BBB Accredited Business since

Acura Of Concord

Phone: (925) 674-1900 View Additional Phone Numbers 1340 Concord Ave, Concord, CA 94520 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers sales of new and used Acuras and all makes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Acura Of Concord meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Acura Of Concord
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 21, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1991 Business started locally: 01/01/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

DMV Occupational
Phone Number: 1-800-777-0133
The number is 65070.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Mark Dowling, General Manager Mr. Darrell Cooper, Service Department Melissa Longworth, Customer Service Amin Siddiq, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Dowling, General Manager
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service
8/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recurring electrical problems that have been repaired from previous owner now plaguing me. The repairs and parts have been done by same dealership. 5/23/12 mileage 73.335 repair Changed A/C relays Part#XXXXX invoice #ACCSXXXXXX cost $337.27 1/2/13 mileage 74,966 invoice #ACCSXXXXXX Navigation system not working cost under warrantee. 6/13/13 pass, mileage 85,399 invoice #ACCSXXXXXX window failure part#XXXXX-STK-A02 cost $308.82 11/27/2013 mileage 88,076 invoice# ACCSXXXXXX replaced Navigation system cost was paid in terms of sale as to be purchase agreement by Antioch dodge. cost $946.37. problem with pass. window reprogrammed N/C Purchased 3 year or 36,000 mile power train warrantee,I was told that it would replace my current full warrantee with Antioch dodge at half the cost, I later found out that it was not the same warrantee that they claimed it to be . cost $1363. and lost additional coverage. 11/3/2014 mileage 96,261 invoice #ACCSXXXXXX Battery failure, test battery no problem found no electrical shorts. was told that battery was in very good condition cost N/C 11/28/2014 mileage 96,519 invoice #ACCSXXXXXX Battery failure, replaced battery cost $146. found that the A/C relay was drawing current while engine was not running, replaced relay part #XXXXX-SDA-A05 cost $33.24 Pass. Window reprogram again N/C 12/05/14 mileage 96,603 invoice #ACCSXXXXXX Pas. Window same problem replaced part #XXXXX-STK-A01 cost N/C 5/08/15 mileage 99,852 Tag #**** electrical diagnosis system message fault p0562 and all wheel drive message #77 present, after further diagnosis found nothing wrong with vehicle reset computer N/C 6/26/15 called Acura of Concord to make an appointment because hot air is blowing intermittently from A/C, I was told that they were booked and that it would be sometime next week before they have a chance to work on my car. I did get a call from one of there staff being apologetic saying that it's no fault of there's and that they would try and have a replacement vehicle for me to use during the weekend if one would be available. I'm not very happy having to spend my time going back and forth for the same recurring problems.

Desired Settlement: Wishing that they would find and fix the problem, without me having to waste my time coming back, I've giving up valuable weekend plans waiting for repairs and going to and from dealership.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 11, 2015/07/30) */ Sorry, we just received this. Facts: Mr ******** purchased this vehicle used from a Hyundai dealer. Our first encounter with this vehicle while Mr ******** owned it was Nov 20, 2013 at XXXXX miles. He came in for a complaint that an updated Nav disck he had purchased would not work in his vehicle. We diagnosed it and determined it was a faulty Navigation Unit. Antioch Hyundai authorized the repair and the Nav unit was replaced. Customer did not pay for this. When Mr ******** picked up his vehicle on Nov 27, 2013 he elected to purchase a Service Contract plan from us for Powertrain coverage only. He read the entire contract and actually spent almose a week deciding. When he bought it we did not know about any other plan. We also clearly marked the invoice that it was a poweer train contract only and he had read the terms prior to his purchase. Next visit was Jan 17, 2014 at XXXXX miles. He had a basic oil change service with a multipoint inspection and we noted the tires had 6/32 and the frt brakes were 7mm and the rear were 5.5 mm Next visit was July 2, 2014 for a basic oil change service with tire rotation. Next visit was Nov 04,2014 at XXXXX miles with a complaint that the battery was dead. We used our approved Acura high tech battery tester and it indicated that the battery was good. We found no other problem then and recharged the battery. No charge to customer. On Nov 28, 2014 he returned and we replaced a relay that was intermittantly sticking. We also retested the battery and this time it indicated it had gotten too weak to hold a full charge. He only paid for parts used, no labor and also was given a $40 discount on the parts and for goodwill we ordered a rt frt window glass run, again, no charge. On Dec 6, 2014 at XXXXX miles where we installed the no charge window channel. Customer returned on Dec 29, 2014 at XXXXX miles where Acura of Concord provided a no charge oil change SERVICE. Next visit waas on Jan 11, 2015 at XXXXX miles for a fault code in the charging system. Code P0562. We cleared the code and tested the system and found nothing wrong at this time. No charge was again made. Last visit was June 27, 2015 at XXXXXX miles. Customer complaint was a/c not cold. Found a/c compressor clutch failed. Customer declined repairs. No charge was made. Customer was aware of a factory warranty extension for this XX-XXX but it had expired after 7 years form original in service date or XXXXXX miles. He was out by time. He then contacted Acura Corporate and asked them for assistance on this. He delt directly with them. They reviewed all facts of this case and informed Mr ******** that they would not offer any assistance on this. The vehicle was past all warranty and warranty extension. Acura of Concord followed all the correct procedures and never sold or tried to sell the customer anything not needed. In fact we have been extreamly generous with Mr. ******** as evidenced by all the no charge work we provided. The warranty extension was not ours but the factories. Any question on that should be directed to them. Respectfully, ******* ****** Service Director Acura of Concord Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2015/07/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The claims that Mr ****** makes is to protect Acura of Concord along with his Staffs. He claims that I brought the Vehicle in for service for Navigation, I purchased the vehicle from Antioch Hyundai and with terms of purchase they were to upgrade the navigation system with current maps. They found that there was a problem with the Navigation system and had it replaced At Acura of Concord per agreement of sale. It wasn't until two weeks later that I found out that the vehicle was being worked on by Acura of Concord. So that part is false. Second part, Mr ****** states that I had agreed to purchase their service Contract and that I had taken the time to read it and that I even delayed in the purchase of it some weeks later as he'd explained. That is not true, *** ****** made such a good sale to be saying that there service contract was much better then the one I had purchased at Antioch Hyundai at half the price. I honestly bought his sales pitch hook line and sinker. The service contract I had cancelled from Antioch Hyundai was Bumper to Bumper and that's why there's was more in price. Mr ****** was aware of the service contract I had purchase from Antioch Hyundai other that the price. The purchase of there service Contract was not given to me at the time to take home and read. It was just a quote at the time, I didn't have the money at the time to put down and it was suggested to cancel my contract with Antioch Hyundai and when I received my prorated refund To use it as my down payment, That's why it took the extra week I was not given anything to take home and read. I felt very embarrassed later when I had found out the mistake I had made believing him. He even had given me copies of the Prior Owners Service that was done on the Vehicle accompany with the Name of the previous owner and his Address. the Vehicle which later I found out was a breech of privacy. Mr ****** states that a Relay had failed during my first complaint of the charging system failing. Not accurate, it was on the second visit after I had my vehicle towed to Concord did they find a problem. The first visit with the charging system they informed me.That there was no problem and that the Battery was 100 percent, I had also stated when bringing in the vehicle that I was having a problem with the Passenger ****** going up and down and they said made an adjustment and it was alright now. I latter continued to have problem with it two other times until Mr ****** handed me the keys personally stating that it was repaired and I asked him to accompany out to the Vehicle to check on the repair he had witness the problem was still present, He diagnosed the problem himself and after being embarrassed had ask me to bring the vehicle back and that he would order the part free of charge for the delay. Completing the problem with the charging system he stated that they replace a faulty relay, The relay that was replaced was an A/C relay not once but three times within 3 years ( 5/23/2012 to present ) The Battery that during the initial complaint that they said was 100 percent good was diagnosed as being bad, as for the cost. Mr ****** said that I could either pay x-amount on the prorate and have an additional warranty on the new Battery or have it at no cost and have now warranty, I had chosen the second part so it was covered from the existing warrantee. I understand his claims making it appear that he was being nice about the exchange. It's apparent to me what type of Business they do and I hoping that there will be someone out there that will take the time to write out there complaint as I did and stand by the truth. My complaint with Acura of Concord is all about service, Proper service. I don't believe that I should've made all those unnecessary trips back and forth for the same recurring problems. I sat with Mr ****** for an Hour with records of service done prior and after new ownership of the a said vehicle having the same reoccurring problems. It's still my belief that the A/C problem which American Honda recognised and extended the A/C warranty should of been honoured after the initial A/C complaint and repaired on 5/23/2012 I feel strongly had Acura of Concord called the previous owner when the A/C warrantee was extended and did the recommended repair suggested by American Honda there probably would solve the A/C issue and the Three A/C relays would never had to be replaced, hence forth the A/C relay that they said was sticking causing damage to the Battery and further service calls. Only other issue Would of been the Passenger ****** that was misdiagnose by there technicians until after the last visit made by Mr ****** who solve the problem. Please also note that in previous repair to the passenger ****** made by Acura of Concord was a replacement of the front Passenger ****** regulator. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2015/08/12) */ As Stated Acura of Concord Followed all the correct procedures... we have been extreamly generous with Mr. ******** as evidenced by all the no charge work we provided... Sorry he is not happy.... Respectfully **** ******* General Manager Acura Of Concord Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 18, 2015/08/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Acura of Concord states that they have been extremely generous with there evidence of all the no charge of work done. What work were they talking about? The Battery that they said they didn't charge me for was under warrantee, I was given a choice of either paying for a prorated battery and the warrantee that came with it or a new replacement battery without a warrantee. So that was not a free of charge. The passenger ****** problem was first brought to there attention by me when the Navigation system was replaced, By the way when I brought the Navigation for replacement I had to argue with Mr ****** that it was replaced instead of repaired like he had insisted, after carefully looking at the work invoice he acknowledge that it was replaced not repaired. There are allot of inconsistency's on there part. The many visits my wife and I had spent taking our RDX to have the same problems reevaluated and having to return back for the same symptom's show lack of leadership and consistency for the many repairs that they make. I've discussed my displeasure with neighbors who had service there and seem to have the same experience that I had. Some have taken there Acura's to the Oakland Location because of there past problems. I feel strongly that my original complaint of the A/C problem was pertaining to the extended warrantee that should of been corrected back in 5/23/2012. I've stated that if Acura of Concord had contacted the previous owner that they had received information about the work they had done on 5/23/2012 and to bring back the Vehicle so that they could perform the repair that American Honda had suggested, they could of refunded the owner the $339.99 he was charged and the correct repair would of been done and there wouldn't of been any more future reoccurrences of the same continually problem that the car has been plagued with.( A/C relays opened circuits hence charging problems) I have taken my RDX to another repair facility who has been doing maintenance on my other cars(Mercedes Benz and BMW) I've always wanted to believe that the original car manufacture would know more about there cars but I can now say that I've lost all confidence in Acura of Concord and will be exercising my rights to take them to small claims court to satisfy what I believe is the right thing to do and show the proof of what I have stated as being truthful and right. Please accept my gratitude BBB for all that you had done to help this matter out. As for Acura of Concord I have forwarded the extended warrantee to the previous owner of the details of when his car was repaired and how I was freely given information of his name and address along with telephone number. I've recommended that we meet and share our invoice's of work that was done. BBB if you may be interested in copies of any or all my work invoice's along with previous owners invoices please give forward me a e-mail and attention to whom I'm to address it to will be my pleasure to show my complete honesty of all that I had said to be truthful. Sincerely, ****** ********

10/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Acura is not honoring the waranty about free maintenance for 4 year/50,000 miles as shown on the computer. I bought a pre owned certified 2013 Acura ILX 6 months ago. My service light went on, so I took it to the Acura dealership where I bought it, and was told that I'd have to pay $130. We then took the car to our personal mechanic and he told us that the service for this new car is free from the dealership. I went to Google, typed in Acura 2013 ILX warannty and clicked on the first site that turns up. It was and it clearly states that the waranty for this car. Basic 4 year/50,000 mile, FREE MAINTENANCE 4 year/50,000 miles, Drivetrain 6 year/ 70,000 miles, Roadside 4 year/50,000 miles and Rust 5 year/Unlimited miles. I called Acura in Concord asking why they are charging $130, and I was told that the maintenance is not covered. I explain what the website says, and he cannot help me. I go over all the other things, and he says those were correct, but maintenance is not covered. I had the belief that the maintenance was free during the waranty period, but now learn otherwise, and when investigated, it turns out that they are not honoring what they post online.

Desired Settlement: I want the maintenance for free as they say it is.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/29) */ Contact Name and Title: ******* ******, Service D Contact Phone: ************ Contact Email: ******************************* See attached document. This was reviewed by the Motor Vehicle Control Board also. The website she is refering to is NOT Acura's but Motortrend Magazine. Even it has a disclaimer at the bottom saying maintenance not included. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/01/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did not see a disclaimer at the bottom saying maintenance not included. I saw clearly in the middle where they have all the warranty info that it iS included. When I looked up the waranty, I typed in Google, Acura ILX 2013 warranty, and the first website that turned up was what I opened. I didn't know if it was Motor Trend till after I looked at it better, but Motor Trend had to get it's info from somewhere. They are a reputable magazine and don't print whatever they want. Where did they get this info from. It is very misleading when someone is trying to decide on a car to purchase. It misleads everybody. So my question now is, where did Motor Trend get this info from, then publish it. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/02/06) */ The actual warranty is included with the car when delivered to the customer. It is in the packet of books. Maintenance is not covered. While Motortrend may be a big magazine it is their content, not Acura of Concord's or Acura USA. I suggest if the customer has a question about Motortrend's content she should contact them directly.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Acura Of Concord
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)