BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/16/2003

Vector Security, Inc.

Phone: (410) 290-5320Fax: (410) 290-5354

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

15 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service8
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints15

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (15)BBB Closure Definitions
01/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vector Security improperly installed a thermostat in my house which ran electric heat only.
Vector Security improperly installed a thermostat in my house which ran electric/emergency heat only instead of the much more efficient heat pump that should be run. Due to this thermostat my home ran electric/emergency only heat for over a year causing me to have an extremely high electric bill. During that time frame I tried many different methods to attempt to get my bill lower. When the problem was finally identified the only solution vector provided was to properly install the unit that they had improperly installed in the first place at no cost to me. They refused to compensate me in any way for the money that their negligence had cost me. The only reason this issue was ever identified was because an HVAC professional from ****** Heat Air Conditioning came to my house and pointed out the fact that my heat pump was not being controlled by my (Vector) thermostat. Once the problem was identified I contacted vector, after almost 2 weeks of calling they finally sent a technician out to my house to correctly install the thermostat. While the Vector technician was there he also identified (in writing) that the thermostat was incorrectly installed. I then called Vector in regards to ANY compensation for the hundreds of dollars this may have cost me and they refused to entertain any form of compensation. There was no way of me knowing that my house was running on electric heat only. Over the past year and a half I have taken action to try to lower my extremely high electric bill. I contacted ***** to come out to the house and identify way to lower my bill. There was no way of me knowing that my bill was so high due to the negligence of the technician Vector Security sent to my home. I find it unacceptable that not only are their technicians poorly trained but once the issue was identified they did not instantly send a technician to correct the problem. Furthermore, they refused to entertain ANY form of compensation. The last thing the service supervisor said to me on Dec 23 after I asked if there was ANY way that we could solve this problem before I file a complaint and a law suit was "No Mr. ******** we will not pay your electric bill" At no point did I make any demands to vector saying pay my bill. I simply asked many times for ANY form of compensation that they suggested. This is not only a display of horrible customer service but a display of complete negligence, inattentiveness, thoughtlessness, and neglect as a service provider.

Desired Settlement
The sales manager at Vector Security in Columbia told me numerous times that they would not entertain ANY form of compensation, be it service, equipment, or monetary. With that being said according to my ***** bill history during the months of December thru February my energy usage went up from an average of 1638 kWh to an average of 3315 kWh during the winter months. My bill electric bill went from an average of $229 to an average $437. Not to mention the month of March the usage was still 335.94 and 2615 kWh. This winter my December bill was $259 after the thermostat was replaced on December 3rd. Furthermore since the thermostat was replaced my heat has now been running consistently higher than the setting I place it on (still costing me extra money and making my house uncomfortably hot). The difference in the average of my electric bill last year winter with the improper equipment installed by Vector and the current (still malfunctioning but running my efficient heat pump) unit installed by Vector is an average of $208 a month, totaling in $624 for 3 winter months along with a roughly $80 higher during the month of March. I would like $600 of that money refunded to me and a cancelation of my contract with Vector due to the negligence of their technicians, the inconsideration of the sales manager, and horrible customer service practices. If Vector does not reply with a better solution or meet these requests by COB Feb 1st I will take them to small claims court. At which point will not entertain any settlement that they offer. Written statements by the ****** Heating and Cooling Technician and the Vector technician can be made available upon request along with a breakdown of my ***** bill.

Business Response
I have been in contact with the customer and we are working towards a resolution of this matter. Unfortunately he was not feeling well when we spoke so I sent him an e-mail with my contact information so that he can contact me at his convenience.

Unfortunately, his initial contact with our office was not handled as it should have been; however, I've assured him that I will work with him to resolve this matter, as soon as he is feeling better.



Consumer Response
The Director of Customer Service, Ms ****** was not only able to resolve the issue but she provided prompt and great customer service. More people should learn from her and follow her lead.

12/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I reported having issues with my alarm hardware around the first of Sept. 2014. It took this company 3 weeks before they could send a tech.
Once the Tech arrived he stated that I should use a stylist pen for my LCD screen and my cameras could not be learned in since my carrier was verizon and they used non alpha or neumeric charactors in there password. Since Sept 30 Vector has not resolved this issue. As for the service this tech wasted an entire day of my time.

Desired Settlement
Refund for three months and close contract without penalties

Business Response
The scheduling challenge with this customer has been mainly due to his limited window of availability for service. The technical problem resulted from a change that the customer made on site and is not the result of an equipment malfunction.

Unfortunately, this change created a problem that prevented us from re-programming his equipment to the website that supplies the features involved.

I spoke with the customer on November 20, 2014 and resolved this matter.



Consumer Response
It seems this company has removed my account I formation even though I have prepaid for this month.

Final Business Response
In response to the customer's claim that Vector breached the terms of the agreement, this is not true. The customer made changes at the site that caused problems with his camera service. This change affected the ability to reprogram the camera equipment to the webpage that provides access to this service. While the customer disagrees with our technician's findings, that does not mean that their findings are inaccurate. It simply indicates that there are technical complexities associated with this technology that's not widely known to everyone.

When I spoke with the customer on November 20, 2014, he indicated he wanted the service cancelled. Since he had indicated this before and it was stated again in his Better Business Bureau Complaint, I told him we would cancel the service as requested. The resolution is that we complied with his request for early cancellation, without penalty. The request for a refund was no granted because the account had already been issued credits for service fees.

At that point paperwork was processed to complete the cancellation of service, per the customer's request.

09/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In July of 2008, a Vector Security door to door salesman sold me a new security system that was supposed to be much better than my old system with new, wireless technology. This new equipment and installation resulted in a considerable upfront payment. Now 6 years later, I called to cancel the service and found out that I cannot because there is some sort of "AUTO RENEWAL" that automatically, with NO NOTICE or COMMUNICATION FROM VECTOR" keeps the contract rolling year after year and I cannot get out of it until July of 2015 without "BUYING OUT THE CONTRACT"! I receive no mailings, billing or notices from Vector, they just take money from my account every month. I find it ridiculous that they really think that this AUTO RENEWAL of ANNUAL Contracts with no notice or communication from me all these years after the system was installed is a decent business practice. After 6 years, I have certainly paid for any extra equipment or installation costs (if there were any) many times over (which is the normal purpose of holding someone in a long term contract).I suggest anyone consider this service look at another security company with better consumer policies.
Product_Or_Service: Home Security System
Account_Number: XXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like to cancel my service with Vector immediately and I would Vector to change this "auto-renewal" practice.

Business Response
**** ****** <*******@vectorsecurity.com>

Ms. *******
I've been having trouble accessing the BBB complaint response page so I'm sending Vectors' response to this customer's complaint to you via e-mail.

Our review of this customer's account indicates this customer was made aware that she was in a renewal period when she contacted our office on August 15, 2014; however, the agent checked with his manager who reviewed the account and gave authorization for the customer to be released from the renewal term. The customer was told that she would be released from the contract, but she needed to submit her request in writing and make sure it was signed by her. She was provided information and instructions to send her notice. To date, there is no record of our receiving her notice. This BBB complaint is the only communication we've received since the call on August 15th.

Security services are not handled in the same manner as utility services. Vector and most reputable security companies require contracts for the installation and service. As previously stated, cancellation requires written notice, signed by the customer, (contract signer) to end service. This requirement and the renewal clause are standards in the industry.

The auto renewal clause is there to insure continued coverage under a valid contract after the initial term to protect the customer, as wells as the business. The renewal clause, contract term and written notice requirement are indicated in bold print on the front of Vector's contracts (Item #3).
As consumers it is our responsibility to make sure we read and understand contractual commitments, before we sign on the dotted line.
The only thing needed to resolve this matter after the customer spoke with our office on August 15th, was for her to send the required written notice.

At this point Vector will use the customer's BBB complaint as documentation of her request to cancel service for her location.

Please let me know if you have questions or need additional information from Vector.

**** ******
Director, Customer Service

08/08/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vector Security intends to charge me for twelve additional months of service I do not want.
In 2009, I signed a contract with Vector Security to provide five years of service, billed monthly. I have paid all bills on time. I called them today to ask when the contract will end. They informed me the contract "auto-renewed" in June and that I will owe them another twelve months of payment. They provided me with no notification this is what they intended to do, and without my signature, nor even verbal approval. I am not satisfied with their service, do not need it, and have full intent of discontinuing the relationship as soon as possible.

Desired Settlement
My desire is that I end the contract at the end of the original five-year agreement.

Business Response
In an effort to resolve this matter, I reached out to the customer by telephone today, August 5, 2014 and left a message on his voice mail. Also sent an e-mail to the e-mail address indicated in the BBB complaint, today. At this point the matter is pending a response from the customer.

08/05/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unreasonable/Not Generally Accepted Business Requirements to End Service
I signed a contract a few years ago and rarely used the service. I called to find out how much it would cost to end my contract, and was told I had a couple of months remaining. I was provided an amount to pay and paid it.

I somehow activated a sensor while painting. I thought the service had ended, and was told that they hadn't received written notification - and now we owe another month?

1) What was the sense of having me make a lump sum payment - other than to the service?
2) I didn't keep a copy of an agreement, but remember it was for either 3 or 5 years - not for life.
3) No other home consumer service requires written notification? Phone, Cable..... what non-sense.

I honestly had nothing good or bad to say about Vector - we just didn't use it. This requirement doesn't seem right and out of general business practices. Just another way to get a few extra bucks and abuse the consumer.

Desired Settlement
Outstanding balance - what they are trying to charge me after I attempted to quit the service.

Business Response
My review of this customer's record shows that this matter was resolved on July 29, 2014, after the customer spoke with our Customer Care Manager. The account was been cancelled and a credit put through to clear the account balance.

Regardung the requirement for written notice. Vector requires written notice, signed by the customer of record, for security reasons. This is true of most reputable security service providers to properly document the change in service and that the person making the request has that authority to do so. This requirement is noted in bold print on our contracts.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As noted in the complaint - we provided the required written notice, which resolved the issue. My complaint is regarding the requirement to provide written notice to dissolve an expired contract. My contention is that the company purposely makes it unnecessarily difficult to end the service in order to generate additional unearned revenue. I had nothing to say about the company or service - because it was rarely used - till we tried to cancel.

Page 1 of 3
11/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our contract ends on 10-26-2014. we wish NOT to renew and be released.
Cancel our contract on 10-26-2014. Equipment has a code and we need to get the information. SIM, System code and dealer code are not provided by Vector as they should at the end of the contract.

Desired Settlement
Cancel our contract on the day the actual agreement ends, 10-26-2014. Provide SIM, System code and Dealer code for the equipment we own.

Business Response
Our records indicate the customer spoke with a representative in our office on October 10, 2014 after his written notice was received. The cancellation process was implemented immediately after that conversation. The billing stopped and the account is scheduled to be terminated at the end of the contract term, as requested.

Vector cannot release programming codes to anyone outside of our organization, for security reasons. When we take over service from other alarm service providers, we replace the boards at our expense to resolve any programming issues.

Again our records indicate this issue was resolved after the customer spoke with our office on October 10, 2014.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As I've mentioned before, my last conversation with customer rep account is to be closed on 10/24 and 10/26.
HOWEVER, this system and equipment WAS BRAND NEW when Vector installed it hens we bought it from them and own it and should have these codes. Once again, We'd like to get the codes so we may use our own equipment it OR they can send us two checks $195 (cost to release the codes per customer service per account- total two accounts) . This is un-excusable and unacceptable behavior by this company trying to penalize us for not renewing our service with them. SHAME!!!

11/05/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Manipulative Sales Practice and poor disclosure of contract terms.
Vector is the security company that was installed at the house that we are renting in Washington, DC. We did not activate the security system right when we first moved in but about 3 weeks later, there was a small fire in the house and we knew that we would have to be out of the house for at least a while and we would have a hole in an exterior wall. As a result, we decided to activate the Vector security system to protect our belongings.
The installation person came and made some updates to the system and asked that I sign something. Apparently, what I signed was a contract which dictated a three-year term. We made it abundantly clear that we were renters and if there was ever mention of a three-year contract, we would NEVER have signed it. Now if we want to cancel the service, we will have to pay over $2000 to buyout the contract.
I feel that this company prayed on us when we were in a vulnerable place and had us sign a contract where it was written in small print that it was 3-year term. This while knowing that we were renters. I feel manipulated and I would never recommend anyone use this company.

Desired Settlement
We would like Vector to do the right thing and cancel our service. If it is required that we pay for the one year, that is tolerable but asking us to buyout a contract that goes beyond the length of our lease is ridiculous and manipulative.

Business Response
We're trying to reach this customer to resolve this matter. A message has been left on voice mail and and e-mail sent, providing contact information for our Director of Customer Care.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My housemates and I have not been able to all be in one place to discuss the terms that Vector has proposed due to family emergencies and work schedules. But at this point, I still do not think that requiring us to pay for a year of service is a fair resolution.

We were sold this product in the midst of dealing with a house fire. I signed the contract but I was told that it was an installation contract and did not look at it closely. Since we are renters and that was made clear on numerous occasions, Vector should not be selling us a three year contract.

Final Business Response
A message was left on Ms ********'s voice mail on October 25, 2013 and an e-mail sent to the e-mail address indicated in her complaint that same day. To date there has been no response from the customer.

We're trying to work this out with the customer; however, the customer is bound by the terms of the contract, which is the written documentation of the service arrangement.

The customer's complaint indicated manipulative sales practices and poor contract disclosure. That is not something that Vector would tolerate or support. The terms of our contracts are indicated on the front of the paperwork, in bold print. It is the consumer's responsibility to make sure they understand and agree with the commitment, before signing the contract.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Security Control Equipment & System Monitors, Security Guard & Patrol Service, Security Systems Consultants

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.