BBB Accredited Business since

Autobahn Motors

Phone: (650) 637-2333 Fax: (650) 631-0997 700 Island Pkwy, Belmont, CA 94002 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.autobahnmotors.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales new and used car dealership and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Autobahn Motors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Autobahn Motors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Autobahn Motors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 22, 1993 Business started: 01/01/1991 Business started locally: 01/01/1991 Business incorporated 09/16/1997 in CA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Automotive Repair
10240 Systems Pkwy, Sacramento CA 95827
http://www.dca.ca.gov/consumer/wll.shtml
Phone Number: (855) 837-7985

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joe Cox, General Manager Tony Hillman, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Cox, General Manager
Number of Employees

125

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service Auto - Fleet Maintenance Auto - Fleet Service

Service Area
This business service area covers San Francisco, Oakland, Fremont, Santa Rosa, Hayward, Concord, Berkeley, Richmond, Antioch, Daly City, San Mateo, Vacaville, San Leandro, Livermore, Napa, Sonoma, Vallejo, San Rafael, San Mateo, Walnut Creek
Alternate Business Names
Sonic Automotive

Additional Locations

  • 700 Island Pkwy

    Belmont, CA 94002 (650) 637-2333

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After vehicle was repaired, the "check engine light" came on and the dealer said it was not their problem and to take your car somewhere else. on 8/3/15 I took my car to be repaired at 7 a.m. with service advisor ****** ********. They told me I would have my car done around 8:30 a.m. I specifically told advisor that they would not be able to drive my car over 15 mph because of alarm code that only I have. Thus I waited in the lobby and ****** came to me at 7:53 a.m. to tell me we had to go get my car. I didn't know what he meant so I asked where my car was located. He told me that the driver was going to take me as it had stalled on the freeway. We picked up my car, I put in the code and drove it back to the dealer where I again explained about my car. ****** said they would finish my car and I would have it soon. At 10:40 a.m. they brought my car to the driveup area and he told me it was ready but the alarm kept sounding. They couldn't figure out what they had done and asked me if I knew what had happened. I didn't know because I was not the one and doing the repairs.I was not happy with their service so I asked to speak to the manager, *****, who basically told me that they needed to do a test drive to find the potential problem. As explained to ******, I didn't have a problem with a test drive but I needed to go with them since I am the only one with the code. Because of the long wait and the problems caused to the car, I asked what they could do for me. ****** left and came back and said they would take 15% off the bill. I thought it was all done, went back to the car and began to leave when I noticed the check engine light was still on. I stopped the car got out and talked to ******. he was not available I asked for a manager and they got ****** who said to leave the car and they would call me.Three hours went by they did not call so I called them. They told me the problem was not fixed. I went to pick up my car around 3pm. I went to speak to a manager since the car was not repaired. She would not give me her card, said it was not their fault, and told me that it was probably my alarm that set off the check engine light. She said I needed to take it to another shop to have it looked at. She was rude, uncooperative and did not want to find a resolution to my problem. Now, I am stuck with check engine light not knowing what is wrong with my vehicle.

Desired Settlement: Want the dealer to pay to have the check engine light go off

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/08/14) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *************@autobahnmotors.com The previous visit Mr. ********'s vehicle was in for was strictly a noise in the suspension area when driven. There were no other complaints related to any engine work or reason for us to connect any electrical diagnostic equipment. The aftermarket system with which Mr. ******** has installed on his vehicle is extremely cumbersome, restrictive for us to utilize when trying to diagnose a driveability complaint, but beyond that is absoulutely not approved by Mercedes-Benz in any way shape or form, and the integration of this aftermarket system is marginal at best.The only reasonable explanation was that when the aftermarket system shut down the Engine Control Unit at 15 mph, that the factory system reads this as a fault, and records it (thus a Check Engine Light). Mr. ******** and i have spoken in regards to his concerns. He has an appointment on Monday, August 17, for us to attempt to rectify his check engine light. We will give it every opportunity to make Mr. ******** happy at the end of the day.

9/4/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car mileage was in kilometers and not miles, as a result I was billed for higher mileage service which my car did not require. I was told of the discrepancy and was told I would get a credit and that the service being rendered that day would be just an imprint on my card and not a charge. I was charged for the service and was not given a credit for past services. I called three times and even called Mercedes Benz USA Office to help me out. As of June 12, 2014, I have not received a call back or a credit. Product_Or_Service: Car Maintenance package Order_Number: ******** Account_Number: ********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Refund for the Service rendered on June 11, 2014 and a credit for past service that my car did not require.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/08/29) */ Received business response via email on 8/29/14: We have agreed to refund $871.26 to Mrs. ********. She has agreed to sign a release of liability stating she is satisfied to the outcome. We have left her voicemails as to when we can meet to get this accomplished. Please let me know if you need any more information. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 11, 2014/09/04) */ We have come to an agreement to resolve my complaint. I am happy with the result. Thank you. ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Autobahn Motors
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)