BBB Accredited Business since

Dirito Bros Walnut Creek Volkswagen

Phone: (925) 934-8224 Fax: (925) 934-3529 2020 N Main St, Walnut Creek, CA 94596 http://www.diritovw.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used cares and Volkswagen auto parts and repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dirito Bros Walnut Creek Volkswagen meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dirito Bros Walnut Creek Volkswagen include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Dirito Bros Walnut Creek Volkswagen
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 25, 2012 Business started: 07/20/1994 Business started locally: 07/20/1994 Business incorporated 07/20/1994 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10240 Systems Pkwy, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.dca.ca.gov/consumer/wll.shtml
Phone Number: (855) 837-7985

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Donald Dirito, President Mr. Rick Weible, GM
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Donald Dirito, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Marc Venturella, Service Director
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto - Fleet Service

Service Area
This business service area covers San Francisco, Oakland, Fremont, Santa Rosa, Hayward, Concord, Berkeley, Richmond, Antioch, Daly City, San Mateo, Vacaville, San Leandro, Livermore, Napa, Sonoma, Vallejo, San Rafael, San Mateo, Walnut Creek
Alternate Business Names
Dirito Brothers Walnut Creek, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Dirito Bros Walnut Creek Volkswagen has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2020 N Main St

    Walnut Creek, CA 94596

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** Brothers VW failed to diagnose and fix the cause of a low oil pressure problem in my vehicle which resulted in engine failure. My complaint is that ****** Brothers Walnut Creek Volkswagen failed in their duties to accurately diagnose and fix the cause of a low oil pressure problem (low oil pressure, not low oil level) in my 2010 VW CC (despite five separate service visits) and this failure then caused the subsequent failure of the vehicle's engine (and an estimated $12,000 bill to replace the engine). Vehicle was brought in to ****** between May 2014 and November 2014 FIVE times because the oil pressure warning/alarm kept going on. In June 2015, after five service visits and with the problem still undiagnosed after a year, the vehicle's engine shut off while at a stop light. After towing it to ******, it was determined that the timing chain had jumped the sprocket, which then caused the engine's pistons to smashing into and bend the valves, and destroy the engine. In May 2014 my car's oil pressure warning light and audible alarm first came on. The oil pressure warning light/alarm only came on and off under certain driving conditions which were then triggered certain symptoms: Conditions: After 45+ minutes of driving at high speeds After heavy demand on the engine (warning light initially came on after repeatedly driving up and down the hills of the City of San Francisco) Resulting Symptoms: The oil pressure warning light/alarm came on when the engine reached approximately 2,000 rpm The oil pressure warning light/alarm turned off when the engine reached approximately 3,000 rpm The low oil pressure sensor only is triggered when a car's oil is very hot and thin and when the car is driven at slow speeds when the demand on the engine is relatively low (the oil pressure is marginal at lower RPMs where the oil pump is not spinning very fast). During the service visits ****** dismissed the possibility that the vehicle was suffering from low oil pressure. This may have been because when ****** tested the car's oil pressure it was within the "normal" range. What they should was to investigate the potential low pressure issue, which. This should have included removing the car's oil pan and checking the oil intake screen for clogging, removing the oil pump and checking to see that it was operating correctly, and even tearing down the engine if necessary. Unfortunately this was a situation where the symptoms were pointing in one direction while the tests were pointing in a different direction. According to available information, low oil pressure problems can be difficult to accurately diagnose unless you first replicate the conditions under which the problem occurs (ie. 45+ mins of driving at high speeds, conditions that will place a heavy demand on the engine, etc). I explained this to ******'s Service Dept, and even provided them with literature (vincewaldon.com - HOWTO: Diagnose the Dynamic Oil Pressure Warning System) to help them, but ****** failed to do extensive road testing and instead relied on taking oil pressure tests while the car was idling inside ******'s service area. Like the pilot that notices his plane is rapidly descending but takes no evasive action and crashes because his instruments are telling him everything is fine, ******'s reliance on the oil pressure readings came at great cost. The lack of oil pressure prevented the timing chain tensioner from working correctly (it relies on oil pressure). The car's timing chain tensioner could not maintain adequate tension on the timing chain, and as a result timing chain came off (jumped) off the timing chain sprocket and led to irreparable damage to the vehicle's engine. My car remains at ****** VW. I have spent 10 weeks trying to resolve this collaboratively with ******. I met with ******'s owner and service manager, have exchanged phone calls and emails, and I have expressed my expectation that ****** will absorb the cost of replacing my engine. However, despite my efforts to work with ******, they are unwilling to take any responsibility for what happened to my vehicle.

Desired Settlement: My expectation is that ****** Brothers VW will absorb the cost of 1. Removing the existing engine 2. A new replacement VW long block engine (including the turbo charger) 3. Installing the new engine 4. A loaner vehicle until the repair is finished

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/09/25) */ The customer states we failed to diagnose the low oil pressure issue. At no time during our testing did we find the car to be low on oil pressure. We did find however the car to be low on oil level. This may result in low oil pressure on turns and hills. Also its seems the customer did not follow the factory recommend maintenance schedule of an oil change every 10,000 miles and the oil was at a low level as a result. We have ask for receipts to verify his responsibility of following the owner's manual and have only received two so far The timing jump may not be related to the low oil pressure light. We have never verified a low oil pressure condition to justify an internal look into the engine as the customer states should have happened. The customer also states we should have driven the car 45 minutes with oil pressure gauge attached to verify a low oil pressure issue, however we were following VW's diagnostic procedures and that was not their policy. Also the tires are wear past the wear indicators and are legally bald with metal showing through and its unsafe to drive. We have offered to help the customer with our internal rate for a new or used engine and have offered to help with trading the car in for another car. Mr. ****** has tried to blame VW corporate and they have denied the claim and is now trying to put the blame on our dealership. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2015/10/19) */ :My car was left in shambles after being in the hands of ****** Brothers Walnut Creek VW. On Friday October 9th, 2015 I picked up my car (2010 VW CC) from ****** Brothers. The vehicle had been at ****** Brothers since mid June as we sought to resolve a problem that caused my car's engine to fail. We were not able to come to a resolution that was acceptable to both parties and as such I had my car towed from the dealership. Upon getting my car home, I noticed the following: 1-My drivers side power window is now inoperable and it is stuck in the down position (it was working fine when the car was brought in). 2-My drivers side window and rear passenger ******* were covered with plastic. Masking tape was used to secure the plastic and the tape has been on the car so long that I am unable to remove it from the body of the car (I have pictures)despite trying several different automobile adhesive removers. 3-****** removed almost half of the top of my engine (the cam shaft is completely visible for example) without my permission and left the engine in pieces. A number of the parts (I have pictures) they removed were found in a box in the back seat of the car, and others were left on top of the engine itself (under the hood). DESIRED RESOLUTION::I want ****** to pay me the amount of money it will take to: 1-Restore my driver's side window to fully operational condition 2-Remove the tape adhesive from the body of my car 3-Put my engine back together.

6/19/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sold a car as "certified preowned" with a defective tires I've bought certified preowned Volkswagen Jetta 2010 on October 2013, and eventually figured out that tire has an edge wear, and another 2 tires have "cupping" and delayering. I have pointed out edge wear at the time of purchase, but sales have checked with someone and convinced that this is normal. Now they decline that conversation ever happen. "Cupped" tire produces a sound and vibration when driving, that was present at the time of purchase, but I didn't put attention to it. Car also had a alignment issue, that caused the tire to have an "edge wear", and I have a paperwork showing that I have fixed the alignment issue at my own expanse. Paperwork also shows that car "may have a safety issue" because of the alignment. Certification supposed to reveal and fix edge wear, cupped and delayered tire. However, they didn't done it and I have to do it now on my own expanse.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of 3 defective tires

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/05/12) */ In response to case number ********* ***** ****, Dirito Brothers had been in contact with customer and responded to customer that the car had been Certified and was sold up to those standards. We discussed this with him and went thru the inspection sheet including the tires. The car was safe to drive and we did not cover wear and tear items. Both our Used Car manager and General Manager talked with customer to explain that the tires were compliant and safe . At this time there is no other communications or actions being taken. Sincerely, ***** ***** GSM Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 12, 2014/05/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Here is what inspection sheet says: Item 110: Tire Wear: No Unusual Wear Pattern I was asking about wear pattern on one of the tire that concerned me at the day of the purchase. Salesman explained me, that it is normal. Later on, after I've noticed that car is slippery on a wet road and went to independent repair shop. It gave me a notice that tire that I was concerned about at the day of car purchase had edge wear and is a safety concern. Tire looked the same as in the day of car purchase. I have a paperwork stating that the tire has an edge wear from that repair shop, as well as similar paperwork from another repair shop. Item 73: Overall Road Feel: No Abnormal Driving Response/No Abnormal Noise I was concerned about the noise from another tire from the day of the purchase. Tire turned out to be cupped, and also a safety concern. Have a paperwork stating this from an independent facility. Because I have noticed these issues at the time of purchase, I believe that certification was not done good enough. They have also mislead me, telling me that there are no issues on my direct question on the tire.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Dirito Bros Walnut Creek Volkswagen
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart