BBB Accredited Business since

Peninsula Appliance Repair

Phone: (650) 363-2334 Fax: (650) 364-2334 1735 E Bayshore Rd  Ste 3B, Redwood City, CA 94063 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers appliance repair.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Peninsula Appliance Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Peninsula Appliance Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 27, 2011 Business started: 11/01/2007 Business started locally: 11/01/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronic and Appliance Repair
3485 Orange Grove Ave, North Highlands CA 95660
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041
The number is 44998.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
F. Apodaca, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: F. Apodaca, Owner
Number of Employees


Business Category

Appliances - Major - Service & Repair Appliances - Installation Appliances - Small - Service & Repair

Refund and Exchange Policy
1 Year Warranty on Labor and Parts on COD customers only
Service Area
This business service area covers the bay area.
Products & Services

We repair household appliances, all makes, models and brands.

Additional Locations

  • 1735 E Bayshore Rd
    Ste 3B

    Redwood City, CA 94063 (650) 363-2334


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/4/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Technicians said they fixed it, tested it and it was working. Not working. Third visit did not complete repairs. Manager refused further repairs Technicians worked on my washing machine on two occasions in one day, claimed they tested it and it was working. I tried to use it and it still not working. After several weeks of calls, they said they had parts to complete repairs. The new technician came but did not complete repairs because he said I created an uncomfortable working environment since i asked many questions and filmed what he was doing. I wanted to film what he was doing so that I could document what was wrong with the machine since they never gave me any information about the issues with the machine. ADDITIONAL DETAILS: Case is being handled by another organization: I've called the Home Depot warranty division

Desired Settlement: Their receipt says they guarantee parts and labor for 30 days. The first repairs were insufficient because the machine still doesn't work. I want them to fix the machine.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/03/17) */ Case#XXXXXXXX The first visit the technician ran the washer through a test cycle and operations were normal. On the next visit, the technician ran it through the diagnostic to find a problem with the transmission. The part was ordered directly through the warranty company. When the technician returned to replace the transmission the person there was videotaping him. This created an uncomfortable work environment. He asked the woman to stop videotaping because it did not allow him to do his job properly. The woman refused. The technician called the manager to explain the situation. The manager told the technician to ask the woman to stop videotaping or he would have to leave. Again, she refused. The manager then instructed the technician to pack up his tools and leave because the technician could not focus on his job, thereby creating a safety hazard. The manager then contacted the warranty company that we are in contract with and explained the situation. The warranty company apologized for the incident and referred the call to another vendor.

3/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: The problem with our dishwasher was misdiagnosed and this business acted in a most unprofessional manner to handle the complaint. Service dates: 1/31/2015, 2/11/2015, 2/21/2015 Problem date: 2/21/2015 Make/model: Thermador DWHD44EM/50 dishwasher Service Ticket: XXXXXX Total paid: $254.54 Total charged: $324.54 Our dishwasher would not turn on and we called Peninsula Appliance Repair to fix the problem. Things went smoothly enough during the first trip the service technician made to our house. The tech made some measurements and declared that the main control board was not working because there was voltage going into the board but nothing coming out. We were charged $160 to order the part and made an $80 down payment to have the part ordered. This was in addition to the $160 we paid to have the tech come to our house and perform the diagnosis. The board was ordered and arrived a week later. The tech came back and replaced the board and the dishwasher would still not turn on. After further diagnosis, we were told that the on/off switch was faulty and that only 80V was coming out of the switch when turned on. At this point, there was never any mention by PAR that a misdiagnosis may have happened. They just wanted to order the on/off switch and replace that without mention of the control board. I gave PAR the go-ahead to place the order for the on/off switch, but left multiple voice messages and sent an email asking them to bring back the original control board to reinstall in the unit. If a new control board doesn't work, how can it be that the old control board is bad for certain? None of my phone calls or email regarding this matter was acknowledged. Eventually the part arrived and when I finally did speak with a live person, I set up the third appointment but forgot to mention the control board. When the service technician arrived for the third time, he did not have the original control board with him. I asked him about it and he said that he was not told to bring the old board back and that it was with the other service technician working that day. We asked him to see if the other tech could bring the part over, but that was not possible. At this point the tech told us that if the on/off switch was replaced on this third trip, there would be no additional trip to replace the old control board, and that if we wanted the old control board, we would have to wait another week to get the switch and the control board replaced at the same time. I explained that having been without a dishwasher for over 3 weeks was affecting our lives very dramatically because we have two young children and the dishes pile up faster than we can keep up with. I asked him to at least replace the on/off switch and leave the control board for later when the issue is resolved between myself and a responsible manager. The tech would not do so unless I paid for the switch before the work was started and again stated that if the switch was replaced there would be no further visits to replace the old control board. I was beside myself about the way things were being handled and asked to speak with a manager, but he stonewalled me and said that no managers were available on that day (a Saturday) for me to speak with. I found this hard to believe as he was on his phone speaking with someone outside for quite some time, so to me it seemed he was doing what he had been told to do by someone with authority over him. After some back and forth about replacing the switch without any give on the tech's behalf, he stated that he had to go and that management would speak with me on Monday and that they would schedule another visit in another week to replace the parts. At this point he packed up his bags and left the house. I left yet another voice message and sent an email to PAR about how the day had gone and am at this point waiting to hear back from the business owner or someone with responsibility in the company.

Desired Settlement: I would like a complete refund of the $254.54 I paid the company to date. From the original misdiagnosis date of 2/11/2015 to when we get the unit fixed, there's the cost of paying a nanny to do the dishes by hand or to do it ourselves. We've ordered the on/off switch ourselves and expect to receive it on 2/25, so we expect to be compensated for being without a dishwasher from 2/11 to 2/25, which is 2 weeks. I estimate that we are spending 2 hours per day on the conservative side doing dishes, so this would amount to 28 hours of paying for a nanny to do dishes. Our current rate is $15 per hour to pay our nanny, so the total comes to $15x28=$420 extra we would be paying for this misdiagnosis. In total, I am seeking 420+254.54=$674.54 as settlement for this affair.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/02/25) */ We provided service for the customer on 1/31. The issue was the dishwasher was not turning on. The technician determined that the main board needed to be replaced. The part was $160.13 and the tax was 14.41. We charge $80 to diagnose and a flat labor fee of $70.00. The total would be $324.54. The technician ordered the part and the customer pre-paid $254.54. We returned to install the part on 2/11. At that time, the technician found that the on/off switch needed to be replaced as well. The customer was informed the cost of the part would be $49.20 plus the tax $4.43. The customer approved the repair on 2/13 and the part was ordered. We were scheduled to return on 2/21 to install the switch, however, the customer wanted the technician to install the switch then return with the old board because he didn't believe it was defective. The customer was informed that that decision needed to be made by the manager. He wanted to speak with the manager immediately. He was told that the manager would contact him Monday. He was not satisfied with that; so the technician left. The manager left him a message on Sunday and Monday. Later on Monday, the customer called the manager and they agreed that he would be refunded in full. Repairing appliances is not an exact science. We run diagnostic tests, we follow industry standard procedures, and we follow manufacturer protocol. More than one part can cause the same problem. We apologized to the customer and his refund was in the mail the same day that he filed the complaint. While we regret that the customer was not satisfied with the service, we do not pay for customer's personal home care services. We refunded the money paid for the repair and the issue is now closed. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/03/01) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I was able to speak with the business owner on Monday 2/23 and explain to him what had happened. After a lengthy discussion, we agreed to a full refund and a parting of ways. Even though I can't say that I am satisfied with this final arrangement, but I am willing to live with it and put it behind me.

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $325 to Peninsula Appliance to repair my front load washer & they didn't complete the repairs. This is not enough space to explain & I have a detailed description of the sequence of all events. I have been working with Peninsula Appliance & NSI to repair my washer since 7/24/13. Please contact me so I can send the word document that accounts for all activity related to this complaint. I had to have a different appliance company redo the work I paid Penninsula Appliance to complete.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the $325 I paid for the washer repair that was not completed by Peninsula Appliance.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/21) */ BBB ************* ******** ****** In July, we received a service request from Warrantech CPS for a washer making a knocking sound. Our technician found floor damage and the unit leaking prior to our service. He repaired the tub spindle and checked the hoses. The unit tested well. In August, we received another service request from Warrantech CPS for the unit leaking. Our technician determined that unit needed tub bearing, front tub, inner basket and boot. Warrantech then referred the call to another vendor. In September, we received a new service request from Warrantech CPS for the same problem, unit leaking/knocking noise. Warrantech would not warranty the parts, they had to be ordered under the manufacturer warranty. Our technician replaced tub bearing, front tub, inner basket and boot. He found no leaks and the unit tested well. The customer paid $325.00 for the labor only. The cost was $375.00 and we gave the customer a $50 discount. In October the customer called again saying the unit wasn't working. At this point, her warranty company, Warrantech told her they would not warranty her claim. Our technician went out as a courtesy and found a completely different problem; the unit needed the pulley. Our technician replaced pulley, belt, and screw and repaired the dispenser at no charge. Later in the month, the customer called again saying there was still a problem. Our technician returned to find a loose hose and secured it. Again, we did not charge to the customer. There is no reason for us to return the $325 labor charge to the customer. At this point, all of the parts that have been installed have not failed. The customer received a discounted rate on our initial labor charge. We have returned and replaced other parts without further charges to the customer. We have helped them when their warranty company would not; we have been more than fair with this customer. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/02/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) At this point, I am less concerned about reimbursement & more concerned about making sure that BBB has a record of the complete disregard for other people's time, lack of internal communication & communication with customers, subpar diagnostic capabilities, improper service & proven poor workmanship this company offers. (Ex. I can provide photos of the damaged parts & missing screws that were left off & behind by this company & then taken off-site when I brought it to their attention... a heating element that posed a fire hazard & was damaged due to prying when they disassembled the drum to replace bearings & wasn't brought to my attention by them, but pointed out immediately after the machine was pulled out by another appliance repair company & something that technician noticed in seconds.....) I only hope to prevent other consumers/customers from having to face similar experiences. From the get go, I sensed a general lack of concern or annoyance toward their customers & whether it was genuine or brought on by their lack of organization or staffing, the result was an unsatisfactory customer experience. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/02/07) */ Response #2 BBB Case ********* ******** ****** Peninsula Appliance required payment for services rendered, either by the customer or the warranty company, Warrantech. In her complaint, Ms. ****** actually states that the warranty company instructed her to pay Peninsula Appliance the labor charge of $325.00 and then submit the invoice for reimbursement. Warrantech did reimburse Ms. ****** the $325.00 that she paid, on check #XXXXXXX, dated January 3, 2014. According to the complaint, ******** ******’s desired resolution was to be refunded the $325.00 she paid to Peninsula Appliance. This resolution has been met.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Peninsula Appliance Repair
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)