This business is not BBB accredited.

Ken Harvey's Dublin Honda

Phone: (925) 828-8030 6300 Dublin Blvd, Dublin, CA 94568 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.dublinhonda.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales of new and used Honda's and service.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ken Harvey's Dublin Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Ken Harvey's Dublin Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1986 Business started: 06/01/1977 Business started locally: 06/01/1977 Business incorporated 06/01/1977 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Nancy Costello, Customer Service Manager Mr. Jim Bailey, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Nancy Costello, Customer Service Manager
Number of Employees

90

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Service Area
This company services the bay area.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6300 Dublin Blvd

    Dublin, CA 94568

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/4/2016 Delivery Issues
8/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sold a vehicle I have now is worth 8k LESS than what I was charged. ***** **** said he would help make it right but he is dishonest and hasn't I was sold a car that has so much damage that it's worth 8k less than what Dublin Honda sold it to me for which was 20k in cash. I have since contacted ***** **** who has treated me with disregard and disrespect in every way. I have sent pictures of all the damage on the car and he has made promises he hasn't kept and I'm driving a car that is not worth anywhere close to what I paid for it. I've purchased so many vehicles from Dublin Honda and I've referred them so many times over the years I really believed I could trust them. I've have been ripped off for so much money and I am a single mother with two kids in college. And two kids in the home. I purchased the car in March 2014 and due to extenuating circumstances I wasn't aware of all the damage immediately. I contacted the person that sold me the car to let him know of the issues within a week of purchase but he did nothing. So I contacted ***** **** and met him at his office. He looked at his computer and said he could do nothing. Then said a few sarcastic remarks so I left very upset. He has been so rude since and I need help in making this right.

Desired Settlement: I want Dublin Honda to provide me a car worth the 20k in cash that I spent. I want a different car without all the damage this one they sold me has. 2010 Acura TSX 78k miles and in very poor condition is what I got.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/07/28) */ ***** **** has offered numerous times to have the customer come in sit down and talk to him. The one time that she did come in ***** indicated that she did not want to hear what he had to say and she left his office. He has emailed her several times before to have her come in.

2/19/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took $4800 loss on a trade in and a month later the dealership canceled deal on the new car since they made an error on contract.I want my old car I went to Honda Dublin to purchase this brand new 2014 Honda Accord Sport. We finalized the deal by me trading in my 2011 Honda Civic EX Coupe for $10,700 which I was taking a $4800 loss, I accepted the deal since I was upgrading to new a Honda. Almost a month Sept 01, 2014 I received a call from the sales manager then from the sales men for me to check the Vin on the Honda, since they felt there had been an error made on their end. I texted and emailed photo of the Vin of the Honda which was 1HGCR2F54EAXXXXXX and the next day I was called by several of their managers to return the car to the dealership to redo the contract and I should not be driving the vehicle, I informed them that I could not do so since I was leaving on a business trip and I would go in when I return. Sept 20,2014 I drove to the dealership and I was greeted by ***** **** the Sales Manager and Massoud the Finance guy approached me and sort of explained their mistake and ***** **** offered to take the car back since they made only $300 profit on it, so I reminded him that I took a $4800 loss on my Honda that they already sold and made enough profit to justify this deal. His remarks were that the Honda Sport are selling so fast and specially the color of my Honda that he will resale it as used car and make a ton of money. I simply replied then take your car. He was very happy to unwind the deal, however they refused to get my car back or do anything else besides put me on the spot to pay them the $4800 before I left the dealership. I explained to them that I traded the car in and took the loss only because of buying a new car, now that you telling me you will undo this end of the deal only because this end of the deal is where you are not making any profit. I was mistreated and humiliated because of their business actions taken against me. I believe his reasoning for offering and wanting to take the car back was due to me being a possible risk factor since it was very hard to get financing, since they went to several banks and drove my credit score down to 620 from around 670 and I am sure Wells Fargo that finally financed the car put Dublin Honda on the hook for period of time to be sure I made my payments. I can't even go out and buy new car or used car without paying very high interest rate since this deal has driven my Fico score down. I am only asking to get my old Honda car back or have them reimburse me for the loss I incurred by dealing with Dublin Honda. ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: filed a complaint form with DMV

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my Honda back or $4800 loss I incurred in this deal which they have gained from now from both ends.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/10/13) */ Mr. ************ knew he was negative 4800 on his trade and came from Mountain View and got the deal he wanted from Dublin Honda. He signed the Realese of Liability and and didn't want the new Honda anymore. It was his choice to cancel the deal and pay the remainder of the negative $4800 on his Trade or keep the new Honda that he was driving and signed the correct Vin# document.We took the new car back with 1100 miles on it and now we have to sell a new car as a used. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/10/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The dealer made a major mistake on their end and they wanted to clear it by just full tank of gas and me signing off on their error. Legally the dealer should driven to my residents to pick up the car instead of allowing me drive a vehicle that was not legally registered to be driven on California roads plus sales manager was so sure he could get more profit from the 1100 mile used car than the $300 he made from our deal that he offered to take it back since he had hard time to keep these sport accords in inventory. I only took the $4800 loss on my car was due to upgrading to a brand new Honda, if that wasn't the case then I would of kept my own Honda. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/11/04) */ We offereed Mr. ************ a brand new car with 0 miles and the consumer said no. We sold his trade in and unfortunatly he had a negative on his trade in and in order of us to take the new car back he would have to pay the negative difference if we took it back. We went out of our way to try to get the consumer in a different car. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/11/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The dealership offered to take back the vehicle and undo the purchase contract because the sales team and manager were informed that the vehicle that was sold to me was already sold to someone else. Once the sales manager verified that the vehicle was still in inventory that's when the dealership tried pushing me in keeping one of the vehicles without any effort to satisfy me with anything else other than a full tank of gas. If this matter is not resolved by end of the year then I will seek legal consultation to take action. I have already filed with DMV Dealers service regarding this matter. I am making it easy by only asking for my loss of $4800

11/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They did not cancel my Honda Care as promised and I had to do it myself. Also they sold me a vehicle that they did not maintain properly. The ************************* 5.7L V8 they sold me on 8/7/2014 has approximately $3000 dollars of maintenance that was not performed when they took the vehicle as a trade in from the owner. Also they deposited a deferred payment check without me having the money since they didn't cancel my Honda care of $750 as promised. I had to call Honda Care to cancel and get the check. The dealer who sold me the vehicle was **** ***** and ******* was the finance manager who deposited the check without my consent on 9/3/14. They denied to cover any of the maintenance needed for the Truck to run properly so now I am stuck with covering the maintenance myself. I also do not appreciate how I was treated by the sales people, since they took over half an hour to get me to a sales manager to talk to over the phone. Then after I filed my claim for the maintenance on 10/6/14, *** ****** never called me back as promised, I had to call him on 10/9/2014. None of the employees of this business were of any help whatsoever and treated me without any respect. This entire business is corrupt and needs to be reprimanded for its unethical practices.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a refund for all the maintenance that I have to pay for since they did not perform the maintenance that was stated in the Carfax report.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/15) */ The customer purchased and Honda Care warranty from Livermore Honda which he was cancealing. He was going to get back $750.00 which he ws going to use as a dwn pymt for the car the car that he was purchasing at Dublin Honda.Customer gave us a hold check for 750 which we could cash when he got the refund. We held the check for several weeks customer nver brought in the chcck so we finally had to deposit the check. Our finance dept kept calling the customer but never go any response. We did all the maintenance that we felt was required at the time and it passed all inspections. Consumer when to a indepedent repair shop where they were trying to up sell the consumer telling him that there were alot of things wrong with the car. We also gave the consumer a demenish value ltr for antohre vehcile.

6/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I shopped for a car at Dublin Honda. I told the salesman I wanted leather and navigation in a black Honda Accord . They didn't have one that day. After I left the dealer, the original salesman sent me images of one they brought from their warehouse. I told the salesman I found a deal on a honda accord exl with navigation at Livermore Honda . He asked me if they would match the price at Livermore Honda , would I be interested. I said yes, and I have the text messages to prove all of this. I came in a few days later but the original salesman was not there, so I had to work with his boss Vince. The black honda accord was there when I arrived and I started to make a deal with *****. I believed the car had navigation as it had two digital screens installed in the car, however I did not look that close because they knew I was comparing with a car with navigation. After some sleezy back and forth sales tactics I finally signed a lease thinking I was getting a decent deal on a Honda Accord Ex - L with leather. So I drove the car home. Next day, I was trying to figure out how to use the navigation when I realized it wasn't installed at all. Then after realizing I'd been deceived , I looked at the lease agreement and compared it to the offer I found on the American Honda website. On that site, the offer for a lease for someone with excellent credit, mine is 809 experian for auto loans, on a Honda Exl with navigation is $ 316 a month with $3106 due at signing. ***** had swindled me to the tune of $4000 down at signing and $ 325.91 per month payments for 36 months on a honda exl WITHOUT navigation , an $1800 option... After realizing the bait and switch technique I had been swindled with and the ridiculous money I had given down I called the original salesman and let him know my concerns . He directed me to call ***** ( his boss ) so I did. I told ***** my concern and he kept insisting I got. A fair deal... I told him I'll be bringing the car back and he is insisting that I cannot . Product_Or_Service: Honda Accord lease Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want a refund of my money, and I wish to no longer do business with Ken Harvey Honda. I've only driven the car twice and it is in perfect condition. Either that or I want them to re work the deal so that I have navigation installed, and a refund of my money down to $ 3106. Or they can re work the deal so that they charge me correctly for a honda Exl without navigation , which should be $278 / month with $3068 due at signing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/06/12) */ HI, After reviewing the customers file with the sales manager, the sales Manager for Dublin Honda refunded the customer $1000.00 to the customer and the customer agreed that this was ok back a few weeks ago. Please let me know if there is anything else. Thank you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/06/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cancelled service agreement refund amount is unsatisfactory. I purchased a certified 2007 Honda Civic from ****** Honda 07/02/12 and a service agreement was added at a cost of $2,200. The service contract was for 8 years to start from purchase date. Two weeks of owning the car I had to have the brake rotors resurfaced because of shimming in the front end. I contacted ****** Honda to pay for service and they said the work had to be done by them or they wouldn't pay. I was never informed of this so paid myself. After an hour of speaking with the Service Manager he called and said he would reimburse me $204 for brake job, I had to contact ****** Honda 4 times, I finally rec'd my reimbursement a month later. The car also had to have an engine motor mount replaced 2 mos. after purchase date. I have had nothing but problems with the car for the year I owned it. I traded the car in on 07/11/13 and so I contacted ****** Honda to cancel the service agreement. They said it would take up to 8 weeks for refund. I rec'd a check on 9/12/13 in the amount of $1,350 from the $2,200. I sent them a certified letter on 9/14/13 stating I was dissatisfied with amount and asked for an itemized breakdown of the $1,350. I rec'd a call from the finance dept. on 9/17/13 that they were in receipt of the letter and would refer to management for review. I have not heard back from them since. I would like to be refunded the full amount of the service agreement $2200 which would be additional $850. I shouldn't have to pay anything for that agreement since the car was under certified warranty for the year I owned it. ****** Honda shouldn't sell vehicles saying they are certified without checking them out. After the whole experience with ****** Honda I feel I was sold a lemon and then scammed into purchasing a service agreement. They certainly don't stand behind the vehicles they sell.

Desired Settlement: I want the full refund of $2,200 so would be additional $850.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/09) */ The orginial purchase sate of this warranty was 2007. This is a 8years 12o,000 mile warranty from the orginail purchase date which was back in 2007. Are customer purchased a used certified Honda in 2012. The Warranty compnay pro-rates the the refund from the orginal purchase date. The dollar amunt that was refunded comese directy from the warranyt company. Please let me know if the customer has any further questions. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 13, 2013/12/13) */ NOTICE TO BUSINESS FROM BBB: Please provide a copy of warranty terms referred to in your original response to this complaint (see below) XXXX-XX-XX WEB 1000 - Receive Business Response (Expired XX-XX-XXXX) "The orginial purchase sate of this warranty was 2007. This is a 8years 12o,000 mile warranty from the orginail purchase date which was back in 2007. Are customer purchased a used certified Honda in 2012. The Warranty compnay pro-rates the the refund from the orginal purchase date. The dollar amunt that was refunded comese directy from the warranyt company." Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/01/30) */ The orginial purchase sate of this warranty was 2007. This is a 8years 12o,000 mile warranty from the orginail purchase date which was back in 2007. Are customer purchased a used certified Honda in 2012. The Warranty compnay pro-rates the the refund from the orginal purchase date. The dollar amunt that was refunded comese directy from the warranyt company. See attached warranty terms & conditions. Please let me know if the customer has any further questions.

11/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During was visit I was told I needed a repair that I did not actually need. During the same visit a repair was done improperly. I had my 1996 Honda Civic towed to Ken Harvey's Dublin Honda on August 23rd, 2013 to have the igniter replaced. During that time period it was suggested I have other items worked on or inspected. I agreed and allowed them to replace the timing belt, drive belts and water pump since the car was already there and my mileage was high. I figured if anybody should replace the timing belt it should be the Honda specialists. Before picking up my car on August 26th, my service advisor Donna called me and told me that the oil pan was leaking. She suggested I have the whole pan and gasket replaced. I questioned how bad it was and asked if I could afford to drive it for a bit longer before I could save up enough money and bring it back in for that procedure. When she didn't have the answer for my questions, she hung up on me. I then called the service center back and asked to speak to a manager who apologized and explained I should be okay driving the car for a while longer as long as I check the oil every now and again. I was pleased with his damage control and picked my car up. My whole bill totaled about $1000 after they gave me a $100 off coupon and wrote off a few of the minor services they performed since I complained about customer service. Sometime in September 2013, I had another mechanic look at the oil pan under my car to see about getting it replaced for a cheaper price than what Honda would do it for. He advised that the oil pan was not leaking but he did notice oil leaking from behind the crank seals onto my timing belt. I was told that since Honda replaced my timing belt, they should have also replaced those seals and that it is common knowledge that those things should be checked when doing that job. I called Honda on October 7th and explained my situation. They were extremely rude with me and insisted that they did no wrong on their behalf but agreed to look at the car anyways. On October 8th I brought my car back into Honda for them to inspect the seals. The manager there, ****, explained that he was sure there was no wrong on their behalf but agreed to take a look. He told me the car would be ready around 6pm same day and he would call me before then to follow up. He had a Honda cab give me a ride to my mother's house a few miles away. I waited around the rest of the day on October 8th for a phone call from ****. I gave him both my mother's house phone number and my cell phone number. 6pm rolled around and I figured I would give him a call since he said I could pick the car up by then. There was no answer on his direct phone line. I called the front desk and the woman on the phone (very helpful and empathetic) explained that everyone had gone home for the day, my keys were nowhere to be found and that I was too late to get a rental car because the rental car staff had already left. So there I was, stuck in Dublin without a car. I then had to find a ride to my home in Walnut Creek which is about 20 miles away. I was also left without a ride to work in Oakland the next morning, also about 20 miles away from my house. I was furious, called and left messages with ****, hoping he would contact me ASAP. **** called me at around 9am the next morning, October 9th. He expressed his apologies and explained that he had handed the case off to another employee who obviously failed to follow up. He also admitted his guys did not check the crank seals and agreed to correct the job for free. Since I didn't have a rental I had no way of getting back to Dublin Honda that day. I needed to go to work, so I arranged a ride to and from work which ultimately cost me 20 dollars as I had to pay my friend for time and gas. The next day, October 10th, I had to get to school as I had an exam to take. I had to arrange another ride from Walnut Creek to Livermore, then again a ride from Livermore to Dublin to pick up my car. If this is the way they provide people with service they should not be in business.

Desired Settlement: I believe a refund for my timing belt job is due. They did an incomplete job, didn't check the crank seals and that caused oil to leak on my brand new timing belts. They were also rude and made me feel bad for my asking them to resolve. They broke my oil dipstick as well and didn't advise me about replacement so now I can't even check me oil. It's literally a $10 part and they messed up on an $800 timing belt job, the least they could have done is replace the dip stick. I am a self supporting student, living on my own and I would hate for them to do this to other customers in my situation. I work hard for my money and car upkeep and they failed at providing adequate service. The fact that I was stranded without a car over night and they couldn't comp me anything is ridiculous! If I did get a settlement from them I wouldn't accept it in service because they clearly don't know what they are doing.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2013/11/06) */ The company has since contacted me to resolve.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Ken Harvey's Dublin Honda
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)