BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Yellow Page Editions

Phone: (800) 210-8480Fax: (800) 418-7970

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

190 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 163 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues30
Billing / Collection Issues149
Problems with Product / Service11
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints190

Additional Complaint Information

BBB files indicate that Yellow Page Editions has a pattern of complaints concerning the company billing its customers for services the customers claim to never have signed up for. Your BBB contacted Yellow Page Editions on 10/15/13 and requested an explanation for the pattern of complaints, however, as of 10/25/13 no response was received from Yellow Page Editions. Yellow Page Editions typically voids the billing after receiving a complaint from BBB, but has yet to address the underlying pattern of complaints.

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (190)BBB Closure Definitions
01/05/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Yellow Page Editions keeps calling our company, saying we have an invoice an that we need to pay it. But we have never talked with them for advertisin
****** ******* claims to be an employee for Yellow Page Editions but always calls from Blocked Call.
An says we have an invoice with them that we need to pay, Account #XXXXX, Invoivce #EBL-XXXXXX Balance: $499.94. An once i tell her to send me my contract to verify she starts saying she will an we never receive anything so Im reporting this because Our company has never made any advertising with yellow page editions.

Desired Settlement
For Yellow Pages to stop calling an claiming we owe them money because we have never made any kind of advertising with them. An for them to stop billing us their invoice an stating that if we dont pay they are going to send us to collections.

Business Response
December 4, 2014

To ******* *******

We have recently received a complaint forwarded by the Better Business Bureau on behalf of the client ****** ******.Case File #XXXXXXXX

We would like to sincerely thank the Better Business Bureau for their efforts in providing mediation between the two parties concerned. Our objective is to provide a productive resolution that all parties will consider beneficial.

To begin with, we would like to declare and adamantly state that we apply all legal requirements when considering all potential contracts. We require that all sales efforts are secured with an audio-taping of the transaction. In addition we provide these recording at the client's request at request for review. Have personally reviewed the audio tape of this particular transaction and find that all information and initiatives were conducted in a comprehensive manner.

Although, we feel strongly that we have procured this contract in a lawful fashion we understand the overall grievances and concerns. We must consider that an oversight has taken place or perhaps a misunderstanding. Therefore, we have decided to cancel this account in full. Please note that this cancellation will include:

-the removal of the present online advertisement
-removal of charges according to latest invoice
-deletion of business information
-recognized as a "do not call" entity

Thank you for your consideration & diplomacy

Best Regards
***** *****
Public Relations Director

01/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This Company is trying to charge me for services I never asked for or wanted.
I started receiving phone calls from Yellow Page Editions saying that I owe them over $600 for a years worth of advertising. When I tried to tell them that I had never requested them to advertise for me, they told me that I agreed to their services via verbal contract over the phone. They offered to play the recording for me but when they tried I could not hear anything. They have been harassing me with phone calls for a couple months now, with every call the money amount goes up for "penalties and interest". I would just like this company to leave me alone. I never asked for their services, I never wanted their services, and I don't even know if they actually did anything for me.

Desired Settlement
I would like Yellow Page Editions to understand that I never asked for or wanted their services therefore I would like them to stop sending me bills and harassing me with phone calls.

Business Response
December 4, 2014

To ******* *******

We have recently received a complaint forwarded by the Better Business Bureau on behalf of the client ******* *****/Case File #XXXXXXXX

We would like to sincerely thank the Better Business Bureau for their efforts in provididng mediation between the two parties concerned. Our objective is to provide a productive resolution that all parties will consider beneficial.

We would like to declare and adamantly state that we apply all legal requirements when considering all potential contracts. We require that all sales efforts are secured with an audio-taping of the transaction. According to this recording there was a full agreement to the online services we offer. In addition, we provide these recording at the client's request at request for review. I have personally reviewed the audio tape of this particular transaction and find that all information and initiatives were conducted in a comprehensive manner.

Although we feel strongly that we have procured this contact in a lawful fashion we understand the overall grievances and concerns. We must consider that an oversight has taken place or perhaps a misunderstanding. Regardless, at this time we cannot consider an refund based on services and expenses that were issued, along with a full agreement of disclosure. However, we have decided to cancel this account in full. Please note that this cancellation will include:

-the removal of the present online advertisement
-removal of charges according to latest invoice
-deletion of business information
-recognized as a "do not call" entity

Thank you for your consideration & diplomacy

Best regards
***** *****
Public Relations Director

12/30/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
$499.94 of services billed cancelled by me in April 14, was told the contract would be terminated with my last payment; paid by phone; still billing
My photography business started in the summer of 2013. I contacted YPE to have them place my business on its site so people could link to my website. My YPE Account No. XXXXX. Invoice ***-XXXXXX for $499.94 continues to be mailed to me even after repeated calls.

After initial period of no hits to my website via YPE, I cancelled the service in April 2014 by calling YPE at its X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. I was told my services would be terminated with my next payment which I made over the phone at that time by paying $450 for Invoice ***-******(after YPE discounted the bill 10% for Easter special) on April 25, 2014. (My check reference was ****** YPE was to send me a letter of termination which I have never received. I believe the rep I talk to was ****** *******

I've received another bill (Invoice ***-XXXXXX) dated August 29, 2014 for $499.94 and have received several more of the same bill since then. I have called the X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. In my initial conversation (with ******* ext **** on or about September 24, 2014,she told me my services were not cancelled; that I had renewed my contract in March per a phone conversation with them; and I was on a yearly contract that started in March 2014. I told her I did not call them in March to renew my services and that YPE had provided me no new customer opportunities. I told her I ended my service contract in April 2014 with the $450 payment. I believe the initial agreement started around August 2013. She told me the conversations are recorded and I asked her to provide me with the recorded conversation. She was going to call me back with the recording so I could listen to it. After a week or so, ****** called me back but had trouble accessing the recording so she could not confirm that I had renewed my contract with them in March 2014.

An April 25, 2014 recording would also confirm that I terminated my service and paid my final bill.

I have received several more of the same Invoice ***-XXXXXX with letters regarding a non-affiliated YPE may be trying to get collection from members of YPE.

I called YPE - ****** on December 1, 2014 around 4pm and left a voice message to call me. Called December 2, 2014 morning with no pick-up then called the X-XXX-XXX-XXXX and talked to a rep who said I needed to talk to ****** who was in the office but "stepped away from her desk". I called again on December 3, 2014 around 5pm and the messaging system gave me no clear options to leave a message with YPE; it sounded like a generic messaging system.

I cancelled my service in April. Paid my final bill over the phone. Certainly don't think I renewed my service in March 2014. Would like Invoice ***-XXXXXX to be cancelled. Otherwise, I would like to hear the recording on April 25, 2014 where I contend I cancelled my service or the March 2014 recording where YPE contends I extended my service for another year.

Desired Settlement
Want YPE to cancel Invoice ***-XXXXXX for $499.94 or produce the recording from March 2014 that had me renewing my contract for another year and produce the recording from April 25, 2014 where I terminated my contract.

Business Response
December 11, 2014

To ******* *******

We have recently received a complaint forwarded by the Better Business Bureau on behalf of the client ***** *******/ Case File #XXXXXXXX

We would like to sincerely thank the Better Business Bureau for their efforts in providing mediation between the two parties concerned. Our objective is to provide a productive resolution that all parties will consider beneficial.

To begin with, we would like to declare that we have applied all legal requirements when considering all contracts. Moreover, this client has agreed to participate in the online services we offer to assist in their online presence and business expansion. These transactions have been duly provided and well-recorded & documented. According to our files, this client has utilized the benefits of our dedicated online services.

Although, we feel strongly that we have procured this contract in a lawful fashion we always consider the option of cancellation which is allotted to our clients providing they honor their commitment and agreement to provide annual online services. Regardless, at this time we have decided to provide a full termination and cancellation of services. Please note that our cancellation procedures include the following:

-the removal of the present online advertisement
-removal of charges according the latest invoice
-deletion of business information
-recognized as a "do not call" entity

Thank you for your consideration & diplomacy

Best Regards
***** *****
Public Relations Director

11/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
we did not have a contract with this company and they continue to call and ask for payment.
We did not ask for this advertising and was asked to verify the business information.
I checked with the BBB and found there are numerous complaints with this company. We do not advertise with them nor have we ever contacted them to advertise for us. They say they have a recorded message that we "accepted" their service. they said they will take us off their list after I pay this bill. If I pay this bill they turn around and ask for more money. I was scammed by YP look alikes too many times and I need this to stop. I will not pay another cent to scam artists. My company does not owe this company anything and they keep calling. I even asked them if they were a real company and they became very defensive. This company needs to be shut down due to improper tactics.

Desired Settlement
Just stop calling and harassing us. I will not pay a cent to this scam.I read about this company on the internet and they claim it is a scam.

Business Response
To ******* *******
We have recently received a complaint forwarded by the Better Business Bureau on behalf of the client ****** *******/ Case File #XXXXXXXX
We would like to sincerely thank the Better Business Bureau for their efforts in providing mediation between the two parties concerned. Our objective is to provide a productive resolution that all parties will consider beneficial.
To begin with, we would like to declare that we apply all legal requirements when considering all potential contracts. We require that all sales efforts are secured with an audio-taping of the transaction. These recordings are conducted and archived by a reputable and well established company. In addition, we request that the individual has the authorization to consider our online offer.
Although, we feel strongly that we have procured this contract in a lawful fashion we understand the overall grievances and concerns. We must consider that an oversight has taken place or perhaps a misunderstanding. Therefore, we have decided to cancel this account in full. Please note that this cancellation will include:
The removal of the present online advertisement
Removal of charges according to latest invoice
Deletion of business information
Recognized as a "do not call" entity
Thank you for your consideration & diplomacy.
Best Regards,
***** *****
Public Relations Director


11/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am the owner of ****** ******,***** I was sent and invoice from yellow page edition that I did not authorize.
I am the owner of ****** ******,***** I was sent and invoice from yellow page edition that I did not authorize. Spoke to my shop manager and he said that a ****** called him from yellow pages editions and he gave her the office phone number. She left me a message saying that I owe $284.94 of an invoice that I authorized. I tried calling the phone number that she left me and I could never get through to her. I keep on getting invoices and today I called #X-XXX-XXX-XXXX talked to a women and she said that I needed to pay this invoice or else. The invoice number is EBL-XXXXXX dated August 8, 2014. I refuse to pay this bill because I did not want the advertisement.

Desired Settlement
I will not pay this bill and I do not want this to go to a collection agency. My company has outstanding credit and I do not want this scam to harm my business.

Business Response
To ******* *******
We have recently received a complaint forwarded by the Better Business Bureau on behalf of the client ****** ******** Case File #XXXXXXXX
We would like to sincerely thank the Better Business Bureau for their efforts in providing mediation between the two parties concerned. Our objective is to provide a productive resolution that all parties will consider beneficial.
To begin with, we would like to declare that we apply all legal requirements when considering all potential contracts. We require that all sales efforts are secured with an audio-taping of the transaction. These recordings are conducted and archived by a reputable and well established company. Under no circumstances do we allude to associate our business with that of any other business entity. I have reviewed the audio tape of this transaction and find that all information and initiatives were conducted in a comprehensive manner. As a final note, I would also like to clearly express that under no circumstances do we report to any kind of credit bureau or financial institution. Our efforts are to assist in establishing and building a business - not to cause further disruption of business endeavor.
Although, we feel strongly that we have procured this contract in a lawful fashion we understand the overall grievances and concerns. We must consider that an oversight has taken place or perhaps a misunderstanding. Therefore, we have decided to cancel this account in full. Please note that this cancellation will include:
The removal of the present online advertisement
Removal of charges according to latest invoice
Deletion of business information
Recognized as a "do not call" entity
Thank you for your consideration & diplomacy.
Best Regards,
***** *****
Public Relations Director


Page 1 of 36
11/12/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
complaint against false advertisement and scam
Received a fax billing for $499.94 plus $9.50 late fee for services we never signed up for or received. l never signed up with this company, but they claimed I agreed to sign up by playing false and inaccurate recording. I paid for the service because I didn't want to have any bad reputation with my company. I paid $499.94 with debit card and I can't even find my name on the listing. I have Acct #XXXXX, Invoice # EBL-XXXXXX and this happened on March 28, 2014. I get a call today 09/15/14 for renewal and after asking them to cancel my account, representative claimed that I have to pay for $485 for last years payment. After telling them I already paid $499 representative said she will forward this claim to corporate and I will receive a call back and hanged up the phone. So after reviewing online regarding this company I see I'm not the only person with this complaint. Now I know this is scam by this company to collect more money. I want full refund and this company to shut it down.

Desired Settlement
i want full money refund because I never got any service for what I paid for. It was false advertisement and complete rip off. I never agreed in the first place.

Business Response
To ******* *******
We have recently received a complaint forwarded by the Better Business Bureau on behalf of the client ***** ********/ Case File #XXXXXXXX
We would like to sincerely thank the Better Business Bureau for their efforts in providing mediation between the two parties concerned. Our objective is to provide a productive resolution that all parties will consider beneficial.
To begin with, we would like to declare that we apply all legal requirements when considering all potential contracts. We require that all sales efforts are secured with an audio-taping of the transaction. These recordings & monitored calls are conducted and archived by a well-recognized organization. In addition, according to this audio receipt there is a full acknowledgement of the services we offer, as well as the price for our services. Therefore at this time we have agreed to terminate the account with the “said” organization. This termination includes the following:
• The removal of the present online advertisement
• Removal of charges according to latest invoice
• Deletion of business information
• Recognized as a “do not call” entity
However, we must also state that after careful review of this file we fell that a refund of services that were fully rendered would be considered biased and unwarranted. Hence, a refund has been denied at this time.
Thank you for your consideration & diplomacy.
Best Regards,
***** *****
Public Relations Director


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept their response because the businesses lied and used false recording to get money from me for supposedly advertising, but I never saw my business name on their website or anywhere on the Internet that they claimed they do advertisement. I never got any business or service I paid for. This company is cheating, lying and full of wrong doing. Their response didn't give any reason to why they do this or that they deny my compliant. I want them to show me or tell me where they made their advertising for my company.

08/14/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Fraudulent services, did not authorize this service yet am being charged and threatened with collections if we don't pay.
This company has been sending invoices demanding payment of $499.94. Invoice # **********, account# *****, dated february 14, 2014.
The bookkeeper did not know this was a scam so she had sent 3 $100 payments.
Check # ***** ****** ****** for *****
We never asked for a listing online and should not be told to pay. After researching that this "business" is a scam, I've informed the bookkeeper to cease any further payments. I have also faxed the company to ask for a refund and and copy of any contract they claimed we have signed for this service.

Desired Settlement
$300.00

Business Response
(please see attached or caselink for business' hardcopy response)

July l0, 2014

Dear ****** *****

We have recently received the complaint forwarded by the Better Business Bureau on behalf of the client **** ******** Case File XXXXXXXX.

We would like to sincerey thank the Better Business Bureau for their efforts in providing mediation between the two parties concerned. Our objective is to provide a productive resolution that all parties will consider beneficial.

To begin with, we must follow strict criteria and lawful procedures when introducing our services. Therefore, the potential participant must agree to the offer stated on the recording as well as providing confirmation of authorization. These agreements are clearly & comprehensibly agreed to according to recorded file of authenticity. At this time we are unable to consider a refund for services that were duly rendered.

Although, we feel strongly that we have procured this contract in a lawful fashion, and find it somewhat biased against our business, we understand the overall grievances and concerns of this plaintiff and have decided to terminate the account accordingly. Cancellations will include the following procedure.

*the removal of the present online advertisement *removal of charges according to latest invoice *deletion of business information
*recognized as a "do not call" entity

Thank you for your consideration & diplomacy

Best Regards
***** ***** Public Relations Director


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We NEVER agreed to the service from this company. They call and ONLY ask to confirm physical address. This is the extent of any so-called "consent". When we get these calls, the first ask to confirm mailing address and then begin to tell us they are sending us information, which then we respond "We are not interested." and hang up. There is no further dialogue.
They need to provide this recording they claim they have with our consent for this service. Though it does not exist.
Upon researching the entity online, many other complaints have been made showing that this procedure is simply a scam. This company poses as Yellow Pages to scam people.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We NEVER signed up for this service so any response claiming we have is unacceptable.


Business Response
Please see attached or caselink.

11/06/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I got a call from a rep. at yellow pages.com He talked me into advertizing and had to pay $5.00/month they send bill for $284.94
I got a call from a rep at yellow pages.com, he said for $5.00/month I can have my ad stay in the top 10 searches of certain search engines. aprox 3 weeks ago they called me to update ad at which time I wanted to cancel it. my finances are really poor right now. they said ok but I have an outstanding bill for $284.94. I said what for, they said the search engine took like 3000 hits where my name came up on them. no one had to actually click on my ad to be charged. I knew nothing about this method of billing I was told $5.00/month. The person was nasty and said I was told and had to pay the bill. I told him to send it. I should not have to pay this bill. Please help.

Desired Settlement
I would like the bill to be gone

Business Response
We would like to sincerely thank the Better Business Bureau for their efforts in providing mediation between the two parties concerned. Our objective is to provide a positive and productive resolution that all parties will consider as amicable and beneficial.

To begin with, we must express that there are a number of inconsistencies with this particular complaint. We are not Yellowpages.com. Furthermore, we do not charge a $5 per month fee.

Although, we do have this business entity registered as a client of ours, we always ensure that our sales efforts re secured with audio recording of the transaction.

We would also like to state that we do not have any association or affiliation with any other company.

Based on the present circumstances of this particular case we have decided that it would be considered in the best interest of all parties to terminate this account. Please note below the procedure applied in a cancellation.

-the removal of the present online advertisement
-removal of charges according to latest invoice
-deletion of business information
-recognized as a "do not call" entity

Thank you for your consideration & diplomacy

Best Regards

***** *****
Public Relations Director


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They did not make clear if i would have to pay the bill?

06/24/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
THIS COMPANY ISSUED MY BUSINESS A BILL FOR 499.99 AND DID NOT EXPLAIN WHY OR HOW I RECEIVED THIS BILL.THEY ALSO SAID THAT THEY WOULD HAVE A CAL TO ME.
THEY STATED THAT THEY HAD A RECORDING OF ME AGREEING TO THE SERVICE. WHICH I NEVER ACTUALLY AGREED TO BECAUSE THE PRICE I WOULD NOT ACCEPT.I WAS ORIGINALLY TOLD THAT IT WOULD BE $5.00 PER MONTH I NEVER FULLY ACCEPTED THIS STARTED BECOMING NERVOUS. I RECEIVED A BILL ONE WEEK LATER FOR $499.99

Desired Settlement
A EXPLANATION OF HOW THIS IS LEGAL AND HOW I WAS SIGNED UP.

Business Response
(please see attached or caselink for business response)

We have recently received the complaint forwarded by the Better Business Bureau on behalf of the client*************/ Case File ********.

We would like to sincerely thank the Better Business Bureau for their efforts in providing mediation between the two parties concerned. Our objective is to provide a positive and productive resolution that all parties will consider as amicable and beneficial.

To being with, it is apparent that there was a misunderstanding that took place between both parties. However, we would state that our recordings are thorough and comprehensive and conducted by a well-established firm. We are duly required to follow all existing laws and procedures accordingly. I have reviewed the audio tape of this transaction and find that all information and initiatives were conducted in a comprehensive manner. We do not consider fraudulent tactics to establish our clientele.

Although, we feel strongly that we have procured this contract in a lawful fashion, we understand the overall grievances and concerns of this plaintiff. We have considered that an oversight has taken place or perhaps a misunderstanding. Therefore, we have decided to cancel this account in full. Please note that this cancellation will include:

- The removal of the present online advertisement
- Removal of charges according to latest invoice
- Deletion of business information
- Recognized as a "do not call" entity

Thank you for your consideration & diplomacy

Best Regards

***********
Public Relations Director


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not support this response as there are other businesses that this company has done this too just like mine. They do not receive a contract from clients in a legal way. I would like to recieve a copy of the verbal contract because per laws any amount over $100 requures a written contract. Upon receiving the audio contract i will have a audio engineer listen to it. Upon his findings i will decide on pressing suit against this company

06/24/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They keep billing us and making very rude calls for services we never ask for.
They keep billing us and making very rude calls for services we never ask for. Total scam! They have me as account #27125 and invoice #********** dated 2/21/2014

Desired Settlement
Stop billing and calling.

Business Response
(please see attached or caselink for hardcopy response)

We have recently received the complaint forwarded by the Better Business Bureau on behalf of the client *******************************.

We would like to sincerely thank the Better Business Bureau for their efforts in providing mediation between the two parties concerned. Our objective is to provide a positive and productive resolution that all parties will consider as amicable and beneficial.

To begin with, we would like to declare that we apply all legal requirements when considering all potential contracts. For instance we require that all sales efforts are secured with an audio-taping of the transaction. These recordings are conducted by a well-established firm. Hence, we are duly required to follow all existing laws and procedures accordingly. I have reviewed the audio tape of this transaction and find that all information and initiatives were conducted in a comprehensive manner. We do not consider fraudulent tactics to establish our clientele. In addition, we take pride in offering quality customer service. We find it alarming that this complaint stated that they were treated rudely. We will look into this matter.

However, we understand the overall grievances and concerns of this plaintiff. We must consider that an oversight has taken place or perhaps a misunderstanding. Therefore, we have decided to cancel this account in full. Please note that this cancellation will include:

- The removal of the present online advertisement
- Removal of charges according to latest invoice
- Deletion of business information
- Recognized as a "do not call" entity

Thank you for your consideration & diplomacy

Best Regards

***********
Public Relations Director


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I would very much like to hear the recording of this tape please forward it to me as well as the Better Business Bureau. This was done fraudulently and the person who called me several times was very rude. Please listen to your tapes since you referenced it. Then I would like an apology for wasting so much of my time on this unsolicited advertisement and all other things included in their response.

01/08/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
There were deceptive sales practices on a phone call which resulted in several invoices being sent to our organization.
In April 2014, one of our locations received a phone call from Yellow Page Editions. They started the call as if it were a customer service call and requested confirmation of the store's information. At the end of the call, the sales representative stated that they would be sending an invoice which would serve as their authorization for the transaction. The call was deceptive in that our local store manager thought they were dealing with the true yellow pages and that they were receiving the bill to determine at that point if they want to continue the service or not.

We paid $284.94 and requested that the service be cancelled; however, we recently received another invoice for $499.94. In calling the vendor, they have no recording of the cancellation and have stated that we agreed to a full year contract which would be $1,000. We supposedly received a discount for the first six months, but do not get the discount for the second two months. I do not show any proof that the commitment was a year, nor do I believe that we should be committed based on the original phone conversation.

We have tried to call several times to resolve this issue. During the last call, ******* the service representative became agitated on the phone, said she knew that we would tell her that the call/agreement was deceptive and hung up the phone. I do not feel that we should have to pay for this contract as we still have no proof that we agreed to a full year contract and the sales process is deceptive.

Desired Settlement
As a resolution, we would like the contract cancelled and for all the locations within our business to be taken off of the Yellow Page Edition's calling list. We do not want to do business with this organization further and would like to see action taken to resolve this issue.

08/08/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am being called to make a payment for online directory services (just under $500) for which I feel I was tricked into.
I subscribe to US Directory for an online listing of our fitness based company. I received a phone call from a number on my cell that was blocked but I answered it. I was under the impression I was speaking with US Directory about my listing. The agent asked to verify my address and business listing details. I asked to clarify who was calling and really believed that this was US Directory. The woman said i had requested a listing with them, etc. Shortly after verifying my account info, I began receiveing calls about owing $509.44 to them;invoice #XXXXX. I have never received anything in the mail about this contract or informtaion about how to make changes to my directory listing etc or even that the listing was live. I think the way they handled getting me as a customer was intentionally vague and preyed upon the fact that I am a current subscriber to another online dierctory, leading me to believe that is who I was talking to. I don't even know what the $500 gets me, one month? one year,etc.

Desired Settlement
Have Yellow Page Editions remove my listing and drop the request for payment

08/04/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I WAS NOTIFIED THAT I WAS ENROLLED ON THEIR WEBSITE.ITRIED TO EXPLAIN THAT I NEVER ASKED TO BE ON IT AND THEY SAID THEY HAD MY CONVERSATION RECORDED
RECENTLY I CONTACTED THE YELLOW BOOK TO HAVE MY BUSINESS LISTED .WHEN I GOT MY BILL I SENT 50$ JUST TO FIND OUT IT WASNT THE RIGHT BILL.YELLOW PAGES EDITION KEEPS CALLING ME SAYING THEY HAVE MY VOICE RECORDED BUT WONT LET ME HEAR IT.WHEN I TRIED TO PULL UP MY NAME IS WHEN I FOUND OUT ABOUT THE SCAM.THEY CALL ME PRIVATELY AND DEMAND MONEY VERY RUDELY.THEY ALSO HAVE CASHED MY CHECK AND HAVENT FOLLOWED THROUGH ON ANY SERVICES.I HOPE THAT THEY CAN BE SHUT DOWN BEFORE THEY FRAUD ANYBODY ELSE.

Desired Settlement
50.00

05/27/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
sending us a bill for services that we did not sign up for.
*** **** ******* *** received invoice #EBL-XXXXXX for $499.94 for some kind of internet listing. We have received invoices in the mail and on our fax machine invoice date is 2/14/14. I called the 800 number that was on the invoice XXX-XXX-XXXX and talked to customer service and they said that we had agreed to this service 6 months prior to the invoice and they recorded the conversation. I had them play back the conversation and at no point did we agree to these terms. Also I find it odd that they would invoice us 6 months after the so called conversation. Our account # on the invoice is XXXXX. I told them that I would not be paying this and the recording that they had is muffled and it was someone just asking yes and know questions and to verify our company information.

Desired Settlement
We would like for them to stop sending us a bill for a service that we did not sign up for.

05/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company is billing for services that were not agreed upon fully
The company contacted me, operating a very small business. They did not identify themselves clearly and said they were making a follow up call and wanted to confirm keywords for SEO. They then proceeded to list off keywords that define my business. I confirmed this, but then told them I needed to get off the phone immediately as they had called at a very bad time. They proceeded to tell me they would be sending a bill in the mail. I have just received this bill for $499.94. I did not agree to this amount, nor do I require the services they are apparently billing me for. I have since called 5 times, with no response. I went online and called Yellow Pages, but they alerted me to the fact that I am not one of their customers and that there is allegedly a scam of this nature going on.

Desired Settlement
I want them to remove me from their listing and to stop operating under seemingly false pretenses.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Yellow Page Advertising

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.