This business is not BBB accredited.

Autonation Toyota Hayward

Phone: (510) 889-8000 Fax: (510) 889-8148 24773 Mission Blvd, Hayward, CA 94544

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers sales of new and used cars, service and parts.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Autonation Toyota Hayward include:

  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 15
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Autonation Toyota Hayward
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 27, 1992 Business started: 10/01/1991 Business started locally: 10/01/1991 Business incorporated 07/01/1991 in CA
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Joey Kohistani, GM Bonnie Young, Customer Relations
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joey Kohistani, GM
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Service Area
This business service area covers the bay area.
Alternate Business Names
Auto West Toyota

Additional Locations


    24773 Mission Blvd

    Hayward, CA 94544 (510) 889-8000


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/30/2016 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 07 March 2016, I arrived at Toyota for my 90K service. The quote originally for this service was 1500. I declined and the sales attendant said that I could have the service for 450. Once again I declined and started that the services I wanted were oil change, tire rotation and alignment. The sales entered into computer that wheel was shaking then told me that first they needed to complete a dignosis for an additional 50; the bill was already 180. I declined the diagnosis testing. He then said those services would take 3 hours and that my car had a recall. I approved these services. At 9am after 2.5 hours at the dealership, he informed me that the part for the recall was not available and that I would have to wait until 1p. I declined and stated that I would come back at a later date. At 10:33a, he came and got me from the waiting area and took me to the garage and said they had found an issue with my rear passenger ***** I consented to diagnosis testing. After an additional hour wait, I told me that there were some issues with the brakes based on the work that was previously completed. I informed him that Toyota has been the only dealership to work on my car then he stated that it was actually because of "ware and tear". The estimate for this work would be an additional 500. I declined and went to another dealer to complete work. Toyota then stated that my vehicle was a danger to myself. Each time I challenged the Toyota representative his story on my vehicle changed.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like the business to modify their practices. This isn't the first time they have tried to update me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2016/03/10) */ The customer was offered for her 90K service three different levels of service the minimum being $450.00 customer chose to do just an oil change and filter. The customer then stated that the front wheels are wobbling when driving above 15mph. Per the customer perform the wheel alignment and balance all tires, which took 3 hours. A diagnosis was done at no charge and the findings were both rear wheel cylinders were leaking. The recommendation was to replace both rear cylinders and rear shoe adjustment. Customer declined the recommendation. Customer was notified by the service advisor that vehicle is unsafe to drive in the present condition. There was also a recall on her car and parts for the recall were out of stock. The parts department ordered the recall parts and early afternoon same day the recall parts were received. The customer decided not to wait to have the recall completed. Customer did come back the next day, 3/9/16 and the recall was completed.

3/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased used vehicle in July 19th this week later I'm driving down hwy when all of a sudden I lose all power and barely able to get to shoulder. I noticed the serpentine belt must have snapped off and that I had power steering fluid all over. I then called dealership to tell them I was very upset and wanted it fixed. They said to have it towed and they'd fix it. By the time I got there they were closed so I left it there and waited for their call. The following day they called and said it would be fixed as well as detailed like promised when first purchased.they also said they'd fill tank, mount spare tire,etc.after they first called a day later they called saying it was ready to be picked up. When I arrive I noticed it wasn't detailed,filled and tire not we said not to call til it was done.we went home again with a loaner.when I came to pick up everything seemed fine then I noticed later on they mounted spare upside down causing it to swing around.I couldn't believe it.when I was at dealership to pick up my truck first time I told my financial guy who signed contract with that I did not want the extended warranty after all.contract gives 30 days to change. He said no problem I will send them out in the mail today. I thought great because I wouldn't have to wait around. I called about 3 times after wondering why I never received them.he said he sent them and if I didn't receive them in a week that he'd resend that time my 30 days were coming up. I never received them.he ignored all regarding this matter. Since 30 days came and gone I figured I couldn't do anything now.then October I come into more problems in which this time when I dropped off they were trying to deny me a loaner even though it's in contract ad well as them reimbursing towes which never happened.finally they lent me day received call saying I would have to pay out of pocket to get diagnostic test and whatever parts and labor it needed even though I have full warranty. Truck still there. Product_Or_Service: 2008 Chevy Silverado k1500

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I want them to buy back for what I paid at least.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2015/11/19) */ Customer refused to pay for repairs for the electrical issue, that was not covered under warranty. The warranty that the customer purchased does not cover the electrical components. After vehicle sat for over a week, the customer called back and approved the repairs. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2015/11/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I didnt refuse to pay for repairs I just wasnt sure what to do at that time because i wanted to research before I authorized anything. I couldnt trust them since I keep getting the run around not to mention all the times they've said things that they never kept their word about. Plus regregardless of warranty I feel they should take care of it since ive only bought 4 months ago in which realistically ive only had it about 2 months and theyve had it about 2 months. What happened to taking care of the customers? Oh yeah they already got paid for truck and an extra for that warranty I didnt want(obviously. what for? Nothing but headaches.)for the warranty I purchased I tried to cancel 3 times before the 30 days which of course they lied when they said they mailed new aagreement to me not once but twice. What a coincidence by that time my 30 days were up. Now want to make more money. ANYONE THINKING OF BUYING A VEHICLE DONT BUY AT AUTONATION TOYOTA IN HAYWARD. TAKE MY WORD IM NOT THE ONLY ONE WITH COMPLAINTS.ONE DAY I WAS THERE TO PICK UP MY TRUCK AND ANOTHER CUSTOMER WAS HAVING PROBLEMS AS WELL. ...she told me whatever they fixed was worse after they did their repairs. DONT BE the NEXT VICTIM! Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2015/12/01) */ Per service advisor, the customer was advised regarding the repairs and customer did authorize the repairs, at his expense a week and one-half later to do the job. Unfortunately his warranty level did not cover those items that needed repairs.

12/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Sold car on 10/15/2015. Still have not received final check from them after loan was paid off. We sold our 2013 CTS Coupe Cadillac Vin #1G6DK1E37DXXXXXXX to AutoNation Toyota Hayward on 10/15/2015. After emails and phone calls the loan payoff check was finally sent to USAA on 10/25/2015. The car was sold for 24,800.00 The loan payoff was 23,793.21. Balanace owed us is 1006.79. We have had several emails and multiple phone calls. We were told it would be sent out. On 11/18/2015 we were sent this emai l: On Wed, Nov 18, 2015 at 4:13 PM, **************** <******> wrote: Denis, I apologize for the delay. Your check will be sent overnight to your home Friday or Saturday morning. I will provide a FedEx tracking number. Thanks, ********** Then his supervisor decided that since they "didn't have the title yet", we wouldn't get the check. Needless to say, it is now been over 6 weeks and we still have not received the funds, yet they are actively selling the vehicle (which until completely paid off is not theirs to sale). We just want them to make right on what is ours. See Sales ad below AutoNation Toyota Scion Hayward Cadillac XXXXX ************************ XXXXX 18,563 mi Price* $28,611 ************** Chat not available Chat with Dealer Stock #D0136509VIN: 1G6DK1E37DXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: Complete the purchase of the vehicle.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2015/12/02) */ The complaint is resolved

9/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Poor sale practices and poor customer service. A little over 4 months ago, we bought a Toyota sienna 2014 under my husband and auntie's name. 3 months has passed *** we haven't receive the vehicle's plate number and registration yet, so we went to Hayward Toyota to follow up. We were told that it takes 3 months for the DMV to issue the plate no. Few weeks later, we went back again to follow up, we were told that they will follow up at the DMV and will give us a call. No call was ever received by us. On Aug. 1, me, my husband and my auntie went to Hayward Toyota for the third time, they took our information and said that the person in charge is off. But they promised us that they will call us back on Monday the 3rd. We, again, did not hear from them so I sent a text to the dealer who sold us the vehicle since he was present on Aug. 1 when we went there. No reply. I called and left him a message this morning. Again no reply. My husband is disabled, my auntie works as a nanny and stays with her employer on weekdays, and I work 2 jobs to make ends meet not to mention taking care of a disabled husband. Going to Hayward Toyota to follow up on something that we shouldn't be following up many times is really very hard for me/us.

Desired Settlement: I hope that Hayward Toyota will do something to improve their business etiquette and customer service. They must treat their customer the same way they treat their potential buyers.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/17) */ Per DMV the car is showing fees still due. I spoke with our DMV clerk who is gathering the information. The customer came back into the dealership to sign some paperwork. The paperwork has been sent to our DMV clerk and she will process the necessary paperwork to complete.

8/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: False advertisement. Did not fix my car although I found power steering pump and hose, rear struts needs to be replaced Autonation Toyota Hayward. I purchased a used 2006 Acura RSX with 153K miles on it. I was repeatedly told that I can take the car to get checked out and if I find anything wrong with it in 60 days they will fix the problem. Well I purchased the car friday 7/31/2015 and saturday morning I took it to get a diagnostic from a independent repair ship 8/1/2015 and was told the power steering pump and hose needed to be replaced because it was leaking, and rear struts were worn causing tire cupping. I contacted **** the sales person who sold me the car that sunday 8/2/2015 to tell him what I found he said he would contact service and call me back to bring it in monday. Well **** never called me back until sunday afternoon and said that he would be at work monday morning, he will talk to someone in service and I can bring it in monday. Morning came, no word from ****. He finally called me back monday afternoon which was too late for me to bring my car in and too late for me to get my money back from the sale of the car to say he talked it over with the people in service and that the leak was too small and did not need to be fixed right now. I told **** since he did not call me back I made an appointment for tuesday 8/4/2015 to get my car fixed at hayward toyota service at 940am. I took my car and some with ****** in service he said that they will not fix my car because the leaking is small and not leaking on the ground. I feel Autonation Toyota Hayward are all a bunch of liars, They false advertise that if you find anything wrong with your used car they will fix it with in the 60 day period. I will be making a formal complaint to toyota and the better business bureau. This power steering pump, hose and rear struts are going to cost me an additional $800 to get fixed which is horrible. I believed that I would buy this car and have no problems with it and if I did they would fix it. So I recommend anyone to save their time and energy and not buy any used cars from Autonation Hayward Toyota. THEY WILL NOT FIX YOUR CAR IF YOU FIND ANYTHING WRONG WITH IT IN 60 DAYS!!

Desired Settlement: I want my car fixed or money reimbursed for my expenses

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/10) */ There is minor seepage on the power steering hose. The leak is so minor that there is no leakage on the ground. There is no repair to be done.

6/9/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I bought Toyota RAV4 last Dec 2014 and its already 4/29/15 we haven't received our license plate. We went to DMV 3/6/15 and we were told they sent request to AutoNation to correct the information because we were told that the application they submit is incorrect so we went straight to AutoNation and we told them we don't have the license plate yet andthe reason they told us DMV is really busy and I said NO we just came from DMV and the application you submitted to DMV is incorrect so they check my car again and we were told they will correct it. I called again to follow up of course they didn't do anything until I got a letter from DMV in regards to my license plate incorrect information so we went back to AutoNation and talked to ****** **** 4/11/15 the General Sales Manager and he said DMV is busy and I said you guys are such a LIAR people don't use DMV of your incompetence because received letter from DMV and he said so sorry it shouldn't happened he will rush and he even said he will call me but NEVER called me and been calling ****, ******, **** but nobody returning my call. Also when took the sticker price on the window I asked them to replaced the tint because the way they took the sticker you can see the blade/scratches on the window and were told they cant replaced because its cosmetic even thou they are the one who messed up the tint. Product_Or_Service: Car Purchase Account_Number: $26,000.00

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I just want them to take the car back and refund full amount. we don't want to deal with this kind of business/people

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2015/05/21) */ The Department of Motor Vehicles has cleared the paperwork on April 27, 2015. This is now in the hands of the DMV. Ms. ******* should be receiving the proper documentation from DMV. Furthermore the dealership has responded to her requests.

4/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was convinced to buy Lojack, which I didn't want under the impression that I could cancel it, which I am now told I cannot. I was convinced to sign up for Toyota Care Plus, which I didn't really want but was told I could cancel it within 30 days. I was told that Lojack was part of that service. I called to cancel all of these things and noticed I signed a separate agreement for Lojack, when I called the dealers financial manager he told me it was non-refundable because of a line that I wasn't aware of and had not been pointed out to me. The Lojack is not installed and they refuse to refund me any part of my money.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded for the Lojack since it has not been installed, I don't want it, and I feel I was not adequately told about the terms when signing.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/04/16) */ Contact Name and Title: B.*****, CRM Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****** The consumer has made a request to cancel an item that is non-cancellable. This item was fully disclosed, however we are currently trying to make an exception and cancel the item. This process is very time consuming and patience is greatly appreciated.

3/17/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The dealership has taken out a loan in my name for a vehicle that I returned/cancelled the contract for, and has not yet paid off such loan. I went in to the AutoNation Toyota Hayward dealership on January 11, 2015, intending to purchase a used 2012 Toyota Camry SE. I inspected the vehicle and signed a contract for its purchase, which contract included a 3-day hassle-free cancellation/refund policy. The finance manager who helped me was ***** *****. I went back the next evening(January 12, 2015) and cancelled the contract in accordance with the 3-day hassle-free cancellation/refund policy with ***** *****, who also refunded me the $3000 down payment I had made. I thought everything was taken care of at this point, but I appeared to have been mistaken, because on February 6, 2015, I viewed my credit report and discovered that a loan with Fifth Third Bank in approximately the amount of $21,100 was recorded on my account (which was how much I would have owed for the vehicle, had I chosen to keep it.) Needless to say, I was unpleasantly surprised. I have tried to contact the AutoNation Toyota Hayward dealership since that date to resolve the issue, but it has not yet been taken care of. I have also contacted Fifth Third Bank, and they have confirmed that the loan has not yet been paid off by the AutoNation dealership (which is something that should have been done on or about January 12, 2015, as that was the date on which I cancelled the purchase contract for the vehicle).

Desired Settlement: I would like AutoNation to pay off the loan with Fifth Third Bank, which it is legally required to do under the circumstances. Apparently AutoNation Toyota of Hayward has already receive the money from Fifth Third Bank, and used my name to take out the loan for that money. Also, AutoNation Toyota still has the vehicle which it has represented to Fifth Third Bank that I purchased. I had cancelled the contract for the purchase of that vehicle with AutoNation and never took delivery of it. So now I am put in a situation where I am responsible on a loan for a vehicle I neither have title or possession to.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/11) */ Already paid off the loan and talked to customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/02/12) */ I was able to get in touch with the business/dealership yesterday, and they told me that the loan had been paid off as of last Friday 2/6/15. However, they said that it normally takes up to a week for the payment to update in the lender/bank's system. I just want to make sure that everything is as they claim, that is all. Thanks for your help! -****

1/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased extended warranty and cancelled within 30 days. Toyota Hayward failed to issue full refund as stated in contract. I purchased a Toyota Corolla on May 24, 2014. The sales person ****** ***** sold the extra care extended warranty for $1995. The agreement is that I could cancel within 60 days for a full refund. I went to Hayward Toyota on June 18, 2014 to cancel. And I have a receipt to prove it. Hayward Toyota inform me that I would get my refund in six weeks. It has been six months and I still have not got my refund. I have contacted Hayward Toyota many times and still no refund. That is why I am filing a complaint.

Desired Settlement: Please issue the full refund of 1995.00. I have been very patient for The last six months.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/12/17) */ Contact Name and Title: B. ***** Contact Phone: XXX XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****** On December 16, 2014 I met with Mr. ****** **** in the showroom. He gave me all the details of his frustration in getting the refund for the extra care. He was going to meet with the finance manager to see what has been resolved at this point. I told him I will follow up the next day to see what has been accomplished. I will meet with the finance manager to get Mr. Kwans refund expedited. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2015/01/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will consider this matter resolved when I get full refund. Hayward Toyota has been dragging their feet. This is the same response I have been getting for the last 6 months. How hard is it to cut a check and send it to me. Now Hayward Toyota said I will get the fund on Jan. 15. If I don't get my refund on that day, legal action will be initiated. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2015/01/12) */ On 1/12/2015 I called our shared service center where all the credits and refunds are issued. I spoke with a representative that assured me that a check number will be issued no later than 1/13/2015. They will email me the check number and and check will be mailed out to Mr. **** in the amount of $1,995.00. I then called Mr. **** to let him know what the status of his refund. I explained to him that I will receive a check number which I will inturn call Mr. **** with that information. I told him once a check number will be issued SSC will mail out the check to his home address.

1/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The car, Chrysler U200 had been offered for sale by Hayward Toyota. The Car Fax showed no damage. I found the car had been hit and then repaired. Purchased from Honda of ************ at Patelco Credit Union Car Sale event in *************. on 4/27/2003. I initially had problems with steering. A high velocity Firestone tire had been used to replace one Continentia tire. While expering this problem, I took, I took the car to BIG Tires for an alignment. It was then I found that car was out of alignment and could not be fully realigned to factory specs. (5/03/2013) Honda of Roseville (after agreeing with Hayward Toyota) replaced all four tires with supposedly Bridgstones and spent almost six (6) hours trying to realign the steering/alignment systems. (5/17/2013) According to the CarFax report, the car was an Enterprise Rental out of ********* shipped to Hayward Toyota (4/12/2013). Hayward Toyota then performed all necessary certiication work and offered the car for sale.(4/16/2013) While washing my car, I noticed the paint was chipped and seem to be overlaid. I took the car to an auto repair shop for inspection. It was determined then that the car had been previously rear ended. That explained why there was a white paint mark on the lenses. At purchase, I was told it was probably just over spray from prep work. Now after learning of the rear ended aspect, I am certain that is why some elements of the steering/alignment system cannot be bought into factory specs. Honda of Roseville also did a through analysis of the alignment problem. This analysis coupled with the Big O analysis. For example: As Sold Big O Tires (5/03/2013) Right Front Toe 0.15 0.02 above spec. 0.13 Left rear Camber Toe 0.20 0.07 above spec. 0.13 Thrust Angle 0.17 0.02 above spec. 0.15 Honda of Roseville corrective work (5/17/2013) Most checks were correcte to at least one degree of spec. However, the following two items remained of of spec. Cross camber at 0.02 spec. is 0.08, six (6) degrees difference and Thrust Angle 0.01 as compared to spec. of 0.15 a difference of 0.14, the greatest of any measurements. My main contact at Roseville has been **************, Honda salesman. Although the car seems fine, I know it has problems which were not relayed to me at the onset. The CarFax which I learned not to believe was prepared at Hayward Toyota which had the car for all most a month.

Desired Settlement: There are many options, CarFax advertises it will buy the vehicle back. I would have like a more honest and fair adjustment of the vehicle'worth. I need to talk with my Patelco agent or possibly a professional in the business. For now, a new rear bumper is the bottomline. However,since Hayward Toyota is not member of Better Business, I have work to do. Thank You for any assistance you may provide.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/13) */ Contact Name and Title: K. ***** General Sales Mg Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX AutoNation's Hayward Toyota would like to thank you for your business and we strive to achieve the highest customer satisfaction. To address your complaint I would like to assure you that all proper inspections were completed prior to the sale of this particular vehicle. Furthermore, we disclose any and all previous rentals to our customers, as was done here. Additionally, we will disclose any and all issues that were known to us; therefore, if an issue is unknown to us through an inspection or lack of stated issue on the carfax, then we have no way of knowing and disclosing. Once again we thank you for your business and if further assistance is necessary feel free to call us. Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2014/12/18) */ I spoke via telephone with a manager at Hayward Toyota. His response is that they did no wrong. He also said they rely on the CarFax as a guide. He says only Chrysler can certify a used vehicle He asked what I wanted and told me to get back to him with something reasonable. or make it a court case. I plan now to have the car inspected at my local Chrysler dealer for hidden damages. I have also spoke with CarFax. They explained the limitations of their reporting. Sincerely ******* D. ***** Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2014/12/19) */ I spoke with Mr. *****. The above mentioned comments are not correct. Firstly, He did not purchase the vehicle from us. The vehicle originated from our store. Once the vehicle is sold he needs to make his claims against the store that sold the vehicle. Secondly, I did not advise him of any legal action, I simply advised him of the options that he may have. Please Advise Mr. ***** to contact his selling dealer. Thanks

12/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've been waiting almost 7 weeks for a Tire & Wheel coverage refund, Toyota was not able to provide a status and was very unhelpful/unresponsive I bought a car from Hayward Toyota in April of 2014, when I bought the car I purchased a package that included GAP insurance, Tire & Wheel coverage, an extended warranty, and windshield insurance. In July 2014 my car was totaled and I unfortunately had to use my GAP insurance. The entire process has been a complete nightmare and I get a different story from each person I talk to when following up on my GAP claims. The most frustrating issue by far has been canceling my tire and wheel policy. I spoke to several different people, at the dealership and the Toyota GAP insurance, and both instructed me to contact the Tire and Wheel company to cancel my coverage, even though Toyota had sold me the product, they refused to give any guidance or assistance in helping me cancel this coverage. I was able to open a claim with the Tire & Wheel company (Safegaurd) and they cancelled my policy fairly quickly, and I was told to contact the dealer in about 2 weeks to follow up as they would be paying the refund. Two weeks went by and I give the dealer a call however the “finance manager” was busy so I left a message, this same scenario went on…and on…and on, I left probably 5-6 messages with no returned phone call, keep in mind explaining my situation in detail each time I left a message. One person I talked to said he would call the main office in Florida to see if they had received it and he would call me right back, I asked him to please let me know as I had already been waiting weeks and weeks and was really feeling frustrated. I never received a call back, at the end of my rope I called and demanded to talk to someone…and they quickly put someone on the phone. The first thing the finance manager said was “Oh you are the one that left that Yelp review huh?”. He then proceeded to tell me that I needed to check with my credit union to see if they had received the refund, which I already had, and they did not have it. The conversation went no where as he insisted that they don’t issue refunds. I had to call back the Tire and Wheel company to confirm how the whole refund/cancellation process worked exactly because the dealership was unable to advise me. They told me that it could take up to 6 weeks to get the refund. I’ve been forced to take countless hours out of my life trying to find answer to questions Toyota cannot answer, regarding products they sold me! It’s now been almost 7 weeks since my Tire & Wheel coverage was cancelled and I have no way to follow up as the dealer tells me they don’t issue refunds, yet the Tire and Wheel company advises me to contact my dealership for a status. I’m extremely frustrated and angry that Toyota sold me a product/service yet they are not able to answer any questions regarding the refund process or status. My Toyota GAP insurance claim has been held up for these 7 weeks because of this issue.

Desired Settlement: I want the refund for the coverage I cancelled so I can resolve my GAP Insurance claim with Toyota GAP insurance. It would be great if someone from Toyota could give me a status on this issue and help me understand why it's taking more than 6 weeks to process this.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/11/25) */ Contact Name and Title: B.*****, Cust. Relations Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX I did call our Shared Service Center to see what was going on with the cancellation of the Tire and Wheel warranty. I did find out that Ms. ****** did receive the check and has already deposited the check. 11/25 I called Ms. ****** and left a message to let her know of what I found out. She did email me back today and let me know that she did receive the check. I do apologize for the inconvenience that this has caused and the way things were handled.

12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ignored my request to stop sending me emails. In less than one week, I received 6 emails from **** *********, General Manager of AutoNation Toyota Hayward. I told him 3 times to stop contacting me since I was no longer interested in purchasing a Toyota. He continues to ignore my requests.

Desired Settlement: I want cessation of any further contact with me from Autonation of Hayward. If their email solicitation is automated, they need to change their policies. It's shameful that they can't be bothered to read replies to their emails and stop harassing people. This is an extremely poor business practice.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/26) */ On 11/26/2014 I contacted AutoNation headquarters and requested Mr. **********'s email address to be disabled. Headquarters has deleted the email address the customer should no longer be receiving any emails from Hayward Toyota. I left a message for Mr. ********** stating that his email address has been disabled effective immediately. I do apologize for the inconvenience that this has caused the customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/12/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Rather than just deleting my email address after my complaint, I hope the business changes the way they contact *all* customers and actually read the responses to their email solicitations.

9/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Issued refund on warranty that was approved by the warranty provider. Refund has been sent back to the dealer and has not been relayed to me. I had asked for a refund on an extended warranty contract that I had purchased for a **** ****** **** that I bought from the dealer -with cash. I personally went into the dealership to cancel the warranty and was told that they will handle the cancellation. Months later, I find out that the warranty has not been cancelled. Livid, I had to go through unnecessary obstacles to have my right to a refund granted. I had to go through the warranty provider, Protective Life Insurance Company, to cancel the warranty. They have contacted me and told me that the refund has been sent to the dealer. It was sent on June 5th. It's now June 22nd and there has been no contact from the dealer with information about my refund (or if they are actually sending it). The parent company contacted me and told me that the refund should be sent, to me, when all loans have been settled. I paid the car and the warranty in full and still am waiting on the dealer to send the refund for my cancelled warranty. The dealer has not given me any notice in regards to my refund. ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: Protective Life Insurance Company

Desired Settlement: I want my refund. I have no loans to settle for I had purchased the warranty (and the car) with cash in full.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/07/02) */ Contact Name and Title: B.***** Contact Phone: XXXXXX-XXXX Contact Email: ****** On June 27, 2014 I spoke with ****** ********. She is going to provide me with additional information regarding this case. She left me a voicemail 7/1/2014, I called her back and I am still waiting for the additional paperwork so we can move forward. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/07/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I am relieved that they are attempting to fix the issue but I am very dissatisfied at how long the resolution is taking. I had my warranty cancelled back in May. It's been a whole month since. If I had not been diligent about the whole issue, they probably wouldn't even bat an eye let alone comply with my wishes to cancel the warranty I bought outright. It was only until I opened a BBB case that they finally "listened" to what I had to say. I will not be completely satisfied until I receive the refund.

5/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I when to buy a new car at this place. I put $ 3,000 dollars down and I waited almost four to five hour to have all paper work process believing I was waiting for the bank approval and all the paperwork was taken car off. So I drove the car home fully believing I just bought a car and I got insurance for it. A week later the dealer calls me and tells me the bank did not approved my loans and I need it to returned the car back to the dealer. I had no idea that they will let me leave without telling me the loans was never finalized.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like to keep the car at the price and APR I originally signed for.They need to honor their contract.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/15) */ Good afternoon: The issue is plain and simple the customer did not qualify for a loan. The customer needs to return the car.

2/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: . I bought ****** **** limited fully loaded on Nov. 26,2013 on the said dealership. I gave the salesman the lists that I wanted on the car including accessories. He said no problem he can give me what I wanted but they don't have the unit at store. He can get it from different dealership and Informed me that I can get the car the following day but I was ask to sign all documents/warranties on that day without even seeing the car/test drive. The finance advisor by the name of *** ***,I agreed on the amount of 625 monthly payment for 72 months with 1.9% interest. The following day I went to get the car to my surprise the salesman showed me a different color I wanted white but the car is silver. He told me that just come back on Friday for they are close on thurday for thanksgiving and I'm also in a hurry for I will be late for my work. As I was driving the car I noticed the mileage is almost 300 miles and brake is making a noise. so while driving I called my salesperson and said to me don't worry just comeback on Friday that's not a problem. On Nov. 29,2013 Friday noon at the dealership, I told salesperson that I want to return the car and made me stressed and I was not able to sleep for few days. I feel I was cheated because that's not the car we agreed upon and the brake is making a noise. He said I'll have It check. Then I ask if I can talk to finance advisor to see my option. I spoke to first finance advisor tried to explain what happened that I wanted to return the car. He answered in a load voice and very rude so I ask for manager. Then they made me wait, another finance advisor spoke to me he is good in handling my complains but cannot help me so he told me that he will call his manager. As I was explaining to the manager about my problem he also answered me very rudely. He told me that I was giving false accusation and answered him I'm not just trying to tell you what happened during the transaction. I feel humiliated being treated that way. I told my salesman by the name of ****** ******* to tell finance department to call me regarding my problem so we can settle. ****** apologized and gave me 3 full tank fuel and all weather mat which by the way included on my list. The following week I waited for the call but no body did so I called the corporate complain center of Toyota and told them what happened but I was advised that only through dealership that can settle my dispute. I was told that costumer relation manager will contact me after few days. I got a call from ******, the costumer manager of autonation, I made an appointment to see her. We agreed that Mr *** from finance will call me so we can settle my problem and she also said that what the finance advisor and the manager from finance what they did to me is an acceptable. I waited again for week but I haven't heard from Mr. *** so called Ms. ******'s office and left a massage that no body from their finance department even called. after a few days I called the corporate complain center of Toyota to informed them of my case. Up to now no body ever tried to contact me. I went to Toyota dealership thinking that I'm dealing with professionals and I'll be in good hands but sad to say I was wrong. During the signing of contract I was ask to sign the form blank and after that Mr. just printed the details. I have a friend with me to attest this statement and also Instead of 625 monthly payment it went to 625.97 per month. another deceiving on their part.

Desired Settlement: I'm willing to settle this with good solution to my problem.. Toyota should act on this because it will hurt their reputations on the costumers.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/27) */ On December 3, 2013 I spoke with the salesperson ****** *******. He told the customer that while the deal was in process of closing ****** asked the customer what your second choice color would be if the white is not available. The car did come from a different dealership and we drove it from past Sacramento to Hayward, so it did have approx. 300 miles on. He told ****** that he was o.k. with either white or silver. Silver showed up. I spoke with the finance manager, Lee Pak who is the finance manager who filled out the contract, and his comment is that we would never ask a customer to sign a blank form. I called the customer on 12/3 to come in and we can talk regarding the situation. What I did say to the customer was it is unacceptable for anyone to speak rudely. The customer was given 3 full tanks of gas and was given a set of floor mats. The customer seemed pleased with the compensation that was offered. I will have the finance manager, Mr. Lee call the customer to address the payment schedule. I am sorry for any inconvenience that this has caused the customer. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/01/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) No response from finance advisor up to now. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/01/21) */ Mr. ******* came into my office the week of 1/12/2014. We talked about what do to regarding the brakes that he hears squeek. I took Mr. ******* over to our head mechanic and we talked about the situation. I had the mechanic drive with Mr. ******* to recreate the noise he is hearing from the brakes and also the noise from his window. The mechanic and Mr. ******* drove around and could not recreate the noise from the brakes nor the window noise. I suggested that when he comes in for his 5k mile check up, we would once again adress the issue and I will have my head mechanic do the drive around to see if the noise can be recreated. Mr. ******* agreed with the solution.

1/29/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased and inoperable vehicle from Hayward Toyota, the day I received it,it broke down,I called back and stated that I did not want the car. I purchased a 2000 Acura TL from Hayward Toyota in July of 2013, The day I bought the car the Financing agent was not available so I left. That evening I got a call from their sales agent **** *****, stating that if I was really interested that it was imperative that I leave the $5,000 dollar cashiers check and another check for $630.00, at work already I asked my daughter to return with the cashiers check and personal check until, I could return later to complete the paper work for the car. Two days later I returned, signed all documents and drove the car home, ONLY TO HAVE IT STOP ON ME IN THE MIDDLE OF A MAJOR INTERSECTION IN UNION CITY. I called back screaming and crying for help as it was only 8:54 and they close at 9pm , with no help from HT. turned the car back in that morning after exhausting all my AAA towing with still no help, they took the car back for several days costing me rental car fees and bus an BART expenses until I finally got another Financing agent (***** ******) to help find a suitable car that I could finance. Upon the completion of my new car transaction Mr. ****** asked that I return with another $2,000 cashiers check to settle the new transaction closed out the old one completed my paper work and STATED THAT HE WAS SORRY FOR ALL THE CONFUSION AND FRUSTRATION AND THAT HE'D HOPE THAT THIS NEW CAR WOULD BE SATISFACTORY!!. I ASKED Mr. ****** did I owe and y additional monies and he stated NO I DID NOT, and I asked about my personal check and he stated that as soon as it came back from the San Jose Office that he could forward it VIA email, mail or Shred it, I was content with either method and walked away happy with ***** ****** service. Later to my surprise I received a letter from Qualia services and they have been very Nasty to me. I've called HT several times and been there to speak to anyone who could help. With no help, they treat me as if I'm a disgruntled customer when I've been really nice. I'm clearly loosing my patience as I feel that I was good enough to give my money to them but know that there's a problem they don't want to talk to me!!!!

Desired Settlement: I wish for Hayward Toyota to call Mr. ****** D. and Inquire about our conversation of monies not owed and Call Qualia Services and have that $630.00 collection removed, it is not fare that I have to pay for a car that should have never been sold, they eventually sent it to a auction. THAT'S WHAT HAPPENS TO CARS THAT DO NOT PASS THEIR 129 INSPECTION CHECK POINT.... (EVEN THOUGH THEY SOLD IT TO ME) NOT FARE :(

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/20) */ Mrs. ******** stated that she bought an inoperable vehicle. This statement is false. She bought a vehicle that did pass our inspection and was ready for sale at the time the vehicle was sold. She also stated that the vehicle broke down on her the same day. This statement is also false. She called well after a few days to report some problems with the vehicle. Additionally, Mrs. ******** had difficulty paying the entire amount for the vehicle and as a result we helped her by holding a check for the balance of the contract. She brought the vehicle to our store and wanted to "trade" the vehicle since we could no longer take the vehicle back. The vehicle was sold to her "as is" and she was aware of the miles on the vehicle and the reasons why the vehicle was sold "as is". So we helped Mrs. ******** trade the vehicle in and sold her another vehicle since she was not happy with the vehicle she bought. The money that she still owes to Qualia Collections Services is the money that was part of her first vehicle bought. It is the money that was being held since she could not fulfill the amount owed at the time. Therefore, she still owes that money as a part of her first transaction. We have continuously tried to help her. Thank you ****** ***** Customer Relations Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/12/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My Name is Mrs. L. ********. I am responding to the Better Business Bureau regarding my claims, as well as statements and false accusations from the Customer Relations person at Auto Nation Toyota Scion. I am asking the dealership to remove the $630 expense they claim I owe them, from any records at their dealership and my credit report. I have paid everything that ****** ****** asked of me including an additional $2,000 that he asked me to pay when they told me that I had to do a car trade in with the 1st car that I purchased from them and it stopped working the same day. Response 1 The dealership Service Survey Writer said he found significant issues wrong with the car when I brought the vehicle less than 24 hours after it stopped working the day I purchased it. He said that the car would have NEVER passed the 128 point inspection and should not have been sold at the dealership. Response 2 2 hours after I picked up the car from the dealership, I proceeded to make a u-turn and as I turned the steering wheel, the car came to a halt. The vehicle stopped in the middle of a busy intersection. The driver's side front tire had become lodged & stuck in the lining of front driver's side tire well. I panicked and turned on my hazard lights and high-beams because I was stopped in oncoming traffic. I was very scared for me and my daughter. I put the car in park, my 18 year old daughter got into the driver's seat and strained to turn the wheel while I had to push and kick the driver's side front wheel to dislodge it from the lining in the tire-well. As a petite woman with not a lot of strength, this was very difficult for me. I'm not a car repair lady and I was horrified that I was in this situation. This was the last thing I expected with a car that I had just purchased from a Toyota dealership less than a few hours earlier. When I got home at 8:55 pm on the same evening that I drove the car off of the dealership property, I called the dealership hoping to talk to a live person before the dealership closed at 9pm. When I called I got a voicemail answering service 4 times. Because I didn't get a live person on the 4th time I called, I left a message on the dealership voice mail system. Response 3 The Customer Relations person says that the dealership did not hear from me until well after a few days after I purchased the car. However I have documents from their Dealership that show that I brought the car in less than 24 hours after driving it off their car lot. I brought it in and complained about the car and stated that I did not want it due to the mechanical problems. I also have phone records that prove that I called 4 times that same day I drove the car off the dealership lot, after the car stopped in the middle of the intersection while I was driving it with my young daughter. Not only did I call that same day, but I have also called on numerous additional days based on problems with the vehicle that I brought back to the dealership less than 24 hours after I purchased it. I am disappointed that NOT ONCE has anyone from the dealership returned a phone call to me to help me resolve the issues with this situation. Response 4 I had no difficulty in paying the dealership and did not need their help. I had a cashier's check with me. The dealership delayed the transaction and I left the first day I tried to purchase the vehicle because ***** ****** (Supervisor of Financing dept) was not available to do the transaction. I arrived at 10:15 a.m. the initial day I wanted to purchase the vehicle, after turning in my rental car to Enterprise rental car in Hayward on Mission blvd. I was told by staff member **** **** that I needed to wait for ***** ****** to handle my transaction. I waited for ****** ****** until 4:18 p.m. but I could not sit around waiting any longer because I had to go to work. I let the personnel at the dealership know that I had to get to work by 6pm in Walnut Creek. I was disappointed because I had no transportation, and I could not wait any longer for the person (****** ******) that they told me I had to talk to complete the transaction. As a result I had to have a relative take me to work. I left the dealership with the $5,000 dollar cashier's check that I had brought with me to the dealership. I received a phone call about an hour after I left the dealership from **** ***** (the asst sales agent) stating that .... ''If I could have someone return with the $5,000 cashier's check and an additional personal check for $630.00 then he would guarantee me the ''hold'' on the car until I got off from work and was able to return two days later.'' Response 5. The morning following the vehicle stopping in the middle of the intersection, I called the dealership again at 8:00 a.m. I spoke to the receptionist who transferred me to **** **** in the Service Dept area. After I explained to **** the problems that I had with the car, that me and my daughter had gotten stuck in the middle of an intersection, and I no longer wanted this particular vehicle, He advised me to call back after 9 a.m. and speak to ****** (the manager over the service dept and mechanics) and/or a sales supervisor. When I called back at 9 a.m., and explained why I was calling and asked for ****** and the Sales Supervisor, I was placed on hold. After 15 minutes I then hung up the phone and called right back and *** **** (who said he was a sales manager) answered the phone. I explained to *** **** the situation and that I wanted to return the vehicle. He said he was making a computer notation and passing it on to **** ****. I knew I was still within my 3 days time period during which I could cancel the vehicle contract. I called back 2 hours later and I was told by *** **** that he would have ****** ****** call me immediately. I phoned back every hour to see if ****** ****** was available. I was always told that he was not available. I finally asked who is in charge of the dealership, and was told that it is **** *********. I left several voice mail messages for **** and I never received any calls back. I was always told that he is not at the dealership. I've been told this each time I called or went back to the dealership to seek assistance and help. Response 6 I was told that the car met the dealership 128 inspection checkpoint review. However after talking to the service personnel when I brought the car back in less than 24 hours, I found out that there were issues that were hidden from me including: 1. A cracked head 2. the inner fender liner was damaged and freely moving 3. Inner fender lining mounting points were bent and not properly repaired, 4. The dealership survey writer **** *******-******* License # **** states that this could create a situation that would bind the wheel temporarily. 5. The dealership personnel also states in his report that the inner fender was found loose at the time of diagnosis. 6. The dealership personnel states that the brakes caused the tire to drag when the car stopped in the middle of the intersection the day I purchased the car. 7. The dealership personnel states in his report that there are problems with the replacement bearings that could cause issues with the car. 8. The dealership personnel states in his report that there was Steering Wheel shaking during the test drive and he put in bold letters that there are ''Multiple Causes for this issue'' including unbalanced tires, wheel bearing failure, steering rack failure, ect.... 9. The dealership personnel states in his report that he found excessive play in the steering rack with the steering lock engaged. 10. The dealership personnel states in his report that dealership history shows that there was never an alignment performed on the vehicle after there had been significant work to passenger side axle and suspension. 11. The dealership personnel states in his report that there was improper repair/replacement of damaged exterior fender section and this would have caused the fender liner to come loose and bind the wheel. 12. When I brought the car into the service dept and it was examined, I was told that the car should have never been sold based on these things according to the dealership mechanic. I feel like I was purposely misled and defrauded. When I brought the car back to the dealership to turn it back in because I did not want it less than 24 hours after driving it off the lot, the dealership personnel kept saying that if I wanted to return the vehicle, I needed to talk to ***** ******, **** or ****. However every time I tried to talk to them, they were never available when I called and came into the dealership. The dealership offered to repair the vehicle, but I told them that is not what I wanted. They had the car for 9 days after I returned the car and I stated that I didn't want it. Response 7 I must questio

12/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the ********* i had my car service at toyota Hayward, than on 11/13/13 while driving the engine starts smoking. While the car was smoking i opened the engine cover and saw all fluids all over the engine, looked around for problems saw no radiator cap. Now when iam driving can hear noise or something not right, not like before.I justed want to let you guys know if something happens to my car engine you are responsible for it.

Desired Settlement: Full warranty for my car engine or any parts that will cause the car to break down will driving with no water in the radiator.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/26) */ Customer contacted Hayward Toyota in regards to his vehicle smoking from the rear of the car after servicing the vehicle. We found the radiator cap missing and coolant had spilled all over the engine compartment. The coolant hitting the hot exhaust was the cause of the smoke. We topped off the cooling system with 1/2 gallon of coolant (approximately 1/4 of the total coolant capacity), installed a new radiator cap and rechecked all work that was performed during the service. After all checked out ok, we test drove the vehicle for 17 miles and did not feel any concerns with the vehicle. We then cleaned the engine compartment and washed the vehicle. At the time of delivery to the customer the vehicle was running ok. If the vehicle is making any unusual sounds I would like the customer to bring the vehicle back to the dealership so we can do another inspection of the vehicle. Thank you Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/12/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I will have them check the vehicle again.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Autonation Toyota Hayward
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)