BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers apartment rental services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fillmore Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fillmore Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fillmore Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1998 Business started: 10/01/1998 Business started locally: 10/01/1998
Business Management
Ms. Crystal Martin, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Crystal Martin, Manager
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

Apartments Property Management

Alternate Business Names
Fillmore Center Apartment` Fillmore Properties The Fillmore Center

Additional Locations

  • 1475 Fillmore St

    San Francisco, CA 94115

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was billed for replacing carpet which was stained when I moved in. They knew I was moving out of the country and sent an $18 account to collection. After a number of minor problems...I signed up for automatic debit of my monthly rent and received three late rent fees (never refunded) because they did not enter my account number correctly. I had serious issues after move out. I had no issue with painting charges or cleaning fees, but they charged me for replacing carpet which was already stained when I moved in. I did have one further stain which happened, but nothing worth justifying entire replacement of carpet. The company knew I was moving out of the country and took advantage of that to maximize retainment of my security deposit. I did not bother to fight it because I was 6,000 miles away when I found out. They subsequently sent the $18 charge to a collection agency (I refuse to pay because it was completely unjustified) which is currently still on my credit report.

Desired Settlement: Simply to have the negative credit report information eliminated.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/04/08) */ There currently is a balance due to the collection agency of $644.72. If former resident can provide the move in checklist that states there are stains in the carpet and linoleum, we'd be happy to remove those charges. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/04/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They knew the carpet was still stained when I moved in, as I had gone into their office to tell them. I do not have any of the documents because of the overseas move. They were fully aware I was moving overseas and I believe this is why they overbilled me. They also did not return my phone calls trying to resolve this with accounting and turned their underhanded overbilling of either $9 or $18 into this $644.72. They did not respond to my request for a copy of the billing of the $9 or $18 dollars or my request for the previous tenants move out photos to document the stains which remained when I moved in. Also, I never said there were stains in the linoleum, but it was not in perfect condition when I moved in. They also never corrected their error in my automatic payment request in my rental payment, which they misentered from my voided check, instead billing me late fees. I verified with Bank of America that they never had received any request for an automatic withdrawal from my account, but they refused to credit my account for the late fees which their error had caused. Given that they have had numerous complaints against their practices when it comes to the return of security deposits the overall lack of response does not necessarily surprise me. Also, considering that my apartment was not ready when they stated and their fine print says they don't actually guarantee that your apartment will be ready (despite the fact they already have your money) my guess is that their SoP is to do these things on a regular basis. They KNOW I should not have been billed for the carpet (the cleaning and removal charges I had no dispute with). I honestly did not expect much, given previous issues with the office (maintenance workers were always great) and am sure that they will continue to create issues for tenants when they move out. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2014/04/25) */ The Fillmore Center will eliminate the amount owed and report to the collections agency that there will be no balance owed. There will be no futher action taken. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 15, 2014/04/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There is no proposed resolution in this response. They knew I was moving out of the country when I left the apartment, my belief is that was a motivating factor in the overbilling...they knew I was going to be 6,000 miles away. On the automatic debits I was requested to bring in a voided check and the paperwork went through the leasing office (policy may have changed since then, but that is what the office had me do) I did so, and had three late payment charges before I cancelled the so-called automatic billing because I went in to the bank and asked them why the rent payment had not been made and they said they had no paperwork for any automatic withdrawals. I showed the leasing office my bank statements showing the money was in my account and that there were no overdraft fees so obviously there was not a transaction. Since they would not reverse the late rent fee even though they made a mistake I cancelled the "automatic withdrawal" which had never even made it to my bank. The carpeting should never have been billed to my security deposit in the first place. As I stated previously, it was stained when I moved in (especially by the front door) there was one additional small stain that happened when a friend spilled a little wine, but it was very faint. I tried calling accounting in the leasing office after I found out that the overbilling (for $9 or $18) had resulted in a collection account for $644 on my credit report, but despite the fact that I called twice, I received no return phone call. The posted "response" here by the Fillmore Center actually does not respond to either my first complaint or to my proposal for resolution made by private email through BBB. I do not feel that I am being unreasonable at all. It is not as if I am asking for a refund of the carpeting charge which I should not have been billed for in the first place. The fact that I was 6,000 miles away left me in a position where I considered the $900 or so as just water under the bridge, but to have their unjustifiable expense causing me credit issues six years later is unfathomable, all I have asked for is the negative credit information to be removed. Consumer Response /* (2540, 23, 2014/05/28) */ Consumer called and said the problem has not been corrected on her credit report as of today. Consumer Response /* (-5, 27, 2014/06/19) */ As of today, 6/13/14 they have neither completed the agreed upon removal or responded to requests to fulfill what they agreed to, I am still unsatisfied


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Fillmore Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)