BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Mr. Powerwash / Maryland Paint Pros

Phone: (877) 551-9274

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
03/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Would not honor ******* for whole house power wash. Wanted me to pay an additional $189.00 for the service I already paid for.
I purchased a ******* on Jan 19, 2013 for 2,500 sq.ft. of home power washing. I called to schedule an appointment the beginning of April 2013 and spoke with a man. He scheduled an appointment for April 22. No one ever showed up. On April 23 I called to find out why no one ever showed and schedule another appointment. I was told by ***** that Mr. Powerwash would come out and clean my house if I paid them $189.00 and that they were not honoring my ******** ***** told me to get a refund from ******** I called ******* on April 23 and they were not aware that Mr. Powerwash was not honoring the ******** On April 24 I received an email for ***** ** in ******* Customer Service, saying everything had been straightened out and that I would be contacted by Mr. Powerwash within 3 business days to schedule my appointment. No one has contacted me. ******* is only offering me ******* credit which I don't want. I want my house power washed.

Desired Settlement
I want the service I paid for, having my house power washed.

Business Response
Mrs ****** was issued a refund via *******

03/20/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mr. Powerwash of Havre deGrace failed to show up for a pre-paid appointment to clean and stain my deck.
I purchased a ******* ********* for a deck power wash with sealant for up to 250 sq. ft last December. In February I tried to scehdule an appointment for an early season cleaning, but was told I would be contacted in March to set up a date and gave them my phone number. When no one called in March I called again at the beginning of April and was told they didn't have my correct phone number. Anyhow, we scheduled the appointment for 4/24/13 between 2 and 6 pm. That day I called about 2 pm to verify that the appointment was still on and only reached voice mail. I left a message to call me to confirm the plans. As of 6 pm no one returned my call or showed up so I telephoned again and left another voice mail to contact me to reschedule. I called two times on each of the following two days and left voice messages to call me. There has been no response.

I paid for a service that was not provided and have had no luck in reaching them to work out a solution. It looks like ******* can refund my money but I need to have my deck cleaned and would like to give Mr. Powerwash the opportunity to fulfill their obligation.

Desired Settlement
Either provide the contracted service between May 9 and 18, or tell me out right that it cannot be done. If it cannot be done, I will then ask for a refund from ******* or Mr. Powerwash.

Business Response
Mrs ***** was issued a full refund

07/29/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company was contracted to clean and apply finish to the deck. The workmanship was poor, I was promised it would be repaired - this was a year ago
On July 27th I contracted Mr Powerwash to clean and refinish my deck. The price quoted by phone was substantially increased when the employ arrived at the house. The deck was cleaned and it was agreed that they would come back out and apply stain to the surface.

I was quoted $1450 for the job. I paid $850 by visa on posted to my account of 7/30/2012. My deck's surface was in poor condition after the cleaning, so I called and spoke to employee ******. He stated that I would need primer and sanding and the cost would go up another $250. I agreed.

The deck was stained as scheduled and I immediately had concerns. The owner of the company (*** *****) agree to come out and inspect the job. At that time he assured me that the repairs would be guaranteed, and they stand behind their work.

He agree to come out after the summer and touch up any areas damaged. In good faith I paid the balance with a check for $850 which posted on 8/6/2012.

I have been in contacted with both *** and ******, both promised to fix the repairs, put on the schedule, each time the appointment was canceled never followed up upon.

I paid $1700 to have my deck refinished, the product and workmanship was guaranteed. Now I have a severely peeling deck. I and having no success getting a response from this company.

Desired Settlement
I want the deck repaired correctly, this it.

Business' Initial Response
We have met with Mr ******, and have scheduled a date to reclean his deck for him and touch up some areas that his stain has peeled

07/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a Livingsocial deal from this company for a powerwash and the company did not honor their deal appropriately.
I purchased a Livingsocial deal from this company for a powerwash on April 14th, 2013. I called to schedule the service and was told that the earliest date to do this service would be July 3, 2013. I scheduled the appointment and they were to arrive at my house between 9-12. I was called the day before and told that they were "short staffed" and that they wouldn't be able to get to my house until July 5th. It is now July 5th and I called to see when they would be arriving at my house and they told me again that they were "short staffed" and that they now had to reschedule my appointment for the following week. When I expressed my irritation for the lack of communication and professionalism, they told me that they "didn't even want my business anymore" and that I should call Livingsocial and get a refund. I am appalled at the lack of professionalism of this company and the lack of respect they have for their customers. I am the one who purchased this voucher and scheduled an appointment two months in advance and I don't see how it's my fault that there aren't enough people to do the job. I also would think that there would be better communication from a business if they weren't even going to show up for a job. I see that several other complaints were filed about this company about the same issues, so I guess I should have checked here before buying.

Desired Settlement
I am currently in contact with Livingsocial about getting my $99 refunded, but if that doesn't come through I would like to be refunded the money that they have already taken from me. I think this is a shady way to do business and maybe if you can't handle the demand, you shouldn't run specials on these discount sites.

Business' Initial Response
We have cut ties with Living Social, and they are issuing all refunds for the coupons they sold.

07/17/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
****** *****, the owner, took a $1,000 deposit for a paint job in my home. He then failed to perform the service and has not refunded the deposit.
On April 11, 2013 I met with *** ***** for an estimate for painting the interior of my home. My friend, ****** ******** was also present. ***'s estimate for the job was $3,100. I signed a proposal form/contract and gave him a deposit of $1,000.00. No date was set to begin the work. *** agreed to allow time for me to select the colors.
There were periodic conversations with *** and/or his assistant, ****** (last name not known), to touch base as to when we'd be ready to begin. In late May, we agreed by phone conversation with ****** that the work would begin on Monday, June 10th.
On Wednesday, June 5, Ms. ******* spoke with ****** and said she would email the list of paint colors and finish choices. ****** said that would be okay and that they were on track to begin the job on Monday, June 10th.
On Sunday, June 9th at approximately 4:30 p.m., Ms. ******* called ****** to confirm the arrival time of the crew on Monday morning, June 10th (the agreed-to date for work to begin.) She left a message. She missed ******'s return call but he left a message in which he said "I know you are not going to be happy but we are going to have to bump your job for tomorrow because we have a powerwash job for a large commercial client that has to start tomorrow and it's worth a lot of money to us." In the voicemail ****** also said they had no idea how long that job would take or when they'd be able to get to my job.
Needless to say I was quite annoyed and disappointed to find out at 5:00 p.m. Sunday the day before the work was to begin that *** was not going to have a crew at my house, especially considering all the prep work that went into preparing the house. I told ****** we wanted to speak directly with ***.
Later that evening *** called. He seemed genuinely sorry, and said again he did want the job. We agreed he would call us around 9:00 p.m. Monday evening.
We received a call from *** shortly after 9:00 p.m. Monday evening. He said he was driving in a hard rain and wanted to call back when he got home; that would be in about half an hour. But we did not receive a second call that evening.
On Tuesday morning, June 11, Ms. ******* began calling ***, with no success.
On Weds, June 12, Ms. ******* again placed several calls to ***'s cell phone. He did call her later in the morning. They talked and *** was apologetic about the situation. He said again he wanted the job. She asked if he would paint some additional areas as compensation for the inconvenience of his crew not showing up for the job. *** said that was probably something he could do. Ms. ******* and *** agreed the dry wall guy would begin Mon, June 17th and the painters would begin Weds, June 19th. With my approval Ms. ******* put this in an email to *** and he confirmed in writing.
On Monday, June 17th, Ms. ******* and I were at my home at 9:00 a.m. to meet the "dry wall guy." I had to travel to a work site so Ms. ******* remained at my home. She began calling *** around 9:30 a.m. She placed about seven calls; all went unanswered. She also called ****** and he did not answer. At approximately 11:30 a.m. she checked her email and found an email from *** stating "he now has problems with his dry wall guy and has no choice but to decline the job and refund the deposit." He further stated the check should be received within 7-10 business days. Ms. ******* replied to ***'s email stating rather than wait for the check to be mailed she would like to pick it up, either at his business or home. And, if possible, cash was preferred. *** replied saying "You may not come to pick up the check. You will have to wait 'til I can process things. You will have it within 7-10 business days."
The 10th business day was Friday, June 28.
On Wednesday, June 19th, I acquired the services of another painter. As of today, July 4, 2013, a check for the refund of the deposit of $1,000.00 has not been received; nor has there been any communication from Mr. ****** *****.

Desired Settlement
Refund of $1000 deposit.

Business' Initial Response
Mr **** has been given his deposit back

03/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Promised to paint room on one date. They Rescheduled for a second date. Now telling me they are not providing that service any longer.
On 12/19/12, I purchased a ****** ****** voucher for $99. The voucher was for interior painting of one room up to 10 x 10 feet from Maryland Paint pros. Before I purchased the voucher, I spoke with ******(XXX-XXX-XXXX) from the company because my room was larger than specified. He told me an extra $40 would be added to cover extra area. I agreed. I purchased the voucher and set an appointment with ****** for 4/23/13 at 9am. On that morning around 8am, I received a call from ****** telling me that they would not be able to do the job that day due to the painter having a death in the family. We discussed rescheduleing for a Saturday, either 4/27/13 or 5/4/13. 5/4/13 seemed to be the better choice since ****** was not sure when his painter would be available. Today, I got a message from ****** (XXX-XXX-XXXX) telling me that they were disbanding the Painting end of their business because they were having difficulty finding people they could count on to work for them. They contacted ****** ****** so that refunds could be issued. I had a conversation with ****** (I guess ******, the owner, was to cowardly to call or talk to me himself)explaining how the room that was to be painted had had everything but bed, dresser moved out of it for this painting job. I asked why he or ****** couldn't do the painting and he didn't have an answer for that. Therefore, I was lead to believe 4 months ago that the job would get done and I have gotten nothing but excuses and now have no one to paint the room. If they were having problems, then they should have come clean and not lead me on for this long. I could have gotten someone else months ago if they had been honorable enough to tell the truth. Plus, I have purchased the paint already.

Desired Settlement
full refund $99

Business Response
Mrs ****** was given a refund.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This case is almost 2 years old and this is the first response I have received! I was refunded by ****** ******* and not the business! They have done nothing to restore my faith in their company. I would never ever recommend them to anyone. They are dishonest, disorganized, and lack the ability to treat customers fairly. May there business be highlighted as one not worthy of anyone's money by the BBB.

09/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mr. Powerwash was contracted to clean and seal our deck.

Initially I thought they did a fair job of cleaning the deck, but upon closer inspection, parts of the deck are still filthy and the railings have splintering due to excessive pressure use. Then there is the issue of destroying my furniture.

Even though I moved all of our lawn furniture out of the way, it was still covered in grime as a result of their power washing. They did not even attempt to move it or ask me to move it further away, or let me know that it might get wet or ruined if not moved.

Then they kept cancelling the appointment date to finish the job. Confirmed an appointment for Tuesday of this week. No show. No phone call, nothing. They have not returned any of my calls. Then I find they have an F Rating with the Better Business Bureau.

At this point I am so fed up with their lack of customer service and common decency, that I do not even want them back on my property.

Desired Settlement
Refund for lousy incomplete job and for damaging my furniture.

Business' Initial Response
We gave Mr. ****** a price of $299 to clean and clear seal his deck. $199 to clean the deck and $100 to clear seal. He was totally happy with the cleaning of the deck. Infact I even cleaned the back side of his house which would typically be another $75.00. Yes an appointment was set for sealing but we were unable to make it then there were issues. I would bewwilling to refund $40 that it would have cost me to purchase the clear seal.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Upon first inspection the deck looked OK. After taking a good look the job was horrible. Patio furniture covered in filth from the washing, even though it was plenty out of the way. Deck has slivers and splinters that need to be sanded before sealing. They were supposed to take care of this. Had a BBB reputable company come out and look at the deck. They were shocked that no one ever got back to me, and left the deck in the condition it is in. Mr. Power Wash did not even clean the top of the dividing wall. The job is sub par and now I have to pay someone to come out and do it right. Seeking at least $100 refund which I believe is fair.

09/13/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Mr. Powerwash did not come to my house on the schedule appointment day and no one will answer my calls.
In April this year I purchased a *** ****** Deals coupon ********* for Mr. Powerwash to power wash my house. In May I called them and scheduled an appointment for 17 July (this was the first date open because they said they were fully booked during the summer). On 17 July I had pulled all the screens and shutters from my house and called Mr. Powerwash and spoke to *** and asked what time they would be coming to my house. *** acted confused and said he would call me back. He did called a bit later and said they would be at my house approximately 4 pm and would called me as they were on their way. 4 pm came and went and no one showed up to my house. I called Mr. Powerwash and no one answered so I left a voice mail. I did the same thing to both the main Mr. Powerwash number and the cell phone that *** had called me from for the next two days and no one called me back. Finally this morning I left another message and told them if I did not hear from them I would be submitting a complaint to BBB and asking *** for a refund.

Desired Settlement
I have requested *** refund my original cost but would like to make sure others know about the shoddy service and lack of professinoalism at Mr. Powerwash.

Business' Initial Response
Again this is a ****** ******* **** ******* issue. The customer may get a refund through the source they purchased from. We can't afford to accept any of these vouchers.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
When I spoke to a representative from Mr. Powerwash early in my dealings with them, I was told that they no longer accepted ****** ****** or ******* certificates. However, I had a *** certificates that I had purchased and was told that they still honored the *** certificate. After scheduling a date for them to come and do the power wash to my house, they did not show up, call me, or return my calls to them. Basically this is shoddy business practices to assure me that they would honor my *** certificate, schedule a date for the work and then just not show up, not inform me of what was happening, and ignore my phone calls. If they were not going to honor the *** certificate, they should have at least called me to inform me and not let me believe for more than two months that they would be performing the service. This is NOT the way a reputable business treats its customers.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pressure Washing, Deck Cleaning & Sealing, Painters - Commercial or Residential, Painting Contractors, Graffiti Removal

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.