This business is not BBB accredited.

Acura of Serramonte

Phone: (650) 985-1000 Fax: (650) 757-1370 475 Serramonte Blvd, Colma, CA 94014 http://www.acuraofserramonte.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers new and used cars sales with auto repair services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • BBB does not have sufficient information to issue a rating on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Acura of Serramonte
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 31, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1987 Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated 05/23/1986 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Silvain Bruins, Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Silvain Bruins, Service Manager
Number of Employees

49

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Alternate Business Names
Franciscan Motors, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    475 Serramonte Blvd

    Colma, CA 94014 (650) 985-1000

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Misleading and Fraudulent information and documentations. Seller implicated placebo effect upon buyer indicating actual warranty. Purchase date, May 7, the dealer promised us and told us that the car would be safe and when asking for a warranty, resulted us making a payment of $2045.00 . And a week later after purchase the car showed issues pertaining the engine. The company did nothing in resolving the issue but masking the issue and hiding the engine light by turning it off thru console device. A couple weeks after that incident, June 16, the car displayed multitude of problems in particularly an EPC error light in the dashboard. Being led by false lies and believed that I had originally purchased a warranty, went to the dealership and asked for this problem be resolved as within warranty. However the dealership issued a repair bill of $2,000.00 for a problem that was originally there and paid no attention to. AN ISSUE that could have ended my life (and my family's) while on the road. A faulty engine harness, meaning that the event of the engine dropping, the vehicle will combust and boom my life ends there. I am fortunate to have found this problem before it possibly ending my life, but the dealership company insinuated that they do not take part in any responsibility and, regardless of our "warranty", they will not fix this issue as within warranty basis (free). All I request is for the repair bill to be null in reasons of my purchase and payment in the fee(s) for a warranty.

Desired Settlement: I was charged 2000.00 for the repair of a faulty engine harness. I also paid 2045.00 for a warranty at the event of the purchase. I want that charge for the repair to be nulled like I paid for as within warranty bases. Also provide a written document pertaining a warranty from the dealership to us. (the same document the dealership implicated and misled us to believe)

1/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
4/30/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: March 19,2014 Wednesday-Went to Acura of Serramonte for an oil change for my 2010 RDX.-I was rushed by salesman to buying a new 2014 Acura ILX and Trade in my 2010 RDX.-Salesman ****** **, hasty, aggressive, taking advantage of my being a nice person, only interest is to keep my 2010 RDX for a higher sale and Sell me the 2014 Acura ILX.-Notary- ******* ***, was rude , rushing me to sign off documents without explanation/understanding of what I am signing.-I left dealer with the 2014 Acura ILX Past 8 PM-Got home, my wife saw the 2014 ILX and said this car DOES NOT FIT OUR NEEDS AND WE ARE NOT HAPPY.March 20,2014 Thursday 9:15 AM-1st thing in the morning, I returned the car to Acura of Serramonte,this is less than 14 hours. *** ******, refused to take back the 2014 Acura ILX nor return my 2010 RDX. I did tell him the 2014 ILX DOES NOT FIT OUR NEEDS and WE ARE NOT HAPPY.March 21.2014 Friday 5PM-Went back to Acura of Serramonte to see **** ******, the Manager. He left his office.March 22,2014 Saturday 4PM-Me and my Wife, went back to Acura of Serramonte to return the 2014 Acura ILX. *** ******, Refused to take back the 2014 Acura ILX . Told us to see **** ******, the Manager on Monday.March 27,2014 Thursday Past 3PM-Went to see **** ******, Manager of Acura of Serramonte.-Told **** ****** that we want to return the new 2014 Acura ILX, and get back our 2010 RDX. the 2014 ILX DOES NOT FIT OUR NEEDS, WE ARE NOT HAPPY AND NOT SATISFIED.-**** ****** told me that my 2010 RDX was sold.-**** ****** told me that I trade in my 2014 Acura ILX and get another car as Lease Agreement with their dealer. Since, Day 1, March 19,2014 When I drove home the new 2014 Acura ILX, Me and my Wife was not happy with this 2014 ILX, it does not fit our needs, we are not satisfied.Day 2, March 20,2014 1st thing in the morning 9:15 AM I was at the Acura of Serramonte to return the new 2014 Acura ILX. Dealer refuse to take it back nor return my 2010 RDX.Please help me out with this dealer. Product_Or_Service: Acura Order_Number: ******** Account_Number: *****

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement a)Return my 2010 RDX. and take back the 2014 ILX . With reasonable charges on my part. b) Replace car that fit our needs. Sales Tax on the 2014 ILX be transferred to the replace car. Price on replace car must meet our satisfaction and all deductibles applied. c) Please be reasonable, Just and Fair.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/16) */ In response to the complaint filed by ******* ** relating to his purchase of a 2014 Acura ILX we have thoroughly reviewed and investigated the events relating to his transaction and found the following: 1. Mr. ** willingly visited the Sales Department and made inquiries about new vehicles. He was not solicited nor encouraged by any associate of Acura of Serramonte to inspect, test drive, or purchase a vehicle. 2. Mr. ** requested to test drive a new vehicle and was accompanied by a Sales associate. 3. During our review of the Finance process our records indicate the associate who assisted Mr. ** followed the proper steps of reviewing all documents, contracts, and items related to his purchase. Acura of Serramonte utilizes a "menu" screen to insure all customers receive the same explanation of their transaction documents. 4. Our records show that Mr. ** declined the optional contract presented by Finance that would have allowed him to return the vehicle if he was not satisfied. The Finance Department at Acura of Serramonte offers this contract to all potential buyers. 5. Signage is displayed throughout the dealership including the Finance offices that clearly states there is "no cooling off period" with regard to the purchase of a vehicle. The associates who assisted Mr. ** state that he acknowledged reading one of the signs. 6. During Mr. **'s meeting with the General Manager of Acura of Serramonte **** ****** he stated that he had in fact read the contract documents relating to his purchase. 7. Mr. ****** explained to Mr. ** that his trade had been sold therefore it was not possible for Acura of Serramonte to return that vehicle to him. Mr. ** stated to Mr. ****** that there was nothing wrong (mechanical, electrical, service issues, etc.) with his new 2014 Acura. 8. Mr. ** had negative equity in his trade vehicle which had to be included in the contract for the new 2014 Acura. Negative equity is not within the control of the dealership and must be included and accounted for on a new contract when a customer trades a vehicle. Due to the amount of negative equity Mr. ****** presented Mr. ** with the option to trade his new vehicle for a lower priced Acura and enter into a lease agreement. Mr. ** stated he was not interested in signing a lease agreement. 9. When interviewing the associates that assisted Mr. ** there was a consensus that he appeared to be capable of making decisions with regard to purchasing a vehicle and understanding the contract documents he was asked to sign. We sincerely regret that Mr. ** is not satisfied with his new vehicle, however, after careful review of all the information and events related to the purchase transaction we find no wrong doing by Acura of Serramonte and/or their associates. As of result we respectfully decline Mr. **'s request to return his 2014 Acura and cancel his transaction. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/04/30) */ April 29, 2014 Better Business Bureau **** ********* Suite *** Oakland, Ca. XXXXX Re : Case # XXXXXXXXX Dear Ms. ******* ****** After reading Ms. ******** findings regarding my experience with Acura Serramonte, I will put this situation away as a lesson learned. No person should enter a dealership feeling pressured or rushed to buy anything. And although, I was allowed to look at cars in peace. My feelings instantly changed the moment your salespeople smelled a possible sale. Does a test drive instantly mean that I wanted to buy a car? I don't think so. Does asking questions about a particular car mean that I am ready to get one? No. What I experienced from the dealership was pressure to buy a car and rushed to the "finance process". It was not a great feeling. I will let my friends know, not to visit your dealership (unless they love feeling pressured and rushed). And your findings may point out how the transaction played out, but you neglect to consider how I was feeling when your salesperson(s) and finance personnel were interacting with me. Maybe you should consider in retraining them in the art of establishing a relationship with customers instead of in the art of "hard selling'. Regards, ******* ** ** **** ** ****** **** Unit *** South San Francisco, Ca. XXXXX

9/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Acura of Serramonte
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)