BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/29/2008

Krav Maga Maryland

Phone: (410) 872-9194Fax: (410) 872-9196

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I lost home in January, moved away, and asked to cancel my contract. They fobbed me off and have refused to honor the exit clauses in their contract.
In January I lost my home, and was staying with family. As allowed in the contract, moving away more than 25 miles allows for exiting the membership contract. I phoned Krav Maga Maryland, and filled them in on my situation. Since I did not have a permanent mailing address, (I was neither inclined nor looking forward to moving in with them permanently), they said they would get back to me. I thought the matter was settled when they did not get back to me.

After some months, I saw that they were still drawing the membership fee from my bank account. (I had not checked because I had moved twice in that time, and hadn't settled in a new place yet.) I contacted them and notified the bank not to allow them to draw more money from my account. I contacted them again to cancel my membership, and they again said they would get back to me.

Now, they have yet again failed to cancel my membership. Supposedly, a new person is in charge of membership cancellation, (******** ********* but this would fit in their past pattern of behavior of delaying and fobbing off.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be released from my membership contract. I would like the outstanding balance forgiven, and the membership fees collected since I first contacted them to cancel my membership returned.

Business Response
The student originally contacted us via phone on 01/31/2013 requesting to cancel his membership due to relocation. He requested that his membership be cancelled prior to his next billing on 02/01/2013. We reminded him that cancellation requests have a 30-day processing period and that he would need to complete a cancellation request form and provide proof of relocation since he was still within his termed agreement. This was all explained to him when he signed his membership with us. We emailed him the necessary paperwork on 01/31/2013.

We did not hear back from him until 02/15/2013, after we contacted him about his 02/01/2013 payment not being processed. He left a message saying that he shouldn't be billed because he had cancelled his membership. I returned his call on 02/18/2013 and reminded him that we needed the cancellation form in order to process his cancellation request. He informed me that he did not receive my email and I told him I would resend it. Again, we did not hear back from the student, and continued to try to contact him about his accruing past due balance. During our phone conversations the reason he gave for wanting to cancel was due to relocating for school.

After several attempts to contact the student, we spoke with him again on 04/09/2013 and he said that he did not have time to complete a cancellation form. We reminded him again that we needed written notification in order to process his cancellation request, and that we needed to take care of his outstanding balance prior to cancelling his membership. We did not hear from him, and on 07/22/2013 his account was brought current. On 07/30/2013 the student came in to our facility wanting to speak with me about his membership; I was not in when he arrived. He called later in the day with his bank on the line to try to work something out.

While on the phone with his bank he said that he has been trying to cancel his membership for over a year, and that he never spoke to us on the phone about his membership or balance. I told him that our first record of him requesting to cancel was on 01/31/2013, only 6 months prior to this conversation. I told him that we needed the completed cancellation request form, which we had not received at that point, in order to process his cancellation.

Since July the student has been giving us different information each time we talk with him. He has said that he emailed the form in to one person, and then said that he mailed it in to another. He also said he has been trying to cancel his membership for over a year, but then states that he submitted the form in February. He has told another member services representative that he submitted the form in January, even though he didn't receive the original email I sent him on 01/31/2013. He has also said that he has not spoken to us about his membership or balance even though we have detailed notes of our conversations with him.

Below is a copy of our cancellation policy which is in the contract signed by the student, and a full copy of the contract was provided to the student the day he signed up.

Cancellation Policy: This Agreement may not cancelled except for the following: 1) MEMBER relocates 25 driving miles or more from current residence AND any SELLER's facility or SELLER's affiliated facility AND provides adequate written documentation of relocation as determined by SELLER; 2) in the event of death; 3) in the event that the MEMBER should become physically unable to ever again make use of any of the services offered by SELLER and provides a written order of a physician; 4) if the MEMBER has a fully signed and executed month-to-month membership. In all cases, member must send written notice by certified mail to: Krav Maga Maryland, **** ******** ****** ***** **** ********, ** XXXXX or by hand-delivering a completed cancellation request form to the SELLER'S premises. All cancellations take effect 30-days from the postmark on the letter or the date approved on the cancellation request form and any draft payments due during that 30-day period will be collected. Membership cards must be returned with the cancellation. There is a $10.00 charge for any card not returned. Agreements cannot be canceled if there is an outstanding balance.

As noted in the above clause, we can cancel memberships due to relocation if we receive written notification of cancellation and proof of relocation. At no time, until 11/18/2013, did the student inform us that he was without a home. We are willing to honor the cancellation clause, but the student has just now provided the cancellation request form, without proof of relocation, and is currently delinquent. Once the balance is cleared, and he has provided proof of relocation, we will be able to process his cancellation request.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I maintain that I adhered to the cancellation policy by submitting the cancellation request and delivering it in person, specifically allowed for in the cancellation policy:

"In all cases, member must send written notice ... or by hand-delivering a completed cancellation request form to the SELLER'S premises."

On 12/5/2013 I sat down with ******* *******, ****** ******** ********* and discussed how to handle this. She agreed that the membership would be canceled as of the beginning of December, and the only matter remaining would be the outstanding balance. I am currently awaiting hearing back from her regarding the company's decision on the proposed means of resolving this situation.

Final Business Response


*********,

Is it okay to just email you my response? Below is my response.

*** is correct in his last statement. His membership was cancelled as of December 2013 and he is responsible for the outstanding balance that accrued until he submitted his request form in November of 2013. We have already given him the courtesy of not allowing his balance to accrue since he is still delinquent and not making any payments on the outstanding balance. The member has already been informed of what he needs to do, which is pay his outstanding balance from August 2013 - December 2013.

Sincerely,

******** *******
Member Services
Krav Maga **


**** ******** ***** **** ***
********, ** XXXXX
Ph: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Fax: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Email: ********@kravmd.com

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
********'s response makes no effort to address the fact that they retracted their offer once I found out what they were asking me to do was against BBB policy and unable to be done. The abusive and insulting e-mail I received with not-very-veiled threats from **** *****, supposedly the ******** of *********** also made it quite clear that they would not be seeking any negotiated resolution. I am fully expecting them to send it to a collections agency, though I haven't received anything to that effect yet.

And about the "courtesy" of actually cancelling my contract 10 months after I requested them to? Seriously?

Consumer Response
I'm e-mailing in regards to case #36093520, where there was a contract signed by Krav Maga that was offered to me. I believe it should still be in your files. I was lead to believe that due to the provision in it that I would have to do something that was not within my rights, I should not pay it at that time, and that Krav Maga would be informed of both the improper nature of the request and advised to remedy the request.

I have been contacted by collections agencies, and wanted to keep you abreast of the issue. If you can please advise about what can be done from here on to hold Krav Maga to the contract they signed, I would be greatly appreciative.

Thank you.


Business Response
---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ******** ******* <********@kravmd.com>
Date: Fri, Jun 13, 2014 at 9:07 AM
Subject: Fwd: Krav Maga Membership
To: ******@greatermd.bbb.org






---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ******* ******* <********@kravmd.com>
Date: Sat, Feb 8, 2014 at 1:17 PM
Subject: Fwd: Krav Maga Membership
To: ******** ******* <********@kravmd.com>


Another email to *** Briskin.

******* *******
Krav Maga **

**** ******** ****, ********
********, ** *****
Ph: ************
Fax: ************
Email: ********@kravmd.com


---------- Forwarded message ----------
From: ******* ******* <********@kravmd.com>
Date: Tue, Jul 30, 2013 at 3:59 PM
Subject: Krav Maga Membership
To: ****** ********* <*************@hotmail.com>


***,

This email is in reference to our phone conversation earlier today. As I mentioned in our conversation we need a completed cancellation request form in order to cancel your membership and look into refunding any money. If you could resend the original email you sent us with your cancellation request form, we would be able to use that and backdate your cancellation request.

You mentioned that you had to remove everything from your computer so you weren't sure if you still had a copy of the form, but there should be one in your email, that would not be affected by what happened to your computer.

Also, please understand that when you came in this morning, my staff did what they could to help you. I was not in yet, so they gave you my card with my contact information, which is exactly what they should have done. No one brushed you off as you mentioned on the phone. I'm sorry that you felt that way, but I am the only one qualified to answer your questions at this time.

Once we receive your completed cancellation request form we can begin processing your cancellation request.

Please feel free to contact me with any further questions or concerns that you may have.

Sincerely,

******* *******
Member Services Director
Krav Maga **

**** ******** ****, ********
********, ** *****
Ph: ************
Fax: ************
Email: ********@kravmd.com


Business Response
Hello ******,

I have forwarded you an email link between ***, ******* ******* (former employee), and **** ***** (Director of Operations). After we made this offer and realized it was not a valid offer *** asked us to not only drop that amount even lower but to give him a refund. My Director of Operations told him the offer is off the table and we will be pursing the entire amount accrued. We are no longer accepting $41.60 as his final payment. We understand we can not ask him to take the complaint off, and that is fine.

Sincerely,

******** *******
Member Services

04/21/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I moved out of state in Dec, and dropped off a freeze/cancel request in Nov. I was billed for Dec, Jan, and Feb. They claim to have not received form.
My daughter and I had one-year contracts. I dropped off a freeze/cancel request in Nov since we were moving out of state (more than the 25 miles required by the contract) in Dec. They continued to charge my credit card for Dec, Jan, and Feb, instead of just the 30 days required by the contract. I called in March to discuss, and they said they never received the form. They agreed to waive the 30 days as of that phone call, but wouldn't refund the additional two months that were charged.

Desired Settlement
I would like a check for the $414.20 that was charged to my old credit card.

Business Response
In August of 2013 ****** froze her membership and received a confirmation email. ****** never received a confirmation email of her request to cancel, which she claims to have submitted in November of 2013, she waited until March of 2014 to check in with us. When she called in we were happy to understand she had a lot going on. We took her word of submitting the form previously and out of courtesy waived our 30-day processing period for her. We have already given her a courtesy and will not be offering a refund.

02/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I became a member and tried to contact Krav Maga MD regarding freezing my membership due to traveling. They took over 4 months to get back to me.
I was first contacted a month after I initially opened a membership notifying me of a payment that was due (by e-mail, from ****** ******* at 1:06pm on 7/25/13). I had changed banks so my payment did not go through as planned. I responded the next morning (9:06am, 7/26/13) to inform her of this and ask about freezing my account since I had found myself traveling more than I had expected. When I opened my membership I was informed that this was a simple process in the case that this came up, which I had specially asked since I knew it was a possibility. Later that afternoon (1:06pm, 7/26/13) ****** forwarded my inquiry to ******* ******* saying that I just had to complete and form and send it to her. However, the form supplied primarily covered relocation and proof thereof. I replied to ****** (1:09pm, 7/26/13) informing her of my confusion over this. ****** replied (1:18pm, 7/26/13) to tell me to complete the form but provide detailed personal information relating to my travels and travel documentation of the current trips I had planned. Not only was I uncomfortable providing personal information, my traveling tends to be rather last minute and therefore I could not supply the requested information. I stated this in my response to Briana (1:21pm, 7/26/13). Once again I was forwarded to ******* who told me that she needed a letter from a supervisor declaring my travels (1:46pm, 7/26/13). I replied that I do not have a supervisor, as I am a business owner (1:48pm, 7/26/13). ******* then reverted to asking for proof of relocation, although I had not moved (6:22pm, 8/5/13) I replied (1:44pm, 8/6/13) restating that I had not relocated. A month later, after I had not heard a response, I e-mailed again asking if I could just cancel my account since the amount of time this was taking was absurd (3:26pm, 9/1/13). Two months later, ******* finally responded and she just restated everything we had already been over, claiming she was trying to work with me (5:04pm, 11/8/13). I replied to inform her that the lapse in time (three months) was unacceptable and to just cancel my membership and send me a bill for the months where we were in contact, minus the three where she was uncooperative and unresponsive, so from July-August (11:06am, 11/12/13). Today, 1/22/14, I received a bill in the mail telling me she would not cancel my account and the bill is totaled for 8 months of service at $872.00. There is also another form for relocation (I still have not moved) and the contact information for ****** to arrange payment. The letter also states that sometimes requests can get "lost or overlooked", at the expense of the member.

Desired Settlement
I have no interest in "bringing my account current" so that I may resume membership benefits. I simply want my membership to be cancelled. Where initially I was willing to pay my membership fee for the two months where I attempted communication to find out how I could remain a member while dealing with constant traveling, I am no longer willing to pay that. Nor am I seeking a refund for the first month of membership that I paid, or the initial fee to become a member.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** *******
Contact Phone: (XXX) XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****************@kravmd.com
In accordance to our Termed Membership Agreement (a legally binding contract) "Freezes: MEMBER has the option to freeze the membership from two (2) to six (6) months at a time for reasons of: 1) in the event the MEMBER should become physically unable to
make use of the services offered by SELLER due to injury and provides a completed Verification of Disability form from a physician; 2) temporary relocation greater than 25 driving
miles or more from any SELLER's facility or SELLER's affiliated facility due to professional/military/law enforcement duty obligations. In all cases, MEMBER must complete and return a freeze form to the SELLER's facility either by certified mail or hand-carry to facility. All freezes take effect 30-days from the postmark on the letter or the date approved on the freeze
request form and any draft payments due during that 30-day period will be collected. Membership freezes cannot be processed if there is an outstanding balance. If the MEMBER
should freeze before the end date as stated in this Contract, the number of months frozen will be added to the end of the contracted term, so the total number of monthly payments
equals that which is listed in this Contract. Freeze times may not be honored at affiliated training centers and are non-refundable.
Non-Use of Facility: Failure to attend classes or utilize services at SELLER's premises does not relieve BUYER's payment obligation regardless of circumstance except as provided
for in this agreement.
Cancellation Policy: This Agreement may not cancelled except for the following: 1) MEMBER relocates 25 driving miles or more from current residence AND any SELLER's facility or
SELLER's affiliated facility AND provides adequate written documentation of relocation as determined by SELLER; 2) in the event of death; 3) in the event that the MEMBER should
become physically unable to ever again make use of any of the services offered by SELLER and provides a written order of a physician; 4) if the MEMBER has a fully signed and
executed month-to-month membership. In all cases, member must send written notice by certified mail to: Krav Maga Maryland, **** ******** ****** ***** **** Columbia, MD XXXXX
or by hand-delivering a completed cancellation request form to the SELLER'S premises. All cancelations take effect 30-days from the postmark on the letter or the date approved on
the cancellation request form and any draft payments due during that 30-day period will be collected. Membership cards must be returned with the cancellation. There is a $10.00
charge for any card not returned. Agreements cannot be canceled if there is an outstanding balance."

There are several spots in our Termed Membership Agreement that cover our Freeze/Cancellation policy which includes the valid reasons to freeze, cancel, and the 30-day processing period. Although ******* did not respond in a timely manner to all of *****'s emails, it did not take 4 months to respond. It took 4 months of going back and forth with each other in accordance with the dates ***** has provided.

******* was asking ***** to provide documentation verifying that she was temporarily relocated ******** did not think ***** permanently relocated). ***** declined to provide us with proof of her travels which is required as per the Termed Agreement she signed and did not make any suggestions as to what she could provide.

I will apologize on behalf of ******* for responding in a poorly timed manner, however ***** was not eligible to freeze or cancel even if ******* had stayed in contact with *****.

As of this date ***** has completed 1 out of 12 agreed payments. Once she pays off the balance due, she will have completed 9 out of 12 payments. After the 05/01/2014 payment is processed, ***** will be eligible to cancel assuming she provides a cancellation request form prior to her renewal date. ***** is responsible for all the past due payments and upcoming payments inside her Termed Membership Agreement length. I would be willing to discuss with her the possibility of continued training time available to her for several months after the Termed Agreement is up.

11/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Trying to cancel my membership after being released from my job. I can longer afford to pay for the membership and my request is being ignored by KMMD
My original request to cancel started with a phone call to Krav Maga MD on October 4, 2013. I told the lady who answered the phone of my issue (unemployed) and needed to cancel. She then sent me an email with the cancellation/freeze request form. The email also had ******* *******, the person I was instructed to send the completed form to. I filled the form out and sent an email to ******* on Oct 7, 2013. After getting no reply, I resent the email on October 8, 2013. Again, no reply. I then made two telephone calls to Krav Maga MD. Once on October 9th, and I was told ******* was in a long meeting and would call me back. I received no return phone call. I called again on October 10, ******* would not take my call but I was instructed by the person on the phone that ******* had received my email and could take up to another week before she addressed it. I have still yet to hear anything. I was just charged my monthly fee today and have realized that because of Krav Maga MDs policy of taking 20 days to process, they are essentially just delaying the cancellation as to extort more money out of someone who can no longer afford to pay. At the very least, an acknowledgement would have been nice, but I guess members trying to cancel do not receive that courtesy. I would to have my membership canceled ASAP and the 30 days waived. Especially considering it has already been two weeks since I requested it. I've noticed other complaints on the BBB website, so it seems that taking advantage of people is something common for this business. Now that I am unemployed, I need to use everything I have to pay my mortgage, not Krav Maga and some compassion for my misfortune would be appreciated.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have my cancellation processed and the 30 days waived. If possible I would like to get a refund of the charge taken after I requested my membership cancelled.

Business Response
While we do our best to contact students within a week of receiving a freeze or cancellation request, we have recently seen an influx in these requests, so it has taken longer to respond. We respond to requests in the order they are received.

As the student stated, there is a 30-day processing period for freeze and cancellation requests, which begins with the first written communication from the student. We are still well within this 30-day processing period.

We understand the hardship that the student is under due to being fired from his job, but just as with any other contractual agreement, this does relieve him of his financial obligation. We do sympathize with our student's unfortunate financial situation and have offered him a courtesy freeze of 3 months to allow him time to get back on his feet and be able to train again. We have contacted the student directly with this offer.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I just cannot afford to continue paying for this membership and do not anticipate being able to moving forward. I'd even be happy paying a cancellation fee at this point. I'm not sure why they created a contract that allows no sort of way out for people who find themselves in difficult situation. A freeze is a temporary solution that would work if I wasnt falling into a hole every week paying the bills that matter. There is no way in 3 months that I am going to be financially stable enough to be able to pay Krav MD.

Final Business Response
The student contacted us on 10/23/2013 via email, stating that a 3-month freeze was not long enough to be financially able to continue paying for the membership. I reminded the student that we are freezing the membership as a courtesy, due to losing his job. I also let him know that we are willing to revisit his situation, if nothing has changed, at the end of the courtesy freeze. This is a courtesy that we offer to help ease the financial burden during difficult situations.

As per the membership agreement, signed by the student, the agreement cannot cancelled except for the following: 1) Member relocates 25 driving miles or more from current residence and Seller's facility or Seller's affiliated facility and provides adequate written documentation as determined by Seller; 2) in the event of death; 3) in the event that the Member should become physically unable to ever again make use of any of the services offered by Seller and provides written order of a physician; 4) if the Member has a fully signed and executed month-to-month membership. As stated previously by the student, none of these reasons apply to his current situation. We are bound to the terms of the agreement, just as the student is, and we are doing what we can to work with him in this situation.

09/30/2013Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Self Defense, Exercise & Physical Fitness Programs

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.