BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/02/2009

Arocon Roofing and Construction LLC

Phone: (410) 861-6767Fax: (443) 293-8868View Additional Phone Numbers101R John St # R, WestminsterMD 21157 Send email to Arocon Roofing and Construction LLCView Additional Web Addresses



BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides full service roofing and construction services. This company serves all of MD, Southern PA, and Northern VA offering quality residential and commercial service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/02/2009

BBB has determined that Arocon Roofing and Construction LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Arocon Roofing and Construction LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Additional Complaint Information

Arocon encourages consumers to call Christopher Toleman at 410-960-4970 to review their concerns, prior to filing an official BBB complaint.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

95 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Arocon Roofing and Construction LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 92
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 95 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
04/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hired to repair gutters and soffit torn down from winter storm Jonas.
Gutters and soffit came down due to storm damage from winter storm Jonas. Adam came out and gave a knowledgeable estimate and we scheduled a date for repairs and paid the deposit. They came out on 3/2 or 3/3 and I paid the balance on the 7th of March. When I paid the balance with Nancy she asked how the repair was. It looks like they installed a broken piece of soffit. She asked for a picture, I sent a picture in the same day. She got it and said she would send it to some other department and would get back to me or her, nothing! If I didn't call her weekly there would be no communication from this company. I even tried to send a email from the webform on their company page hoping someone would get back to me and I got an out of office reply from Nancy!! (out of town 3/18 - 3/28). I'm sure why someone else couldn't have got back to me but that's a different story. If I'm here they didn't get back to me. So back to calling Nancy and Sara and nothing. I call today 4/8 and speak to Nancy, who says they went out to take a look on the 6th but they didn't give her any info?? Promises me a call back, I'm here so no call back. Its been a month dealing with no communication from them.

Desired Settlement
Replace that soffit, or tell me why you won't when it is clearly broken and not connected to the corner of the house. There is a hole there, when a bird moves in are you going to get it out?

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ********
Contact Phone: ************
Contact Email: ******************************
Hi Mr. ******,

I apologize for the lack of communication regarding your issue, and we will be sure to get this resolved. I spoke with the technician who went out on Wed 4/6, and he found that some of the rake board was rotten, and it looks like possibly some kind of animal might have chewed the J channel and soffit in this area. Although the rake board was not part of the contract, we will replace the rotten section and replace the damaged J channel and soffit as needed to fix this issue. Please give me a call at ************ to coordinate scheduling. Thanks for your business, and I look forward to getting this resolved.

Take care,
**** ********

02/12/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am writing to you to file a serious complaint against Arcon Roofing & Construction, LLC which located in *** R **** *** Westminster, MD XXXXX. In June 2015, I hired Arcon to replace shingles on the roof of my property. The roof had leaking after the work done. I contacted my salesmen Mr. Adam ******** and the manager Mr. Michael ******** at Arcon right after I see the leaking at Sept, 2015 and asked them to do remedial work on it. They told me that the work that they had performed was not under warranty, since I had not paid them in full for the charges, which were NOT TRUE and were under dispute.
I will explain why I state that the payment has been paid in full in next paragraph. In this moment, I feel so painful, and so angry for what type of "quality " job Arcon bring to their customer! I can not believe Aron management ignore the roof leaking for months after I paid $10125 in full. The roof leaking still exist, I have picture of the leaking.
This is my painful story with Arcon: In June, 2015, I contact Arcon to replace shingles on the roof of my property located on **** ****** **** Baltimore, MD XXXXX. The salesmen Mr. Adam ******** had quoted me an estimate of $ 9625 on the contract. I signed for the contract and paid deposit. The work scheduled on 6/12/15. On the work day, I kept in close touch with Mr. Adam ******** who was on site. He contacted me around noon and stated that they would need to replace some wood underneath the shingles and will cost addition charge. He gave me an oral estimate of the $500 and I agreed to do it since he said it is necessary. Upon the job done, I made full payment of $10125 that includes original contractor price of $9625 plus $500 of additional charge for the woods.
Later, I received a invoice stated that beside $500 I have paid, I still own Arcon addition $1410 for cost of replacing wood underneath. I wrote company a dispute letter said that I was disputing the additional costs they added. I only would pay $500 for the additional cost because I had not been noticed that price which is $1910 and therefore never agreed to that price. I have not received any response after my dispute letter until I called them for leaking report.
The roof is still leaking now! The leaking causes so many inconvinient to me and people dowel in the property. It has damage to the property and will have more potential damage risk if not fix soon. I have to say that this is worse experience we ever had in construction service. I reserve right for further legal action if the leaking not been fixed in the near further.

I believe that Arcon's practice of overcharging its customers, and then not providing any warranty on their shoddy work with has now resulted in my roof continuing to leak is a form of extortion. It is even possible that they did further structural damage to my property, as it has now continued to leak for months. I feel that I have been taken advantage of due to their unethical practices, and held hostage by this company. They will provide no warranty to fix the work they did on my roof until they are paid in full for their exorbitant charges, even though I already paid the agreed upon amount in our original contract plus oral estimate additional charge. I would truly appreciate your assistance in helping me to dispute those charges against to them, as I have no other way to hold them accountable to repair the work they did on my house.
Thank you very much for assistance with this important matter. Please do not hesitate to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX if you have any questions or need any proved documents

Desired Settlement
resulving in my charge dispute and fix the roof leaking asap.

Business Response
Arocon completed a roofing project for *** ** on 6/12/15. While working on the project, we found damaged wood that needed to be replaced. Mrs. ** was notified of the additional wood. She was sent pictures, along with copies of the invoices showing the wood that was purchased for her project. She still owes $1410 on the project, and per the contract, she does not have a warranty until the project is paid in full. We sent her file over to collections in September 2015, but have still not received final payment. After payment is received in full, her warranty will be valid, and we will send a technician out to inspect the leak and fix it if it is related to the work that we completed. Please feel free to call me at XXX-XXX-XXXX with any questions/concerns.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I believe that Arocon overcharged me and was not transparent regarding details on how the extra charges were calculated. On our initial invoice, Adam ******** (agent) and I agreed to a total charge of $7,067 after $3,208 paid deposit. On 6/12/15, when Arocon was working on the project, Mr. ******** notified me of additional wood needed. He texted and invoice me a new total amount of $7,719.

The final and most recent invoice, however, is for $8,477. I was not given any notice or explanation for why I was charged any amount above $7,719. I never agreed with $8477. Aracon sent me invoices from **** ***** and ****** ******** ******** ***** for the purchased supplies, but all of the pricing information is blacked out. This exemplifies the extreme lack of transparency Arocon is giving regarding its charges.

I have paid $7,067 thus far, the original invoice amount, because we have not settled on the appropriate amount due. Currently, the roof that Arocon just repaired is still leaking, causing hardship for the people living in the house, especially in the harsh winter climate. Thus, given the texts between Mr. ******** and I, as well as the current time-sensitive roof leaking situation, I am willing to settle this dispute given the following conditions:

1) I am willing to pay an additional $802.00, which includes the difference between the original invoice amount ($7,067, paid) and updated amount discussed in the text message ($7,719) and invoice shows in attachment, plus $150.00 for the labor installed gutter, which was added after this original order.

2) After I pay off this amount ($802), the warranty of the service should be effective immediately. Arocon must send out a technician to fix the roof leaking that is seriously and harshly affecting those living in the house ASAP.

3) I need a letter from Arocon and The Law Office of ***** ** ****** P.A. stating that this dispute has been resolved, and I have $0 balance. If there has been any effects on my credit score, these need to be revoked.

If these three requirements cannot be agreed upon, then we will pursue legal action against Arocon.



Final Business Response
Arocon will honor the warranty if an additional $802 is paid to us by the customer. After payment is received, we will send a tech out as soon as possible to check on the issue and resolve if it is a problem with our work. Arocon will notify the Law Office of ***** ** ***** that the dispute has been resolved after payment of $802 has been received.

09/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had a roof put on by arocon roofers about nine months ago as soon as it rained it was leaking back and front I called twenty times the owner
I have wter laking in both back and front porches and coming in our home destroying our property I have paid this company 3,500 and goy nothing but a leaking roof

Desired Settlement
fix the leaking roof do the job right as prmomised

Business Response

I met with the customer and looked at the roof a week ago. There is nothing wrong with the installation. The customer's gutters attach to the neighboring town house whose gutters were clogged. Debris had gone into our customer's downspout and the clogged gutters were causing the overflow. We cleaned out the debris and the customer was supposed to contact the BBB to remove the complaint. Please contact him to confirm.

Final Business Response
I went out to meet the owner several weeks ago. I got on the roof and took pictures of everything I saw. The roof has no issues and the shingles are cut correctly to the length of the gutters. The home is a town house with interconnected gutters to the neighboring units. The downspouts were clogged and I cleaned them so that water would not over flow. I mentioned that there were not enough downspouts and the gutters were undersized for heavy rains. The roof is not leaking, nor was it leaking after our install. He is referring to the gutters over flowing. I would suggest upgrading the gutters, but that would require some coordination with the HOA and additional work. The homeowner said that would not be possible.

01/23/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not complete chimney rock installation
Workers left a portion of the chimney uncovered with rock...when notified the company put me on hold.

Desired Settlement
Complete that portion of the chimney missed during the job here in Sept. '14

Business Response
Hi Mr. ******,
I have left a couple of voicemails and emails to discuss your concerns. Upon viewing pictures of the work, the chimney appears to be complete. It's possible that the area you are referring to is where the metal counter flashing is installed where the chimney meets the roof. This is installed to keep everything water tight. Please give me a call at XXX-XXX-XXXX to discuss and get everything resolved. Thanks, and I look forward to speaking with you.
**** ********


08/22/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Arocon completed a job painting the exterior of my house. Within 2 months of completion the paint began peeling from the cement steps.
In October of 2013 I hired Arocon to completely paint the exterior of my house. I had choose this company because they had done an excellent job remodeling a bathroom about a year ago. I was given an estimate and I signed a contract for the work on 8/9/13 with the understanding that all work was guaranteed for one year. The work was paid in full upon completion.
In December the paint on the cement steps began to peel. I first reported this to the company on 1/10/14 and was told someone would call back. No one did so I continued to call. Someone from the company met with me at the house to examine the damage I believe in May 2014. I was given several options for repair and again was told someone from Arocon would be in touch to schedule the work. No one has ever called back and at this point I feel as though I am being put off and the intent is too not reimburse me for the poor workmanship or to make any repairs. My last contact was on 7/17.
I believe this to be a case of poor workmanship because when I showed photos to other professionals in the painting business they were able to easily identify that the company did not apply any primer which would have given the paint something to bond to and adhere to the cement.

Desired Settlement
I would like a partial refund (based on my total job costs - approx. $500) that would cover the costs of someone repainting the steps properly using primer and paint.

Business Response
All of the paint used for this project, was a ******* ******** product that was a primer and paint in one. There were moisture issues with the concrete in that area which is most likely contributing to the paint separating in that area, as it is localized damage. As the owner, I stand behind all of the work that we do and will refund the customer $500 to repair all of the issues listed above.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors, Home Improvements, Windows - Installation & Service, Gutters & Downspouts, Siding Contractors, Doors - Installation, Deck - Repair, Deck Builder, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Bathroom Remodeling, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling, Kitchen & Bath Design, Kitchen Remodeling, Basement - Remodeling, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Fence Contractors, Home Improvements - Additions, Contractor - Insulation, Patio & Deck Builders, Contractors - Gutters, Basement Waterproofing, Carpenters

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 09/25/2009Business started: 03/20/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr)
500 N Calvert St Ste 401
Baltimore, MD 21202
(410) 230-6001
http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/

Attorney General's Office
200 St Paul St
Baltimore, MD 21202-2004
(410) 576-6300
http://www.oag.state.md.us

BBB records show a license number of 126649 for this company, issued by Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr). Their web address is http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/. The expiration date of this license is 05/28/2017.

Type: Maryland Home Improvement Commission

Check License Status: http://www.dllr.state.md.us/cgi-bin/electroniclicensing/OP search/OP search.cgi?calling app=HIC::HIC_qselect126649

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

BBB records show a license number of PA083938 for this company, issued by Attorney General's Office. Their web address is http://www.oag.state.md.us. The expiration date of this license is 08/17/2017.

Type: Pennsylvania Home Improvement Contractor

Check License Status: http://hicsearch.attorneygeneral.gov/PA083938

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Business Management
Principal: Mr. Christopher Toleman (CEO)

BBB is aware that this business is linked to the following 2 businesses, as they share the same address and Owners/Management:

Arocon Design Build: http://www.bbb.org/greater-maryland/business-reviews/contractors-general/arocon-design-build-in-westminster-md-90262407?language=1

Arocon Handyman: http://www.bbb.org/greater-maryland/business-reviews/carpenters/arocon-handyman-in-westminster-md-90262408?language=1

Contact Information
Ms. Sarah Jachowski (Marketing)Mr. Mike Neubauer (Office Manager)Mr. Sean Wolfe (CTO)
Number of Employees

45

Business Category

Roofing Contractors, Home Improvements, Windows - Installation & Service, Gutters & Downspouts, Siding Contractors, Doors - Installation, Deck - Repair, Deck Builder, Sunroom & Solarium Design & Construction, Bathroom Remodeling, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling, Kitchen & Bath Design, Kitchen Remodeling, Basement - Remodeling, Contractor - Metal Roofing, Fence Contractors, Home Improvements - Additions, Contractor - Insulation, Patio & Deck Builders, Contractors - Gutters, Basement Waterproofing, Carpenters

Products & Services

This company offers full service exterior renovations such as siding, gutters, windows and roofing services.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMTue: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMWed: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMThu: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMFri: 07:00 AM to 07:00 PMSat: 07:00 AM to 12:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
ARC Westminster, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Arocon Roofing and Construction LLC has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 95 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

13 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Arocon Roofing and Construction LLC

101R John St # R

Westminster, MD 21157

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 101R John St # R 

    Westminster, MD 21157(410) 861-6767

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Arocon Roofing and Construction LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (410) 960-4970
  • (717) 361-0333
  • (877) 882-7626 ext ext6
  • (877) 338-7692
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.