This business is not BBB accredited.

Peck Bookkeeping & Tax Svc

Phone: (707) 263-7973 501 N Main St, Lakeport, CA 95453


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Peck Bookkeeping & Tax Svc include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Peck Bookkeeping & Tax Svc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Peck Bookkeeping & Tax Svc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 25, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2008 Business started locally: 01/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

California Tax Education Council
PO Box 2890, Sacramento CA 95812
http://www.ctec.org/
Phone Number: (916) 492-0457
The number is A125701.

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Ms. Florence Peck, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Florence Peck, Owner
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Accountants

Products & Services

This company offers tax preparation, payroll and small business assistance.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    501 N Main St

    Lakeport, CA 95453 (707) 263-7973

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired ******for the 3rd year to prepare and file my 2012 taxes. She failed to do so or get an extension and never contacted me. ******sent me my prepared taxes via email on April 11, 2013. I was under the impression at that time my taxes would be e-filed before April 15, 2013. I followed her instructions for paying my CA state taxes when I spoke her her 2 days (Saturday, 4/13) before the April 15th tax filing deadline. At this point I have never once received a return phone call or email from****** . I have called since April probably 25+ times leaving voicemails and have sent numerous emails. I went by her office and no one was there. My step-father was able to catch someone at the office in June and he was told that an extension was filed for filing. He was also told that due to computer issues, she was behind in her preparations and that she would be contacting me. When I spoke to the CA Tax Board today (8/6/13) they confirmed that my 2012 taxes were never filed and an extension was never requested. I now must pay penalties and interest fees on top of paying someone else to prepare and file my taxes. I was unable to speak to anyone at the IRS to confirm that my federal was also not yet filed. All I ever wanted was a confirmation via phone or email about status so that I could handle my taxes separately if necessary.

Desired Settlement: If I am to pay fees, penalties or interest because Mrs. Peck failed to file my return in a timely manner, I feel that she should have to cover those costs.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Peck Bookkeeping & Tax Svc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)