BBB Accredited Business since

Honda of El Cerrito

Phone: (877) 626-6401 11755 San Pablo Ave, El Cerrito, CA 94530

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This business offers new and used car sales, parts, service and repair. In addition to Honda, they also service most makes and models of vehicles.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Honda of El Cerrito meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Honda of El Cerrito
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 22, 1993 Business started: 12/29/1992 in CA Business started locally: 12/29/1992 Business incorporated 01/07/1986 in NC
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational
Phone Number: 1-800-777-0133
The number is 85299.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Larry Maxson, General Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Larry Maxson, General Manager
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service Auto Smog Inspection Auto Dealers - Hybrid Vehicles

Alternate Business Names
Hendrick Automotive Group

Additional Locations

  • 11755 San Pablo Ave

    El Cerrito, CA 94530


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service
6/30/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: They ran my credit even though they said they would not. They are also asking to run me and my moms credit when we were already approved for a loan. It was 08/26/15 when I went to the dealership trying to purchase a car and everything was going smoothly and when it came to pay for the car, I gave them my pre-approved loan from my own bank and they started to tell me that they want to run my credit to have a backup in the system if my pre-approve loan does not work. I give in because being a first time buyer, I did not know anything about it. But after awhile, they started asking if they can pull my mothers credit also because both of us ran are on the loan. I adamantly declined because I didnt not want my mothers credit to be ran. And when I didnt like the deal, they game my papers back and I also asked if they ran my credit, they said no, but when I checked my credit inquires there was one from that day. I didnt go to another institution but them. So they lied to me and possibly ruined my credit score.

Desired Settlement: I want that hard inquiry taken off my account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/04) */ I have reviewed the transaction noted in the complaint. The customer did sign the appropriate document allowing the credit report to be run. The sales woman involved verified the client was informed that the credit report had been obtained. The pre-approval from USAA is a non-binding offer to provide a loan and is not an adequate form of payment to finalize an automobile purchase. The necessary parent co-buyer was not present. We routinely run a credit report as a means of obtaining information used to protect clients and the dealership from identity theft, obtain the federally required OFAC clearance and allow the dealership to proceed with the transaction without cash in hand. The inquiry will not void the USAA offer to provide a loan. We do not have any ability to remove an inquiry from a credit report. We apologize for failing to communicate more precisely the purpose of the credit report and hope the client has been successful in his attempt to purchase a new Honda. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/09/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) OFAC does not need social security. There are other options. And as for the credit, the sales lady told me that your company did not run my credit. I asked her a couple times. I had a witness with me. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2015/09/15) */ We wish only to repeat our earlier statement: We apologize for failing to communicate more precisely the purpose of the credit report and hope the client has been successful in his attempt to purchase a new Honda.

6/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 05/22/2013, I drove my ***** ********** model) to the dealership to be used towards the purchase of a vehicle. I was told vehicle price is $14274.26 but in exchange with my *****, I can end up paying $12000. Even when I insisted on knowing the true value of my ***** SUV towards the deal, all the salesperson was telling me was that the cost will be brought down to $12000. I was to $355.05 each month for the Nissan frontier ********** model. He did not tell me that with all added costs the vehicle will cost me $23303.00 which I would have flatly refused for a 2006 model truck. The dealership failed to disclose all cost involved that will lead to the $23303.00. All they did was bring me lengthy documents which I was hastily asked to sign. I was expecting a slide in my payment which I have not missed since last year but a statement from Wells Fargo shows that as of 05/17/2014, I still owe them $12,988.48. I think this is a "day light robbery" from me. There is no doubt that the dealership new exactly what they are doing to take advantage of vulnerable people like us who know so little about buying vehicle. If I was told the true value of $23303.00, I would have surely kept my ***** SUV which was in good order because I drove it to the dealership. I may not be the only person that this dealership is preying on so I want the BBB to investigate for their business practices and try to be open to their customers on total values of their vehicles instead of hiding figures in length documents and cajoling customers to sign. Also, I was not given the chance to negotiate with them for my ***** SUV. Decision about the cost of the Rodeo SUV was made by the dealership and cost hid in the lengthy documents I was asked to hastily sign. Product_Or_Service: 2006 Nissan Frontier Truck Order_Number: PXXXXX Account_Number: XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) To reduce my payment to reflect the original value of the truck. Also, allow me to negotiate with them the value of my ***** SUV and add proceeds from that towards my payment for the Nissan ********. I am quite sure that the true value of my ***** SUV was above $2000. I was not allowed to separately negotiate for the value of my *****.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/30) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** GM Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: ************ This is a customer that would be well served to take the time to come into the dealership and sit with myself or a sales manager and have the entire transaction re-disclosed. One year later it can be easy to misinterpret the costs involved in a vehicle finance transaction. I have looked into the details and found this: yes he did pay $14274 for the vehicle after receiving a $1725 discount from our original "fair market price". We price our cars to the market and rarely are able to offer this large a savings from the asking price. If he didn't negotiate to receive this discount as he remembers it would likely have been a result of the lenders conditioning on the approval. The contract was executed at the "buy rate" and we receive ZERO dollars of his $5779 finance charges. I also see a extended service agreement purchased for $1013 for 3 years 36,000. This is an extremely attractive price as well and again if negotiation was not the reason then the lender likely limited the amount to finance and we prefer to offer all customers an opportunity to cover themselves even if in means a sacrifice on our part (this is prorated can be cancelled). He also purchased Gap insurance for $658 (again discounted from retail). Now add sales tax, license and his trade in value the total amount showing on the contract is $23303. I believe as a way of reducing his expense we valued his trade in at its "actual cash value" and offered the maximum discount on the selling price to minimize the taxable amount. This is the consumers best option and does not benefit the dealer one way or the other. I hope this amount of detail and transparency alleviates our clients anxiety over the purchase of his vehicle. We remain available for personal face to face consultation if further explanation should be beneficial. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/06/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response is incomplete. Firstly, it fails to give a run-down of the other aspect of the deal - my **************. Mention is not made about any agreement between us in relation to the determination of the SUV's value. Secondly, if the business agent could've thoroughly explained the details of the deal, even to the final cost of $23303 for an over XXXXX miles(XXXX) vehicle - we couldn't have been going back and forth through the BBB now because I would not have gone for such a deal. There was never a time in our transaction that the agent specifically told me that this will be my final cost. Instead, they intentionally guided me through each step, avoiding disclosure of the final figure($23303), asking me to sign portions they think I will be satisfied with. I think that is bad business. The agent(s) knew exactly what they were doing and who they were doing it to - a novice who knows so little about such transactions. They insisted on asking me what I will be able to pay each month not what total price I was ready to pay for the vehicle. They used that information lure me into signing the document with the "hidden" total price. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/06/10) */ As I stated earlier "This is a customer that would be well served to take the time to come into the dealership and sit with myself or a sales manager and have the entire transaction re-disclosed. One year later it can be easy to misinterpret the costs involved in a vehicle finance transaction." I have personally reviewed the transaction and as a Senior Certified Association of Finance & Insurance Professional I am satisfied all legal and ethical standards have been followed. Any further attempt to describe the negotiation or contract via a written back and forth communication will only serve to add to the confusion.

6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Forced to purchase "mandatory" pre-installed options when it was not something I need or wanted. I received a quote from TrueCar for a Honda CR-V for $20,229 and was forced to purchase an option package at $1076 because it was pre-installed on all the vehicles the dealership sold. In a Yelp! review, the general manager of the dealership stated that some cars have pre-installed options and some don't but I was told that ALL the cars the dealership sold had these options. I was also told that by using the TrueCar quote, it was MANDATORY to purchase the option but when I asked where on my TrueCar quote that it said that, the sales rep couldn't find the fine print. After purchasing the car because we spent 6 hours there, I looked up the retail value of the options package and it came out to around $380 but the dealer charged me $1076. I also came to realize by reading Yelp! reviews that these mandatory options package it not mandatory at all. After signing the paperwork I asked about the status of my car so I can pick it up and leave. My sales rep told me that they were getting it ready and filling my tires with nitrogen (part of my options package). I asked, if they were just installing all the options now, then why was I forced to purchase the options package because it was "pre-installed" when they were just installing it now? This practice is dishonest. I was quoted one price through TrueCar but they increased my purchase price because they made me purchase a mandatory option package in order to honor the TrueCar quoted price.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be reimbursed the difference between the $1076 I paid for the options package and the fair retail price of $380. (googled costs of these options and it came out to $25.99 for all the tire lock lug nuts, $6 per tire to fill it with nitrogen (and from my research, does nothing), $80 for all the Trim Guards on, and $250 for the tint. The total is $380).

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/22) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ****** GM Contact Phone: (XXX)XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ************ My understanding is that we have successfully satisfied Mr ****. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did speak with Mr. **** ******* Sales Director at ** ******** I was told that I will be refunded the difference between what I paid for the options and the fair retail price but have not received a confirmation that this action has taken place. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/30) */ Hello MR. **** Here is a copy of the check for your records. You should be receiving a copy in the mail as well. My business office is sure they sent one a few days ago and I cannot account for it not arriving yet. We don't show it as cleared through our account but AHFC dose have it as it was FedX delivered. I hope this restores your confidence in our dealership and we can move our long time friendly business relationship forward in the spirit the refund was offered. Sincerely, ***** ****** General manager Honda of El Cerrito Hello Mr. **** and ********, Please see the attachment on the email I sent both of you a moment ago. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2014/06/05) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car in for an oil change which resulted in damage to the oil pan drain plug. 03/14/13 I took my **** ***** in for a service which included an oil change. When the car was returned to me they recommended that because of the age of the car that I should have my oil pan replaced. 04/07/14 I took the same vehicle in for another oil change and was told that they could not service the car because the oversized drain plug was damaged and spinning freely. I was told that these things happen despite how careful they try to be and was given an estimate for repair totaling $719.00 The plug was in proper working order or they would not have done the first oil change. during the service they damaged the part and made no attempt to right their actions. Instead they attempted to have me pay for the repair as a preventive measure.

Desired Settlement: you broke it you should pay for it

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/12) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Service Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *********** I have spoken with the client and have worked out a resolution with him, Honda of el cerrito is going to take care of the labor and the cusotmer is going to pay for parts, or provide his own parts. Per Mr. ******* he is satisfied with resolution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/05/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I'm satisfied with how Mr ***** resolved the situation.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Honda of El Cerrito
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)