BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1996

Christison Company

(925) 371-57003090 Independence Dr Ste 100, LivermoreCA 94551-9469

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Property management Services.
Including manage existing and establish new Common Interest Residential and Commerical Property Associations. Governance, Business Management and Property Management License Agency.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/01/1996

BBB has determined that Christison Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Christison Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Christison Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
08/21/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was charged late fees due to incorrect address on file.
I purchased a new home on 01/29/13 with a HOA community. The loan paperwork has "present address" &"new address" and the HOA Company failed to use the new Concord (correct) address. Therefore my HOA bills were going to the wrong address (San Bruno) where I no longer lived or had access to the mail. I did have a forward mail on the San Bruno address but by the time I received a physical bill it had already been over two months overdue. I called at the end of February asking where my bill is and every time they said it's in the mail and verified the Concord address was on file but that was not true. I believe this is human error; someone saw the first address on the paperwork and didn't confirm. In my opinion this issue should have been a simple correction but instead, I have to deal with no help from the Christison Company and I feel my landscaping contract is in violation. I have been current on all monthly payments in full.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund: $472.50
late fees: $44.70
interest charges: $7.80
collection fee: $375.00
collection cost: $45.00

In addition have my account removed from collection and anything associated that could reflect in a negative way on my credit rating.

Business' Initial Response
Our office was contacted by the homeowner on July 26, 2013 regarding their assessment statement and fees that were on it for a property we manage in Wisteria of Concord Homeowners Association. The concern was that their account was sent to collections even though this was only the second monthly statement they received since purchasing the property at the end of January 2013. The communications between the owner and the Community Manager for the Association between July 26th and August 7th revealed the following: Association documents (including assessment statements) were being mailed to an incorrect address; the title company did not collect sufficient funds at close of escrow to cover two months of prepaid assessments as the Association requires; the account was already withdrawn from collections in the pre-lien stage since the owners paid the past due amounts. We have since updated the mailing address for the owner after they provided a change of address form. The original mailing address we had on file came directly off of the recorded grant deed we received from the title company - we do not receive copies of any loan documents from the title company at close of escrow which may have had a different mailing address on them. While we would hope the title company would request an updated demand letter from our office with each new sale within this Association, we recognize that they used an old letter that was provided by us and it is not the fault of the owner if the incorrect assessment amounts were collected when escrow closed. With this in mind and because the owners brought their account current, Wisteria of Concord Homeowners Association authorized Christison Company, as their agent, to reverse all collection fees (and associated late fees and interest charges) from the owners account. This reversal was processed on August 8th and the owner was notified of this outcome via email that same day by the Community Manager. We thought that the issue was now resolved.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The original complaint of a credit for past late fees was not recognized. It was not our mistake; yes we did pay in full for the previous late fees, but only to keep out of collection. Our account still went into a collection status and was removed after numerous phone calls and e-mails.

Furthermore, after paying all this "extra" money in fees, our personal and community property has received overall very poor maintenance and answers to other complaints from other Wisteria residences.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Association Management, Property Management

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/19/1996Business started: 01/01/1981
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Doug Christison (Partner)Customer Contact: Ms. Brigetta Picker (Executive Assistan)Mr. Adam Haney (Partner)
Number of Employees

34

Business Category

Association Management, Property Management

Industry Tips
Home Fire Protection
Preparing to Sell Your Home
Storm Clean-up Schemes Cause Additional Heartache
Ways to Keep Your Employees Happy
You Need to Hold an Estate Sale... Where to Begin?

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Christison Company

3090 Independence Dr Ste 100

Livermore, CA 94551-9469

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3090 Independence Dr Ste 100 

    Livermore, CA 94551-9469(925) 371-5700

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Christison Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.