BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Crown Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram And Fiat Of Concord

Phone: (925) 798-4000

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints12

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (12)
12/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was kicked off the dealer lot when I came there in good faith to pick up my second set of keys that was promised and also to pick up my check thatIh
On the 30th of August I purchased a Chrysler town and Country minivan. I gave$500.00 cash down payment and$1000.00 by visa bank card. I also gave them a check in the amount of$1500.00 to hold for 2 weeks, they had offered to hold it for 30 days. A day before the 2 weeks were up I came to the dealership to pick up the keys that were promised with the manual to the car. They did not have it ready nor was it ever ordered for me. I then asked them to honor that 30 day hold on my check since the things that they had promised did not come either. They agreed. 2 1/2 weeks passed and one of the managers called me and asked me when I would be coming in to exchange the check for the cash and I told him on Saturday or Sunday. He said that would be fine. I also asked him if he had my keys and when they would be able to program it, he replied to me not on Sunday but Saturday or a week day the service department would be able to do it for me. On Saturday morning I called to ask if they had the key and manual so I can come in and have the key programed. I was told that the key was never ordered, that he would order it for me that day. After one hour of that conversation I came to the dealership with cash in hand to exchange for my check, but they could not locate my check. They were very disorganized. I told the gentleman that I am hesitant to give my cash without receiving my check back, and he lashed out at me. I proceeded to explain to him that I was very frustrated with their service because they were very disorganized and wanted to have what was promised to me and also my check before I would give him my money. He called another manager who threatened to roll back the vehicle that they sold to me. I also told them that if they wanted to roll back the vehicle, that it would be ok with me. He didn't like my reply and kicked me off the premises of the dealership. So they did not take the remainder of my down payment, which I know I owe them. I have been calling them since Monday morning and leaving messages that have not been returned. I also emailed to the company to their email address and never got a response back. I don't want to look like I don't want to pay what I know I owe them, but it seems like they are ignoring me in order for it to look like I don't want to pay. I just want to settle everything. I want what they owe me and promised to me and I just want my check back and give them the rest of the down payment and be finished with all of this.

Desired Settlement
I just want them to give me what was promised to me and my check so I can exchange it with cash. And be finished with this.

Business Response
Received business response via email on 11/15/13:

Customer came in on the week end to give us money but the office is closed on the weekends. Sounds like we should have made arrangements but staff didn't know or
Did not follow up on this. We would like to make amends with her and I would like her to visit me during the week to clear this up and I would be happy to compensate her
For her troubles. Thanks ***** *

***** ********

Managing Partner
Crown Concord Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram FIAT
**** ***** *****
******** ** XXXXX
******* ************


Consumer Response
Yes w are satisfied, thanks ***** *

08/04/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I bought a used 2006 Ford Mustang from them in Janurary. The car is old so I asked for a warranty which I paid extra for. Less then a week later I was stopped by the police over a burned out brake lamp. I returned to the dealership and paid the $100 deductable on the warranty I paid extra for and had the lamp fixed. The following week or so I returned for repairs , the steering wheel moved while braking, they turned the brake rotors , again I paid the deductible for the warranty I paid for. Roughly 3 weeks later at around 2 30 am the brake caliper went bad on the bay bridge going to work. I was doing roughly 80 MPH coming off the bridge at Treasure Island , taking the Civic Center offramp since its more or less a straight exit. I blew through the stoplamp at the bottom, then the next before it hit me, I have a parking brake, so I pulled it and the Mustang stopped after spinning out in the street. Had somebody been at the crosswalk id have mowed them down and killed them or me or both. Shaken , I paid to have the car towed back to the dealer in Concord from San Francisco for the repair but as time went on, this still haunts me, I called the dealer and asked to talk to whomever is in charge. I was connected to a girl called ******* in sales, I explained what happened, That all of these things should have been found before the Mustang ever made it to the sales lot. She asked me to return to the dealer so they could put me in something else, as I told her the Mustang I bought was clearly unsafe. I asked for them to take the car back, burn the contract and id find something else safe or take my business elsewhere. So I went to talk, all the sales staff wanted to do to fix the situation was ask how much I had to put down on another car, I said I don't want to put anything else down on a car, demanding they take the Mustang back. They refused. They will not solve the situation. Bottom line the car they sold me is VERY unsafe and they wont stand behind the products they sell.
Product_Or_Service: 2006 Ford Mustang

Desired Settlement
Ideally I want them to take the car back, throw the contract I signed in the trash and either put me in a car that's safe, OR take the car back, throw the contract in the trash , not replace the car and id go somewhere else to buy a car.

Business Response
Received business response via email on 6/20/14:

We repaired is vehicle. He then met with Sales and wanted to get out of the car. It is my understanding that it was difficult financing him on this vehicle and because of his credit issues it was impossible to get him a different loan. We have not heard anything from Mr Moser, but I asked my Sales manager to contact him as it has been a few months and we could possibly try to help him with a different vehicle. A message was left and we have not had a response.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
In response to the email, I went to State Farm financial services who handles my insurance and asked them to refinance the car. They answered me with a gasp actually. It was at the point that I was told I paid 23,000 dollars on an 8 and a half year old car, id been ripped off, in fact with the intrest id be paying closer to 30,000 dollars for an 06 Ford. It was at that point a week after I knew id been taken. I was never told of the cost of the car at the point of sale , I was only told it was a 6 year loan which was less then the car I had traded in. I did return and ask Crown to take the car back if they would clear this misunderstanding. They refused only wanting to pile more debt on me by putting me into another car. I just had to take it and accept the fact I was ripped off. In the meantime the repairs have kept coming. I have receipts for the work done. I have been so disgusted by the treatment at Crown I have been taking the car to Future Ford who also honors the warranty I paid for. There they informed me the tie rods in the front end are bad, the air conditioning is bad and the main belt that runs the car is about to break, which I had fixed. I plan on returning there for the same problem Crown supposedly fix on it, which is the brake Rotors. I have kept the service recoats on all work performed. Including the tow truck from San Francisco at my work to Crown. That was the day the brakes stopped working on the Bay bridge and I nearly killed myself and possibly somebody else. Speeding threw 2 stop lights at over 90 miles per hour coming off the freeway before pulling the parking brake to stop. The homeless are everywhere there an had one been in the crosswalk id have killed them. I still have nightmares about that. I have longed considered getting help from a lawyer in the event the BBB cannot help me. As far as Crown calling me, I have not received a call from the dealership. Even if I had, Im sure theyd try to put me into another car, putting more mountains of debt onto me without telling me again just as they did with this Mustang. Theyd put this 23,000 dollar 8 and a half year old cars debt on top of whatever car theyd put me into, and that's what I don't need. Im convinced the cars Crown sells are not safe so id be put in this same situation im in now, only exception being id be in more and more and more debt, getting ripped off again on another unsafe car I cant get out of. Upon returning to the dealer the first time, I had even pointed out to the sales department a brand new Dodge Aveger car, On their sales lot. It couldn't have had maybe 50 miles on it, It had been clearly hit on the passenger **** rear door piller. Rather sarcastically I remarked the same Crown tech that did the pre delivery inspection on my 8 year old 23,000 dollar Mustang did the pre delivery inspection on this new Dodge I guess huh ? At any rate I do hope this can be resolved soon.

07/04/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
purchased a **** demo ram XXXX Xx4 **************** (sold as new vehicle) vehicle was sold as a vehicle with air suspension which it did not have ,
on feb XX XXXX I purchased my mate a demo (sold as new **** *** XXXX Xx4 **************** truck ,the salesman ****** *** advertised this vehicle as having air suspension , we talked in length about our needs in a truck (towing a boat , saltwater) after looking at several other vehicles I decided this one met our needs best ,during the sales process it was agreed that vehicle undercoating would be included in the cost of vehicle without charge , after 4 days with vehicle my mates brother noticed a spot on the drivers rear door front edge that had been touched up with a paint pen/brush appx 4" long ,I took truck back to dealer and showed ********* said don't worry we will take care of that when you bring it in for the undercoating ! previously there had been an issue with the service mngr ***** and myself , I after 8 phone calls and 3 weeks got a meeting with a man who addressed himself as ***** one of the owners who assured me I would be dealing with a service advisor named **** (who at this time looked at door damage and promised repair along with undercoating),***** also promised that these issues would be resolved , but laughed at the air suspension and said that was between me and ******* apt was made for the paint/door damage repair and undercoating , **** started the process of writing the work order when ***** came in and aggressively took over and said we are not undercoating a thing and threw a sheet of paper signed by me stating no other work promised I then asked what about the damage that was not disclosed at time of sale and he yelled "oh well we are not fixing s$#@" for you , BTW the finance manager stated at the time I signed that paper that the undercoating is in the computer and off the books ,I asked ***** do I need to talk to ***** again , he laughed so I asked for my keys back so I could just leave , he yelled " here we go again *******" as I walked back to my truck he aggressively followed me and said "you are lucky I don't kick your ***" I replied without thinking "give it you best shot ****" as I was leaving he began yelling "call the police " I went up front and waited for the police and was approached by a small woman and a very large muscular man and was told to get off their property , I was followed by the man who I have found out is a professional MMA fighter who works at this dealership , once home the police called me and went over things and told me to just stay away from this dealership because ***** filed a pr on me , I have made several attempts to get crown to call me on this matter and no results except to be told by whoever answers the phones to never call again or come to dealership ,I worked with Ram corporate for several weeks and they have denied the claim saying that this is a dealership issue not a warranty issue , I paid Mikes auto body in concord ca $1,085 out of my pocket to repair the undisclosed at time of sale damage to the door , this was not by any means a budget vehicle we spent over $50,000 on it and crowns actions are unacceptable ,I feel ***** done as told by upper management so as not to honor their deal or make right on the nondisclosed damage to the door , I also feel the whole service ordeal was a setup , filing a false police report is a crime , during this time I have also found out that the concord PD are called to this business on a regular basis ,I would like my out of pocket costs paid back to me by Crown and them to arrange the undercoating to be applied at their cost as promised and also for them to pay for ALL parts and labor for factory air suspension to be installed by another dealer since I am banned from that location and also afraid for my safety there , this ordeal was frightening to say the least

Desired Settlement
Crown to refund my out of pocket costs which I paid to Mikes Auto Body in the amount of $1,085 which I have estimate , work order and paid in full receipt for the undisclosed touched/covered up by selling dealer Crown door and paint damage , I also want crown to arrange the undercoating to be done at their cost as promised ( I will take to and pick up at the place of business which does the work , I will not take to crown nor let them transport my vehicle due to their attitude and my fears of their retaliation) and last but not least I expect crown to make good on the sales description of this very expensive vehicle and at their cost pay for all parts and labor performed and or supplied by another Dodge Ram dealer to fit this vehicle with the factory air suspension described that it had during the sale to me on feb `4th 2014 , I also expect scott to admit to concord Pd that he falsely filed a PR on me and apologize in writing to me saying this , they not only lied , covered up and cheated me they also now put a blemish in my forever record , which they need to repair

Business Response
Received business response via email on 6/17/14:

Crown offered to repair Mr ******'s paint complaint under warranty, but we needed digital images, which he refused. Therefore, if he chose to take it to a third party, we will not pay for the repairs. The situation with Mr ****** has been volatile since the purchase of his vehicle. Every encounter with him becomes loud and belligerent. He has been asked by the owner, Mr ********, to leave on a previous visit before this one. Mr ****** looked at many vehicles before purchasing this one, some had air suspension and some did not. He chose one which did not have the sir suspension. In addition, after review the purchasing papers, there is nothing that indicates his purchase of undercoating. If he has such a document , I would be glad ton investigate further.


Thank you

***** ***** for ******* ********
Controller

05/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Brought car in to have pin nag connector fix and when I got ready to leave car wouldn't start, engine light was on and car wouldn't go over 40 mph
on 3/19/14 I brought an 2005 Chrysler 300 with 20,000 miles on it, to the dealership. I told them I was having a problem with the pin nag connector leaking transmission fluid, they took in the back and about an hour and a half later, the service tech said he tried unscrew the main component from the housing but it was striped. and he told me it would cost $900 to get it fix. I said no, I would like to get a second a pinion but the strange thing they didn't charge me. so when I got ready to leave my car wouldn't start. so they took it in the back to look at it, and it took about half an hour. when I got ready to leave, I hoped on the freeway and my car wouldn't go over 40 mph, the check engine light came on, I had to put on my hazards light on, and try to get off before I got hit.I took it back and ask to speak with the manger, they proceeded to tell me it wasn't there fault that the bolt was striped before it came, the owner came out and told me to get my 5,000 car off his property and that he would see me in court. My car has always been fixed at a dealership. My car had no engine light nor transmission problems before today. I think someone striped it on accident and don't wanna take fault.

Desired Settlement
I took it to another dealership I want the to cover car repairs needed to be put in working order.

Business Response
Received business response via email on 5/12/14:

Customer filed a case with the BAR concerning his issue. The BAR said customer was being deceptive because he and his automotive teacher had worked on the vehicle and caused the leak. We
The BAR investigator said we were not at fault, but the customer should not have tried to work on the vehicle since he is not a certified technician.

***** ********

Managing Partner
Crown Concord Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram FIAT

11/07/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought a 2014 Fiat 500L L edition from Crown of Concord Fiat.Put 1500.00 down & did trade in .When I bought new vehicle navigation & radio didn't work

I bought a brand new 2014 Fiat 500L Lounge edition fully loaded from Crown Of Concord Fiat on June 17 of 2013. When I test drove the vehicle with my family the navigation system as well as the radio & cd/ data package  did  not work. I told my sales advisor **** **** that I would not buy the vehicle or finance it unless this was fixed or replaced promptly. I was assured by my sales advisor mike and then a finance manager came out and told me and my family that they would fix and replace the parts for it to work no later than three days. They lied. I put 1500.00 dollars down as well as my trade in a 2010 Mercedes Benz glk350 for the new vehicle. I bought and financed this car for my son and my daughter in law who were present at time of this purchase and also with the problems that I had with the dealership there after. They never got back to me . I had to reach out to the dealership after 4 days and they did Not have an answer for me until I got Fiat corporates North America office for customer service involved. It took nine days to fix the issue when I told them I would not buy this car unless it took three days like they said. My son and his family had a trip to southern ca to Anaheim  on Tuesday June 25th which they were aware of and needed  navigation in  new vehicle for the trip my son had to reschedule his trip a day later and because they never got back to us promptly he canceled his stay one day too late and it ruined his trip with his family and costed him money. The sales advisor **** had the audacity to tell my son he would let him borrow his 85.00 garmen portable navigation which is absolutely unexcetable  when we just bought a new 31,000.00 vehicle that should of had its navigation & radio working when we bought it. I filed a complaint with Fiat corporate North America but the dealership would not work with them or have their general manager explain why sales made this terrible service experience and they refused to compensate or resolve the issue on their part. Fiat corporate told me to put a hold on the deposit while they worked on a way to see if the dealership could resolve the matter. Then the dealership sent my son a certified letter indicating he wrote a bounced 1500.00 check while we were told to put a hold on while Fiat corporate was to try to resolve the matter with Crown of Concord Fiat. They even threatened legal action if we did not pay it. All we wanted was resolution for the time and money they compromised my family and I do not write bad checks nor did my family attempt to do so. We have since released the deposit check  and my son paid the 1500.00 to a Sales Manager less than 30 days later and that manager treated my son like she did not care about the issue back she was not present when it took place so it was not her priority "her exact words". I want my deposit of 1500.00 dollars for the down payment refunded to me for the time and problems that were made by this dealership and the very poor and dishonest sale practice that this dealership has caused to me and my family to endure for two months.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a refund for the 1500.00 dollar deposit that was down paid for the purchase of my new vehicle that said to have evertything working and did not and then was lied to and deceived by their sales department and my sales advisor **** **** and financing department and their manager and was assured it would be repaired promptly in 3 days no later and it took 9 days with bad service thereafter and deceptive and poor sales practice.

Business Response
Received business response via email on 9/13/13:

Customer was aware that we needed to order a radio/navigation. The Fiat was a new model that had just been released therefore parts we initially hard to find. We were in constant contact

With the customer and Fiat. We did offer another car or navigation system, but the customer declined. They did put 1500.00 down on the Fiat, as they owned more on the trade-in then it was worth.

The customer did write us a bad check. Fiat Corp said they did not tell the customer to give us a bad check, and they have no authority to do so. We have a right to collect for the bad check. Why they want to get proceeds for down payment is beyond me. We did pull some strings and got the replacement radio in just a few weeks which is more than reasonable in this industry.



***** ********



Managing Partner

Crown Concord Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram FIAT

****************

*****************

Direct: ************

Cell: ************



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept the business managers response because he sounds very misinformed and is making excuses when we know personally he was not involved what so ever when we purchased the Fiat 500L on June 17th and did not resolve the issue for us. One we have a claim number with fiat customer service. They told us to put a hold on the check and make sure to allow them to contact the GM or owner of the dealer to resolve the issue first with that problem we had with the not working navigation, radio and back up camera, ect... . We were told by the dealership that it would only take four days to resolve this issue and I told them I would not finance and purchased this care unless that promise to us would be met and they said it would only take four days and they lied and that is why I am demanding my down payment of 1500.00 back. It took 9 days to repair this issue and I had to call the dealership as no one got back to me propmtly and then file a claim with fiat customer service against the dealership for bad sales practice and service to get the repair done ASAP . It did not take a few weeks to repair this as the business manager indicates and show he absolutely was not involved and does not know what he is talking about. I did not write a bad check.
I was told not to release the funds unless your dealership fixed this issue and your dealership has been paid. What dealership sells new cars that have damaged parts any way. I was told by fiat customer service that standard practice is you don't sell the vehicle unless everything in the vehicle is functioning and you dealership obvious ly did not abide by that. As far as the cheaper model 500L you had I only question ** as to why if you knew the 500L lounge I wanted to buy had this. Issue with radio and navigation not working why not have your sales department offer me a better deal on the cheaper model. I never declined it was never offered to me as an alternative to purchase the cheaper model. I was told the issue would be resolved propmtly and was not.

10/31/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was overcharged for services.
I brought my van in to the service department to have the PCM computer flashed. It was about 10AM 8/23/13. I was told the price was 145$ for the flash and diagnostic. I said I did not want the diagnostic just the flash. The dervice rep told me that the flash alone was 70$. The service rep convinced me that having the diagnostic test was the way to go since I was not sure if the whole computer needed to be replaced. The service rep said it would be an hour to an hour and a half. At around 1PM I had to leave and my wife took my place at the dealership. Once I had left they said they were done and that in fact we did need a new computer. Then they billed my wife 145$. The problem is that if a flash and diagnostic is 145$ and the flash alone is 70$ why would they still charge her 145$ when he convinced me just to have the diagnostic test.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund for the 70$ that we were charged for a flash.

Business Response
customer was charged correctly. We charge $155 for software updates up to 3. if any diagnostic is needed we charge $155 per hour. Customer had 02 sensor some where else. Customer is doing additional work at another shop? Names do not match on this complaint.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not a liar. I was told initially that just a flash would cost 70$ Not 155$ like the response states. If the diagnostic itself costs 155$ that is fine. The business just tricked me into getting a more expensive service then I needed. I will never return.

Page 1 of 2
10/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor service by Service Dept. Employee
My father Mr. ***** ****** scheduled a service appointment for July 7th, 2015 at this dealership to fix a recall on a fiat 500e.

My father works in ******** in ************ County approximately 14-18 miles from the dealership. My father ask for a shuttle ride back to his work. Mr. ****** ******* stated that their policy is for local shuttle and ******** was too far for my father to use the shuttle service.

My father has gone to this dealership in the past and has had great experience with ******* in the service department.

My father waited for approxmiatley two hours in the waiting area, two shuttle passed **** and finally when my father explained he is late for work. My father expressed his frustration at such a small issue. Mr. ******* stated that my father can use another dealership. I am sure he will be using another dealership.

However my father felt discriminated as he was told they will take care of their local customers first. He well ashamed and belittled by the service of this dealership.

Desired Settlement
I highly urge the business to express in writing their policy on shuttle ride. I would also like to know their policy on shuttle rides for recall service.

10/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I took my car for a recall and they damaged my 2 front fenders and wont fix them
took my dodge charger to crown dodge concord for a gas tank recall. I was told it would be ready by the end of the day. I got a call from them later that same day saying it will take longer so they can take there time on the car. The next day i was told that there was some paint damage to my door and they were taking care of it at a local body shop. One week later i go to pick up the car and i find both of my front fenders dented, at loss of paint, and sharp edges digging into my tires. The dealership said " maybe it happened at the paint shop" i was furious and being 6 months pregnant and this car being my only transportation i didnt know what to do. My grandpa adviced me to leave my car at the dealer and speak to the authoritys so they know i didnt drive it away and damage it myself.

Now the next week has come and i spoke with the paint shop owner. He said he has pictures of how the car was brought in and he had a discussion with the rep that brought it. The paint shop owner said damage was done to the fenders before the paint shop got it. So know i know dodge infact did the damage but they wont fess up to the fender damage its a much larger fix then the lil door scratch.

My problem is, it was under there watch and care for a week not mine. They failed to do a walk around of the cars previous damage on my drop off slip and they failed to make sure the car was ok coming back from the paint shop they sent it to for there mistake on the door. This is probably a couple thousand to fix and my car is unsafe to drive.

Please help me i cant afford an atorny nor a huge repair i didnt cause

Desired Settlement
I need two new front fenders to be painted to match the car as well as two new front tires

02/03/2016Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.