BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/23/2013


Phone: (415) 946-0857Fax: (415) 449-3648View Additional Phone Numbers395 Oyster Point Blvd Ste 550, South San FranciscoCA 94080-1973View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company helps consumers find a lawyer in any area of law across the United States. This includes: divorce, criminal defense, personal injury, child custody, immigration, real estate, wills & trusts, bankruptcy, and employment.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/23/2013

BBB has determined that LegalMatch meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised LegalMatch's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 24 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues11
Problems with Product / Service13
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 24

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on LegalMatch

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 7 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (24)
11/11/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

LegalMatch made false claims and assurances. NOTHING about the service is as promised. It has not delivered the service promised and is misleading.
Legal Match assured me that there is at least an 80 percent conversion rate if not better of the referrals that would be sent to my law firm. Also, the sales people strongly indicated that the average retainer fee paid by its referrals is $2500.00 and that each referral is pre-screened and prepared to pay such fees. Instead, I have spend countless hours calling each referral who has told me that they thought the legal services would be free or significantly reduced for low income individuals. Several numbers are disconnected when you try to reach the referred individuals by Legal Match. Or, if you actually reach the individual referred by Legal Match a similar response is received EVERY time ... I can't afford to pay a laywer and they need a pro bono (free) attorney, which is what the caller thought they were going to receive from Legal Match. In all my years of doing business, I have never seen such a dishonest and misleading display by a sales person as I have with Legal Match. They are charging $900.00 per month for allegedly pre-screened profitable leads. Then, shortly after signing the contract, a Legal Match Representative indicated to me that the conversion rate of referrals to actual clients is 20 percent at best but never higher than that otherwise the price wouldn't be so "low." Well, as a small business owner, $900.00 per month is a high price to pay for leads but the sales teams dishonestly and deceptively convinced me that the leads are pre-screened to expect to pay at least a $2500 retainer for legal services and that because they are pre-screened as potential clients who can afford to pay attorney's fees that the service more than pays for itself. Well, this could not be further from the truth. I have yet to have even
ONE referral who can afford a consultation fee far less attorney's fees then the people referred tell me that they thought Legal Match would be finding them a pro bono lawyer. I think it is terrible for a company like Legal Match to take advantage of people this way. I would NEVER had agreed to their service had I known what I know now. Legal Match's sales tactics are misleading and deceptive and the company should be severely punished for making such false promises about its services. The customer service department also indicated that this happens a lot especially to sole practitioners like myself and that they wish they could help me but they cannot do anything about the fact that what was promised by the sales team simply is not true. I hope no one else is ever victimized by Legal Match the way I have been ... their business practices are absolutely horrible. I have never experienced such a dishonest and deceptive company as Legal Match. I not only want my money back ... I want Legal Match to be penalized for their unfair and deceptive and misleading business practices. No company should be allowed to do this to people.

Desired Settlement
I want an apology and a refund and for Legal Match to never do this to another person/business again.

Business Response
I apologize for the delay in our response - I was out on paternity leave.

You signed a 3 year deal with LegalMatch and began looking at cases on 6/27/14. Our salesforce notes indicate that on 7/2/14 (within 5 days), you were already threatening to cancel and said your business was failing.

LegalMatch is a long term solution to a legal practice. It takes time to figure out which cases to make responses to, and how to fashion your responses so you get the maximum return. We specifically have marketing managers who work with attorneys to fix these exact types of problems. It does not appear you have listened to any of our marketing manager's suggestions on how to make this work, instead resigning yourself to lawsuit and BBB complaint threats.

In the approximately 3 months you have used LegalMatch, we have delivered you 189 prospective cases, 70 of which you have made responses to (37%). To date you have paid us for exactly 1 month of service at $901/month, meaning you used the service for 2 months and didn't pay as contractually agreed.

We encourage you to reevaluate your position, pay your membership fee as agreed, and work with your marketing manager to improve your offer messages and use of the service so we can both reap positive returns from this relationship.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
More of the same with Legal Match....nothing but lies. While I signed your contract, I did so under your false pretenses. You admit that you knew that my business was struggling and your sales team made assurances that each lead would be pre-screened to ensure that leads are prepared to pay at least $2500 to retain an attorney, which they assured would make it possible to afford the high cost of your service. The reason I only responded to 70 of the referrals is because I paid for one month and didn't use your dishonest service beyond the one month I paid for and the ONLY resolutions presented by your company was to sell me more of a bad product. Nevertheless, if your service was as it was promised by your sales team, then at least ONE of the 70 referrals I responded to should have been a viable lead. However, not one referral was a viable lead or case as each and every time I called a referral, either the individual's number was disconnected or incorrect or the individual indicated that he/she contacted Legal Match because they needed a pro bono or free attorney.

Final Business Response
We are clearly very far apart in how we perceive this relationship has gone to date. Here is what I propose as a solution: LegalMatch keeps your one and only monthly membership payment of $901, and then releases you of all further obligations. This is obviously an expensive solution for LegalMatch after all the time and money we have spent generating clients for you for months, finding and bringing you into the service, building your profile, correspondence, customer service, etc, plus relinquishing the remaining terms of your contract, part of which you already used and didn't pay for. But in the interests of good customer service and a way to reach an expedited solution, that is what we propose. Let us know whether that is acceptable.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

04/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Failed to deliver quality leads as promised; has purposely evaded resolving issue so it can accelerate contract clause and claim full contract amount
In or around October 2012, I responded to Legal Match solicitations and advertisements saying that they had many quality legal matters that matched my legal practice (trademarks and copyright, related small business matters). I have many conversations with sales representatives and advisors who said that there were many clients looking for the services of my practice. They also told me that attorneys general achieve 400% ROI for LegalMatch membership.

I was eventually convinced to sign up with a three year contract, paying $480/mo for a specific time zone and practice area.

For more than a year, I participated, eagerly responding to every sincere lead with affordable fee offers and free consultation. The vast majority of every lead was just people looking for free legal advice or, in the case of intellectual property, people who had no genuine legal case or matter at all. Actual matters such as "the government is stealing my thoughts" and "hidden cameras inside my home are stealing my movie ideas" were pervasive. For several months, half of the "intellectual property" postings on Legal Match were people confusing the term for something else, seeking help with their landlord, with financing their car, disputing title to physical assets, or fighting repossession of their vehicles. So on top of taking nearly $500/month from me, Legal Match also significant amounts of my time. I engaged one client from legal match for approximately $1200 in legal fees. I have lost/wasted at least $5000 on the service.

In fact, I think Legal Match benefited additionally from my membership because I frequently assisted in flagging and reclassifying many real estate, personal injury and criminal cases that were wrongly classified on their site as "intellectual property."

Legal Match personnel admitted that their service at was likely not a fit with my practice.

I began to tell Legal Match representatives, by phone and via email, that the relationship was not productive at all. I remained positive but began to look for ways to resolves the situation which was not sustainable.

I asked them to cancel my membership, and they ignored my request - continue to charge my card. Later, my credit card was replaced and the info had changed and finally, when payments were not being authorized, they were in touch with me - but only to discuss payment - not to discuss fixing or improving my situation with Legal Match.

I even offered to compensate Legal Match for letting me out of the contract. They never responded with any amount or similar solution.

I believe that Legal Match purposely avoided trying to resolve the matter because of a clause in their contract which they believe entitles them to the full remaining contract term amount if the account goes unpaid for 60 days. Indeed, they recently sent me an invoice for more than $10,000, with a threat to refer me to collections.
I believe that Legal Match might be a worthwhile service for others, but not for me all. I believe that Legal Match knew this when they solicited by membership, and did not disclose that to me. They did let me see an anonymous list of sample leads, but they did not disclose what normally happens in the typical case - namely, that the clients seek free advice or are seeking to push frivolous and misguided legal matters, and that legitimate legal matters, in my practice area, are the rare exception and not the rule.

I gave Legal Match a chance and have been very cordial and fair throughout this process. However, now that the situation has not been remedied and since they have the audacity to claim that I owe them more than $10,000 for a service which has already wasted countless hours of my time, and after they have enriched themselves with more than $6,000 of mine, I believe that they must release me from my contract at a minimum.
I only am pursuing this matter through BBB because Legal Match has been unreasonable and unwilling to fairly resolve

Desired Settlement
Drop all claims to any purported amounts due under any alleged agreement. Release me from alleged contract.

Business Response
I am sorry you were not more successful using the LegalMatch service. You did sign a 3 year contract, but in light of the circumstances we will agree to release you from any further liability. Best of luck to you and your legal practice.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
This is an adequate resolution and was the desired resolution I posed in the original complaint. I believe it to be fair and professionally appropriate and I am thankful for their cooperation and for the BBBs assistance.

03/06/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I have made 4 requests in writing and 6 verbal requests to be removed from their solicitation list but continue to be solicited regularly.
I am an attorney and I have made 4 written requests and 6 requests over the phone to be removed from their solicitation list and I continue to get requests from them. As a former prosecutor I am not sure if there has been criminal action as the emails come from different representatives, but I am going to meet with a local AUSA to see if there are any federal violations as all written communication has been over email. I have requested to receive written confirmation from them but have yet to receive it even though every time they assure me I will not be contacted again. This is an unacceptable interruption to my life to have to continue to call amd email them on a monthly basis. Please help me get them to stop once and for all.

Desired Settlement
A written letter informing me that my contact information has been removed from their database and letting me know that I will not be contacted again in the future.

Business Response
You were added to our permanent "do not call" list 2 days ago (2/19/14), so you should no longer be receiving any communications from us.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

01/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I was deceived that about 60 clients were waiting for help to induce me to sign a contract and encouraged to illegally practice law without a license.
I recently opened my own law office, so when LegalMatch (''LM'') promised clients fast, I was interested. A LM Sales Manager and a Sales Director promised me there were about sixty Business Transaction clients waiting for legal representation because the other ''two'' attorneys in the group were not responding to the requests; I later found out they knew these clients had received attorney responses. LM also set me up and encouraged me to practice law without a license, breaking the law, company policy, and then double charged me.

LM promised that so many cases needing immediate attention from an attorney that the Director was going to investigate why the other attorneys were not responding and thereby breaching their contracts. I was further told the group was full, but they were going to add me to the group because I was ''desperately'' needed to respond to the requests - again, none of this was true and they knew it.

With a tight budget of a new business and a monthly fee of $1,128, I asked how serious the client Users were. The Sales Director promised me the client Users were ''pretty **** serious'' and must complete a 20 to 30 minute intensive intake process and agree to the price of the attorney fees or ''get kicked off the website.'' In reliance of all of this, I signed a two-year contract.

However, it recently took me less than 5 minutes to post a case on LM. Further, LM later instructed me it generally takes 6 to 7 different contacts per client, alternating emails and phone calls, which should not be necessary for a desperate and serious client seeking legal representation.

Last week, I wrote LM informing them I was locked out of my account and asked why so many client Users were not responded to in August but were nearly all responded to in September and October. I called and was informed by the Sales Manager that she did not know why no attorneys responded in August and September when LM was selling me the service but after I signed the contract nearly all cases were responded to. She said they would pull the historical data and let me know. She also stated the help desk would call me that same day. Not surprisingly, nobody got back to me.

Further, when LM confirmed the Business Transactions group was full, yet unreasonably added me with a false promise, they breached their contract with me and the ''two'' other attorneys. LM has since confessed that the sales people make false promises, misrepresent facts, and cannot be trusted.

LM enrolled and encouraged me to practice law before I was legally able, but LM represents it will only allow attorneys admitted to practice and in good standing to respond to the client Users. Obviously, LM ignored their own company policy, contract provisions, promises to me, and the law when they not only enrolled me to practice but sent me an email encouraging it! LM charged me for a service they knew was illegal for me to use and encouraged me to practice law without a license! I refused to practice law until I had my license, but ended up paying hundreds of dollars for a service LM knew was illegal.

Finally, I often see joke postings and run into clients that refuse to pay the rate of the least expensive attorney; many clients want free legal advice and confess they may hire an attorney in a couple of years or so, despite the assurances of serious clients by LM.

In my case, LM materially misrepresented the facts to get me to sign the contract, ignored their own contract terms, and encouraged an attorney to break the law and risk loosing his license. The end result is that I am out thousands of dollars for a few months of basically nothing but lies and an attempt to get me to practice law without a license. The kicker is that if I had practiced law without a license, like LM wanted, and then was disciplined or disbarred, LM would have still come after me for the remaining $27,000. A LM employee later confessed to me LM knowingly and blatantly lied to get me to sign a contract.

Desired Settlement
I must be released from this fradulent contract and would like a refund for the money I have spent in monthly fees since September 2013.

Business Response
I am sorry you were not successful with the LegalMatch service. Your BBB complaint contains so much erroneous information it is difficult to know where to start.

Suffice to say, I believe our relationship has broken down and cannot be repaired through any further efforts. We would like to help you grow your legal practice as we have helped thousands of attorneys over the past 12 years, but it appears the distrust is too deep.

I suggest the following as a settlement: LegalMatch keeps the 3 months of service fees you have paid to date for your three months of service use, and then releases you from the remaining term of your signed contract. You agree to cease all credit card disputes and dismiss this BBB complaint. We both agree to not disparage the other and move on with our respective businesses.

Let me know whether this is an acceptable compromise.

NOTICE TO CONSUMER AND BUSINESS FROM THE BBB: Please note that the BBB does not dismiss a complaint once it becomes validated. If consumer agrees to compromise offered, the case will be closed as resolved.

Final Consumer Response
The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Agreed. Complaintant accepts this resolution and Complaintant has complied with the requests of business for which business has closed Complaintant's account.

Final Business Response
Agreed. LegalMatch acknowledges receipt and your account is closed.

11/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Complaint convinced me to sign a three year contract to buy leads from them based on lies and broken promises.
As an attorney who signed up to get leads from, beware, their service is a complete waste of money, and more importantly, your time.

When I signed up, I was a new attorney who wanted real estate leads from them, and was interested in the one-year package, which cost about $700 per month. The sales agent promised me that "only a handful" of attorneys were signed up in the real estate section, so I would not have much competition. He also told me that they limited the number of attorneys that could sign up to take such leads, and there was only one more slot to be filled. When I told him I only charged $100 per hour (I was new then), he told me that I would get all the clients because of my reasonable fees. In reliance on that, I signed up for three years, and paid $500 per month.

Result: provided me the most junky of all leads. These were people who could pay no more than $50 per hour, but who acted snotty nonetheless because 12 different attorneys had called them before I did and were vying for their business. Clearly, the sales agent had lied about "only a handful" of attorneys being my competition, and there being a limited number of slots. Also, despite the fact that I am a relatively good salesman, it proved exceedingly difficult to sign up LegalMatch clients because 1) they would not answer their phones 2) they could not pay anything close to reasonable fees 3) they only wanted a free consultation without any desire to actually retain an attorney 4) they were annoyed with being bombarded with so many attorney calls in one day.

I stopped making payments and stopped using their services after only a few months of signing up with them, and now their collection agency is trying to collect for 2.5 years of their service. If they sue, I will surely crossclaim for fraud and let the world know how terrible they are.

If you are a new attorney with limited resources (i.e. time, money) looking to buy leads to expand your business, LegalMatch may cause your business to go belly-up. Beware.

Desired Settlement
LegalMatch should stop chasing me for payment for the 2.5 years I did not log in to their website or otherwise use their services.

Business Response
I am sorry you were not satisfied with LegalMatch. LegalMatch has thousands of happy attorney members all across the United States who use our service every day to build their legal practices.

Starting a new practice is challenging, and as you probably know, most new businesses (not just in law) fail. LegalMatch provided you with over 1500 prospective cases during your 14 months of use, which you received at a reduced rate because you were a new attorney and agreed to a longer term.

Obviously Los Angeles is an established legal market, so differentiating yourself is an uphill battle. We do provide a strict quota on the number of attorneys we bring into each market, and from our records it does appear you retained clients.

There are so many factors that go in to a successful law firm, many of which are out of our control: the attorney as a person, the offer messages they make on LegalMatch, their law office, their legal staff, their rates, their legal abilities, etc. We try to provide a forum for attorneys to succeed, but realize no everyone will be satisfied.

Despite your contract saying otherwise, we have agreed to release you from any further liability. Best of luck to you and your legal practice.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Page 1 of 2
07/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

LegalMatch has not delivered the clients that they advertised they would. The "leads" they sold to us never materialized.
I was initially contacted by Legal Match about them providing to me pre-screened leads for cases in Family Law. Though they sent me some supposed referrals, I didn't talk to one single client about any case. I feel I was defrauded by this company. I have tried to talk with them about cancelling the service and all I got was collection calls. I notice that you have many other complaints about LegalMatch and like other attorneys receiving their leads, we are very far apart on how we perceive the relationship has gone. We have tried to explain to Legal Match how in our jurisdiction it may not even be legal for them to sell me "leads." I never received any business from them. I kept being told to call these leads before I got any contact from any potential client directly. I have asked them to cancel my service and they did stop sending cases, but they are still charging me for services I am not receiving and never received.
In short, LegalMatch assured me there was an 80% conversion rate, "just one referral would pay for the service,". When cases never materialized, they insisted that I wasn't "working the case hard enough." Not one client provided by LegalMatch could or would even afford to come in for a FREE consultation. LegalMatch is commited to having me pay them and has not provided the promised services. Their sales tactics are misleading and deceptive. I would like a full refund of the fees I have paid and for LegalMatch to stop collection action against my firm.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund of the amounts paid, for LegalMatch to cancel my service and contract and to cease collection action against me.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***
We called this person directly 3 days ago to discuss the matter, but our call has not been returned. In situations like this we believe an open discussion is the best way to find a resolution. We remain willing to talk when they are available.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We do not want further contact with the business that is not in writing. Please have them provide a written response. Our state bar prohibits us from contacting non-clients. Rule 7.3.

Final Business Response
From reviewing your file it appears you were having money problems before joining LegalMatch, which we were unable to help reverse during your 3 months using the service. We have said repeatedly on our site and the BBB that LegalMatch is a long term solution. It takes time to become familiar with our service, and figure out how to best responds to prospective clients. It is unreasonable after only three months to expect to master weeding out undesirable clients from those you want to retain, posting timely and proper responses in an efficient manner, and gaining the skills to close on client engagements. Especially since it appears you decided so early on that our service wasn't going to work.

Since this time you have raised the issue of LegalMatch's ability to operate in all 50 states. This has already been addressed by the FTC in a letter we link to on our site: All the other states that have weighed in on the issue agree that it is ethical for attorneys to participate in an online client matching service like LegalMatch.

You signed a two year deal with LegalMatch, and have only paid for two months to date. We believe that, as you are an attorney, it is reasonable to hold you to the terms of your contract. LegalMatch remains willing and able to perform their end of the bargain by offering prospective cases in your area and marketing manager support to guide you in effectively engaging clients.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Please see our previous statements.

07/13/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Deceptive, fraudulent sale practices to entice attorney's to execute unconscionable contract.
Legal Match representative in Las Vegas contacted my lawfirm and represented that they were a referral/marketing firm looking for attorney in this area to service their client referrals. I was showed over 210 potential client listed and waiting for an attorney to respond. we went through their program and **** asked for retainer amounts for each potential client. **** represented that their marketing program delivers at least 3-4 viable. pre-screened and retainable client/cases each month or in my case $20k in retainers each month for divorce and real property. At the time I was not provided a ten day grace period to use their system to verify their representations, which I learned from their marketing guy assigned *****, I should have been provided prior to execution of any contract. I had to sign their contract then and there to have access to verify what the sale/marketing person stated. At no time, did the sale person advise that the contract was for three (3) years, nor, that is was a "membership". Not sure what benefits the membership gives. After going through over 250 potential clients, none have been retained. Most have stated that they can't afford an attorney and believed the site was for "free" legal advise. The Legal Match representative - **** out of Las Vegas, represented that Legal Match "LM" has the potential client signify the type of payment -visa, cash, family to retain the attorney and this ensures that they verified that these client really want to hire an attorney, as opposed to need an attorney. All the participant to Legal Match need an attorney, but cannot afford one. Thus, the deception. The contract that I signed calls for $998.00 per month for family law and real property. Over 90 percent of the real property potential clients are tenants that cannot afford an attorney. Yet, Legal Match never allowed access to their program, i.e 10 days as trial, to investigate their representations or the substance of the potential client. On discussions with several clients that did respond to our "direct" calling, which Legal Match insisted we do, our office was told "why are you asking for a retainer, I thought this was a free legal service site or pro bono." I would NEVER agreed to their services had I know what I know now. Legal Match's sales tactic are deceptive (BP XXXXX) and fraudulent done solely to induce execution of their contract and money. After lodging a formal complaint ie. on line to their marketing representative *****, I received the marketing sale pitch that it was our strategy. Yet, I do have a marketing/finance degree prior to law school, and stated he did not know the demographic, economic condition and the problems I stated above as to their sale representative etc. He claim he will allow me to talk to some other unknown attorney that is "killing it" in some other part of the county. Yet, as I responded, its not my demographics. The problem was I was induced by deceptive means to enter a contract. His response was "you just can't terminate the contract" I advised him that contract provides termination upon Legal Match's material breach - which is false and misleading advertising practices. Lastly, I was advised (****) that I had exclusive territory only to find out from ***** that the territory is shared.

Desired Settlement
I want a cancellation of the contract, and refund of the two months of $998.00 for a total of $1,996.00.

Business Response
We are sorry you have so far not had success with the LegalMatch system. However, we think termination of our agreement is premature, considering you signed a 3 year deal and only 1 1/2 months have transpired so far. It usually takes time to become acquitted with our system, learning how to respond to cases and efficiently retain clients.

Clearly LegalMatch is not a fraudulent organization as you allege - we have been in business since 1999 and helped thousands of attorneys all across the u.s. grow their legal practices. We have already sent you 230 prospective cases, 141 of which you responded to. Why you haven't retained more clients is not entirely clear.

That's why we encourage you to work with your marketing manager to learn how to best use our service to increase your retentions. Or to put another way, work smarter, not harder. Your marketing manager can show you how making quicker responses to better clients, and avoiding wasting time on clients that have no case or can't pay, will improve your outlook about LegalMatch.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No, I do not accept the response. Their sale Las Vegas sale representative misrepresented and fraudulently advertised that all clients had the ability to pay for legal services, and the basis for the form of payment. That was a major selling point in his representation of "viable" client that "need to retain" an attorney. That representation lead into his statements that Legal Match was a referral service that our firm would have at least 4 retained clients per month ranging between $15-$20k in retainers. That is not the truth, it was misleading and done only to obtain some kind of reliance on his representation to execute their agreement.

The fact is of the 230 "prospective clients" as I explained (and documented) previously to their "marketing manager", I responded out of kindness to provide some advise. It is clear that all of these "legal match" potential clients/people need an attorney, they are lost, but cannot afford to pay for one. Most, if not all, have stated they only seek an attorney on "pro bono" or free basis. They cannot or, not willing to pay or afford legal services.

This practice and information was all well known to the legal match representatives as the complaint against them have been documented for years.

The fact is our office responded to each client, after initial emails. In Legal Match's response they wants you to respond immediately after an email. Yet, in talking with the potential client, they stated that (1) they wanted to wait until they reviewed or received our email; (2) we have been hung up upon; (3) they only wanted information and could not afford an attorney; and (4) provided inaccurate information to begin with.

As I also explained their marketing approach does not work of a conservative and low income demographic area such as Riverside/San Bernardino County. I also informed them, that their area was too large. Potential clients in Indio are not going to seek an attorney some 80 miles away, in Corona, when there are many other attorney's closer.

Additionally, I was never provided the 10 day grace period to review and find out what Legal Match was or if their representations were true. From what I can see, Legal Match is only interested in attempting to suck money from unsuspecting small businesses.

Now, I have a chance to reviewed numerous other complaints by similar small law firms, as mine, where LegalMatch has done the exact same deceptive advertising to entice execution of their agreement and has done this kind of deceptive marketing over numerous years. These facts were and are material and never disclosed. I certainly would not have signed any agreement had I had the opportunity to investigate legal match's representations and had the 10 day trial use and know what I know now.

Having been in business since 1946,our firm knows how to close clients that can afford to pay for legal services, even those on limited budgets.

Final Business Response
There seems to be a misunderstanding about what LegalMatch does and how we help lawyers build their practices. We are not a legal referral service - that is clearly stated in your membership agreement and we differentiate ourselves from traditional referral services throughout our website. We also never make promises about specific case volume or dollar amounts generated since so many variables are out of our control, such as the time it takes an attorney to respond to cases, their hourly rates, and their professional experience.

Responding to 141 prospective clients that you feel can't pay your retainer out of the goodness of your heart, while admirable, does not make good business sense. That is valuable time you should be using to focus on viable clients who can pay your bills - cases that LegalMatch does have once you learn to target them, and stop wasting time on money losers.

The internet is filled with dissatisfied customers in all businesses, not just LegalMatch. One dissatisfied lawyer can post one negative internet comment about LegalMatch and it will remain visible in google searches for years and years. Satisfied LegalMatch attorneys rarely post internet comments because they are busy practicing law and don't want to ruin a good thing by encouraging more lawyers to join the service.

Finally, to complain about your coverage area is not fair, since that is what you negotiated for and purchased. If cases are outside your geographic area, you should work with your marketing manager to craft a new area that covers only the regions you practice in.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No, the response is not satisfactory. There is no "misunderstanding" based on deceptive representations. I do not wish to continue with Legal Match and have provided notice effectively of the firms cancellation of the contract based on the deceptive practice/misrepresentations made **** at the time of and to obtain execution. Legal Match's statement that "we never make promises about specific case volume or dollar amounts generated" if false based on ****'s representation and witnesses present in our office confirming such statement(s). The circular nature of Legal Match's argument is contrary to their alleged marketing consultant, whom stated, why "would we respond to all of the posted inquiries", even when you can tell that a response was a waste of time. Again, Legal Match is presumed by the applicant to be "free" and "pro bono" site where they want free advise, nothing more. Had Legal Match been truthful and accurate in this description, no one would ever sign with them, as the complaints continue to roll in against them. The best solution at this juncture is to mutually agree to termination of the contract and the parties go their separate ways. I am willing to waive the two months that I paid and wasted my time.

06/23/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

I was heavily solicited by Legal Match to enroll as an attorney in their "matching" service. I was promised things which were patently untrue.
I was recruited by a salesperson from Legal Match in December of 2014. I was informed that they were in desperate need of an Immigration Attorney in the San Diego area immediately. I was informed that there were no other immigration attorneys on the service in San Diego and that there was one individual in the LA area, but that he was not accepting cases. I was further informed that there were a "massive" amount of cases pending and "how many can I take?" Based on these representations, I thought the service would be an excellent way to build my business.

Based on these representations, I entered into a contract with LegalMatch for a fee of $750 per month. I pursued the leads that they posted, usually within the same day, and often within the hour, and quickly found the "leads" to be non-responsive. Many had non-working phone numbers and email addresses that were undeliverable, even within the same day as the posting. The system provides a mechanism where you can view whether your response has been viewed. At one point, of 50 responses, 35 had not been viewed over a series of several months. I provided a detailed list of client names, my contact attempts, and the non-responses to the marketing manager, expressing my concerns. I was told to "be more aggressive." I informed the marketing manager that a point quickly arrives after replying to a posting, sending an email, and leaving voice mail messages that are unanswered, that it is clear the person is not interested. I also indicated that to "be more aggressive" would be a form of harassment and completely unsavory behavior that I would not engage in.

When I have been able to reach a potential client, they inform me that they have been inundated with calls from attorneys. This is in direct contrast to what I was told during the "sales period" and what I have been told by my marketing manager regarding the number of responses to individual potential clients. I have had potential clients tell me that the number of calls from different attorneys is an "onslaught" and they were sorry they ever posted anything about their issue.

I worked with two different marketing managers regarding all of these issues. The first woman was apparently fired. The second person has been insulting to me and has indicated, in writing and verbally, that it is somehow my fault that I can't close these contracts. I informed him that it is impossible to close a contract when your response is never viewed and the contact information provided is invalid. He then indicated I "was smart enough" to figure out "how to get inside these people's heads" and asked how it was that I had been successful in my practice in another state. His tone has become more and more aggressive. I have documented via email our phone communications and sent my summaries to him. His response has been lackluster at best, and aggressive at worst. His advice is not well-founded. he is not an attorney, nor does he have experience with the special population I serve (immigration law.) I have 13 years of experience in this field and I find his responses to be unethical and abrasive.

I have paid well over four thousand dollars for this service and feel that it is an extreme waste of money. I have diligently replied to the postings, have been cooperative with the marketing people, have asserted my concerns over the promises made to me during the period prior to signing from the outset, and have been repeatedly either ignored or told that it is somehow my fault that I cannot close a contract.

This service is using sales people that are aggressive and using fraud in order to close contracts. The service does not provide quality leads and frankly, I do not believe that many of the leads are even legitimate.

I am significantly upset by the situation as it is causing me great financial stress and impacting my ability to care for an elderly family member who is dependent upon my income.

Desired Settlement
I am asking for an immediately cancellation of my contract based on the fraud that has been perpetrated during the "sale period" and the issues that have been ongoing during my contract.

I signed an 18 month contract based on the pricing that the salesperson offered for a longer term. I signed up in mid-December 2014. I paid $562 for December and then $750 per month since that date in five payments. I believe I am entitled to a refund of my payment made in mid-May as I had aired these serious and significant concerns prior to that date and had discussed with my "marketing manager" possible solutions. He has provided none that are feasible or ethical under the governing rules for attorneys.

Business Response
You signed an 18 month deal with LegalMatch, so it is understandable after only 5 months for you to not completely understand all the ins and outs of our service. Some examples: we currently do have a limited number of immigration attorneys in your region, and many more cases that remain unmatched. Occasionally clients don't want to be contacted by attorneys via telephone for work or personal reasons and instead limit their contact information to an email address. The "client views" you mention is not correct, as clients can be notified of an attorney's response via means other than by logging in to their account.

Practicing law is a business, and it appears you have some apprehensions about pursuing clients earnestly. We're sorry you disagree with the advice of our marketing managers (none of which have been fired btw), but the advice they convey leads to the greatest success. We can provide the venue and tools, but ultimately it is up to each attorney to secure the clients.

We are mostly confused about how you can claim our service is fraudulent when you have admittedly retained at least 5 clients, and posted responses on the majority of cases we have produced for you. We understand you believe the return on investment to date hasn't met your expectations, but that is very different then what you are alleging. Your contract reasonable negotiated and reviewed is completely legitimate, and we encourage you to continue to work with your marketing manager to aggressively seek out and secure new legal clients via LegalMatch.

05/13/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

LegalMatch has not kept up their end of the bargain, I have not been supplied with promised, exclusive, transactional leads or support system.
Legalmatch has failed to deliver quality leads as promised; it has not delivered the service promised and is misleading. The rep informed me that the area of Wills and Trusts was currently owned by another member who had just signed up but he had signed up predominantly for family law and he would speak to this individual and see if he would be willing to divest himself of that part of his plan in exchange for lowering his fee. I was delighted when the rep called back a day later and said that the attorney had agreed as estate planning and transactional work was not in his wheelhouse. I was promised 40-60 leads a month of wills/trusts work, that was NOT litigation, in my Washington State area which would be exclusive to me, i.e. everything but King County which I would share with several other firms. The majority of work that LegalMatch has had to date has been litigation based which is exactly what I did not want to do and was assured that this was not the majority of the work in Washington State, i.e. outside of King County. LegalMatch assured me that there was a very high conversion and that I would average a paid retainer up front for drafting wills of $1500 and for trusts $2500. I was also promised that each referral in the system had been pre-screened and prepared to pay my fees. The reality is I have spent dozens of hours reaching out to referrals who have indicated that they are not able to pay, or they thought this was an informational/free service and the two clients I have been able to retain during this time period balked at having to pay at all after their work was completed to their satisfaction I took a financial loss on my work and just cut my losses, i.e. nightmare clients. The incredibly either dishonesty from the sales person involved, or LegalMatch as a whole, either way I just feel used. I was also promised that I would have exclusive control over every county in Washington State except for King County, which was because of the high rate of volume coming out of King County. That too was either a straight out lie or I was incredibly mislead, as I log on daily and regardless of the County there are almost always already responses entered. LegalMatch is charging me for using ONE area, ONE, which if it had been as advertised, with clients who were ready to move forward and get their goals accomplished and those goals were transactional not litigation as I was promised then this would not be an issue. I have eagerly participated for several months now and I have never received a retainer up front from a client. If I have known this I would NEVER have agreed to sign up with this service or had dealings with this company. LegalMatch's sales tactics are both misleading and deceptive and the company should not engage in such promises if they cannot provide the type of work. If LegalMatch had approached me and promised me 10 probate/trust litigation cases a month, then that would have been a fair gauge, which I would have declined because I do not handle litigation, and I did not sign up for litigation, I signed up for transactional, I signed up for exclusive control, I signed up for working with a client manager who was supposed to be able to assist me with web design, assessing my website, assisting me with online marketing strategies both with the company and without. The marketing/client manager I worked with, her brilliant suggestion was just to call the potential clients more, when I tried to ask about website design and marketing, she knew nothing about the area and went right back to her script, WORTHLESS. I hope no rural attorney signs up with this company as they cannot keep their promises and their business practices are deplorable. I only want my money back, no company should be able to market a product to an area where they are not able to provide the services they are attempting to sell. I have asked to have my contract cancelled, but was denied.

Desired Settlement
I want my last month refunded, and my contract cancelled effective immediately.

Business Response
We are sorry you have so far been unsuccessful using the LegalMatch system. There seems to be a misunderstanding about how the LegalMatch system works. LegalMatch never promises exclusivity to specific client leads. We find that offering clients multiple attorney offers provides the best way for both attorneys and clients to find a proper match. Of course, in less popular areas of law and more rural parts of the country, it is possible to only have one attorney representative, but that is the exception and not the norm. The contract you signed with us specifically states that all leads are non-exclusive.

Also there is a misunderstanding about where you procure cases. Your office is located about 2 1/2 hrs away from Seattle in a small town, while you purchased the wills/trusts/estates coverage area for the majority of Washington state. It is not unreasonable to expect the majority of cases to be posted in the metro area of Seattle, or that people in this area might be unwilling to hire an attorney so far away. It could be you are targeting the wrong cases or need to shift your response messaging to indicate why, despite the distance, you are the right attorney for the job.

We believe you should work with your marketing manager to improve your online responses and dealings with clients. We have sent you 100 cases to date, 60 of which you made responses to. Obviously you must have thought there was something redeeming about those cases, or you wouldn't have responded. Your marketing manager will help you reduce the number of cases you make responses to and refine your messaging to save time and retain more clients.

After we facilitate the initial match, it is then up to each attorney to sign up a client and get a retainer before commencing representation. I am a little confused how it is LegalMatch's fault that you worked on multiple clients' legal cases prior to securing a retainer. I am also confused about how you say LegalMatch promised to develop your website and web design, as we have never been involved in either of these fields during our 14 years of operation, and both are never mentioned in your contract.

We remain committed to working with you to grow your legal practice. I note in our records there is no indication that you complained directly to anyone at LegalMatch about your concerns prior to posting this BBB complaint. I encourage you to reach out and use your marketing manager that is included free with your membership.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The reason I am not accepting this response is that they are not addressing the two key issues; first that their sales tactics were misleading, i.e. that I would have exclusive coverage of the state outside of King County, and second that they materially misrepresented what type of support system was in place which I was only able to ascertain after I had signed the contract and interacted with my account manager who provided none of the services that were promised such as web development, website enhancement recommendations, SEO guidance, and web marketing. LegalMatch overpromised and severely underdelivered and I have absolutely no desire to continue on with this company in a contract that they have not held up their end of the bargain. Again I am only asking for the last months fees to be refunded as it was only at that juncture that I was finally able to speak with my account manager after multiple attempts and once I had ascertained that she was not able to provide any of the services that had been sold to me I was done. The only acceptable outcome at this juncture is a termination of this contract because of the misleading sales tactics and material misrepresentation of services and support systems for a practitioner.

Final Business Response
We are happy to see you have decided to give LegalMatch another try - you have been logging in to our service consistently for the past month and a half. I also see your marketing manager has placed several phone calls and sent an email to you that have not been returned. Again, to make this partnership work, you need to use our system effectively, and part of that involves engaging with your marketing manager. Best of luck!

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am logging in because I have no choice, cancel my contract!! I am not giving LegalMatch "another try" are you out of your mind? Cancel the contract and let me be on my way. I will say it again, I want the contract cancelled. That is what I want, I want the contract cancelled, what that means is I go my way and you go yours, I want the contract cancelled, bottom line, in case you missed it, I want the contract cancelled.

04/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

No help, no support, no sales
I contracted with this company in February 2014 to provide qualified sales leads in the legal field. After a year of using their system, I still do not have a single client from their system. Meanwhile, I am spending $450 per month for a completely useless service. Then, when I was trying to somehow reach a mutual agreement to terminate my contract, I called every phone number listed on the company website without any response. Nearly 6 weeks later, I was contacted by a person who stated that he was my new client contact representative. When I explained to him that I wanted to negotiate a termination of my contract, he informed me that no one at the company had the authority to do that. However, an examination of this very website at the BBB clearly shows that this was done for another very dissatisfied person that was also scammed by this service.

This company makes claims that their vetting process weeds out people without the financial ability to pay for legal services, so that the attorneys are not wasting time on unqualified leads. This is simply not the case. The leads are full of people that do not have the funds to hire an attorney. Further, the make claims about exclusivity that are not true. I was told when I signed the agreement that I was the only attorney in my area that would receive leads in the criminal law field, but then leads were being responded to before I responded, so clearly that was just another false claim made by this terrible company.

I am looking to terminate my agreement with this company. Since they have received $5,400 from me so far and I have received exactly $0 in return for their service, this company should be happy with the fact that they duped another young attorney and simply take their money and run.

Desired Settlement
Termination of my service contract.

Business Response
We are sorry you did not find success with the LegalMatch system. Opening a new business is difficult: according to studies, over 80% of new businesses fail within the first 18 months. I imagine this number is even higher if the new business is opened by a freshly minted attorney looking to develop a client base.

In total we sent you 276 prospective cases over your 13 month term, 126 of which you responded to (46%). Obviously there must have been some value to these cases, or why else would you have responded to almost half of them?

You claim you received "no support" from LegalMatch during your membership, but our salesforce records indicate over the past year you have received over 20 communications from LegalMatch representatives willing to discuss your account.

You also allege that LegalMatch didn't "weed out" clients who can't pay. This is a misunderstanding about how our service works. Clients presenting a case on LegalMatch spend approximately 15 minutes completing our issue-specific questionnaire online, which includes questions about their income level and occupation. This information is then shared with our member attorneys, who can then quickly determine whether a client can afford their representation. We believe our system is much more efficient than the standard 30-minute free consultation, only after which you discover the client doesn't have any money. In our system, an experienced attorney can weed out clients who can't pay in under 15 seconds.

You also state there was some confusion about exclusivity. LegalMatch has never offered exclusive client leads. In fact, the 4 page membership agreement you signed says the exact opposite - that leads are never exclusive. A salesperson may have stated that after looking at your area of law and geographic coverage area, you would be the only attorney at this time, but that can change based on our fluctuating case volumes and the growing need for attorneys to service our clients.

As for why you didn't retain any of these 126 clients, we are not sure. We have no way of verifying how many clients you actually retained, no way of controlling how soon after a case posts on our system you responded, or what type of response you are making. Furthermore, once you get the client in the door, we can't control how you interact with the client, and how knowledgeable you are in the area of law the client needs help with. It could be you didn't have enough experience, or your prices were too high, or something else.

You told us you were terminated from your job at the law firm you worked with, and are now employed in construction. We are sorry for this turn of events, but believe it is reasonable to hold you to the terms of the contract you signed, as we continue to incur expenses delivering quality clients for you to respond to and represent, per our agreement.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Typical Legal Match. You refuse to stand behind your product or to admit that your system is a complete failure. Rather, you want to push the blame onto the attorney and say it isn't your fault that the "vested and qualified" leads never turn into actual clients. You offer a service that is useless, but then rather than standing behind that service, once you have the young attorney on the hook you simply fall back to the position of "we don't care that you don't have clients, pay us." In business, good business people stand behind the services they provide, they don't hide behind platitudes and false promises.

In your response, you state, "Opening a new business is difficult: according to studies, over 80% of new businesses fail within the first 18 months. I imagine this number is even higher if the new business is opened by a freshly minted attorney looking to develop a client base." So you acknowledge that you already know the difficulty of starting a new business. However, you certainly don't point that out in your sales pitch. Rather, you talk about how much Legal Match will help the attorney succeed, and how you cannot contract with a firm because you want to deal with the attorney directly to allow portability. What I understand now is that you only contract with an individual attorney so that when the business fails, you can still go after the individual! Once again, refusing to stand behind your product or take any risk and rather attacking the little guy by trying to hold their feet to the fire and suing them individually. You also fail to understand that the business I was in did not fail, as the law firm is still going strong. Rather, they chose to fire me for failing to produce revenue. Something that your company promised to help me do.

You also state, "In total we sent you 276 prospective cases over your 13 month term, 126 of which you responded to (46%). Obviously there must have been some value to these cases, or why else would you have responded to almost half of them?" I responded to the leads because that is what your client representatives told me would lead to clients. But the leads were terrible, filled with people who cannot afford an attorney at all. Then your reps advised me to offer free consultations, so then I began wasting actual time with people looking for free legal advice. Your model is terrible and your leads are not in any way qualified.

You then say, "our salesforce records indicate over the past year you have received over 20 communications from LegalMatch representatives willing to discuss your account." Discussing my account is code for a legal match client representative to tell me that he cannot understand why I'm not succeeding, that everyone else using legal match is seeing success. So clearly it must be me. You are filled with false promises. Then, when I try to discuss what's happening to me regarding my termination, I get absolutely no response at all for six weeks. Instead my calls get directed to an empty voicemail box that doesn't even have a name attached to it. Only after calling every corporate number I could find in the U.S. was my phone call finally returned. And then I was met with a rude individual who refused to connect me to his superior when I was dissatisfied with his customer service.

You also say, "LegalMatch has never offered exclusive client leads. In fact, the 4 page membership agreement you signed says the exact opposite - that leads are never exclusive. A salesperson may have stated that after looking at your area of law and geographic coverage area, you would be the only attorney at this time, but that can change based on our fluctuating case volumes and the growing need for attorneys to service our clients." That is simply not true. I was told that I would be the only person in my area receiving criminal case leads. Period. Then, I see that other attorneys were responding to the criminal leads before me, so clearly you did not hold up your end of the bargain. Now you say that somewhere within the fine print of the contract you said nothing was exclusive. Funny how when you were trying to get me to sign you were all high pressure, telling me that there is only one spot available and if I didn't sign right away I would lose it. Another lie told by your sales team to grab onto the young attorney and squeeze him out of every nickle.

You then state, "As for why you didn't retain any of these 126 clients, we are not sure. We have no way of verifying how many clients you actually retained, no way of controlling how soon after a case posts on our system you responded, or what type of response you are making. Furthermore, once you get the client in the door, we can't control how you interact with the client, and how knowledgeable you are in the area of law the client needs help with. It could be you didn't have enough experience, or your prices were too high, or something else." This is the typical blame shifting that everyone in your company has been doing all along. Rather than admitting that your service is terrible, you blame the attorney that your service is supposed to be helping.

And finally, you state, "You told us you were terminated from your job at the law firm you worked with, and are now employed in construction. We are sorry for this turn of events, but believe it is reasonable to hold you to the terms of the contract you signed, as we continue to incur expenses delivering quality clients for you to respond to and represent, per our agreement." That is correct, I was forced to take a position working for a construction company. And since I don't have any money and have been forced to take a pay cut, I cannot afford your high fees for a worthless service. Rather than trying to destroy me, you should stand behind your product and void the remainder of my contract. If your system truly works, you should have no problem finding another attorney to take my place. But your unwillingness to do that only proves that you know your service is ****, and you cannot afford to let anyone go.

Basically, I was sold nothing but a bill of goods from your company. The "support" I was provided was usually nothing but blame shifting, telling me how everyone else was seeing success with legal match, so it must all be my fault. In the sales pitch I was told that your system would more than pay for itself, but that was clearly a lie since I spent $5,400 and received exactly ZERO in return. And now, rather than be satisfied that you scammed me out of that much, you want to hold me to a second year of a worthless contract. You really know what you're doing on that end, making an attorney contract with you directly so that if a firm fails you still have your revenue stream, while at the same time locking us into at least a 2-year deal, because you know that no one would ever stay with your service once they realize that the leads are **** and the support sucks. You are nothing but scam artists. I saw on the BBB website that you released another attorney after only one month on a 3 year contract, yet you are now unwilling to release me after you got $5,400. Why is that? Why are you allowing one person to terminate a contract but trying to force me to remain? And why would you not try to negotiate some sort of settlement for breach? When I asked to speak to someone about that, I was told no one ion the company had contracting authority. Clearly that is a lie, but I guess that's what I should expect from you since that's all I ever really got from this. $5,400 is money NOT well spent on legal match!

Final Business Response
I believe we are at an impasse ** reaching a solution via the BBB. You claim our system is a complete failure - how can that be true when we have thousands of happy lawyer members and have been in business since 2001? It is impossible to guarantee success with every attorney, but we try, and some of the responsibly must rest with the individual attorney.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There is no resolution offered. This business is a fraud and a scam, which is clearly evident by the numerous similar complaints the BBB has received on its website. What I find interesting is that they were willing to terminate a 3 year contract with an attorney after only 1 month, but are unwilling to do anything to settle my issue after they received a full year of payments.

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Attorneys Referral Service, Attorneys & Lawyers - Personal Injury & Property Damage, Attorneys & Lawyers - Criminal, Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy, Attorneys & Lawyers - Family, Attorneys & Lawyers

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 05/09/2002Business started: 11/15/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bar Association of California
180 Howard St
San Francisco, CA 94105-1614
(800) 843-9053

BBB records show a license number of 195391 for this company.

Type: Attorneys(State Bar)

Check License Status: Click here to view license info

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity


Incorporated: November 1999, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ken LaMance (Corporate Counsel)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Attorneys Referral Service, Attorneys & Lawyers - Personal Injury & Property Damage, Attorneys & Lawyers - Criminal, Attorneys & Lawyers - Bankruptcy, Attorneys & Lawyers - Family, Attorneys & Lawyers

Products & Services

Help clients find the right attorney or lawyer.

Refund and Exchange Policy

The LegalMatch service is free for consumers. Anyone can present their legal case on LegalMatch, and review responses from prospective attorneys. There is no obligation to hire any lawyer. Any retention fee is separately negotiated between the client and attorney.

Service Area

United States

Alternate Business Names, Inc.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

LegalMatch has received 4.43 out of 5 stars based on 7 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Photos & Videos


1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for LegalMatch

395 Oyster Point Blvd Ste 550

South San Francisco, CA 94080-1973

To | From


1 Locations

  • 395 Oyster Point Blvd Ste 550 

    South San Francisco, CA 94080-1973(866) 678-5342
    (415) 946-0857
    Fax: (415) 449-3648
    Fax: (415) 449-3648

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*LegalMatch is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 678-5342

Additional Web Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


Industry Tips for Attorneys Referral Service


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.