BBB Accredited Business since

Appliance Parts Distributor

Additional Locations

Phone: (510) 357-8200 View Additional Phone Numbers 16200 E 14th St, San Leandro, CA 94578 http://www.apdappliance.com/index.html View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Retail Sales of Appliance Parts.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Appliance Parts Distributor meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Appliance Parts Distributor include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Appliance Parts Distributor
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1963 Business started locally: 01/01/1963
Business Management
Mr. Michael Defazio, President Mr. Sil Defazio Mr. John Difazio, CFO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Defazio, President
Number of Employees

15

Business Category

Appliances - Major - Parts & Supplies


Additional Locations

  • 16200 E 14th St

    San Leandro, CA 94578 (510) 490-0600

  • 37250 Fremont Blvd

    Fremont, CA 94536

  • 6843 Dublin Blvd

    Dublin, CA 94568 (510) 357-8200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Refund Issue I did have bad experience with Appliance Part distributor (APD) Fremont. My refrigerator stopped cooling, freezer side was working. I called APD, they told me to change damper assembly. I bought damper assembly from them for $69 and replaced the part myself. That didn't fix the problem. I called them again and they gave me technician phone number and asked me tell technician that APD referred. I called that technician he came to my home fixed the problem in 20 minutes charged me $145. I went back to APD to return the part. They refused the return saying that they won't accept the return of electrical parts. I requested them a lot and even asked to give me back 50% money because the part is useless for me. He started arguing with me saying that I know part is non-returnable and I am lying. If I would have known that part is non-returnable then I would not have purchased it first place. APD never told me that part is non-refundable. I purchased the part based on his advice. The long story short that he didn't return the part and it cost me $145 + $69 = $214 to fix the problem.

Desired Settlement: I want to Return the part and get refund my money of $69.22. I have the original part with receipt that show $63.50 +tax $5.72 = $69.22.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/16) */ Electrical parts once installed are not returnable as we are not allowed to sell them as a new part. We will give customers advice on a problem and say things like it sounds like this could be your problem but NEVER say "this or that is the problem you need this part". Our return policy is very liberal compared to most stores but once a part is installed they are not returnable as again it is considered a used part all. If a customer is not sure of a problem they should call a technician. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/10/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I never said I didn't install the part. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/10/23) */ I honestly can't even believe this customer would waste our time trying to return a part that has been installed. I talked to the employee in Fremont who sold the part to him and this is the exact scenario as it went: Customer came in our store and asked what the problem could be with his refrigerator and our employee explained it could be one of 5 things and listed the possibilities. The customer chose to take the damper assembly as it was the least expensive part (which we had to order in from the San Leandro branch) and my salesperson at that time told him he should call a technician and at that time gave him ******** appliance business card as he was not sure that would be the problem. The customer installed the part and that did not fix the problem so he called ******** and they put in a fan motor to fix it. At that time the customer told ******* that he was going to return the damper assembly to APD and Robert with ******* even told him you can't do that it was installed. So he tried to return the part to us at first saying he never installed it but it was missing the insulating foam and he then admitted to installing it. As I stated before we have a very liberal return policy BUT once a part is installed we are not able to return it. State law mandates at that time the part is installed it then becomes a used part and two things come into play. Number one we do not sell used parts and number two electrical parts we often have no way of knowing if they are still working as many times the customers blow the part up internally during the installation. THIS PART IS NOT RETURNABLE AT ALL FOR ANY RESTOCKING FEE


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Appliance Parts Distributor
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)