BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/03/2003

A Weathermaster Company, Inc.

Phone: (888) 232-9291Fax: (410) 675-16882115 Eastern Ave, BaltimoreMD 21231-3110 Send email to A Weathermaster Company, Inc.View Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides windows and doors sales, repair, and service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/03/2003

BBB has determined that A Weathermaster Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised A Weathermaster Company, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on A Weathermaster Company, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
07/20/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Two new Windows issued by manufacturer, PlyGem as original Windows sagging and not able to be locked. WeatherMaster will not install new Windows.
WeatherMaster sold me and installed new Windows for my home in the Sprinf of 2001 for a total of $3,300 (contract number XXXXX). I was given a lifetime warranty for those Windows by WeatherMaster (Insulator Premium Series). Sean *****, Director of Marketing, sold me the Windows.

Two of those Windows in the living room are sagging and cannot be locked and are accessible from the front porch and, for my safety, need to be replaced. PlyGem, the manufacturer, agreed to replace those two Windows with no charge to me and those two new Windows have been delivered to WeatherMaster. However, WeatherMaster reports they are no longer licensed to install windows in *********** *** where I reside.

I feel that, with my lifetime warranty, they should take care of finding someone to install the Windows and WeatherMaster should cover the cost of that installation or, reimburse me if I take care of the installation myself.

I have had problems with most of the Windows consistently since 2001. I have talked with Nick, Tim and Fontaine,WeatherMaster employees. Nick and Tim have been here many times to make repairs on the Windows.Qa

Desired Settlement
I would like WeatherMaster to have the two new Windows installed at their expense per my lifetime warranty.

Business Response
We have contacted Ms. ****** and have arranged to install her windows.

Consumer Response

*** ****** <***********@comcast.net>
Jul 19 (1 day ago)

to me
I tried to use the form on the website within the email but it would not allow me to submit it. The windows are scheduled to be installed on July 28th. I will email on the 29th assuming that installation is completed.

Sent from my iPad


Final Consumer Response

02/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The windows I purchased are either dective, sub-quality, but are nothing as they were advertised or stated by their salesman.
Cold air continuously comes through all the windows I purchased. When I open my curtains in the morning, I am hit with a blast of cold air. (It is like opening the front door.) Anytime I can go over to the window and feel cold air coming through the glass. I am unable to stay warm--I wrap myself in 1 or 2 blankets to stay warm in the living room (wearing thermal underwear under my outfit also); in the kitchen I have to turn up my thermostat (which is already set at 70 degrees) to stay halfway comfortable; in bed (my sheets are freezing when I get in) I had to add a thick comforter on top of my other blankets to stay warm though my head is cold all night due to the cold air coming through the windows. I have window shades and insulated curtains on the windows but the cold air still comes through. I have covered my bedroom windows and the double windows in the living with heavy gage plastic, but the air still gets through. I am a senior citizen (with health problems)and wanted to make sure I could stay warm during the winter. We lose our electricity on a regular basis--sometimes for 3-5 days--and I wanted to be sure I would be able to survive that. The salesman assured me these windows were energy efficient, would keep me warmer in the winter (and cooler in the summer), would make a big difference in keeping the outside noise out, and would save me money in utility bills. None of those statements were true (it turned out he lied to me about most everything he said--which was confirmed by a co-worker of his whom I spoke to regularly, and she told me she would be reporting him). When my heat is on, you feel the warmth of the heat but you constantly feel the cold air above. My heat comes on very often. My thermostat is set at 70 degrees--the temperature in the living room and kitchen fluctuates between 60 and 64 degrees. Walking down the hall towards my bedroom you can feel the drop in temperature when you enter. That room fluctuates betwen 60 and 62 degrees. What is even sadder is that my pets feel cool to my touch and race to sit in front of the heat vents to stay warm. They never did that before. My old windows were far superior to these, but the salesman assured me otherwise. He encouraged me to sign the contract which I really didn't want to, but I did. After a couple of weeks finding out how many lies this man told me, I asked my contact if I could please cancel my order. She told me I couldn't (though the windows hadn't been made yet as I understood). The other day I set a thermometer by a window in each room. Within TEN MINUTES, my living room and kitchen registered 50 degrees; the bedroom registered 40 degrees. I just don't know what to do.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to take their windows out and give me my money back. What I purchased was not even close as to what was advertised. Their salesman lied to me about most everything--even things that didn't make sense to lie about--perhaps he thought it was funny fooling a senior citizen. I am now living in my home where I am uncomfortable, very cold and worried sick about how low the temperature will fall when the electricity goes out.

Business Response
Re: Case # XXXXXXXX, ***** ******

Dear Ms. ******

We were contacted by Ms. ****** a couple of months ago about cold air she said she was feeling, and dispatched a service technician to inspect her windows and installation on December 19, 2013.

The technician conducted a thorough inspection yet found no defects with the windows. He discussed the issue with Ms. ****** and before he left, she signed our Service Work Order indicating that she was satisfied.

We would have preferred to hear from Ms. ****** directly if she was experiencing other trouble, or dissatisfied with the service visit. However, in light of this news, we will contact Ms. ****** and arrange for our General Manager to re-inspect the product and installation. He will also look into her dissatisfaction with the sales representative since her specific concerns were unclear.

We will update the BBB as things progress, onee we hear back from Ms. ******.

Sincerely,
***** ********
Service Manager

02/10/2015Problems with Product / Service
02/09/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I made a $1,300 deposit on 10/13/2015 for the receipt/installation of a window and a patio door. As of 01/05/2015, only the window has been installed.
I signed a contract, and paid a deposit of $1,300.00 on 10/13/2015 for a replacement window and patio door. I was told it would take 2 - 3 weeks to get window/door, and have them installed. I called the company on 11/13/2015 to find out the status. I was told both door and window was "scheduled" to be delivered to them on 11/20/15, and to call back then. I called back on 11/20/2015 and was told that the door and window wouldn't be delivered until 12/11/2015. I asked for a refund and was told no monies could be refunded because this was a "custom" patio door order. I was told the door/window would be delivered and installed by Christmas 2015. I personally went to their office on 12/17/2015. I was told I couldn't get a refund, and that they had the window but not the patio door. I was also told that the company they were purchasing the door from "went out of business" and it would be 01/21/2016 before I would get it. I left the business, but called them back on 12/18/2015. I asked to have the window installed. They set 12/21/2015 as the date, and they did come to my home on 12/21/2015 and installed the window. But I had to pay them $400.00. They said they would deduct this from the "final balance" due them. I didn't agree with this, but paid them another $400.00. I called again on 01/05/2016 to check on the status of the patio door. I was told that I would be called back, but after 2 hours of waiting I called them. They said they "had to check on it" and would call me back later. It's now four hours later, and I'm still waiting on someone to call me.

Desired Settlement
A full refund of the initial deposit. I have been waiting for over three months and feel that I am due something for the aggravation they have put me through. All of this work was supposed to be done before Thanksgiving day.

Business Response
Pursuant to our conversation, please note that we have been in touch with Mr. ******* and have completed his installation (with the exception of a service visit to complete his order). Mr. ******* indicated to us that he was/is satisfied and would remove his BBB complaint. Understanding that he is a busy person and has simply not had the time to do so, we wanted to reply in writing as per your instructions.
It is our position that any outstanding issues have been addressed and resolved, to the point where Mr. ******* has stated he may purchase more products and services from WeatherMaster in the near future. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX *****
Thank you

09/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They refused to honor the original contract, the windows were not ordered or installed correctly, and the customer service was not responsive.
1. We have multiple complaints with the window job; the whole thing has been a headache from beginning to end. The biggest is that the company refused to honor the contract we signed and wanted to increase the price.

**** *****, the salesperson, quoted us a price that included enlarging a window.
Several weeks after we signed the contract on 10/18/13 and paid the deposit, and at least a week after measurement, Sean called on 11/5 to say it would cost at least $1000 more due to the window enlargement which was part of the original contract.
He has been selling windows for over 15 years and should know how much to quote for a window enlargement.
We said that they should honor the original contract, but Sean insisted that we have to pay more or not install the window. At that point we wanted to cancel the contract because they could not honor the original contract but Sean said it was too late.
Finally, after several back and forth exchanges (including several times asking them to forward our email message to the appropriate person and receiving no response), and where they kept insisting that we had to pay more or not do the enlargement, we were left with no option but to just take the window and
not have it installed (and even then, they were not taking the installation fee for that window off the original contract until we convinced them to).

2. Another major complaint is that the windows were not ordered properly, and on every issue, we noticed it and brought it up, otherwise they would not have said anything.

They didn't order correctly, failing to order a tempered window for the bathroom,
and also they didn't order the correct patio door glass. Four of the windows and the patio door still do not have an Energy Star rating sticker, though we paid for the highest rating and according to **** from their company, Energy Star stickers can only be put on at the factory. One window has the wrong U rating (the one that was not installed).

3. Another complaint is regarding the installation.
We ordered and paid for sill replacement for all sills at the time of the contract. When the installers came they didn't have any sills with them and did not replace or repair any sills. We took the amount off the balance of what we paid, but the work we requested to be done was not done. This will cost us a lot more to fix now due to the rotting sills.

Both times the installers came out, they did not bring a ladder and so could not do the job correctly.

None of the windows (except the patio door) were installed with any weather stripping or anything else to fill in the gaps. Several windows had a gap of ¾" or more.

4.
None of the screens were really installed properly, and they do not fit properly. We paid extra for full screen windows, and **** said that it's a manufacturing issue and that he was going to call the manufacturer about it. We have not heard from him since then.

4. When **** came out to look at the problems in January 2014, he offered to enlarge the window for $400 ($100 less than in the original contract). They supposedly sent us a change order reflecting that, but we never received it. We asked several times that it be sent again but received no reply. We also requested that it be enlarged at no charge due to the extreme hassle, delay and headache. We received no response at all to several emails, even though we again requested that it be sent to anyone who could actually address our issues. When we were finally able to call, **** said that the offer to enlarge the window (which we never saw in writing) was off the table.

The second time they came out they asked me to sign some papers. When I started to look at them to see what I was signing, he said I couldn't see them.

Desired Settlement
We are requesting that
1. They enlarge the window opening and install the window at no additional charge due to the extreme hassle and headache that we have been through.
2. Every window that does not have an Energy Star rating label be replaced with a properly labeled window.
3. The window that has the wrong U value be replaced with the correct U value.
4. They replace the screens with properly fitting full screens.

Business Response
Since receiving the complaint on May 29, I've tried to reach the Raheems in hopes of scheduling a visit to see and discuss the work at their home. Unfortunately there seems to be a problem with their phone and I'm not even able to leave a message: "The subscriber you have dialed is not available or has traveled outside of the coverage area, please try you call later." Will try to reach them through email today in hopes of visiting with them next week.

Thank you,
***** *****
President
XXX-XXX-XXXX ****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. ***** ***** was able to come to our house on June 10 to discuss our issues (his staff may not have let him know that email is a preferable mode of contact for us).
In any case, he did listen to our concerns, and agreed that mistakes had been made. We agreed verbally to his commitment to remedy all of our concerns; however, no action has yet been taken.

Today, June 17, **** came to look at the remaining window that needs to be replaced as per the original contract. However, when we requested that he take off his shoes inside (as we do with anyone who comes to our house), he said that according to OSHA rules he can't. We then requested that he put booties/shoe covers on, and he said that he didn't have any. Then he found a small drop cloth in his car to use. He went into the kitchen to look at the window, and climbed up his step ladder, then he stepped directly on our sink without covering his shoes up with anything. When I asked him to not step there because that's where we wash/prepare our food, he was not very happy about that. I requested him to reschedule the appointment when he can bring the proper tools/equipment that he needs to do his job (such as shoe covers, necessary drop cloths, etc).

We are still waiting for all of the items to be addressed and we are still hopeful that ***** will take care of everything as we discussed, and soon.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We are not surprised by the responses we have been getting; it's what we have come to expect from WeatherMaster. We are not asking for any favors, we just want the job we paid for to be done correctly. Our complaints have not been addressed, but we keep getting the runaround and unprofessional conduct. We have had several visits from WeatherMaster and several promises about what they are going to do, but so far nothing has happened yet. We are waiting for a call from the manufacturer about the screens (they are ALL not fitting properly).
The verbal indication ***** gave us on June 10 that they would enlarge the window has now been withdrawn (apparently because we don't allow shoes in our sink!). Without going into too much detail, we had asked that employee to remove his shoes when he came in January; he didn't comply that time but simply went into a different room. This time we let him in with the drop cloth, but objected to him intentionally using the sink as his leverage. This is the 3rd time your employee and/or your contractor came to our house without the proper tools. The installers didn't bring a ladder either time, though it was clearly written in the order that it was required. Rather than being surprised, and accepting that you did something wrong, you are making excuses and trying to tell us how to run our house.
WeatherMaster has shown a lack of professionalism in writing a contract they couldn't honor, in incorrectly ordering windows, in coming out without basic tools to do their job and in not responding when issues came up. On top of that, they turn everything back on us instead of apologizing or admitting they did something wrong. If they have been in business for 28 years, how can they be so shocked that they need a ladder and shoe covers, or know what's involved in enlarging a window and how to order correctly? Instead of ensuring that the installers (who we found out were subcontractors/3rd party) had sills, Mr. ***** said we should have called them during the job. When we called/emailed before about the contract, we got zero response, so we don't know what difference calling would have made. Now he wants to charge extra to have them come out and do what they were supposed to have already done. That was not our responsibility to begin with. We are not paying anything more at this point because of all this frustration and runaround.
If a customer is not paying attention, everything might look fine, but then they might have an illegal non-tempered window in the bathroom (like we would have had), or rotten sills under the new wrapping (like we do), or different windows than what were ordered (like we do). In every step, we had to be vigilant and notice things or WeatherMaster would have been content to do the wrong thing.

We are still waiting for all of our requests to be met: the screens to be fixed, for a new complete kitchen window with correct U-rating (not just the panes), the enlargement of the window hole, and correctly labeled (we don't understand how the windows were not labeled in the first place, we're not sure what the documentation will show or what WeatherMaster is trying to hide). It's been three weeks since ***** came and nothing has happened.


Final Business Response
see attachment or go to case link for copy of letter.

Hi *****,

The BBB forwarded me the list of your outstanding concerns. I've also discussed them with ******* Windows.

With regard to the screens, the manufacturer is proposing to change the screens to a new full screen design they are developing. They believe you will be quite satisfied with the new design, and they are producing one for you to try. It is scheduled to be shipped to our warehouse this Friday, August 1. We will be in touch shortly to arrange delivery. If acceptable, new screens will be provided for all of the ***** windows free of charge.

With regard to the high dormer window, we're not sure why the locking mechanisms or U-value would be different. However, we will inspect this window at the time we deliver the new (trial) screen. If defective, the window will be fitted with new ***** sashes with proper locking mechanisms.

Attached, please find a detailed explanation that we believe addresses your other concerns. As always, feel free to call me if you have any questions, or if I can be of any other assistance.

Regards,

***** *****
WeatherMaster Custom Windows
**** ******* ******
********** ** XXXXX
************ ****
******@weathermaster-window.com

04/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The windows that were installed leak air when the wind is blowing.
I am dissatisfied and disappointed in the windows that were installed in my house. I purchased these windows on June 3, 2013, Order number XXXXX, at a cost of $6165. The sales rep was **** *********** They were installed mid July. My wife and I chose Weathermaster because my daughter used them and was satisfied with the product. When the sales rep came, I told him that we wanted the same model window that my daughter purchased. **** told us that we didn't need that model and to purchase one that he recommended. He never showed us the difference between the two. We took his advise. Also, my expectation was that the window would have a finished look on the inside of my house. Instead there is a large bead of calk around the window. It looks terrible.
When the weather tuned colder I noticed that there was air coming through the windows where the upper and lower windows meet. In some cases it is coming in through the length of the window. In all of the cases it's coming in through the part of the window where the guides on the side are. I now have to put ******* to cover this part so the air won't leak in. I shouldn't have to do that considering the amount of money we paid for these windows. Also, there is and inordinate amount of road noise now. Much more than my old windows.
I called Weathermaster concerning my problem and was told that the person who did the installation would have to come out to see what I was talking about. That took about a week. When he came out, he said it was not an issue of the installation. I called immediately and spoke to someone in the service department. She told me that **** would come out and see what my issue was. He came out a few days later and said the there was some weatherproofing pad that were missing and would talk with the manufacturer and get them installed. I was told the manufacturer's rep would be in touch with me. That never happened. I waited a couple of days and called to follow up to see what was happening. I was told that **** wanted to come out to my house one more time. That took another few days. I should also point out that both times **** came to my house it was calm weather days. There was little to no wind. **** brought an electronic device to show me that there were no fluctuations in the temperature around various parts of my window. I felt that he thought I was just imagining my problem. I insisted that the pads that he talked about be installed. A week or so later, a service tech came out and installed the pads. It did not solve the problem.
I want to say that everyone at Weathermaster has been very polite, but I'm not getting the problem resolved. There is either an issue with the product itself or the installation.

Desired Settlement
There needs to be a resolution to this problem. Either fix this or replace the windows.

Business Response
Re: Case #: XXXXXXXX: **** *********

Dear Ms. *******

We have received the aforementioned complaint which we are quite surprised about since our General Manager has been to Mr. *********'s home on two occasions, and all indications were that he was now satisfied with his Windows. (We wish he would have contacted us directly to let us know he is not.) However, I will be glad to meet with Mr. ********* at his home. This can be on a windy day of his choosing if he likes, as long as his schedule is flexible. I'll suggest he call me when he feels the wind is appropriate to demonstrate his concerns, and I'll come right out.

In the mean time, just to clarify, on his first visit our General Manager (**** ******** thought the windows were missing seal pads and told Mr. ********* he would schedule a factory service appointment. But after he returned to our office and reviewed the file, he realized he erred the seal - pads he was thinking about are for a different model. I understand **** subsequently phoned Mr. ********* to let him know the factory service would not be necessary, and arranged to make a return visit himself. At Mr. *********'s request, we then added the seal pads anyway.

We will reach out to Mr. ********* today, and will submit a follow up reply once I've had the opportunity to meet Mr. *********, and inspect the windows.

Sincerely yours,
***** *****
President


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It took two weeks for ***** to call me and tell me what they were doing next. ***** never attempted to come to my house to see what the issue is. Although that's what he said he was going to do. I still don't know if the problem is with the product or the installation. I feel that Weathermaster is trying to remove themselves from the problem that I'm having. I contracted with Weathermaster, not the manufacturer.
The representative from the manufacturer is coming to my house on February 12th. If he can't resolve my problem, I want newer, better windows from Weathermaster. This issue has been going on for over two months and it needs to come to closure..

Final Business Response
Re: Case #: ********* **** ********* (2nd reply)

Dear Ms. *******

After reviewing Mr. *********'s last reply to this complaint, WeatherMaster has determined both parties are best served, since it appears the reported issue is with product not installation, by referring this matter to the window manufacturer's service department to diagnose and make any necessary repairs. I spoke with Mr. ********* directly and explained our next action. I have submitted a service request to ******* ****** & ****** Inc. today. I have advised Mr. ********* to contact us if he does not hear from the manufacturer's service department within 24-48 hours so we can follow up with them from there. We will update you as things progress.

Sincerely,
***** *******
Service Manager


Consumer Response
I would like my case to be re-opened. After the manufacturer's representative came out to my house, the only thing that he could do was to caulk the bottom inside of the frame of the windows. First of all, the frame should not have to be caulked. Secondly, it's only a temporary fix at best. Anyway, even after that was done, when the wind picked up there was still air leaking through the windows. These windows need to be replaced with a better window that won't leak air. I paid a lot of money for these windows. In addition, even after the manufacturer's rep came to my house, there was no follow up by Weathermaster to see if things were resolved.
If you need any more information, please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX.
Sincerely,
**** ** *********

03/14/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
$3000.00 worth of windows that you can feel the cold air blowing wit the windows closed.I also complained about a whistleing noise from said windows
Purchased 4/4/2013 no problem noticed until Dec of 2013 when I noticed cold air and the whistling noise. I reported this on Dec 26th. On Jan 2nd a repairman came he checked 1 window replaced a broken part and left.Iasked about the others to no avail. On Jan 9th I called to complain about same problem they will call back,They did not.Called again Jan 13th,Jan 15th ******* said she would have ** call me, He did not. I called again on Jan 17th spoke to ** he said to wait until wind is blowing open the window and then close it see if you still feel the air leak..I DO!

Desired Settlement
I want air tight windows I do not want windows that whistle, I do not want windows that leave eneough air in to blow out tea candles.Expecially when I spent $3000.00 to replace my old windows that did not have these problems. If Weather Master windows can't supply these I will take a refund and get windows elsewhere.Hopefully in warmer weather.

Business Response
Re: Case# XXXXXXXX, ****** *****

Dear Ms. ******

WeatherMaster was contacted by Mr. ***** on December 30, 2013 with a report of hearing "whistling noises" from his three living room windows. We dispatched our service tech on January 2, 2014 to discover one tilt latch that was not working properly that may have caused a slight misalignment of the meeting rails. The latch was replaced and the whistling noise was believed to have been stopped. Mr. ***** subsequently signed our Service Work Order that "all work has been performed and all materials have been installed to my satisfaction." (See attachment.)

We were Surprised to receive Mr. *****'s BBB complaint, I recently spoke with our service tech about the January 2nd appointment. He stated that at no time was there any mention of feeling air leakage.

Our General Manager, who had spoken to Mr. ***** as recently as January 19, was also under the impression that Mr. *****'s complaint was specifically about a whistling noise. Given our previous inspection and the absence of any air leakage, he believed the whistling must have been coming from an external source.

That notwithstanding, we spoke with Mr. ***** last week and agreed to re-inspect on a day when wind conditions re-create this condition. Mr. ***** will telephone us once this occurs and we will do our best to get our general manager out to his home that very day. Due to busy schedules, this may take a couple of attempts, but we will surely get out there in the next several weeks. As soon as we have an update on progression, we'll update you on our status.

Sincerely,
***** *******
Service Manager

Consumer Response
I rec'd a letter today from bbb with responce from ***** ******* service Manager at weathermaster. I am so sorry that I did not get the point across in my 6 phone calls that I was not only complaining about noise with the whistling but the air leakage which at times blew out tea candles.I have found a way to minnimize the air leakage by putting blue painters tape over the gap where the two panes meet. My last phone call to weathermaster I spoke to the president he stated they will come out to look at the windows when I call with a north wind hitting the front of my house. I will remove the painters tape when the snow melts and we get some warmer weather then I'll call weathermaster. Meanwhile I'll keep my curtains drawn shut my windows taped shut and hope for warmer weather.. Thank you!

10/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had windows installed on the 8th of Dec. 2012 now one the windows has a crack in the outer glass from stress or something else.
I contacted the company about a repair person or someone to come and access the window, at that time I was told I would have to pay travel for some one to come out. I ask to speak with a supervisor a Mr ***** came on the line and stated the same. This happen on 12 Aug. 2013. My contract No. is XXXXX I payed $ 2,255.00, my sale rep was **** ********* Lic. No. XXXXX. Mr ***** ask me did anyone inform me about rental property , this is a rental at that point I was finished. I had 8 windows installed.

Desired Settlement
I just want the window replaced and not have to pay for some one to come and do it.

Business Response
Re: *****, ***** #: XXXXXXXX

Dear Ms. ******

As stated by Mr. *****, he did contact WeatherMaster regarding a broken outside glass pane in one of the windows we installed. Our Service Coordinator attempted to explain to Mr. ***** that unfortunately glass breakage is not covered under his warranty. I attempted the same but Mr. ***** abruptly ended our call before we were able to complete our conversation.
Please find attached, a copy of the Warranty for Mr. *****' 4700e window products. If Mr. ***** would like to bring the window sash into our office or send pictures, we would be glad contact the Manufacturer and plead his case and ask if they are able to offer any assistance to him.
Please feel free to contact us with any questions you may have. WeatherMaster would like nothing more than to satisfy our customers every reasonable request but can not do so at a fiscal detriment to the company or any of our other customers.

Sincerely,
***** *******

Industry Comparison| Chart

Windows - Installation & Service, Storm Windows & Doors - Repair, Windows, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Storm Windows & Doors, Doors - Installation, Doors - Patio, Doors, Construction & Remodeling Services

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 10/21/1986Business started: 03/01/1986
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr)
500 N Calvert St Ste 401
Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 230-6001
http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/

BBB records show a license number of 25744 for this company, issued by Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr). Their web address is http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/. The expiration date of this license is 10/29/2017.

Type: Maryland Home Improvement Commission

Check License Status: http://www.dllr.state.md.us/cgi-bin/electroniclicensing/OP search/OP search.cgi?calling app=HIC::HIC_qselect25744

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of 2705142550 for this company. The expiration date of this license is 09/30/2017. A Weathermaster Company Inc. VA Contractor License .

Type: Virginia Home Improvement Contractor

Check License Status: http://www.dpor.virginia.gov/LicenseLookup/

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 1986, MD

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Brian Spirt (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Ed Helman (Sales Manager)
Number of Employees

8

Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service, Storm Windows & Doors - Repair, Windows, Windows & Doors - Installation & Service, Storm Windows & Doors, Doors - Installation, Doors - Patio, Doors, Construction & Remodeling Services

Products & Services

This company offers window and door sales, service and installation.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PMSat: 10:00 AM to 02:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

Custom-made materials to be installed by WeatherMaster may be cancelled within three business days for a full refund

Service Area

The company provides sales and installation of windows in MD and VA. In the DC area, they offer the sale of windows only - no installation.

Alternate Business Names
Weathermaster Products Corp., A Weathermaster Co, Inc.

Additional Business Names and Locations are viewable by clicking Find a Location

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for A Weathermaster Company, Inc.

2115 Eastern Ave

Baltimore, MD 21231-3110

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • Weathermaster Custom Windows

    2115 Eastern Ave 

    Baltimore, MD 21231-3110(888) 232-9291
    Fax: (410) 675-1688

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*A Weathermaster Company, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Windows - Installation & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.