BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Auction House, Inc.

(925) 498-6590 View Additional Email Addresseshttp://www.aauctionhouse.net

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auctions, consignment, antiques, and estate sales.

Auction House takes general consignments from the community and only sells those items using the "LIVE AUCTION" format. We provide an alternative to consignment stores, Craigslist and internet auctions.
We feature a wide variety of items including estates, jewelry, furniture, antiques, collectables and unique "one of a kind" items. Our auction schedule and all of our items are showcased on our website.
We are open for consignors and buyers Monday thru Friday 9 am to 4 pm and on Saturdays by appointment.

BBB Accreditation

Auction House, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Auction House, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/03/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told the sale off my items would be handled professionally, I was lied to and when i question him his conduct was unprofessional and evasive
I was told by the Auction House that the sale of my items would be handled professionally and that his clientele could afford anything they want and that I was in the right place for the sale of my items. I was asked what my expectations were and I told him the minimum I would accept on certain items, he told me it was "Do able" and it was no problem. He advised me that he doesn't like to put everything in one auction and he would split my items up over several auctions, that way he and I would get a feel for the market and the sale off my items. After the auction I found out that all my items were sold for well below minimum amount that we discussed. When I questions him and asked why all my items were sold in one sweep and for so little he told me that he was surprised but "His auction and his decision".i asked him There were five collectible trains at a $100 minimum per set when the first one was sold at $20 why were the others sold for that amount ? He could have easily retracted the items knowing the market was not there and knowing our discussion and our agreement there were more than 30 items sold for well below expected price. And i was charged 35% for their handling the sale of my items and other charges that were not discussed prior to the sale.the total sale had come to $600 and some change for items worth well over $2000 and they had the audacity to take over $200 in commission from the $600 Their lack of professionalize m and deceitful conduct should not be allowed. I trusted them with my items and their interest was only for their own benefit at my loss. I also question the validity of the sales, I would like to see proof if the items were even actually sold or were they just kept for their own benefit.

Desired Settlement
According to our discussion and acceptance of all items selling at minimum price accepted they are $600 below the total amount. So I would like them to return my items or they can reimburse me the amount that was lost which would be an estimated price of the $600. After their unprofessional behavior they didn't even have the decency to apologize and or reduce their charges

Business Response
Client & I came to a mutual agreement today, June 5th and this issue has been taken care of.

Consumer Response
6-10-15

Sent via email:

No it has not .i had a conversation with them . they indicated that they have accepted responsibility . but the best that they could do was to return the Commission that they had charged back to me . i am still waiting to see. what that amount is llet I have

Final Consumer Response
6-13-15

Sent via email:

Thank you .I had a convention with the auction house I was told that he wanted the issue resolved and that the items where sold for little over $1000 and he did not won't any commotion and he will return all relevant changes and send me the balance .yesterday I received a check for $220.00 .which I don't understand they have sent 3



Checks up to know $420__$220 and $6.00 which the total does not add up to $1000 I have received 3 different invoices up to now in each invoice the amount of items indicated that has been sold is different I'm confused . I don't understand why there are so many discrepancies in there invoices I am trying to stay in contact to solve this problem as yet I don't know what his reasoning for the checks . Thank you for your assistance.

Final Business Response
In the conversation I had with this consignor on June 5th I indicated that I understood he was unhappy with the results of the auction of his items and for that I was sorry. I also indicated the results were final & that I could not reverse what had already happened. I told him I would refund all commissions taken on the sale of his consignments, but that was all I could do.

To put that into numbers, his items sold in two auctions for a total of $ 645.00, we take a 35% commission on these sales so I had sent him two checks which totaled $ 419.25 which is 65% of
$ 645.00. When I told him I would refund all commissions taken, I sent him a third check in the amount of $ 225.75 The only reason a $ 1,000.00 figure came up in our conversation was in the context of what the refund of all receipts meant which was the equivalent of auctioning his items for around $ 1,000.00 & taking a 35% commission. It was simply a way to put what I agreed to do in perspective. I am sorry he fixated on that figure, but the fact is I did exactly what I said I would do.

So, I will restate what I told the consignor on June 5th, I refunded all commissions taken on his items and that is all I can do.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auctioneers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/13/2011Business started: 08/10/2010
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 2010, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Gapp (Owner)Mr. Damon Casapico (Owner)
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Auctioneers

Service Area

This business service area covers the bay area.

LocationsX

0 Locations

    Industry Comparison ChartX

    The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

    *Auction House, Inc. is in this range.

    X

    Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

    BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

    • Advertising or Sales
    • Billing or Collection
    • Problems with Products or Services
    • Delivery
    • Guarantee or Warranty

    We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

    X

    Additional Email Addresses

    X

    BBB Complaint Process

    Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

    X
    X

    Industry Tips for Auctioneers

    X

    What is BBB Advertising Review?

    BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

    X

    What government actions does BBB report on?

    BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

    X

    About BBB Business Review Content and Services

    Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

    X

    Thank you for your feedback.

    Help us improve by taking our survey.

    X

    According to information in BBB files, this company is no longer in business. If you have an unresolved dispute with this company you may wish to seek legal advice.

    X

    BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


    BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

    Customer Review Experience Value
    Positive Review 5 points per review
    Neutral Review 3 points per review
    Negative Review 1 point per review

    BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
    Details

    BBB Letter Grade Scale

    BBB Rating Value
    A+ 5
    A 4.66
    A- 4.33
    B+ 4
    B 3.66
    B- 3.33
    C+ 3
    C 2.66
    C- 2.33
    D+ 2
    D 1.66
    D- 1.33
    F 1
    NR -----
    Star Rating scale

      Average Score
    5 stars 5.00
    4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
    4 stars 4.00-4.49
    3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
    3 stars 3.00-3.49
    2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
    2 stars 2.00-2.49
    1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
    1 star 0-1.49

    BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

    As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

    BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

    BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

    X

    What is a BBB Business Review?

    We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

    X

    BBB Reporting Policy

    As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

    BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

    BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.