BBB Accredited Business since

Avery Greene Honda

Phone: (707) 551-3200 Fax: (707) 551-3212 View Additional Phone Numbers 800 Admiral Callaghan Ln, Vallejo, CA 94591 http://www.averygreenehonda.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Avery Greene Honda offers new and pre-owned auto sales parts and full service repair including collision repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Avery Greene Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Avery Greene Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Avery Greene Honda
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1981 Business started: 12/01/1973 Business started locally: 12/01/1973
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Avery H. Greene, Owner Mr. Burt Gallegus Gallegus, Fixed Opt D Mr. Lyle Nick, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Avery H. Greene, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Lyle Nick, General Manager
Number of Employees

88

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Service Area
This business service area covers: Solano and Napa Counties.
Alternate Business Names
Avery Greene Motors, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Avery Greene Honda has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 800 Admiral Callaghan Ln

    Vallejo, CA 94591 (707) 551-3200 (707) 551-3203 (707) 551-3201 (707) 551-3202

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Taking so long to turn in to the DMV a title change and license request. On 6/19/15 I purchased a used car from ***** ****** Honda a 2010 VW Jetta -VIN# *****************(Dealer ****** ROS # XXXXXXXX; Stock #RXXXXX and paid cash for it. I wrote a check for it ($14,003.99)and the check cleared my bank on 6/22/15. At the time the car had no license plates on it and I was told they would request them from the DMV. Which I paid for electronic vehicle registration or transfer charge $29.00; vehicle license fees $71.00; and registration/transfer/titling fees $115.00. So after waiting over a month I contacted ***** ****** regarding my pink slip and license plates which I haven't received I was told that the lady that handle only worked a couple of days a week and was on vacation but the lady who I talked to said that they didn't turn the information into the DMV until 7/16/15 so I hung up. As of 8/24/15 I haven't received my pink slip or my license plates I called ***** ****** again requesting what's going on and was told that they needed another paper on the car and just received it and she turned it into the DMV last week (8/17-21/15). As of today 8/26/15 I haven't received my pink slip or license plates.The reg paper that they put in the car window when you purchase it will expired on 9/19/15.I want to know why ***** ****** didn't notified that they had a problem with the paper work to get the the pink slip and license plates for the car and why I had to do all the calling to find out what's is going on. Why they waited almost 30 days to first submit the paper work to DMV

Desired Settlement: I want ***** ****** to finish the job by getting me my license plates and pink slip.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/09/01) */ DMV has processed the registration and the registration slip, license plates & tags are now in our possession. Per DMV, the title will take 3-4 more weeks to process. The title comes from a different place than the registration and license plates. We will contact the customer today to see if she would like us to mail her the registration and plates or she can come pick them up here at the dealership. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2015/09/01) */ UPDATE: I want to let you know that I just picked up the car license plates and registration from ***** ****** this morning 9/1/2015 and they said that the pink slip will be mailed to my home address in a couple weeks from the DMV.

4/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service
2/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: locked myself out of newly purchased car & spare keys didn't work.Spent $170 for locksmith.Called dealership several times & no returns on VoiceMail I purchased a new ***************** on 11/27/13. VIN #***********XXXXXX. I was locked out of my car around October 2014. I was 30 miles away from home, got a ride from someone else back home to retrieve spare keys and go back to my car. The spare keys did not work. I had to call a Locksmith and was charged $170 for the service. The locksmith proceeded to tell me my spare keys were not even correct for my new car. I called ***** ****** Honda and spoke to a few people to let them know of my situation and nobody seemed to know whom I should speak to or how to get this resolved. I was transferred to the service manager a few times and I left voicemails and he never calls me back. I would call the dealership and the manager or a manager was "never at their desk" and as mentioned before, I've never received a call back or an effort from anyone to help me get new spare keys and be compensated for the locksmith service.

Desired Settlement: The settlements I'd like to receive are: 1) an apology for constantly being ignored and for the lack of professionalism to return a customer phone call 2) reimbursement for a) locksmith service: $170 + $20 tip b) toll fees for having to drive from my house in ********* to the Vallejo dealership and pick up correctly functioning spare keys 3) the CORRECT spare keys thank you!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2015/02/03) */ Received business response via email on 2/3/15: The sales person that worked with him is not longer and had not been here since October of 2014, possibly part of the problem.. I have talked to the customer. We are arranging to have him come in and get a spare key for him. We will also refund his out of pocket expense for the locksmith. ****** will be here on February the 27th to get his key. I did apologize for the inconvenience that our staff presented. We had a positive conversation and I will insure that he is happy....

8/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Avery Greene Honda sent email, offering to sell specific make and model at a specific price. They did not have the car, wanted more $$ to get it. Husband and I requested internet bid from Avery Green Honda for a specific make and model of vehicle. We received a specific offer and drove to the dealership to purchase the car. Upon arrival at the dealership within a few hours of receiving the offer, we were told the dealership did not have the car they had just offered to sell us. Instead, if we would pay an additional $500.00, they could get it from another dealer. Or we were invited to "pre-purchase" the vehicle, and when it arrived, we could get it. In response to my Yelp review of the dealer, the General Manager wrote: "As we discussed while you were in the dealership, we did not have the car available on the lot at that time. We were happy to honor the agreed upon pricing when the car was again available or work with another dealership in the area to get the same car, but this would require a transfer fee." In other words, Avery Greene admits they made an offer to sell me something they did not have, and instead tried to increase the price after my arrival at the dealership, a classic example of bait and switch. In reviewing the Yelp reviews, I now note that many other shoppers experienced this very same tactic.

Desired Settlement: The car they offered to sell me at the price they offered to sell it at. 's arrival, especially as I note many Yelp reviews complain that Avery Greene adds "extras" and then demand payment. I am unwilling to purchase a car and wait for it However, time is of the essence.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/07/15) */ like I said to Mr. and Mrs. ******** that we are out of stock on civic ex model, but have one coming in I would have offered the same price but they refused my offer and calling us all types of names so there for we will not be able to do business with them I am sorry but please take your business else where.

2/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dropped off vehicle in perfect working condition and received it in a non working condition On Saturday, July 27th 2013 I booked a full synthetic oil change appointment for my 1990 Toyota Cressida. I spoke with a female staff member on the telephone I was quoted a price of $49.99 for a full synthetic oil change. When I brought my vehicle in I was told by ***** *. ******* I would be charged $59.99. I calmly told the staff member in the service department that this was the total I was told and Instead of taking my word for it, the staff in disbelief and repeatedly stated the regular retail price for a full synthetic oil change. Without having to start an argument I suggested that he then speak with the staff member who wrote up the order. He then found out that the price I was quoted was the actual price and I stated earlier I would be charged the quoted price over the telephone. The problem I had with this part of my transaction is that the staff member argued the correct price but did not to attempt to investigate the matter until suggested by the customer. Which in this case, the customer was right. After completion of the service, it was brought to my attention that the driver side headlight bulb was no longer working. It was suggested to replace the bulb which would cost $46.00 to do so at Avery Greene Honda. With a simple task to do, I opted not to get the bulb replaced by Avery Greene Honda and replaced the bulb myself. When I began to replace the driver side bulb I noticed the cover to the entry port of the bulb was not in place and seem to have been tampered with. This was a cause for suspicion because I drove the vehicle less than 24 hours prior to the oil change service in which the headlights were in perfect working condition. On Sunday July 28th 2013 I noticed that there was oil leaking from underneath the vehicle. I called Avery Greene Honda about the leak and was told to bring the vehicle in for inspection. I brought my vehicle in on Monday July 29th, 2013 at 7:30am to ****** *. ******. After having the vehicle inspected by an Avery Greene Service Technician I was told that everything was tighten and there were no signs of any leaks. I asked the service staff member if the vehicle started leaking again should I bring the car back, and was told yes. On August 1st 2013 I notice oil started to leak again from under my car. I brought the vehicle in on August 3rd 2013 at approximately 8:00am for a second time. The staff member I was working with was ****** *****. After having my vehicle inspected by a service technician I was told that there was nothing they could do and that I should take my vehicle to Toyota Vallejo and have it inspected there. There was no detailed assessment of the vehicle and why it was leaking or recommendation on what needed to be done to fix it. Rather, I was told to bring my vehicle in to another dealership.

Desired Settlement: To resolve this problem I would like to request that Avery Greene Honda fix my vehicle to perfect working condition from which it was given free of charge.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/14) */ Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Fixed Opt D Contact Phone: ********** Contact Email: ****************************** We would like to invite this client back to the Dealership for a courtesy reinspection regarding the said oil leak. Once we identify the area of concern we can discuss repair options or costs if applicable? Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/10/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Regardless of the refused invoice. After receiving an oil change service from avery greene honda, there have not been any findings from their standard inspections for any leakage. Because of the lack of communication and unprofessional I received from the staff at avery greene honda it's difficult not to believe paperwork has not been tampered with and the service provided was done with malicious intention. If the vehicle had a history of leakage I would not pursue this complaint but my vehicle has been serviced from your company previously and nothing has been found wrong or documented. Until now with the invoice I happen to refuse because of the unwillingness to help service my vehicle. Seems rather odd or suspicious Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/17) */ Hello, During the last vehicle inspection RO# ***** on 08/03/13 we informed the Client there was no signs of leakage from the oil drain plug or oil filter which was serviced 07/27/13 RO#*****. However, we did inform the Client of other areas which will need attention & unrelated to the maintenance work we perfomed. These recommendations were documented on his invoice # ***** but the client refused to take the invoice copy we provided. 1.Power steering pump seepage 2.Oil Pan gasket seepage 3.Valve cover gasket seepage Please be advised, if the vehicle has oil leakage directly related to the service we performed (Oil/Filter Change) we will take full responsibility to make the necessary repairs/corrections at no cost. Respectfully, Avery Greene Honda

9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dealer did not include all options included in the sales contract. I paid for locking lug nuts (in the contract) but the dealer did not install them. They have promised several times to mail them to me but so far they have not. I'm really tired of asking.

Desired Settlement: Either provide the part or refund the money. I do not care which.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/16) */ Dear Mr *****, just to let you know we have mailed the Wheel locks to youre address and you should have them by now. please feel free to contact me should you need anything else. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/09/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

7/30/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Avery Greene Honda
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart