BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

U.N.I. Urgent Care, Inc.

Find a Location

(410) 751-7480826 Washington Rd Ste 110, WestminsterMD 21157-5779http://www.uniurgentcare.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

U.N.I. Urgent Care, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised U.N.I. Urgent Care, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on U.N.I. Urgent Care, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
07/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid my bill by the due date, but was sent bills repeatedly. The bill was due on 4/7/14, and my canceled check showed that date.
My check was dated 4/4/14, and the canceled check displayed it was cashed on 4/7/14 the due date. Within a week or so I recieved another bill so I called the facility and they said maybe it just crossed in the mail. Knowing that I had a canceled check showing it was paid, I took that answer and went on about my business. Then another bill showed up showing past due with a June payment date! At that point I called and spoke to ***** and sent an email copy of the canceled check. I then followed up with an email to **** and asked if they could emeail something to validate that information, but never got a response. On June 13, 2014 I received a collection letter for this very same issue. I promptly called the collection agencayt and left a voicemail. Then today I called twice and spoke to Sharonda who said I was removed from collections, but never acknowledging that my account was never past due. So I asked to speak to a supervisor, but was put into a voicemail. Then later **** called and left a voicemail just saying the same thing Sharonda said, but again not acknowleding that my account was never past due.

Desired Settlement
I want a letter of explanation sent as to why my account looked past due when it never was, and an apology for their mix up. Something like this can blemish a credit report for no reason. I work in the credit card industry, so I know first hand.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@uniurgentcare.com
First let me apologize for the confusion. There was some problems on the billing companies side with the posting of the payment to the account. At the local office (Westminster)we did receive and deposit the patients check as indicated on this complaint. At some point when the payment information was sent to our off shore billing company that payment did not get posted. Until I received this complaint I had no idea the patient was having this issue or I could have resolved it quickly on my end. I have discussed this situation with the billing team and reprimanded them for not getting me involved sooner. I have also contacted the collection agency to be sure everything on that end was also closed out. I can have them send a letter to the patient to prove no further action nor negative credit reporting will occur.

Again, please accept my sincere apology for this situation. If you have any questions please feel free to contact me directly.

**** *****
XXX-XXX-XXXX
******@uniurgentcare.com


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response is almost satisfactory, but I would like to receive a letter from the collection agency as well. I was quite shocked to receive the letter in the first place as at that time if it weren't paid it was only 60 days. I work for a credit card company and we do not send 60 day bills to a collection agency. I definitely will NEVER go to that facility again even though it is the most convenient for me. I'd rather drive across town then go it UNI Urgent care and I have advised my family and friends (who by the way told me they had a similar experience).

Final Business Response
Please see attached.

09/03/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Urgent Care Centers, Physicians & Surgeons - Family Practice, X-Ray Labs - Medical & Dental, Drug & Alcohol Screening & Testing, Health & Wellness, Medical Diagnostic Testing Facilities, Occupational Health - Nursing Services, Clinics, Health & Medical - General

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 05/27/2011Business started: 01/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Maryland Board of Physicians
4201 Patterson Ave
Baltimore, MD21215-2222
(410) 764-4777
http://www.mbp.state.md.us

BBB records show a license number of D37874 for this company, issued by Maryland Board of Physicians. Their web address is http://www.mbp.state.md.us. This license is in the name of Dr. Gerald Apollon.

Type: Physician

Check License Status: https://www.mbp.state.md.us/bpqapp/D37874

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: September 2009, MD

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lisa Starr Dr. Gerald Apollon (President)
Number of Employees

12

Business Category

Urgent Care Centers, Physicians & Surgeons - Family Practice, X-Ray Labs - Medical & Dental, Drug & Alcohol Screening & Testing, Health & Wellness, Medical Diagnostic Testing Facilities, Occupational Health - Nursing Services, Clinics, Health & Medical - General

Products & Services

This company offers non life threatening urgent care services.

Alternate Business Names
Our Urgent Care, Inc., U.N.I. Medical Care, Inc.
Industry Tips
Choosing a Health Insurance Plan

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for U.N.I. Urgent Care, Inc.

826 Washington Rd Ste 110

Westminster, MD 21157-5779

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 11236 Robinwood Dr # 101 

    Hagerstown, MD 21742-6704(240) 313-4242

  • 826 Washington Rd Ste 110 

    Westminster, MD 21157-5779(410) 751-7480

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*U.N.I. Urgent Care, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Urgent Care Centers

Choosing a Health Insurance Plan
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.