BBB Accredited Business since

National Appliance Service

Phone: (415) 479-6131 View Additional Phone Numbers 20 Joseph Ct, San Rafael, CA 94903 http://www.nationalapplianceinc.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers retail sales of all major brand appliances.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that National Appliance Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for National Appliance Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on National Appliance Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1964 Business started locally: 01/01/1964
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Bureau of Electronic and Appliance Repair
3485 Orange Grove Ave, North Highlands CA 95660
http://www.bearhfti.ca.gov/
Phone Number: (916) 999-2041

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Charles Fradelizio, Owner Ms. Rebecca Ritter, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles Fradelizio, Owner
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies Refrigerators & Freezers - Service & Repair Appliances - Major - Service & Repair Appliances - Small - Service & Repair Dishwashing Machines - Service & Repair Aerial Lift - Repair & Maintenance


Additional Locations

  • 20 Joseph Ct

    San Rafael, CA 94903 (415) 479-6137

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
12/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: National Appliance damaged our refrigerator door while replacing the door gasket. They promised to repair it, but to date they have not. On February 12, 2014, ******** from National Appliance came to our house to replace the refrigerator door gasket on our Kitchen Aid refrigerator (Model # KSSC48QTSOO, Serial # QUXXXXXXX). He had apparently already installed the new gasket, when I came into the kitchen and witnessed him placing a screwdriver in the door jam of the refrigerator and smashing the door closed. I was shocked and inquired what he was doing. He said he was "adjusting" the door. I asked why the door needed to be "adjusted" when all he was doing was replacing the gasket. Upon inspecting the door, I also noticed the right hand door was no longer flush with the left door. It also had no suction and barely remained closed. He promised it would repair itself and become suctioned again in a few days. If not it could take a couple of weeks or even up to 6 months. Then he left. Upon closer investigation, I noticed the lower part of the inside of the refrigerator door had been pulled away from the frameso you could see inside (or behind) the doorand the new gasket was torn! It appeared that the gasket had been pulled off rather forcefully, rather than carefully removed. On February 13, I called National Appliance to report my dissatisfaction and request a new technician come out. The receptionist said she would send their most experienced technician, ***** out on February 25! Nearly two weeks later. **** arrived and agreed that the frame had been pulled away from the door and that the door should be flush. He also agreed that the door was not closing properly. He suggested some adhesive could fix the problem. I was very upset because, up until now, I have had NO problems whatsoever with my refrigertor. It was in pristine condition other than the gasket being torn. **** said he would come out another day to fix the door. I heard nothing back from ***** On March 7, 2014, I called National Appliance. The receptionist said **** could come on Monday, March 10. No call on March 10. So I called on March 17 and receptionist said ******** could come out. I don't want ********* I asked for ***** She checked our file and there was NOTHING noted about a refrigerator repair. She said **** would look into it again and call us back on Monday, March 24. He never called. On April 2, 2014, I called National Appliance again and asked the receptionist the status of our refrigerator. She said the file indicated it has been fixed. WHAT?! I requested a manager and they set up an appointment for me on April 4, 2014 with ******** ******* came and tried to glue the door. We were not satisfied with the result. It looks no better. The door is still not flush, the bottom of the door is still pulled away from the frame and the new gasket is still torn. We placed NUMEROUS calls to ******* over the next few months. He was either "on vacation", or didn't call back. On May 22, 2014, National Appliance called to say that ******* would be coming out today. Around 3:00, I received a call that **** would be coming. I didn't ask for ***** I wanted a manager! Gary showed up and wanted to put a few screws in the door to put it back together! On this day, I requested another appointment with *******. An appointment was set for May 30 and my husband also planned to attend. On May 30 both **** and ******* arrived. They tried to blame the state of the refrigerator door on shipping. "It must have arrived that way". Said it must not have been flush to being with. REALLY??!! We allowed them to try a few more things to fix it, but nothing helped. We have asked numerous times for themto replace the liner and fix the door back to it's original condition. ******* mentioned that he felt it was part Kitchen Aid's fault for designing a faulty door. He wanted to contact Kitchen Aid to see if they would pay for it. I called National Appliance on September 3, 2014 and left a message for ******* re status. We have heard NOTHING!

Desired Settlement: We are requesting full replacement of the right refrigerator door to restore our refrigerator to it's pre-National Appliance condition. This includes door, liner and new gasket.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/10/09) */ To whom it may concern, This is in regards to a letter recieved by my office for work done on Mrs. *****'s referigerator. When going out to Mrs. *****'s house the service technician manager and myself determined ultimately it needed a door liner. Explaining to her that this part is a factory back order, meaning that it is not readily available from any of our distributors. With this in mind we made sure to go on multiple trips to ensure that the referigerator was working fine and keeping her food cool. Her complaint is that it does not look brand new, however we made sure that it was working fine and keeping cold before we left. Work being done to Mrs. *****'s refrigerator has been extensively tracked by myself and my parts department and as soon as it becomes available we will fix it. I left her a voice message on June 25th 2014 to tell her that it make take a while before that part becomes available to us with no response. We are still waiting for this door liner, hoping to get it out to her and get the referigerator up to her satisfaction. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/10/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We have no evidence that national Appliance has placed an order for the part to replace the door. We cannot believe that Kitchen Aid would allow their customers to wait 8 months for a part. So I placed a call to the Kitchen Aid parts department, gave them our model number and serial number, and they confirmed that the part is available, in stock, and can be delivered in 10 days. We want National Appliance to make good on their promise to order the part and restore our refrigerator back to its original mint condition, at their cost. We would like this done in two weeks since the part is available. We are so tired of the run around!!

12/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: National Appliance in San Rafael, CA states in writing they have a 90 day warranty on parts, but after paying $272 in parts and not getting my dishwasher fixed, they will not refund my money. The owner now states that he needed my old broken dishwasher so he could remove the parts to refund my money. This is AFTER the old machine was removed from my premises.I purchased a part in June 2014, machine was not fixed, purchased another part in Aug. 2014, machine not fixed. Had to purchase new machine. Product_Or_Service: Kenmore Dishwasher

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund National Appliance owes me $272 for a drain valve and a control panel that I paid for but the problem was not resolved. Owner did not tell me that unless he received my old dishwasher I would not get my money back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/11/21) */ We do provide a 90 warranty on all the parts we installed and upon arrival to Mrs. ********'s house on 9/23/14 we replaced the control at no charge to her. Then on 9/26/14 replaced the drain pump which was tested and found the dishwasher was draining and working properly. Prior to these visits our service technician manager explained to her that we would be glad to give her a refunded check for the parts previously installed in her dishwasher if she were to return the parts to which she agreed. Our servicemen would come by and take the dishwasher to bring back to our shop to test and understand the cause for the malfunction and she would get her refunded check. We had our men ready to pick up the dishwasher, but later received a call that she would call back when the new dishwasher was installed. On 10/6/14 she said that the dishwasher had not been delivered and would call back. Regardless of the fact that we did not recieve any of the old parts, we have given Mrs. ******** her refund check. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 10, 2014/12/03) */ The business resolved the issue. Probably due to a letter from the BBB. Thank you! ****** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on National Appliance Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)