BBB Accredited Business since

Fremont Ford

Phone: (510) 651-5600 Fax: (510) 651-7637 View Additional Phone Numbers 39700 Balentine Dr, Newark, CA 94560 http://www.fremontford.com View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales, service and body repair of new and used cars.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fremont Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fremont Ford include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Fremont Ford
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1984 Business started: 03/01/1982 Business started locally: 03/01/1982 Business incorporated 05/12/2005 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10240 Systems Pkwy, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.dca.ca.gov/consumer/wll.shtml
Phone Number: (855) 837-7985

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mike Patel, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Patel, Owner
Number of Employees

85

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Buying Co-Op Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service Auto - Emissions Testing Auto - Fleet Maintenance Auto - Fleet Service Auto Services - Oil & Lube

Service Area
This business service area covers San Francisco, Oakland, Fremont, Santa Rosa, Hayward, Concord, Berkeley, Richmond, Antioch, Daly City, San Mateo, Vacaville, San Leandro, Livermore, Napa, Sonoma, Vallejo, San Rafael, San Mateo, Walnut Creek
Alternate Business Names
Fremont Ford, Auto Body of Fremont SJK, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Fremont Ford has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 39700 Balentine Dr

    Newark, CA 94560 (888) 244-9105

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fremont Ford sold us a truck with refrigeration option, all financed together. Now after 3 months we still dont have the truck and are expected to pay We eagerly purchased 2015 FORDT350HD Commerical Truck for our small icecream business on September 6th Labor Day weekend sale at Fremont Ford, CA. Since then it has been a debacle for our business. The truck was to be outfitted with a freezer by Ford Partner company. Things went wrong with the installation and it is now almost 3 months we dont have a truck. We made alternate arrangements but are being forced to take make payments on something we have not received. The truck was damaged during the installation and no one is telling the complete story. We still dont have the truck, nor anyword about when we can get the truck. We want to cancel since we lost faith in the vehicle and think it will be a maintenance nightmare for us to own it. Note: ford credit included the price of installation in our financing price. We cannot get any reprieve on that either.

Desired Settlement: Since the truck developed failure codes because of installation, we want assurances that it will work, hence we need: 1. Extended double full manufacturers service warranty 2. The refrigeration company caused the damage and expect $10000 credit for poor job that has put the entire vehicle in jeopardy

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/22) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******* GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@fremontford.com The van is ready for delivery, and we are in the final stages of negotiations to come to a settlement. Once the settlement is finalized, we will contact BBB again. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2016/01/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Fremont Ford was able to mitigate on our behalf with ReferTek Services which caused the delay and pay us some of the losses/damages because of the delay. We have not yet received the payment but we trust we will. Thank you.

12/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Auto repair was delayed and finally a repair was done that appeared fixed for two days, but reappeared as soon as I left. Gas smell and check engine. August 4, 2015 Service completed August 8, 2015 Service order XXXXXX $900.26 paid $145 diagnostic $175 fuel injection cleaning $62.95 T/B clean $62.95 T/B clean $250 replace purge valve and solenoid $76.78 Valve Asy $99.24 replaced both evap vent and purge valve

Desired Settlement: A full refund for the non repair.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/12/08) */ We have attempted to contact the customer numerous times with no response. It appears that the vehicle was in our shop one time. I would happily like to look at the vehicle to inspect it. We value our customers, and we take an enormous amount of pride in our work. The customer can contact me directly. Regards, ******* ******* General Manager XXX-XXX-XXXX *******@fremontford.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2015/12/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The response was not to resolve the situation. I have a vehicle that has not been repaired with a check engine light constantly on. As my income does not allow exploratory repair that is suggested, I refuse to allow any further work. I am happy to provide a reading of the check engine light at a third party to prove the problem has not been addressed. Note that two problems were told to the dealer, but only one was addressed. The second problem involves my transmission that was ignored. Note my repair was supposedly done on a Saturday when only oil change personnel work at the repair center at that time. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2015/12/15) */ Mr. ****, Unfortunately, a third party does not have Ford factory trained technicians, nor do they have the Ford branded repair equipment. I am not sure what the outstanding issue is, but a check engine light can be a complicated issue with up to 90 different problems/ fixes with the vehicle. That is why it is imperative to have MY service department look at the vehicle. Please contact me to schedule an appointment. Regards, ************** *******@fremontford.com

6/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fremont Ford is not cooperating in the cancelation of my extended century warranty and refund, purchased through them. I've been trying to cancel this warranty since May 1, 2015 and get a refund on the last year that it would cover. I tried to use this warranty's service and was declined roadside assistance which was part of the warranty. This is the reason I am canceling it. I have called and emailed many times over the last month and the Ford dealership won't respond to my calls or emails. I have unsuccesfully tried to work with the store's general manager, much to my disappointment he is no help as he too is ignoring my phone calls and emails. I need the dealership to fax a form that to the warranty company for the cancelation to go through and to send me the remaining refund. I now live in ***** ****** and am unable to go to the dealership in person. I've tried placing a complaint through the main general ford company which has led to no results. I originally purchased the warranty Nov 30, 2010 for $1800.00 when I bought the new vehicle. Warranty contract #XXXXXXX.

Desired Settlement: I want to cancel the remaining portion of the century warranty and be refunded for the final year of coverage. I do not know the exact amount of refund as ford is supposed to give me this information and is not being compliant. I originally paid $1800.00 for 6 year coverage.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/06/17) */ At the time that the customer attempted to cancel the service contract, Century discovered that there was an open claim. We waited for the customer to get that resolved with Cetury since you cannot cancel a service contract with an open claim. Now that situation is resolved, and we have processed the cancellation for Ms. *********. We have the check in hand for the customer, and we are communicating with the customer to send the check to her current lienholder. Today's note from the customer: "Once I receive notification that this has been done I can then close the complaint with the Better Business Bureau". Check will be sent no later than 6-18-2015 Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2015/06/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) There was no open claim with century when I first asked Fremont Ford to cancel the warranty. They ignored all contact with me for over 5 weeks until I finally submitted my claim with the BBB. At that point for 2 short days of the 6 week time frame that I had been asking ford to cancel the agreement there was a claim open. It was open and paid out within 2 business days, then closed with the payout. Finally, after your second letter to Fremont Ford this issue has been dealt with. The ford company claims they sent a check to the bank that handles my car loan. If the check is not received in a timely manner I will reopen then claim if needed. I am very thankful for the BBB's help in resolving this issue as Fremont Ford took advantage that I was no longer living near their dealership and could not handle the issue in person, their solution was to ignore my requests and deny me help until the BBB sent 2 notifications to them. Thank you.

4/27/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: advertising of a vehicle with many amenities that are not true on Jan 21,2015 I purchased a ******************** from Fremont ford. The advertisement that was placed on their website and in dealership stated this vehicle consisted of air conditioning, cruise control, am/fm stereo w/cd player,and rear window defroster non of these items are or were in this vehicle at time of purchase. I sent an email to to the general manager of Fremont ford and received no reply. the salesman ***** was very good at his job, so was the finance department. I am deeply concerned that another person will be deceived of the truth on the specifications of a vehicle.

Desired Settlement: install A/C and cruise control on my vehicle if possible.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/16) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******* GM Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@fremontford.com After speaking with the customer, there was a misunderstanding with his deal. In the interest of maintaining great customer relations, Fremont Ford decided to take care of the customer. I can say that both parties are now Completely Satisfied. I believe the customers intention is to remove the BBB posting after our conversation and resolution. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/04/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I have recently spoke to the general manager of Fremont ford and after discussing the situation we have come to an agreement.

12/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I came to Fremont Ford to get a system update and left with more issues than I ever had before. Their response was rude and unprofessional. I came to Fremont Ford to repair an A pillar that blew off the outside trim of my 2011 Ford Explorer on the highway. I was told that my sync system needed updating so I told them to do so. I later come to find that my rear cam and navigation aren't working properly after the update. I called the next day and shared my concerns and I was told I would receive a call back. 2 weeks later I received a "courtesy" call from Fremont Ford asking about my experience and if everything was resolved. I explained that I was not satisfied because now I have even more issues. Again, I was told I would get a call back. During the next 6 months I fell ill and that last thing on my mind was pursuing the service issues. When I started recovering from my illness, I received a recall notice for my Explorer's power steering. I called ahead of time and explained my entire story to the new adviser. I was told that everything should be okay and that my warranty will probably cover it. The adviser, ******* ********** told me that he would need to keep the car because the parts will come overnight. 3 1/2 days later, I'm finally told that I could pick up my car. I'm completely convinced that everything is repaired and good to go. I get to my house and notice nothing is fixed. Earlier in the week, ******* texted me updates about my car from his personal phone because Fremont Ford was having issues. Therefore, when I realized the car was repaired, I texted him back saying that I'm still having these issues. He told me, "That's what I'm waiting on the warranty for." Another week goes by and no update. I text *******.. "Hello ****. Hope you had a great weekend. Any update on the warranty?" No response. So I call ******* and leave him a message on his Fremont Ford voicemail. No response. A week later I text him .. "Any update at all?" No response. I have the texts saved. I'm pretty frustrated at this point and I get in contact with ******** who actual shows some positive costumer service and sounds polite and actually listens to me. She sounds concerned that I've been ignored for so long. She tells me she'll handle it and get me a response. To no ones surprise, no response. About 2 weeks later a woman by the name of ***** calls me for another post "courtesy" call. I explain everything and she tells me that she's really sorry and assures me someone would contact me. Finally ******* calls me and tells me that it's not covered under warranty. I explain to him that I'm not concerned with a warranty. I'm simply trying to have you guys fix what you messed up. He told me he would talk to his supervisor and call me back. No response. A week later I call and try to contact ******** since she seemed to have some customer service skills. She told me she would talk to her supervisor and get back to me quickly. A week goes by and I call and leave multiple voice mails for ********. I call again the next day and I'm told she's busy with other customers so I ask them to put me on hold. I finally get in touch with ******** and her tone is completely different. She tells me that they spoke to Ford Corporate and there's nothing we can do since this occurred a year prior. I explain that I've been actively pursuing this fix this entire year with the exception of the time I was ill. She tells me that I could call corporate and try my luck there and that she could give me the number. I explain that I'm going to file a complaint with the BBB and she replies that I can go find the Ford number on my own since I'm threatening her. Even though, at no point did I ever threaten her. Overall, my time at Fremont Ford has been the worst costumer service experience I've ever had by far. I even asked ******** is she thinks ******* has good customer service. I asked if her smiles and greets customers properly. She said "no, he's not that type of adviser. He more business like." I simply can not believe that place is still in business.

Desired Settlement: I came on Oct 12th 2013 and spent $296.43 on a piece of trim that flew of my 1 year old Ford on the High way. You would think that would be covered under warranty but no. I also got a sync update and left with no rear cam and navigation. All I want is for Fremont Ford to stop ignoring me and please fix my issues that they caused. That is all.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/12/23) */ Company responded via email: My name is ***** ******** I am the Service Director who worked with ***** ******** and we worked together last month to resolve all his issues, I fixed all his problems at no charge and I gave him a free rental for the day, I also followed up with the customer a week later to make sure everything was working fine and he was very happy. He also told me he was going to notify your office that his complaint was resolved and he was very happy. I have enclosed a copy of the repair order I wrote when he came in. I did leave him a message today to see if there was any other issues. We left on great terms and he said he would be back in the future for his service needs. I wanted to write to you so you understand I got assign this case and called our customer right away. If you have any question please feel free to give me a call. Sincerely ***** ******** Service Director Fremont Ford (XXX) XXX-XXXX Fax (510 651-8498 XXXXX Balentine Drive Newark Ca XXXXX ''The Store That Gives You More'' Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 11, 2014/12/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/11/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Incompetent diagnosis, leading to warranty coverage denied, and air pump damage My **** **** ***** had the ''Check Engine light'' on and failed the smog test. An auto repair shop diagnosed the problem as the secondary air injection system malfunction (code P0410 or P0411) and secondary air injection system insufficient flow ******** I checked the codes online, and these codes are related to the emission system. It's likely the faulty parts are still under warranty, because my car is ***** I booked an appointment with ******* **** at 11am on 10/15/2014. When I arrived, *** ********** the fleet service manager, told me that their computer system was down, and asked me to come back the next day. Not his fault, but not a good sign. I went there next day (10/16/2014). Mr. ********* greeted me. He was professional. I explained to him what problem my car had and the diagnostic codes. He said they needed to do their own diagnoses, and would let me know what they found. He then called and told me that the secondary air injection pump had water contamination, and the pump needed to be replaced (cost: $712). It was not covered by warranty because of the ''WATER INTRUSION''. I asked him where the water came from, and he said he didn't know. How did they find out? ''The technician opened the pump'' was his answer. I asked him whether the new pump would be contaminated again without finding and getting rid of the water source, and he agreed it's certainly a possibility. After paying the diagnostic fee of $145, I took the car home, and found out myself that the secondary air injection check valve had malfunctioned. More precisely, the valve is stuck partially open, whether there is vacuum applied or not, and that lead the engine exhaustion to the air pump and caused water contamination. I believe the valve should be covered by the warranty, and the water contamination in the air pump caused by the leaky valve should be covered by warranty too. They should have performed this simple diagnosis to find out the root cause of the problem. Moreover, I found the inlet hose connector on the air pump was broken! Now it has to be replaced. I wanted to tell Mr. ********* my findings and to know whether he would make thing up, so I called him at 9:52am on 10/20/2014. A lady told me that he was busy at the moment and would call me back as soon as he could. I have not heard from him yet after 24 hours.

Desired Settlement: Replace the faulty and damaged parts without charge, since they are covered under warranty.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 8, 2014/11/11) */ Thank you for the message and your effort in helping resolving the issue. The business has contacted me and resolved the issue to my complete satisfaction.

9/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wanted to buy a 2014 ford fusion SE hybrid. I talked to a sales person on the phone and told him want I wanted and to get me approved for financing. My credit is poor, but they were able to get me financing with a high interest rate. Once they say I was approved, I talked to another sales person on the phone to discussed the vehicle that I wanted before going to the dealer to get the car. He sent me the window sticker for a 2014 ford fusion SE Hybrid. And I told him this is exactly want I want and I will get that one, and made an appointment to go pick the car up the next day. I went to the dealer the next day and they say that the car I wanted was sold and tried to sell me a car that was not the color and car I original discussed. I say I don't want this other car that they tried to sell to me. After that they came to me and said I was not approved for that car SE Hybrid model. They said that I was only approved for the S Hybrid model. Since they didn't have the car I was original they SAID I was approved for, they tried to squezzed me to buy the S Hybrid model or the one that I didn't like color that they have in the lot. I just wanted to say that this dealership just wasted my time going there and how they lied to people that is trying to buy car to get them in to their dealership by misleading them. Product_Or_Service: 2014 Ford Fusion SE Hybrid

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: No settlement requested - for I just want to get the car that they said I was approved for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/06/02) */ Received business response via email on 6/2/14: Our finance dept got ****** ***** for an auto loan. He assumed it was for any car so he called the store asking about his ideal car. When he came in we reiterated to him his approval is limited to a certain amount, if he wanted a more expensive car he would have to put more down payment. He was expecting us to approve him on any car he wants. Unfortunately his approval amount is based on his credit. *** ****** General Sales Manager Fremont Ford

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Fremont Ford sold me a car and will not make the repairs on the new 2014 ford focus ..that I paid for.. the day I got the new car from Fremont ford .the car would not go straight I took the car in to fremont ford 3 times and still the car is not right. I did the online report fremont ford asked me to do .I was honest with the report but becouse fremont ford did not like what I said about how they was as a dealer they band me from the dealer and I was told they would not fix my new car that they just sold me .I am making a payment on my 2014 ford focus with many things wrong with the car and safty .they will not fix my car even I paid for a service contract.There is no reason they should turn me down for repairs..the car is a lemon.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund or to have the car replaced.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/26) */ Fremont Ford and our staff are deeply concerned about all of our customer's satisfaction and we strive to provide a world class experience for customers. Mr. ****** purchased his new vehicle on Nov 6th, 2013. At time of delivery Mr. ****** was quite happy with his vehicle choice and his purchase experience with our staff. Mr. ****** signed all necessary documentation with a thorough explanation and proper disclosure of each and every document and condition of sale, including a complete disclosure of the California ''No Cooling-Off Period'' Nov 7th, 2013 Mr. ****** returned to dealership and stated he no longer wanted to purchase the car and said ''I changed my mind''. Mr. ****** was again informed of the California No Cooling Off Period and he was told he could not return the vehicle simply because he changed his mind. Mr. ****** was not accepting of this answer and then told us he ''wanted to renegotiate the price, you guys did not give me good enough deal''. Again he was informed that the California CVC11709.2 does not provide for a cooling-off or other cancellation period for vehicle lease or purchase contracts. Therefore, you cannot later change your mind, decide the vehicle costs too much, or wish you had acquired a different vehicle. Mr. ****** then informed us that he ''would just leave the vehicle here as he does not want it''. During these explanations, Mr. ****** was abrasive and belligerent towards our management staff and myself and finally he took his vehicle and left the dealership claiming ''My lawyer will I'll find a way to make you take it back'' Starting Nov 12th and continuing to this day, Mr. ****** has been into our Service Dept. with a multitude of operational complaints, other than an alignment and a factory paint defect that was corrected for him, none of his ongoing operational complaints have been verified by our technicians. Mr. ****** did file a complaint with Ford Motor Co. and a thorough review of his complaints and technician findings has been completed with no further repair actions to be taken. I can assure Mr. ****** that all of his complaints have been taken seriously and his vehicle has been fairly and adequately inspected for every issue he has noted. When nothing is found wrong with his vehicle, Mr. ****** has always come back to complain that we are lying to him and then asks us to return the vehicle. To date, Mr. ****** has complained about every individual staff member he has come in contact with and has been abrasive, argumentative and rude to our staff. After our last encounter with him on our showroom, he walked out, and drove his vehicle erratically, speeding thru our lot and drove right up onto our front door display area as if he was going to plow thru the front doors, stopping inches from the glass doors. Summation: After investigating his claims and following all standard protocols for any customer vehicle operational issues, no ongoing operational issues have been found. It is clear that Mr. ****** is simply not going to be satisfied with any response and is continuing to complain about anything and everything in an effort to return his vehicle. We have informed Mr. ****** that he may take his vehicle to any other Ford dealer he chooses for warranty repairs and or maintenance as we will no longer tolerate his abusive and threatening behavior. Thank you and I am available to answer any further question. **** *********, General Manager - Fremont Ford


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Fremont Ford
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart