BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/01/1982

Avery Greene Honda

Phone: (707) 551-3200Fax: (707) 551-3212

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues5
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints11

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
09/17/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dealer did not include all options included in the sales contract.
I paid for locking lug nuts (in the contract) but the dealer did not install them. They have promised several times to mail them to me but so far they have not. I'm really tired of asking.

Desired Settlement
Either provide the part or refund the money. I do not care which.

Business' Initial Response
Dear Mr *****,
just to let you know we have mailed the Wheel locks to youre address and you should have them by now. please feel free to contact me should you need anything else.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

02/23/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
locked myself out of newly purchased car & spare keys didn't work.Spent $170 for locksmith.Called dealership several times & no returns on VoiceMail
I purchased a new ***************** on 11/27/13.
VIN #***********XXXXXX.
I was locked out of my car around October 2014. I was 30 miles away from home, got a ride from someone else back home to retrieve spare keys and go back to my car. The spare keys did not work. I had to call a Locksmith and was charged $170 for the service. The locksmith proceeded to tell me my spare keys were not even correct for my new car. I called ***** ****** Honda and spoke to a few people to let them know of my situation and nobody seemed to know whom I should speak to or how to get this resolved. I was transferred to the service manager a few times and I left voicemails and he never calls me back. I would call the dealership and the manager or a manager was "never at their desk" and as mentioned before, I've never received a call back or an effort from anyone to help me get new spare keys and be compensated for the locksmith service.

Desired Settlement
The settlements I'd like to receive are:
1) an apology for constantly being ignored and for the lack of professionalism to return a customer phone call
2) reimbursement for
a) locksmith service: $170 + $20 tip
b) toll fees for having to drive from my house in ********* to the Vallejo dealership and pick up correctly functioning spare keys
3) the CORRECT spare keys

thank you!

Business Response
Received business response via email on 2/3/15:

The sales person that worked with him is not longer and had not been here since October of 2014, possibly part of the problem..

I have talked to the customer. We are arranging to have him come in and get a spare key for him. We will also refund his out of pocket expense for the locksmith. ****** will be here on February the 27th to get his key.

I did apologize for the inconvenience that our staff presented. We had a positive conversation and I will insure that he is happy....

08/01/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Avery Greene Honda sent email, offering to sell specific make and model at a specific price. They did not have the car, wanted more $$ to get it.
Husband and I requested internet bid from Avery Green Honda for a specific make and model of vehicle. We received a specific offer and drove to the dealership to purchase the car. Upon arrival at the dealership within a few hours of receiving the offer, we were told the dealership did not have the car they had just offered to sell us. Instead, if we would pay an additional $500.00, they could get it from another dealer. Or we were invited to "pre-purchase" the vehicle, and when it arrived, we could get it. In response to my Yelp review of the dealer, the General Manager wrote: "As we discussed while you were in the dealership, we did not have the car available on the lot at that time. We were happy to honor the agreed upon pricing when the car was again available or work with another dealership in the area to get the same car, but this would require a transfer fee." In other words, Avery Greene admits they made an offer to sell me something they did not have, and instead tried to increase the price after my arrival at the dealership, a classic example of bait and switch. In reviewing the Yelp reviews, I now note that many other shoppers experienced this very same tactic.

Desired Settlement
The car they offered to sell me at the price they offered to sell it at. 's arrival, especially as I note many Yelp reviews complain that Avery Greene adds "extras" and then demand payment. I am unwilling to purchase a car and wait for it However, time is of the essence.

Business Response
like I said to Mr. and Mrs. ******** that we are out of stock on civic ex model, but have one coming in I would have offered the same price but they refused my offer and calling us all types of names so there for we will not be able to do business with them I am sorry but please take your business else where.

11/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dropped off vehicle in perfect working condition and received it in a non working condition
On Saturday, July 27th 2013 I booked a full synthetic oil change appointment for my 1990 Toyota Cressida. I spoke with a female staff member on the telephone I was quoted a price of $49.99 for a full synthetic oil change. When I brought my vehicle in I was told by ***** *. ******* I would be charged $59.99. I calmly told the staff member in the service department that this was the total I was told and Instead of taking my word for it, the staff in disbelief and repeatedly stated the regular retail price for a full synthetic oil change. Without having to start an argument I suggested that he then speak with the staff member who wrote up the order. He then found out that the price I was quoted was the actual price and I stated earlier I would be charged the quoted price over the telephone. The problem I had with this part of my transaction is that the staff member argued the correct price but did not to attempt to investigate the matter until suggested by the customer. Which in this case, the customer was right.
After completion of the service, it was brought to my attention that the driver side headlight bulb was no longer working. It was suggested to replace the bulb which would cost $46.00 to do so at Avery Greene Honda. With a simple task to do, I opted not to get the bulb replaced by Avery Greene Honda and replaced the bulb myself. When I began to replace the driver side bulb I noticed the cover to the entry port of the bulb was not in place and seem to have been tampered with. This was a cause for suspicion because I drove the vehicle less than 24 hours prior to the oil change service in which the headlights were in perfect working condition.

On Sunday July 28th 2013 I noticed that there was oil leaking from underneath the vehicle. I called Avery Greene Honda about the leak and was told to bring the vehicle in for inspection. I brought my vehicle in on Monday July 29th, 2013 at 7:30am to ****** *. ******. After having the vehicle inspected by an Avery Greene Service Technician I was told that everything was tighten and there were no signs of any leaks. I asked the service staff member if the vehicle started leaking again should I bring the car back, and was told yes.
On August 1st 2013 I notice oil started to leak again from under my car. I brought the vehicle in on August 3rd 2013 at approximately 8:00am for a second time. The staff member I was working with was ****** *****. After having my vehicle inspected by a service technician I was told that there was nothing they could do and that I should take my vehicle to Toyota Vallejo and have it inspected there. There was no detailed assessment of the vehicle and why it was leaking or recommendation on what needed to be done to fix it. Rather, I was told to bring my vehicle in to another dealership.

Desired Settlement
To resolve this problem I would like to request that Avery Greene Honda fix my vehicle to perfect working condition from which it was given free of charge.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******** Fixed Opt D
Contact Phone: **********
Contact Email: ******************************
We would like to invite this client back to the Dealership for a courtesy reinspection regarding the said oil leak. Once we identify the area of concern we can discuss repair options or costs if applicable?

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Regardless of the refused invoice. After receiving an oil change service from avery greene honda, there have not been any findings from their standard inspections for any leakage. Because of the lack of communication and unprofessional I received from the staff at avery greene honda it's difficult not to believe paperwork has not been tampered with and the service provided was done with malicious intention. If the vehicle had a history of leakage I would not pursue this complaint but my vehicle has been serviced from your company previously and nothing has been found wrong or documented. Until now with the invoice I happen to refuse because of the unwillingness to help service my vehicle. Seems rather odd or suspicious

Final Business Response
Hello,
During the last vehicle inspection RO# ***** on 08/03/13 we informed the Client there was no signs of leakage from the oil drain plug or oil filter which was serviced 07/27/13 RO#*****.
However, we did inform the Client of other areas which will need attention & unrelated to the maintenance work we perfomed. These recommendations were documented on his invoice # ***** but the client refused to take the invoice copy we provided.

1.Power steering pump seepage
2.Oil Pan gasket seepage
3.Valve cover gasket seepage

Please be advised, if the vehicle has oil leakage directly related to the service we performed (Oil/Filter Change) we will take full responsibility to make the necessary repairs/corrections at no cost.

Respectfully,
Avery Greene Honda

04/03/2015Problems with Product / Service
02/26/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.