BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/06/2005

Admiral Enterprises of MD

Phone: (410) 538-6900Fax: (410) 612-8095

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
07/08/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: Two years after repair of pool, the pool's finish is flaking off. The material is called ******* and was sold to us as a maintenance free service.
Admiral admits that the ******* is indeed disintegrating and flaking off. They have brought the manufacturer out and are themselves in an apparent dispute with the manufacturer. They've promised to fix and then ignore us. Three weeks ago they promised a fix within two weeks. They don't answer emails or return phone calls. We reported cracked tiles last season and they haven't fixed them either. It is only when we really threaten to escalate the matter do they bother to return a call or email. And then we again enter a communication blackout with them. The pool has a 5 year warranty. We are now in year 3. The ******* didn't make it through 2 pool seasons before it started to disintegrate.

Business Response
June 11, 2013
Complaint ID # XXXXXXXX
consumer: ******* ******

Dear Mr. *** *******:

The Problem with the finish on the ******'s Pool is not related to our installation, but instead a failure of the manufactured material. We have been working with the manufacturer all winter to come up with causes and solutions. At their main facility in Germany the manufacturer has been running tests and have been unable to duplicate the issue. Despite the issues this material is very difficult to remove to replace.
Like most of us in this industry we are a small company doing business that is very seasonal. We have virtually no major warranty work to ever perform so we are not equipped with extra crews that do just that. As a business that goes months without any revenue as soon as the weather permits us to work we have to do work that brings in money so that we can perform warranty work like this. We also want to make sure that the repair resolves the problem so that neither the ******* nor ourselves have to deal with this issue again.
We do feel we have a resolution but we also have to deal with the weather. We need several days of dry conditions to complete the work. Obviously you can imagine how difficult that has been recently.
As is always the case we will fulfill our warranty obligation, but unfortunately this issue involves the manufacturer and not simply us. We will confirm a schedule with the ******* soon.

Very Truly

***** *****


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We have been in contact with the company but they still have not given us a start date. I understand their business model and problem with having to perform warranty work on this scale, midseason. It leaves us without any real understanding when the work will be done.

I was forced to drain my pool. It was full of algae, tadpoles and mosquitos. In one week, I would have been overrun with frogs. The smell was getting worse by the day. I refilled my pool. I have no choice but to reopen my pool knowing that the Aquafin remains an issue. There was significant sediment in the pool from the Aquafin. This sediment gets stirred up when swimming and clogs the cartridge filter. If not cleaned after each swim, the pressure in the filter gets above the recommended operating parameters.

Since I had to drain the pool, I had to refill it with tap water and buy new salt to replace what was lost. I also have the expense of adding the balancing chemicals. If they do come out to work on the pool, they will drain it again and all the cost of opening the pool will have to be borne again.


There is no resolution in sight.

Business Final Response
Yes, we are working on getting that done. The issue with this application is it takes 5 days prior to the pour with no rain and 5 days after the pour with no rain. Of course it is the rainy month. So we have to wait until we find a good 10 days of no rain.

thank you


Consumer Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As of 5/12/14, we do not accept Admiral Enterprises proposed resolution that they require so many days of good weather to fix the overwhelming issues with our pool. This is the same responses and lack of initiative on their part to honor the warranty that we have heard in the past. We humbly request that the BBB move forward and schedule an arbitration meeting with both us and Admiral Enterprises. We will provide the BBB with all the correspondence both in written and phone logs. We appreciate the BBB willingness to move forward with our complaint and thank them for reopening the case. We understand that an arbitration meeting will take 10 days to schedule. Sincerely, **** and **** ******

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: Admiral Enterprises has failed to install the purchased vinyl pool liner as per the agreed upon contracted terms.
A contract to purchase an in-ground vinyl pool liner from Admiral Enterprises of MD was signed 4/29/14 and a deposit of $995 was provided at the time of signing the contract. The estimated completion date per the Company's documents is 4 weeks from the signed agreement, however there is no approximate date when the installation of the liner would begin and be substantially completed as required by MD Code Ann.ยง8-501 on the contract. The initial verbal agreed upon date for the installation of the liner was the week of May 27th. I was told I would receive a call from ****** ***** to schedule the measurement of the pool within a week. After a week went by and I did not hear from Admiral I sent an email on May 7th to inquire on when the measurement would be done. At that time, I was told that the measurement was scheduled for May 16th and that Admiral was not going to be able to meet the agreed upon date due to internal scheduling errors for the measurement of the pool liner. Therefore, there would be a delay of the installation by one or two weeks from the original date.
I expressed my concern and intent to cancel because I had agreed and signed the contract based on the verbal agreement that the installation would be competed the week of May 27th. After several emails and conversations with the co-owner ****** ***** and sales manager **** *********** I agreed to allow Admiral to continue with the renovation based on the assumption that this was truly an oversight that they wanted to correct and provide the services as agreed with the hope to exceed my expectations. I requested an email confirmation of our agreement and conversation which was received May 8th and stated that the liner would be installed on or before June 4, 2014, pending inclement weather. After several weeks had gone by with no contact from Admiral, I sent an email May 30th and again June 2nd to obtain an update. Per the email response from Ms. ***** on June 3rd she stated that the liner had not yet been received from the distributor and she would contact them to find out the status of the liner. In the next correspondence dated June 4th, Ms. ***** states that she has not received any response from the distributor but she would schedule the installation of our liner on June 10 or possibly June 17. Admiral Enterprises of MD has failed to meet its contractual obligations as agreed. It has continuously missed all action dates that have been set by them. At this time I am not confident in their ability to meet these newly proposed dates and request that this contract be cancelled immediately and that a full refund of the $995 deposit be returned to me immediately so that I can seek a competent company to replace my pool liner before this summer comes to an end.

Initial Business Response
Ms **** signed her contract the busiest week of our season. I was unable to send the person who measures liners to her house within that week due to his illnes. I was not going to send an unexperienced person to measure a liner. The liner manufacterers are behind due to the bad weather. Since it snowed in April this year all of the pool companies that were planning on measuring in Feb and March we held off until the end of Apil as were we and they got overloaded and behind. We recieved her liner Friday at 5.45 from our distributor and we were out there on Saturday to install the liner. We found out the liner was the wrong pattern and she was not willing to except the pattern they made so we are going to have the liner remade in the correct pattern and we will get it in as soon as it comes in. Again

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Setting honest and realistic expectations is all I expect as a consumer. If Admiral had been honest and realistic when they advised on the potential installation date, I would not be so frustrated and angry over this situation. I would have been an educated consumer who made decisions based on all of the facts.
As the business has stated they attempted to install the liner on Sat 6/14/14. Unfortunately, the wrong liner was ordered and brought to my home. I was not willing to accept and pay for a liner that I did not chose. As of yesterday, 6/16/14 the correct liner has been ordered and is expected to be installed either Friday or Saturday.

Final Business Response
The liner was made incorrectly, Human error, it was instantly taken care of, they got a resolution the next business day and it is being remade and it will be installed the day after it arrives.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/16/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: Have not completed contract. The work that is done is not satisfactory.
On 3/20/13 I signed a contract with Admiral Enterprises for a installation for a inground viynl pool. Admiral started on 5/22/13. Average time for a installation of a vinyl pool is 2 weeks. The liner is installed but it is buckled and undone by the steps and it is not tight agaisnt the wall in the deep end. I told ****** ***** about this multiple times. Nothing has been done to resolve the issue. ****** sent me a text message saying that if I report Admiral Enterprises that they will not finish the contract.

A cement dumpster is filled and sitting in my yard,ready to be removed since 5/22/13. I had a old concrete patio. ***** ***** told me that all of the cement concrete had to be broken up and hauled away. I agreed. It is also written in contract. While employee's of Admiral were breaking up the old concrete patio a employee approached me and stated that I could keep a portion of the old patio. He stated that there is no reason to break it up and it could be kept. I told him that ***** ***** said that it had to be broken up and I said to speak to him about it. I don't want to keep it if it would cause a problem. No one discussed it with me again. Admiral kept the old patio and did not break it up. A cement company then responded to my house to pour the 3 foot around the pool and stated that due to the old patio that was left, there would be a 3 inch slope off of the pool. Proper installation is 3/4 of an inch slope not 3 inches. The concrete patio around the pool would not be even. I then contacted ****** ***** and advised that I want the old patio broken up and hauled away as was agreed upon per the contract. ***** ***** and the salesman **** also advised that all the old existing concrete would have to be removed. Ms. ***** then sent me a text message stating the employee for the concrete company had ideas for me and wanted to talk to me. I then contacted the concrete company and the concrete company stated that that is false. They did not want to talk to me and did not have anything further to discuss. Ms. ***** has not stated when Admiral Enterprises would respond back and finish removing the old patio. Admiral Enterprises has not fixed the liner or hauled away the dumpster. Admiral Enterprises has also left a pile of stones in my yard and driveway for over 4 weeks. The dump truck that hauled away the extra dirt damaged and have broken up a large portion of my driveway. ***** ***** is owner of Admiral Enterprises.

When the salesman **** came to my house he stated to myself and my wife that the concrete patio listed in the proposal was included in the purchase price. However **** did not include that in the contract. I believe this is why Admiral did not break up the old patio that was agreed upon. Nobody explained to me why the old patio was left. The same employee that told me I could keep the patio also stated that Admiral Enterprises will come back and seed the yard for free. I asked Ms. ***** if Admiral seeds the yard after completion of the pool. I still did not receive a response. I have tried to resolve these issues with Ms. ***** and to complete the installation of the pool. Nothing is resolved and its been 7 weeks now and the pool is still not done.

Business' Initial Response
ADMIRAL ENTERPRISES of MD
**** ******** **
********* ** XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX fax XXX-XXX-XXXX
Toll free XXX-XXX-XXXX

July 21, 2010


To begin with the ****'s pool is complete. Secondly, as it relates to their concrete I am very confused. The ****'s contract includes 350 square feet of concrete. And the removal of all of the old concrete from the previous pool. Their proposal also included 350 square feet of concrete and a total price that was exactly the same as their contract, with a line item for additional concrete that would match the amount of concrete that was present around the previous pool.
When I arrived to meet with them and go over the details before we started Mr. ****, despite the contract and proposal, was under the impression that we would be replacing all of the concrete that was around the previous pool. I explained that that wasn't what was in his contract. When we arrived to actually start removing concrete, Mr. **** asked, that since we weren't replacing all of the old concrete, if we could leave the old concrete that wasn't in his contract to replace. Obviously, since it wouldn't interfere with our constructing the new pool that was fine with us. The notion that we made the decision to not remove the contract and that Mr. **** didn't understand why is bizarre to say the least.
As he states in his complaint, after meeting with the deck contractor, Mr. **** decided he didn't like the pitch that would be necessary for the new concrete to meet the old concrete. If he didn't understand why it was left why did he not bring it up until he met the deck contractor?
When Mr. **** decided he wanted the rest of the concrete removed we had already left his project and were involved in other jobs. Once we have left a job it is very difficult for us to return because it involves moving equipment, people and disrupting the schedule that we now have in place, so yes it did take us some time to get back there, but we did, and as I stated earlier there pool is complete.
I hope this answers all your questions, if not do not hesitate to contact me.
Very Truly

***** *****

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

11/26/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Contractors - Retaining Wall, Landscape Lighting, Spas & Hot Tubs - Supplies & Parts, Spas & Hot Tubs - Service & Repair, Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers, Swimming Pool Manufacturers & Distributors, Swimming Pool Service & Repair, Swimming Pool Equipment & Supplies, Hardscapes

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.