BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/02/2005

Lovell's Antique Gallery

Phone: (415) 445-0941Fax: (415) 445-0942625 Grant Ave, San FranciscoCA 94108-2401

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company sales art and antiques.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/02/2005

BBB has determined that Lovell's Antique Gallery meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Lovell's Antique Gallery's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Lovell's Antique Gallery

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
07/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Con artist **** is charming and is a liar. He sold me $14,000. He entices by started with cheap pricing on several items. Those items he never ship
I should have researched ******** and **** before buying and paying $14,000.00 But when **** lied and it became so obvious when he said I would have a store credit for all the items he would not be shipping to us. Then I checked the reviews on Lovell's Antique Gallery on *** ***** in *** ********* on Yelp. All the reviews are terrible. Exactly what he did to us. this is a terrible reputation for *** ********* stealing people's money while bragging of being accredited by BBB ! never again will I trust BBB signs

ADDITIONAL DETAILS:
Case is being handled by another organization: American Express

Desired Settlement
ALL ALL ALL items I bought shipped to us NOW not in the future

Business Response
Issue has been resolved.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Resolved How ?? ****/ Lovell's Gallery enticed us into buying by selling us marble columns at $40 each and round table with 4 chairs for $500. Then they continued to "pressure" us to buy more at regular price. (We should have known better!). We spent a total of $14,000.00. 2 weeks later **** texted us that everything was ready to be sent to us, except for those pieces that he had entices us with. What a coincidence. The full price items were all ok but the cheaper items were damaged. He said I would have a store credit. But he has no website to buy from according to him. Wow, do I really look that stupid to ****??
People beware of this store in China Town.
AFTER all this happened I decided to look up any reviews on them. Needless to say, Yelp had all terrible reviews. Just cause it's not all reported to BBB, doesn't mean that this store should be accredit by BBB.
In my opinion they are con artist. They tell you that they have been in that location for 30 years and that the Better Business Bureau has accredited them. If anyone has any question please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX. I hope BBB will publish my phone, or at least my email ************************.

Final Business Response
Customer got their money back from credit card company a few days ago.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
the items I bought and paid for have not been delivered

Industry Comparison| Chart

Antiques - Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/27/2004Business started: 07/15/2002
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 2002, CA

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Abraham Magidish (President)Ms. Stacy Dano (Administration)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Antiques - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Alaea-72, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lovell's Antique Gallery

625 Grant Ave

San Francisco, CA 94108-2401

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 625 Grant Ave 

    San Francisco, CA 94108-2401(415) 445-0941

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in the San Francisco Bay Area and Northern Coastal California. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lovell's Antique Gallery is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X
X

Industry Tips for Antiques - Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.