BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/28/2010

Maryland Pools, Inc. (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (410) 995-6600Fax: (301) 621-3331View Additional Phone Numbers9515 Gerwig Ln Ste 121, ColumbiaMD 21046-2912 Send email to Maryland Pools, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/28/2010

BBB has determined that Maryland Pools, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Maryland Pools, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 21 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Maryland Pools, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 21 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 10 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues6
Problems with Product / Service13
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 21

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (21)BBB Closure Definitions
10/10/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Guarantee or Warranty Complaint Issue

Complaint: My pool had a leak of 1" daily. MD Pools unable to come out to find and fix. I was subsequently referred to American Leak detectors. Cost $675.


I m contacting you about the abysmally poor service and responsiveness of MD Pools and ***** ****** I first contacted her on June 3 about my pool leaking one inch in 24 hours. She said that no one could come out for 3 weeks. She sent a lengthy questionnaire and asked for pictures of the pool and pump which were sent the next day to her. I e-mailed her on the 11th and asked if she got my information. She said she did get it and would have someone out in 2 weeks. No one ever came. June 27 I called her to find out what happened to them. She offered no reason, but referred me to ********** to come out and find the leak and fix it. If not due to winter damage, it would be covered under warranty. I called ********** and they said that they do not do leaks. Why refer me to ********** if they do not do this. I would expect they know the capabilities of those they use for referrals. ********** referred my to ******** **** ********** I called them and they had a man out the following week and he located the leak and put in a temporary fix. He said this was not caused by winterization. Ms ***** was informed and said it was covered under the warranty. This cost me $675. Up to now,I had been filling the pool on a daily basis seriously increasing my water bill! August 4th since numerous emails are not answered, I again called ***** and told her that there would need a permanent fix for the pool. She said she would have a crew out 8/13. No one showed. When I again contacted her about the no show, her excuse was it rained. It did not rain till the late evening of the 13th, just an excuse! Again she said someone would be out 8/18. A man finally came 3 pm on the 18th and fixed the leaks. I have not included the many, many e-mails I have sent which were ignored nor the phone messages that were not responded to. I have repeatedly asked if the $675 that I had to spend to temporarily fix the leak would be reimbursed. She simply does not respond. This is not only rude, it is poor business practice. It has taken from 6/3 till 8/18 to get this leak fixed. A bit long don't you think? On August 21 I e-mailed Mr. ***** a manager of Ms ****** No response. This is August 26, This morning I called and had to leave him a message. It is now evening and as usual no response. If MD pools had come out to detect the leak in the first place and since it was found under warranty, I would not have had to pay the $675 to ALD. I feel that I should be reimbursed for this cost. I can get no response to this issue after many e-mail requests ignored and calls unreturned. From reading other complaints on your site, non communication is a constant complaint with these people. I hope you can help.

Initial Business Response
Consumer was told that service department was not able to respond as quickly as they would want us to. Unfortunately service was behind schedule due to frequent rain days which prevented service crews from working. During the time in question, it rained on 40% of the work days including over 6 inches one work day in August. Consumer was told that we would get there as soon as we could and if she wanted to call a service company to see if they could respond quicker, she could certainly call and ask. We did not recommend that she call a leak detection company to determine the location of the leak. Leak detection companies do charge for their services and once our crew was on site they would be able to determine the location of the leak quickly. Since we did not direct consumer to contact the leak detection company, we do not feel that the expense is a responsiblity of our company. It is unfortunate that we were hampered by rains this year and that we were not able to respond as quickly as the consumer would have liked.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
June 11 2014, Maryland Pools (MP) said they would be out in 2 weeks to detect and fix my pool leak. (email). They never came. I called to find out why. On June 26 the following email came -"Your welcome to call a service dealer like ********** at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Our crews are really backed up and it could be another four weeks before someone can come out." They did not indicate that this would be at cost to me. As I said in my original complaint, when I called *********** they said they do not do this work and told me to call ******** **** ************** . I asked MP if the leak would be covered by warranty. On June 27 this was the response from MP. "First ********** can find out why the pool is leaking. If the leak is a warranty issues and not caused my the winter or etc. then they or us will fix it." Nowhere was I informed if I proceeded with ********** (or the company they advised since they do not do pool leaks) would I be liable for the charge. "Since I was losing an inch a day in a 40'x20' pool it was costing quite a bit in water bill. I went ahead and had *** detect the leak and do a temporary fix. I began on August 4, calling, leaving messages and emails both to Ms. ***** and her supervisor Mr. ***** asking about the reimbursement of the $675 I had to pay **** I have had no response from them till your second request for a response. I do not agree with their response. I believe than since I was not informed that I would have to cover the leak detection cost, I should be reimbursed for this expense.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I will not accept the proposed resolution until I hear directly from Maryland Pools. Given their persistent lack of response to my calls and emails over several months this summer, I will not believe they will contact me until it happens. Only then, I will consider their proposed solution and consider if my complaint can be resolved.

Final Business Response
An offer to resolve this issue has been sent to the consumer.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/06/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: Defects were identified during a pool inspection while the house is under a contract of sale
Manufacturing defects were identified during a pool inspection. In contacted *** ***** and *** ******** *** ******* advised that he would be out NLT 05 Sep to inspect the issues. By Tuesday I received no response and requested updates. *** ***** stated that he was meeting *** ******* on site at our house to look at the issues with him. I've repeatedly contacted them since and they have failed to provide any sort of response. They were well aware that the house was being sold and that we had a deadline of 10 September to respond to the buyer. That has since past and it has no been over a week since the original issues were reported. MD Pools has made no attempt to provide feedback or rectify the solution. I know am risking losing the sale of the home over the pool issues.

Initial Business Response
Prior to complaint filed by Consumer on 9/11/14, initial inspection of pool was completed on 9/5/14. Consumer was notified that another inspection was needed to clarify isssues and was conducted on 9/11/14. Consumer was contacted via telephone on 9/12/14 and findings of the inspections were discussed. Consumer was told that concerns were non warranty issues. Consumer asked for a written evaluation. That evaluation was sent to consumer via email the afternoon of 9/12/14.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/06/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: MD Pools has billed us for services that have not been rendered and have been unresponsive to correct the billing and are refusing to complete work
MD Pools has made the following over charges to our bill:

Remove equipartition Bonding - $750
Vertical Stone Facing on Spa - $2,417
Fairfax County Pool Permit - $223
15% discount on increase Pool Size - $433.05
Bull nose pool coping - $946
Trash removal - $100

no return calls

no return emails

Initial Business Response
Complaint recieved 7/24/14. Maryland Pools did respond to customer on 7/23/14 to review payment confusion. Meeting scheduled at customer's residence for 7/24/14 to review contract and addendums and come to an agreement on final payment.

Business Response
Met with consumer 9/22/14 to resolve complaint.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/22/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: MD Pools has failed to follow through with warranty issues regarding a new pool.
MD Pools constructed our new pool in spring 2013 with several poor quality craftsmanship issues, with the biggest items being splattered concrete on the pool deck and multiple (about 40%) of the coping tiles cracked. MD Pools suggested the cracked tiles were a bad batch, so I requested that all tiles be replaced. They agreed by email in late May 2014. I also inquired multiple times as to why they thought they failed. MD Pools stated that this never happens and that they have never seen it before. IF it was a bad batch, I would think that other pools installed with that type of stone during the same time frame would have the same issue. I asked about possibly switching to a different tile and for more information on options and warranties. I also requested a meeting to discuss our options and plan of action. No response.

As typical, MD Pools is difficult to respond. You have to contact them multiple times and they still don't follow through or answer all of your questions. Since they are a member of the Master Pool Guild, I contacted the Executive Director. The very next day I received a call from *** *****, a partner and VP at MD Pools. He apologized and thought the issue had been taken care of and promised to by my point of contact until the issues were resolved. I thanked him and told him that I was still going to put our concerns and issues in writing just so we had a record. That was the last I heard from him.

I emailed the letter to *** ***** on Monday, June 23, 2014 and mailed a hard copy certified mail. As of July 29th, no response to the email or letter (which we have a return USPS receipt with signature).

After two weeks, I followed up directly with *** ***** by voicemail and email checking in on the status and receipt of our letter. At the advice of our lawyer, we also mentioned that our next step was to take legal action. Still no response.

Another two weeks passed, so our lawyer called and left voice messages indicated a pending lawsuit. Still no response.

So, as of July 29th, we are moving forward with having our lawyer send a breach of contract letter and start the litigation process.

We selected MD Pools based on their 60+ year history and exclusive membership in the Master Pool Guild for our area. It's disappointing that they have not followed through and that we have to take legal action.

Initial Business Response
Coping installer had inspected the coping at time of orginal discussion regarding the coping and agreed that they needed to be replaced. Their notes indicated that repair work would be done at end of pool season. Installer believed that customer had been made aware of this. In order to properly repair the coping, the water in the pool needs to be removed and would have disrupted their swimming season. Customer will be contacted to coordinate repairs at a convenient time for them.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I find MD Pools' response untimely, inaccurate, and unprofessional. First, untimely in that if they thought this was a miscommunication, then they should have contacted us and stated so. They still have NOT contacted us in response to our many emails, voicemails, official letter, or this BBB complaint. Instead, they waited until the very last day set by the BBB before they responded. Their final statement that the "customer will be contacted to coordinate..." is also false as we have NOT been contacted. We have had NO contact from MD Pools since June 19th. Today is August 11th.

Second, the information provided is inaccurate. We were never told when the work would take place or that the water had to be removed from the pool. Additionally, in our June 19th phone call, MD Pools was to investigate why they thought the stones cracked as part of a bad batch and present alternative options for replacement. Again, we have heard nothing.

Lastly, their response is unprofessional. They blame the coping installer, stating "their (the coping installer) notes indicated that repair work would be done later. Our contract was with MD Pools, not the coping installer. MD Pools should rely on their own notes, not those of their subcontactors, especially after repeated inquiries from their customer regarding the status! We have had no contact with the coping installer nor do we even know the company's name. It is MD Pools' responsibility, not their subcontractor, to communicate and schedule with us. This reinforces our complaint that MD Pools provided NO supervision of subcontractors during construction, other than the first day when excavation took place (see attached letter for additional information). This also negates the fact that Vice President *** ***** promised me in our phone conversation on June 19th that he would be the sole point of contact until our issues were resolved. Again, no contact whatsoever since that conversation on June 19th after repeated emails, phone messages, and an official letter sent via USPS.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Mr. ***** from MD Pools did finally reach out via email on August 12th stating a communication breakdown and that they were researching the issue. On Monday, August 18th, I received a call (and spoke with directly) from the subcontractor that installed and promises to make good on the warranty work for the cracked coping tiles. We are currently waiting on a brick sample from Pacific Clay and will follow-up with the subcontractor to finalize our decision. In the meanwhile, work has been tentatively scheduled for the cracked coping for Monday, September 29th.

MD Pools has not address the other concerns outlined in our letter dated June 23rd and attached here in an earlier submission.

We would like to keep this open until the other issues are addressed and the coping is replaced in late September.

Final Business Response
Consumer was contacted today for available dates for a meeting this week. 8/29 email was not read due to spam intercept. Will await consumer response and schedule meeting as soon as possible.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/22/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2000 Maryland Pools built our in ground pool. The pool pipes carry a 20 year warranty. In spring 2013 we noticed our pool was losing water and by summer the loss was at an alarming rate such that we were not able to use the pool and we turned off all pumps. Maryland Pools came and corrected a few minor concerns which did not fix the leak. They did not come back before the weather began to turn cold and they instructed us to close the pool and contact them in the spring when the weather was warmer. We did as instructed and since spring 2014 have sent multiple emails and left multiple voice messages. None were returned. Recently we attempted to contact the Vice President who has also not returned our call or email. Maryland Pools as a company should be embarrassed to not even return a phone call to at least discuss the problem.
Product_Or_Service: Installation of in-ground pool

Initial Business Response
Customer was contacted via telephone. Customer understands repairs scheduled for week of 8/4/14

Consumer Response
Maryland pools sent a crew to assess the leak in our pool. The crew told us we would be contacted directly by Maryalnd Pools to discuss the findings and how to proceed. We waited for a call and when we did not get a call we again contacted Maryland Pools leaving a message and requesting follow up.
It had been two weeks and we have not had a return call.
We believe the cause of the leak is due to an improperly installed drain at the time of construction. Given the lack of response we believaryland Pools knows this to be the case and therefore ignores our phone calls.


Business Response
Pool was built in 2000. There were no issues with pool until May 2013 as noted in consumer's original complaint. Upon checking pool the service crew determined that the deck canister had been damaged due to improper winterization by others which would not be covered under the pool warranty. Consumer was told that leak and damage was due to improper winterization. We will recontact consumer with this information along with cost to remedy the damaged canister. There is no indication that a drain was improperly installed at the time of construction as stated in consumer rebuttal.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Please note we have had multiple issues with the pool construction prior to 2013. One was due to leaking and one for the automated jet cleaning system. Due to lack of response we filed a complaint with BBB which triggered MD pools to respond.

Regarding the current issue - the service crew noted two potential causes for the significant leaking: 1) a crack in the bottom of the leaf debris canister and 2) faulty assembly of the main pool drain during pool construction. We were told by the crew that *** ******** at Maryland Pools would be in contacting us about the next steps. We have had no contact from Maryland Pools even after leaving several voice messages requesting a return call. The lack of return calls and e-mails has been a constant problem with Maryland pools and has caused us to lose an entire season of pool use.
We understand the repair of the cracked leaf canister is our responsibility however the repair of the faulty installation of the drain is MD Pools responsibility. The faulty installation of the drain is very apparent upon simple inspection of the drain: 1) the main sleeve (top part of the drain) is very much off-centered, 2) the main sleeve is not level and very warped, and 3) it is clear that this happened during initial construction since the drain lid was "jerry-rigged" by sloppily adding new drill holes to forcefully get the lid to stay connected to the off-centered and warped drain sleeve. It is also clear that this is the cause of the major leak in the pool given the heavy rains we had over the last two week and seeing all the rain water completely leaks out of the pool within 12 hours, but does not go below the interface between the drain and the warped drain sleeve.

We do not accept the business' resolution.


Business Response
Maryland Pools has sent an email and left a voice mail message asking for permission to inspect the bottom drain that consumer feels is defective on 9/12/14. After the inspection, it has been offered to the consumer to discuss the bottom drain issue, determine if it is a warranty or non warranty issue and how the situation can be remedied.
In a letter to Maryland Pools, the consumer did acknowledge that a leak that was found in the wall canister did have freeze damage and is a non warranty issue.
Maryland Pools will work with consumer to resolve these issues.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 5

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pool Service & Repair

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 09/01/1985Business started: 06/01/1949
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr)
500 N Calvert St Ste 401
Baltimore, MD21202
(410) 230-6001
http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/

BBB records show a license number of 6694 for this company, issued by Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr). Their web address is http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/. The expiration date of this license is 10/29/2015. This license is in the name of Maryland Pools, Inc.

Type: Maryland Home Improvement Commission

Check License Status: http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/mhic/?6694

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 1949, MD

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Landon (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Robert Spero (Vice President)Mr. Bob Brucksch (Construction Manager)
Number of Employees

35

Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Swimming Pool Service & Repair

Products & Services

This company offers in ground swimming pool sales, installation, renovation and service.

Alternate Business Names
Master Pool Builders, M.P.M. Construction Co., Inc., Maryland Pools, Sweetwater Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Maryland Pools, Inc.

9515 Gerwig Ln Ste 121

Columbia, MD 21046-2912

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 9515 Gerwig Ln Ste 121 

    Columbia, MD 21046-2912(410) 995-6600
    (301) 621-3319
    (800) 252-7946
    (410) 955-6600

  • 10516 Reisterstown Rd 

    Owings Mills, MD 21117-3508

  • 11166 Fairfax Blvd Ste 402 

    Fairfax, VA 22030-5017(703) 359-7192

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland, serving Western MD to the Eastern Shore. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Maryland Pools, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (301) 621-3319
  • (800) 252-7946
  • (410) 955-6600
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.