recommendation to the customer is to have all the tires and wheels checked on the vehicle, something is causing the air to deplete from the tires. All the tires and wheels might need to be taken off the vehicle and water tested, the leak could be very small from a nail puncture or there could be slight leaks coming from the wheels. If the customer is interested in a Service Contract Extension, they can contact our Service Department and employee ***. to get a quote of the different coverages and options. Peter pan BMW will not be paying for the Service Contract Extension. Thank you very much. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Let me start by saying I'm very disappointed with Peter Pan BMW customer service and response to my complaint. I never said that particular tired was continuously losing air. If you read my complaint again, I said it happened previously with other tires on my vehicle in the past. When I had them checked at Global Imports BMW of Atlanta, they stated they just needed air. I never had a problem with this particular tire. As a side note, as mentioned in Peter Pan BMW response, there was reference of slight leaks and hair line cracks. Why are those being mentioned now? I was told there is a nail in my tire, which is was not. With that being said, all of that is irrelevant now. The issue is that I was lied to about there being a nail in my tire. Why didn't a technician offer to show me the nail just like another customer was afforded that opportunity as I sat in the lobby? I was just told there was a nail in the tire and the estimate to get it replace. My goal is to inform others of my experience in order to hopefully prevent it from happening to them. Whether it is through BBB or other platforms such as Yelp, I am making others aware. I am now aware that Peter Pan BMW has no intentions of making this experience right. Either way it goes, I feel I have done my due diligence and maybe now Peter Pan BMW will think twice about trying to comment consumer fraud. I am well aware of how serious it is to make a complaint and if I wasn't absolutely sure, I wouldn't take the time to make a complaint. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/02/09) */ Peter Pan BMW is willing to make it right. We apologize if our Service Advisor made an error, in not getting you to take a look at the tire, it was not intenional, and we did not commit consumer fraud. If you would like to talk about possible solutions, please contact our Service Manager and/or Service and parts Director.

2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Leased BMW, under full warranty. Car displayed "Powertrain Malfunction" on several occasions. Never fixed. Car now doesn't start. Leased car with full BMW warranty which is extremely comprehensive. Car displays "Powertrain Malfunction" and goes into low power "limp mode" until the car is restarted. Take into Peter Pan because they are close and have good reputation until this point. No issue found. Happens again, bring it in, same thing. Finally, take video of the issue popping up on the screen (After pulled over), still nothing found, no resolution. After 9 months of this, I can't trust car for anything but short trips so I almost never drive it. Still happens when I do though. Bring it in for other services and mention that the issue is still happening, no fixes. Look at receipts, car was driven 1-2 miles total every time, despite being told otherwise. I figure it's not worth the time or money to pursue and it's just causing me trouble, so I wait for lease to end at my own considerable cost. Finally, when lease is 3 months from being ready to turn in, I can turn it in early. No discount, I still pay full price for last 3 months of a car I can barely drive... I just get to get rid of it early. On my way to turn the car in, it dies completely. Earlier I was offered $2000 incentive towards a new car only. (They have better deals on their website.) After being told there's nothing that can be done, I'm left with nothing. BMW and Peter Pan did not honor their warranty and I took considerable cost in both bringing the car to them, missing work for their appointments, and in not using the car due to lack of trust in it (For good reason). I did so with the understanding that BMW will honor their warranties and make customers happy when BMW is at fault for defects. BMW and Peter Pan have failed this. I would like to resolve this without legal entanglements.

Desired Settlement: 1. A full refund under the terms of the Song-Beverly Consumer Warranty Act. Or 2. I would like a replacement of exact or greater model with same or better options and style, free of charge for 1 year.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/29) */ Client in direct contact with BMWNA Dealership advocated resolution for client based on concerns BMWNA communicated resolution in process Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/01/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Dealership left car sitting on the side of the road for 4 days while I thought it was getting fixed. No contact whatsoever. BMWNA, as usual, has been fantastic and has taken steps to resolve the larger issue. Peter Pan abandoned the entire issue. I had to take more time off work, personally get the keys back from their "Service" department, charge the battery with another car and have it towed to Fremont BMW. They solved the issue in ONE DAY. The car is back in running order with no issues since because competent mechanics actually troubleshot the issue (A faulty controller in the fuel system.) Peter Pan does not deserve any credit for the resolution provided by BMWNA. They abandoned my car, would not respond to me, and did nothing for the entire 4 days the car was sitting in someone else's driveway where it died. If anything BMWNA needs to know what a horrendous job they did in the many chances they had to fix the issue before it failed, and they complete lack of communication or attempts to fix the issue since. They are a black eye on what is otherwise a wonderful brand and I will make sure everyone knows it. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/01/16) */ BMWNA Resolution in process

7/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This dealership accepts credit cards as a form of payment and claims to have a policy limiting card transactions to $5K. This dealership accepts credit cards, including *****. I pay nearly $500 for annual membership with *****. ***** express merchant agreement disallows merchants from dissuading customers into using different payment methods or otherwise limiting their credit card transactions. I owe this dealership $37,0000 which i would like to pay with a credit card. They will not allow it and have threatened me with expensive financing if i don't submit payment by check. I've reached out to *****for assistance as well and have tried to resolve this issue with *****at the dealership. This policy, which they told me exists because consumers have 'chargeback rights' and because it's too 'expensive' to pay processing fees violates their merchant agreement plainly and openly, and the dealership agrees to pay these fees to be able to accept american express credit cards and in effect attract their card members. I ask for the BBB's assistance, as my correspondence with this company has been met with hubris and condescension.

Desired Settlement: Pay the balance i owe, $36,745, with my american express card as i'm entitled to do as a card member.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 10, 2013/07/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I emailed BBB shortly after filing complaint to notify BBB that we had resolved this concern, i'm unsure as to why it remained open. The dealership has resolves this complaint satisfactorily.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Peter Pan BMW
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)