BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/16/2000

Honda Of Serramonte

Phone: (650) 758-4800Fax: (650) 985-1173485 Serramonte Blvd, ColmaCA 94014-3226

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto sales, service and parts.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/16/2000

BBB has determined that Honda Of Serramonte meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Honda Of Serramonte's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
08/13/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service advisors grossly overcharge customers for unnecessary work. They deceive customers into paying more than they need to.
Every time I have my car serviced at Honda of Serramonte Service Center, I feel like I have been cheated. I normally get oil changes, but suddenly I started to get overcharged with unnecessary work. The first time was with John Paul Guzman when I saw him to get my breaks checked. He tried charging me a $140 "inspection fee" to see if my breaks actually needed to be changed. Even if the problem was obvious and didn't even need inspection, he still tried charging me extra. He ended up charging me $440.96 on 01/06/2014 for an engine oil flush and front break pad change. He also told me my back break pads should be changed as well, which I declined. They have been running perfectly since the last time I saw him--- Another unnecessary service he tried to charge me for.
I then saw another service advisor, Tony for a B1 service on 05/29/2014 for $145.09. They did another oil flush, rotated and inflated the tires, and changed my oil. However, the tires made a rumbling sound after the tire rotation so I came back in on 06/16/2014 to get it fixed, as well as to duplicate a key ($204). Tony then tried to charge me another $140 for an inspection, which I once again declined. He then told me that he could rotate the tires back for free. The tires now make no rumbling sound. It seems like the tire rotation service I paid for ($70?) was useless. He then told me I should get all four tires replaced for $640, which I declined.

As a customer I do not trust that they are actually doing their jobs correctly, or if their services are worth all of the money that they are charging me. I am no longer going to Honda Service in Serramonte.

Desired Settlement
I would like to get as much as possible refunded for the "work" that they've done. Since 01/16/2014 I have given Honda of Serramonte $789. If you look on the yelp rating http://www.yelp.com/biz/honda-of-serramonte-service-center-colma, they have only two stars. Mostly it is because they over charge customers for unnecessary work. I would also like for their business to be suspended and have it be thoroughly investigated.

05/16/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
THEY MAKE ME BELIEVE I'M BUYING A GOOD CAR BUT ACTUALLY IT'S A TICKING TIME BOMB CAR
SALES PERSON DESCRIBED THE CAR, 2010 MERCEDES BENZ S 400 HYBRID WENT TO A 121 POINT CHECK BY THE DEALER AND THEY DO THIS IN EVERY USED CAR THE SOLD ON THE LOT. GOOD RUNNING CONDITION AND READY TO DRIVE 3RD DAY I BROUGHT THE CAR BACK , AIRCON NOT WORKING, 2 DAYS AFTER, USED CAR MANAGER TOLD ME THEY CAN'T FIX THE CAR, NEED TO GET THE BACK IT'S MINE HE SAID BECAUSE CONTRACT HAS BEEN SIGNED AND NEED TO BRING THE CAR TO A MERCEDES BENZ DEALER.
BROUGHT THE CAR TO AUTOBAHN MERCEDES DEALER, SISTER COMPANY OF HONDA OF SERRAMONTE, PAID ALMOST $300.00 FOR DIAGNOSTIC AND FOUND OUT THAT CAR HYBRID COMPONENT IS VERY BAD AND NEED TO REPLACE PARTS + LABOR $ 14,000.00 +.
NOT CONVICED BROUGHT THE CAR TO SAN FRANCISCO MERCEDES AND PAID ALMOST $ 400.00 FOR ANOTHER DIAGNOSTIC AND THE FINDINGS IS ALMOST THE SAME AS AUTOBAHN $ 13,000 + W/ LABOR.
DURING SALES PROCESS, THEY DID NOT DISCLOSED PROBLEM WITH THE CAR AND JUST LET ME SIGNED THE AS IS FORM W/O TELLING ME WHAT I'M SIGNING FOR

Desired Settlement
BECAUSE THEY MISREPRESENTED VALUABLE INFORMATION ON THE SALES PROCESS ( CAR IS $ 33,000.00 + T/L )
THEY NEED TO FIX OR TAKE THE CAR BACK AND UNWIND THE DEAL + DAMAGES FOR PAIN STRESS AND SUFFERING AND LOSS A LOT OF TIME IN LOOKING FOR A SOLUTION TO THIS PROBLEM W/C SHOULD NOT HAVE HAPPENED IF THIS DEALER IS HONEST TO THEIR CUSTOMER.

Business Response
Received company response via email on 4/29/14:

As of now legal has asked us not to communicate in any form with the customer. Sorry for any inconvenience. Thank you ****

06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service
05/20/2013Advertising / Sales Issues
06/27/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
10/23/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
04/12/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/04/1998Business started: 01/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

BBB records show a license number of 35061 for this company.

Type: Dept of Motor Vehicle

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Cisek (Service Manager)Mr. Jack Ghanz (General Manager)
Number of Employees

90

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Sonic Automotive
Industry Tips
Buying a New Car
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Honda Of Serramonte

485 Serramonte Blvd

Colma, CA 94014-3226

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 485 Serramonte Blvd 

    Colma, CA 94014-3226(650) 758-4800

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Honda Of Serramonte is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.