BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

IAC is a full service adoption agency focused on infant domestic adoptions. The agency promotes completely open adoptions with a comprehensive set of services for both birth and adoptive families. The IAC also provides home study services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Independent Adoption Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Independent Adoption Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Independent Adoption Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 28, 1990 Business started: 09/01/1982 Business started locally: 09/01/1982 Business incorporated 10/27/1982 in CA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Ann Wrixon, Executive Director Mr. Ryan Schwab, National Director Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Ann Wrixon, Executive Director
Number of Employees

53

Business Category

Adoption Services

Service Area
This business service area covers: Nationwide
Alternate Business Names
IAC
Products & Services

This company offers Open adoption services, domestic adoption services, homestudies, and pregnancy counseling.


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Independent Adoption Center has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/28/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am writing to set out my formal grievance and to ask you to institute the grievance procedure. As clients we feel that I have been intentionally misled and openly lied to. This has placed a financial burden and high levels of stress on myself and my family. The treatment about which I wish to complain has been going on for some time but now it has become unbearable to the point where I need to ask you to investigate the situation formally. Examples of the treatment are as follows: At IAC orientation, IAC would have families come in and tell their story. Each family would tell the group "you WILL get a baby." IAC facilitators never once corrected these families with true statistics. These families were IAC's rare successful matches, and through their excitement they unknowingly lied on behalf of the IAC and IAC allowed this to happen on each occasion we were involved in such a meeting. Once we became clients and completed our home study our Adoption Coordinator became less helpful and more dismissive. After the first year communication between our and us Adoption Coordinator dropped off dramatically. IAC promised to market for us and optimistically informed us that few clients waited beyond 18 months. We have found this to be a lie. Not only have we been waiting well beyond 18 month with a very large number of other families, but IAC's response to marketing is to advise us to pay money to other third-party websites and do our own advertising. According to IAC's own revenue report for 2013, only 2.7% of their revenue was spent on outreach. IAC seems more interested in bringing on more clients then helping the ones the currently have. We received a letter back from *** ****** (public Relations agent station we paid 12k for a baby workshop. We did not agree or sign up for that. If that is what they felt we paid for then we did not see eye to eye on the contract and is requesting a full refund. We would also like them to stop lying to the public and request a full investigation into their funds. This is not an .org, but a .com. ****** and *****

Desired Settlement: Full refund and a change in there intake seminar where they say you will get a baby within 18 months.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/12/04) */ First, we would like to state that we are very sorry that the Clients are not happy with the agency's services. We believe this is a misunderstanding of the services offered by the Independent Adoption Center (IAC). No adoption agency, including IAC, provides babies to clients in return for fees. Clients pay IAC for adoption services including a home study, development of outreach materials and birthparent outreach services. Clients claim that an IAC alumna family at their information session on Oct. 20, 2012 said that they will get a baby, and no one from IAC corrected this information. However, the IAC contract signed by the clients on Feb. 22, 2013 clearly states, "Almost all of our clients do adopt a child, but this contract is not for a "baby" but for making the IAC's adoption services available to the clients." Clients also complain that contact with the Adoption Coordinator dropped off after one year. However, the case file reflects regular monthly contact with them via email as well as monthly phone calls until March 2014 when Clients requested less frequent phone contact. In a March 31, 2014 phone call documented in the agency's case notes the Client requested that their Adoption Coordinator contact them via phone every other month or so, rather than monthly. Their Adoption Coordinator agreed to their request but said she would still send them the monthly letter count emails and any updates, which she continued to do. In addition, the Adoption Coordinator continued to speak with Clients on the phone every other month or so. Clients also complain about the IAC's outreach to birthparents and that the agency only spent 2.7% of revenues on "outreach." The agency financial statements include a line item for "outreach," but also include several other line items such as "advertising," "printing," "postage," and "personnel" expenses that are exclusively or have a large amount of the total devoted to outreach to birthparents. The amount the agency spends on outreach to birthparents is between 20% and 25% of the agency's expenses. The contract that the clients signed clearly spells out the refund policies of the agency. The contract also includes a separate section outlining the refund provisions for the clients to initial, in addition to their full signatures at the end of the contract. Therefore, Clients were fully aware of the refund policies at the time of signing the contract. According to the contact, they are not entitled to a refund based on the length of time they were active with the agency. The Initial Join Fee (the only amount paid to date) is for services before the time of a match with a birthmother. These pre-match services that Clients received included the adoption workshop, adoption home study, assistance with the design and completion of their Adoption Letter, distribution of their letter to potential birthmothers and posting of their letter on our two websites for birthmothers to look at in selecting a family, counseling and support services, etc. The Clients received these pre-match services for over two years. Therefore, according to their contract, they are not eligible for a refund. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 13, 2016/01/07) */ During our investigation of IAC and their business practices, we uncovered extremely reckless financial management that has the potential to collapse the organization, causing hundreds of clients to loose their $15,000 - $20,000 investment in the IAC service. We believe these practices are illegal, unethical and will lead to the collapse of the organization, causing almost 600 families to loose $20,000 per family. Additionally, we have the following complaints: - IAC is managed in a way that appears to be a Ponzi scheme, the agency is taking in more adoptive parents (clients) on an annual basis while their finalized adoption numbers decline, creating an imbalance in their business that cannot be recovered from and that puts all client paid fees at risk, IAC will not be able to deliver services to many families having already invested over $20,000 per couple. - IAC accepts fees from clients that they know will never be matched to a birthmother to facilitate an adoption and they do not refund these fees completely when services are not delivered. - When clients raise issues regarding the agency's lack of service delivery, the agency retaliates against clients. - Since 2012 the number of waiting adoptive families (clients) has increased from less than 400 to 600 while the number of annual completed adoptions has decreased from 180 to XXX (XXXX) per year. With this trend, if IAC stopped taking in new clients (meaning no new revenue), it would take the company over three years to work through their current waiting client list, which is financially impossible to do, the company would go bankrupt first, this is a Ponzi scheme and unsustainable. - Despite the fact that wait time for adoptive families has gone from an average of 11 months in 2012 to a median of close to 20 months in 2015, the agency continues to advertise using false and deceptive terms such as "Adopt a Baby Quickly" in their advertising. - The agency consistently misleads and falsifies adoption wait time averages, using 2006 - 2014 averages in multiple places on their websites which totally distorts the reality of current, downward trends, why not show 2014 statistics? - The agency has a discriminatory and nonstandard refund policy, which they use to provide refunds to certain families and not to others. We have testimonials from multiple families that have been refunded various, inconsistent amounts that do not reflect the published refund policy. We have other families that are flat out denied refunds for services that were not delivered, usually the families that have expressed their concern or complained about the agency. IAC issued over $530,000 in refunds in 2013, over 9% of total revenue, doubling year over year. - In summary, IAC is preying on families' desire to create families while mismanaging the agency finances in a way that makes the organization unsustainable over the near term, putting 600 families at risk of losing their $20,000 commitment to IAC. The agency is abusive to clients and threatens to hold back adoption services or to put adoptions at risk if you raise issues with mgmt. In addition we never told our agency to stop contacting us. This is a blatant lie. Also, we signed a contract believing we were going to get a baby. We were told the average time was 18 months. Because we did heavy Marketing we believed it would of been sooner. Unfortunately, we received two calls during our three year wait with our 1-800 number we paid for. 1) a father was looking for his child that was put up for adoption. 2) a real birth mom was interested in us, and we spoke with her for hours. When we contacted our agency, we were told not to contact her back because she already matched with a different couple. We found out later that this did not happen and she decided to parent herself the baby. ***Document Attached*** Please don't close the case. We we're just told that we need to escalate our case to the California Department of Social Services Vs. The Attorney General we recently wrote to. Final Business Response /* (4000, 17, 2016/01/25) */ First, there appears to be a fundamental misunderstanding of the services that the Independent Adoption Center (IAC provides). No adoption agency, including the IAC, provides babies to clients in return for fees. Clients pay for adoption services. In this case, the clients paid the "Join Fee," which covers the following services: home study, Adoption Letter and online Profile preparation, and outreach services. The agency provided all of these services to the client. The client seems to believe that these fees included a promise of an adoptive placement within 18 months. This is not the case as outlined in their signed contract. The client claims that the agency operates a Ponzi scheme, but as stated above the agency provided services promised to these clients, as well as providing services to all other clients of the agency. Again, clients are not buying a baby, which is illegal. They are buying adoption services, and the contract signed by these clients clearly states that the contract is not for a baby. Clients also say that the information IAC provides to clients is false advertising. This accusation is baseless. The information that IAC provides to clients is accurate in regards to the average wait time for placement. In addition, the average wait time is not 20 months as the Clients claim. And there is no guarantee for an adoptive placement, as stated in their signed contract. The accusations that the agency retaliates against clients are false. The IAC has never retaliated against these clients or any other clients. The agency follows the signed contracts and performs its obligations under those contracts. An outside auditor prepares a financial audit of IAC's finances each year. Finally, the Client's claim that agency refunds are discriminatory and inconsistent is not accurate. The agency follows standard policies in issuing refunds and does not discriminate against clients. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 19, 2016/01/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We signed a contract believing we will get a baby with their help in less than 18 months. This did not happen Our contract was not signed with both parties signing with the same agreement. We we're told the average wait time to match is under 18 months. We waited 3 years to realize after many past IAC members shared it is a scam. They just collect money, but do nothing on their end besides provide a website. The stole money from us and many, many,many families!

2/24/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1) Breach of contract: promised services not rendered 2) Inappropriate grievance process: material false statements despite knowledge of falsity In its contract IAC promised to arrange an adoption and to make available to us “comprehensive outreach”, “comprehensive counseling”, “comprehensive educational” and “comprehensive support” services to facilitate the adoption. IAC did not provide these services in compliance with professional and the contractually defined comprehensive standard. As evidenced by IAC’s own published statistics, IAC failed to present our desire to adopt and our profile to 99.7% of the birthmothers that IAC has been in contact with: over the course of 16 months 3,988 out of 4,000 birthmothers were not introduced to our profile. IAC failed to present our profile to 98% of the birthmothers whom IAC had pre-screened and considered serious about placing a child for adoption by sending them parent profiles: 588 out of these 600 prescreened serious birthmothers were not introduced to our profile. As a result of the astonishingly poor outreach, IAC failed to facilitate any contact with a birthmother: no match, no contact, not even a question a birthmother may have had for us. IAC promised a “careful investigation” through an internal grievance process but, in fact, conducted an inadequate and superficial review filled with material false statements despite IAC’s knowledge of their falsity. In its review IAC states: “their profile being sent to birthparents is totally dependent on what they are open to on their profile form – such as the races”. Our desired child profile included several race options including Caucasian. According to IAC’s published statistics, 53% of its adopted children are Caucasian. As our options did include this particular race it can in no way be misused to justify IAC’s failed outreach to over 98% of its prescreened birthmothers. IAC states that “if the letter was not sent to the majority of birthparents, this was solely because of the limitations that ***** and ********* put on their profile”, which constitutes a clear misrepresentation of material facts as evidenced not only by IAC’s published 53% race ratio but also by the published detailed profiles of birthmothers. For example, during the from October to December 2013 we were introduced to not one while birthmothers with reference numbers 5326, 5353, 5330, 5381, 5394, 5396, 5399, 5400, 5416, 5408, and 5409 were a perfect match. IAC is adding insult to injury when it falsely states that its astonishingly low outreach (and over extended periods of time complete absence of outreach) “was solely because of the limitations that ***** and ********* put on their profile”. IAC further misrepresents material facts by stating: “We also encourage clients to consider opening up their preferences on their profile form so their letter will be sent out more often. ***** and ************* failure to do so (and, therefore, their profile being sent to a limited number of birthparents) is solely their responsibility.” As evidenced by our emails of November 17 and 23, 2013, we did in fact open our profile twice, adding more race options, mental health issues, drug exposure, and higher expenses payments. In the following month alone (December 2013) our profile matched at least 9 birthmothers, none of whom IAC introduced to us. The fact that IAC is misrepresenting these important material facts illustrates a pattern of always blaming its client and never assuming any responsibility. IAC asked us to do our own social media ads and pay our own outreach trying to unload its contractual obligations on its client. Promised Counseling and Educational services did not take place. What IAC mentions as education was a sales pitch event that led to the signing of the contract, after which no more training was provided. Email communications were largely standardized or mass emails inviting clients to help themselves and did not meet the contractually defined comprehensive standard. For three months our Coordinator was absent, which IAC failed to reveal at signing and int lead up to her absence

Desired Settlement: As a result of its breach of contract we are requesting a full refund of the paid $ 11,750 and $ 25,000 as indemnification of consequential damage / special damage of lost time in a process where age is a crucial criterion for a successful adoption. IAC’s reference to its refund policy is irrelevant, as it does not apply to a breach of contract situation where the agency did not provide the contracted services and created a consequential damage as a result.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/09/22) */ To: Better Business Bureau, Inc. Date: September 22, 2014 Re: Complaint Activity Report Response Case # XXXXXXXX Independent Adoption Center ("IAC") appreciates the opportunity to respond to the Complaint in the above matter filed by ***** *****. The Complaint appears to be two-fold: (1) promised services not rendered and (2) grievance process inadequate. Neither of these complaints is well-founded or justified. Services Rendered The clients signed a contract with the IAC. They paid for an initial join fee for pre-match services. They did not pay the full contracted amount which would have included services relating to matching and placement. The IAC contract has clear provisions describing the refund policies of the IAC. Based on the length of time these clients were active with the IAC (14 months), they are not entitled to any refund under the provisions of the contract. The pre-match services the clients received included an adoption workshop, assistance with the design and completion of their birthmother letter, distribution of their letter to potential birthmothers and posting of their letter on our two websites for birthmothers to review in selecting a family for 14 months, as well as counseling and support services. All education, support and outreach services specified in the contract were provided. The complaint that the IAC failed to provide these clients' profile to the majority of potential birthparents reflects a misunderstanding of what the clients were told about the IAC's services as well as the terms of the contract. The frequency of a profile being sent to birthparents is totally dependent on what the clients are open to on their profile form. The IAC provides monthly statistics to clients to show them how often their profile is sent. We also encourage clients to consider opening up their preferences on their profile form to encourage more birthparents to review it. It is important to note that the IAC does not introduce prospective birthmothers to prospective adoptive parents. The IAC provides profiles to the prospective birthmothers who make the sole decision as to whether they wish to contact the clients. The original Adoption Coordinator assigned to the clients went on maternity leave and another Adoption Coordinator was assigned to the clients. She worked with them and communicated with them and when the original Adoption Coordinator returned from her leave, the clients spoke very positively about their contact with her replacement during her absence. They never complained about services at the time. Grievance Process The Grievance Process in this instance was followed carefully and fully by the IAC which takes any client complaint very seriously and attempts to address it. Here, a full investigation was undertaken by the IAC's Grievance Review Agent who interviewed the Adoption Coordinator and reviewed all of the correspondence and e-mail communication between the clients and the organization. The Grievance Review Agent concluded that the IAC had followed all of its established policies and procedures and had adhered to every contract provision applicable. She wrote a lengthy response to the clients including her findings. While concluding that the clients were not entitled to a refund under the terms of the contract, she nevertheless made an offer of a refund of $2000 in the interest of goodwill and to resolve the issues. Apparently the clients have rejected this proposal. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 16, 2014/11/05) */ We are not satisfied with the response, which includes numerous materially false statements. We were awaiting mediation, which took place today, before replying to this BBB response. Unfortunately mediation ended unsuccessful as IAC did not make any settlement offer. The reply provided to BBB by IAC is full of materially false statements and tries to obfuscate and distract as the refund policy is entirely irrelevant in a breach of contract situation and a refund policy can in no way serve as a waiver to a breach of contract situation whereby IAC failed to provide the contractually defined services. Please kindly reopen the case. I am attaching the mediation note that includes the response to the materially false reply of IAC. Sincerely, ***** ***** Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2014/11/19) */ The Complainants were unwilling to negotiate at the mediation and ignored the mediator's advice that they should seek counsel to advise them regarding their claims and their damages. Each of their allegations was rebutted by IAC but they do not seem to understand that. This dispute is purely a breach of contract claim; compensatory damages are not available to Complainants under any legal theory. Additionally, the mediation session is considered to be confidential, so IAC does not believe it is at liberty to give more details. The parties are now proceeding to arbitration (at Complainants' instigation) under the terms of their contract. This dispute will be resolved there rather than in this forum. IAC requests that BBB close its file on this matter as the dispute is out of BBB purview and will be resolved through binding arbitration. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 20, 2014/11/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The business response is outrageous: The business breaches the confidentiality of the mediation process by revealing details from the mediation. IAC not only breaches the confidentiality in violation of the contractual terms of the mediation but IAC also represents the mediation in a material false way. In plain English: the business lies about how the actors behaved during mediation and represents our and its own role in a material false way, which the mediator can testify. The business then argues against "compensatory damages", which BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX is not even requesting in an obvious attempt to obfuscate from the two complaints made to BBB, none of which regard "compensatory damages". The BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX regards (cf. the original BBB complaint): 1) Breach of contract: promised services not rendered 2) Inappropriate grievance process In regards to (1) the business says nothing disputing the proven breach of contract but rather obfuscates by addressing irrelevant things and those that were not brought forward. In regards to (2) IAC continues to handle the grievance in a profoundly inappropriate way that does not meet BBB standards. IAC's answer demonstrates that IAC has obviously not even read the case BBB # XXXXXXXX as it is not addressing what is alleged. Additional evidence for the profoundly inappropriate handling of the grievance, which is below BBB standards: IAC accuses us for not seeking counsel even though IAC knows well that it is at our sole discretion to represent ourselves and, holding a LL.M degree, we feel perfectly fit to represent ourselves. The accusation of not seeking counsel is of outrageous arrogance as IAC must know that the BBB complaint mechanism is precisely designed to give consumers an avenue against powerful businesses to have their voice and their complaint heard without having to spend additional funds for legal representation after the financially weaker consumer has already been deprived of their money through the breach of contract for which IAC is responsible. IAC has in its inappropriate handling of the complaint materially misrepresented the law, repeatedly even after having been repeatedly corrected, insisting on its standard refund clause, which IAC must know is entirely irrelevant in a breach of contract situation. It bears additional irony that IAC is accusing a consumer of not seeking legal representation while IAC's own legal representation is repeatedly misrepresenting the most basic legal concepts. It demonstrates that IAC is taking this case not serious and not complying with its obligations under its agreement with BBB. We are requesting a serious reply that addresses the allegations and not the outrageous reply IAC has submitted to BBB.

11/5/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Representative assigned was neglectful and not thorough with her assignment. Upon signing a contract with IAC we were in agreement that we would pay up to $3000 in birth related expenses. After birth, a representative from IAC contacted us with credit card statements from the birth parents as well as medical co-payments in the amount of roughly $3000. The credit card statements were vague at best and showed very little in the way of birth related expenses yet our representative urged us to the point of threatening us of losing our baby, to pay these charges even though no receipts were given and the agency agreed that the charges were frivolous. We reached our maximum agreement of payment and then were presented with a bill for hospital bills not covered by the birth parents insurance. This bill is what our initial agreement of $3000 should have covered yet IAC urged us to use that money for the credit card bill. We are now being threatened that it is our obligation to pay this new bill with no admittance by IAC that their agency was inept. To summarize, we budgeted $3000 to help the birth parent with birth related expenses. We were told to pay her credit card bill without seeing any receipts to prove related expenses and now are being threatened to pay another $1900 or we are in breach of contract.

Desired Settlement: IAC should use the thousands of dollars in fees we paid to cover this newest bill as well as be responsible for explaining their inept representative to the birth parents.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/18) */ In response to Mr. *****'s complaint, we want to acknowledge that adoption is a very difficult and emotional process, and we are very sorry that he feels we did not provide the correct services in his successful adoption. The IAC's position is that we provided all of the services outlined in our contract, and that we did everything in our power to ensure that there was a successful adoption. I think we all agree that the adoption is successful as Mr. ***** and his wife are now in post-placement awaiting finalization. First, to clarify, clients agree to pay up to a certain amount in "living expenses." This does not include additional expenses such as medical costs. The $3,000 paid was for living expenses such as maternity clothes, food, and gas. The $1,900 was for medical expenses. This was explained to the clients in a letter dated Feb. 19, 2014, which stated, "It is also our policy that it is your responsibility to pay for all pregnancy related medical expenses that are not covered by your birthmother's insurance." Second, we did not threaten to remove the baby from his home, as the IAC did not have that legal right at that point in time. We did explain that the birthparents had the legal right to remove the baby, and might do so if their expenses were not paid. Mr. ***** signed the IAC contract, which states in part, " The birthmother can change her mind about the adoption before he child is born. The birthparents can block the adoption of their child after the birth, as well, " In addition, the contract states: " By signing this contract, clients acknowledge and affirm that they understand and accept the serious risks in adoption and agree to hold the Independent Adoption Center and its staff and officers harmless from all liabilities, claims and disputes concerning the completion of their adoption." Finally, Mr. ***** signed a document called "Toward a Successful Adoption," which states in part, " Money is a sensitive issue for everyone. Birthparents are often not in the position to fully support themselves throughout the pregnancy, birth, and post-birth periods. Though some birthparents may qualify for state funding such as Medi-Cal or Medicaid, the process of obtaining such funding can often feel demeaning. It is important for you as adoptive parents to understand that all reasonable, appropriate, and legal costs directly related to the pregnancy, birth, and immediate post-birth period may be your responsibility. "Typically, you will work out a budget with the birth-parents, with the assistance of the Center. It is equally important for you to understand that if hospital costs for the birthmother and baby are not paid for by insurance or Federal or State sources, you are responsible for these expenses. It is also important for you to understand that any money expended for the birthmother in connection with adoption is a gift, and, as such, is not reimbursable, even if the adoption cannot be completed. " In summary, we are very happy that Mr. *****'s adoption was successful, and we will continue to provide the post-placement support and supervision required to finalize the adoption. We believe that the expenses Mr. ***** paid are legal and within the confines of the living and medical expenses that were outlined in signed contracts, letters and verbal communication with Mr. *****. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/07/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We agreed to pay however still believe the initial money was NOT for pregnancy related items as NO receipts were given. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/07/31) */ We appreciate that Mr. ***** understands the importance of their paying the medical bills for the baby they are in the process of adopting, and he has agreed to do so. The resolution of this complaint involved Mr. ***** agreeing to pay the medical bills for the child they are adopting, which he has done. In his rebuttal Mr. ***** states that he still believes that the money he initially paid was not for pregnancy related expenses because no receipts were provided. The money for the birthmother's living expenses was paid retroactively. Therefore, the agency accepted the birthmother's credit card statement, in lieu of receipts, and Mr. ***** agreed to pay $3000 of the expenses on her credit card bill. At the time, Mr. ***** had a choice. He and his wife could have withdrawn from this potential adoption and chosen to wait for another situation in which there would not be this type of expenses. Instead, he and his wife chose to proceed with this adoption, and they agreed to pay $3000 for the birthmother's living expenses. Now, after the fact, he is objecting to the money they previously agreed to pay. Also, prior to Mr. ***** reimbursing the birthmother for her living expenses, the Independent Adoption Center had ******* ******* a New York adoption attorney review the items listed on the credit card statement that the birthmother requested reimbursement for. Mr. Warren verified that New York law (this adoption is taking place in New York) would approve those charges as pregnancy-related living expenses. Mr. ***** was aware at the time that the attorney had verified that these expenses were legally allowable without the receipts. As noted in our previous response, the Independent Adoption Center has determined that the expenses that Mr. ***** paid for the adoption of their child fall within the confines of the living expenses and medical expenses that were outlined in their signed contract with the Independent Adoption Center and in letters and verbal communication with Mr. *****.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Independent Adoption Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart