BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers San Francisco apartments ranging from Victorian apartment houses to high-rise towers, and furnished, unfurnished, short term and corporate apartments.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Trinity Management Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Trinity Management Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Trinity Management Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 09, 1994 Business started: 03/07/1979 Business started locally: 03/07/1979 Business incorporated 03/07/1979 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jacky Lopez, Collection/Legal Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jacky Lopez, Collection/Legal Manager
Number of Employees

150

Business Category

Apartments Property Management Corporate Housing

Service Area
This business service area covers: San Francisco
Alternate Business Names
Trinity Apartments Trinity Properties

Additional Locations

  • 1188 Mission St, Box B

    San Francisco, CA 94103

  • 1190 Mission St

    San Francisco, CA 94103

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/30/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
2/29/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/2/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were locked out of our unit 5 days prior to our lease expiring and were forced to pay rent on those 5 days. We had a lease at ************* in San Francisco that expired October 15th of 2015. Our locks were changed on October 9th (which we have in writing occurred from Trinity) and were forced to pay for those 6 days which equaled roughly $1,038 dollars. While we were not living in the unit between October 9th and 15th, we needed access to it and were uninformed when the locks were changed. When we requested that that money be reimbursed, we were denied.

Desired Settlement: We would like the refund of our 6 days or $1,038 dollars that we were locked out of our unit at *************.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/15) */ There were two occupants on lease. Both signed a "Notice to Vacate" form informing us that they would be moving out on September 30, 2015. Their lease term end date was 10/14/15, so when we received their notice to vacate we informed them that although they would be moving out 9/30/15 they would still be rent responsible through their end of lease 10/14/15 unless we were unable to rent unit sooner. Manager also asked them if they were interested in revising their notice to vacate at that time in order to stay until 10/14/15. Resident declined and said he understood this and wanted to keep the 9/30/15 move out date as it was noted and signed. On 10/2/15 we entered the premises to confirm move out. We confirmed unit was completely vacated but keys were not returned. We reached out to resident and on 10/6/15 resident confirmed yes they had vacated and wanted instructions for the return of keys. Residents were instructed on where to return keys. On 10/12/15 week after the email on key instruction, keys were returned. Resident understood terms of lease as he confirmed in email. Charges assessed were fair in accordance with Rental agreement and with the law. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/12/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Under the terms of the lease and California law, if a tenant pays rent they are entitled to access to the unit for which they paid. In this case, Trinity Management accepted our rent payment and then locked us out of the apartment. Although we provided notice of our intent to vacate the premises, they were not entitled to lock us out of the apartment during a period for which we paid rent. We are only requesting reimbursement for the period for which we paid rent and were denied access to the apartment. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2016/01/20) */ Whether residents were in possession of unit or not they are rent responsible because their lease term end date was until 10/14/15. Furthermore, Resident stated they had vacated unit and we confirmed this on 10/2/15 with inspection.

1/27/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/25/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trinity Management is illegally charging me an extra month of rent after moving out I sent a moving out notice at 2000 Broadway St on 09/13/2013, moved out from my apartment on 10/13/2013 and I received during the legal 21-day period at my new address a move out statement from the landlord specifying moving date 10/16/2013. On this statement they are charging me a fictitious month of rent until 11/14/2013 for the unit and asking me money on top of my security deposit. This month of extra rent has no legal basis and Trinity has to comply with the moving out statement date they issued. They have to refund me at least $1,769 and stop trying to collect money for that apartment.

Desired Settlement: Refund of $1,769 minimum and end of their illegal collections attempts

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/05/19) */ Trinity served resident with a 3 Day to Cure or Quit Notice for illegal subletting on 9/11/13. On 9/14/13 resident provided Trinity with a 30 day notice with vacate date of 10/13/13. On 10/13/13 resident did not return possession of unit. Since resident did not move out he voided his notice and on 10/14/13 we canceled his 30 day notice to vacate in system. Resident then turned in keys on 10/16/13. We charged him back 30 days from the day he gave us new notice of move out, which was from 10/16/13 until 11/14/13. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2015/05/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The only notice to vacate was given on 9/14/13. There is no "new notice of move out" or any other notice given by the resident or landlord after the October move out. The move out statement was sent right right after the unit was vacated on 10/13/13. There is no law or provision of lease allowing a landlord to charge 30 days after a move out in California. The business did not complain about the keys and did not change the locks. I have extensive papertrail showing that I have been living in a new place since September 2013. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/06/10) */ Trinity's original position has not changed. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2015/06/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Trinity failed to explain under which section of law or lease they are charging me after moving out and failed to provide what they claim to be a new notice of moving out. In contradiction with the business response to this complaint, Trinity own written moving out statement is indicating the correct date for my original notice of moving out and October for moving out. There is no law or provision of lease allowing a landlord to charge 30 days after a move out in California. The business did not complain about the keys and did not change the locks, did not send a notice of default or an unlawful detainer complaint. I have extensive papertrail showing that I have been living in a new place since September 2013.

4/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Won't return security deposit after leaving apartment. I have lived in apartment 2021 at 1188 mission street I have left the apartment on March. Won't return security deposit after leaving apartment. I have lived in apartment 2021 at 1188 mission street I have left the apartment on March 7th. The company won't return my deposit and is asking me for additional 500 dollars after charging me for $1000 cleaning fees. An inspection for the apartment was scheduled for February 28 but no one from the company showed. I'm still living in the same building and no one could even think about sending me notice regarding that.

Desired Settlement: Return my security deposit back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/04/16) */ Hi ********, In regards to this complaint filed. We have contacted is customer directly and already resolved this matter. Thank you, ***** ***** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 11, 2015/04/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Trinity Management charged unreasonably high fees for simply service they provide at no cost of time or labor On Aug.XX XXXX, I left my keys inside the apartment and asked Trinity Management to open the door for me. The concierge had the back-up keys that was immediately retrieved(within 1 minute). They charged me for $50 dollars if I would like to have my doors opened. As evidence of my agreement to this charge, I was asked to sign a disclosure. Since the management only gave me one set of keys when I moved in and I lived by myself, I had absolutely no choice but to go ahead. However, on the disclosure, I wrote down that I disagreed with the charge and would pursue complaint to disclose my disagreement with their practice. This practice on the Trinity Management end was essentially no different from hijack for two reasons. First, their charge is totally unjustified given that they can provide the service at no cost. Second, for residents that live alone like me, if we do not sign the agreement even though we very much disagree with their practice, we would be homeless. Forcing someone into using some services and faking agreement on paper is a huge violation of consumer rights.

Desired Settlement: My request of settlement is very simply and reasonable - I demand full refund of what I paid for services that Trinity Management provided at no cost.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/10/03) */ This is in response to Complaint #XXXXXXXX regarding two lockout fees charged back to corporate account tXXXXXXX. McKinsey& Company rented ***** at **** ******* for their employee Mrs. ***** ****. As this was a corporate rental account Mrs. ***** **** did not sign a rental agreement with Trinity Management, her employer McKinsey& Company guaranteed and rented an apartment from us for her. The rental agreement states that "If the landlord is required to assist Resident in gaining entry to an apartment, Resident shall be subject to a lock out fee. Landlord may charge Resident $50 for each occurrence." McKinsey & Company signed and agreed to all of the rental agreement terms. Our records indicate that Mrs. ***** **** requested to be let into her apartment on two separate after business hours occasions which were on August 19th at around 10:30pm and then again on August 24th at around 8:40pm. During both of her requests to be let in she was asked to sign a Lock-Out Report. The Lock-Out Report also notes that there will be a $50 lock out charge fee. Residents are not obligated to use our after- hours services, they are also welcome to use a locksmith of their choice and at their own cost. Mrs. ***** **** is asking for a full refund for monies that she did not pay us and McKinsey & Company who paid and took full responsible for the rental is not disputing. The charges are fair and consistent with the law, policies & procedures of Trinity Management Services, and these terms were agreed to in the lease agreement. Thank you again for all your assistance during this process. Regards, ***** *****

12/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I left my apartment **** ****** ***** in pristine condition when I checked out on 10/12/2013 but only received $2,060 of my security deposit back. I left my apartment **** ****** ***** in pristine condition when I checked out on Saturday, October 12, 2013 and expected to receive my full security deposit of $2,309.00 back. The manager *** ****** reassured me that the full amount would be sent to me in 21 days. I was understandably baffled to receive a check for $2,060.00 and a move-out statement that listed $249.00 worth of unreasonable charges. My towels were left clean and neatly folded. (I was never asked to specify the original condition of these and other items.) Many of the furnishings were in poor condition when I arrived. The sink, for instance, had a number of crudely patched cracks, and the mattress cover was stained and obviously worn. Prior to my departure, I made certain that the carpet was shampooed and ready for the next occupant. Given the above clarification and my many fruitless attempts to resolve my grievance with ******* Management Services directly, it is my hope that the Better Business Bureau will be able to assist me with my claim. I am requesting that a check for the outstanding amount ($249.00) be sent to my ****** address as soon as possible. Thank you in advance for your time and cooperation.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that a check for the outstanding amount ($249.00) be sent to the following address as soon as possible: ** ****** **** **** ******* ****** ******* ** XXXXX Thank you in advance for your time and cooperation.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/21) */ After Mr. ****'s move out on 10/12/13, a final walk through was conducted to assess damages and to determine if any further cleaning was necessary to return the apartment to move in condition. During the initial walkthrough before move out, the resident was provided with the "Resident Move-Out Preparation Guidelines" information sheet. This sheet goes over what we expect from our residents prior to move out, in order to return the apartment in the same condition as when they moved in. We determined that 1 hour of cleaning was necessary to return the apartment to its original move in condition. Our housekeeping staff cleaned the bathroom sink, bathroom mirror, medicine cabinet, bathroom countertop, bathtub, and toilet. The charge for move out cleaning is $95/hour. Mr. **** was charged $95 for the cleaning of his unit. During the final walkthrough, we did not see any evidence that the carpet had been professionally shampooed prior to move out. This was scheduled by the property manager before the next resident moved in. The charge for carpet clean in a studio is $110. Mr. **** was charged $110. Mr. **** was charged for replacement 2 face towels, 2 hand towels, 1 nylon shower curtain, and one zippered mattress cover. These items were stained, and not suitable for re-use. This does not constitute as normal wear and tear. The total charge to replace these items was $44.00. These charges are accurate and will remain as is. Mr. **** was never advised that his full security deposit would be returned. Consistent with California law, a statement of deposit was mailed to his provided forwarding address within 21 days of his move out date. The charges deducted from his security deposit are fair and consistent with the law, policies & procedures of Trinity Management Services, and these terms were agreed to in the lease agreement. The remainder of his security deposit will not be refunded, as they were necessary for the turnover of the apartment. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 9, 2013/11/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept Trinity Management Services' response. Their comments are unjustified, and I would be happy to supply photographic proof of the clean condition of my room on the date that I checked out. When ****** the first property manager, checked me in, there was a different standard for check-out expectations: when I arrived, I received a checklist that asked for the quantity of certain items rather than their condition. ****** specifically emphasized that I did not need to worry about detailing stains, tears, cracks, etc. in order to receive my full security deposit back.) For the reasons that I have already enumerated and the fact that my apartment was thoroughly cleaned prior to moving out, I rightfully deserve the $249 that Trinity Management Services is withholding from me. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2013/12/05) */ Mr. ****'s apartment was not left in an acceptable condition in preparation for the next move in. Our expectations for check out procedures were clearly outlined in the ''Resident-Move Out Preparation Guidelines'' form, as well as the Initial Inspection checklist that the resident received during initial inspection. Resident agreed to the terms in the lease agreement. Section 20 of the lease agreement states''Resident shall surrender the Premises upon termination of tenancy in as good as condition and repair as received... Resident understands that Resident is responsible for the cost of repair to ALL damages beyond normal wear and tear in or about the Premises.'' To return the apartment to rent-ready condition, one hour of cleaning was required. These areas included the bathroom sink, bathroom mirror, medicine cabinet, bathroom countertop, bathtub, and countertop. Normal wear and tear to the apartment fixtures such as stains, cracks, tears, etc. are not charged back to the resident. Resident was charged for cleaning, as dirt does not constitute as normal wear and tear. Resident was charged $95.00 for one hour of cleaning. $95.00 is the standard, across the board hourly charge for all move outs if cleaning is required. We had to replace two face towels, two hand towels and one nylon shower curtain for stains beyond normal wear and tear. The conditions of these items were not suitable for use by a new resident moving into this unit. Therefore the resident was charged back for replacement of these items. The total charge was $44.00. The charge will stand as is. The resident did not have the carpet professionally shampooed prior to move out, and this was required to return the apartment to move in ready condition. The standard charge for carpet cleaning in studios is $110.00. The resident was charged $110.00. This charge will stand as is. These charges are fair and consistent with the Lease Agreement and California law.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Trinity Management Services
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)