BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/29/2012

All About Drains

Phone: (443) 743-8442Fax: (410) 477-32402042 Jasmine Rd, BaltimoreMD 21222-5638 Send email to All About DrainsView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/29/2012

BBB has determined that All About Drains meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered All About Drains' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised All About Drains' rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
11/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company was hired to install a water heater and to fix a leak in a pipe for a fixed price. They fixed the leak but broke the pipe in another area
I contacted NETWORX who offers links to plumbers in the area. All About Drains had five stars. I spoke to All about drains regarding a water heater replacement and for them to fix a leak in my kitchen sink. I also informed the company that there was a clog in the leaking pipe. The company stated they would complete the job for $850.00. This was a verbal agreement made on 11-11-14. The plumber(s) arrived and replaced the heater. They promised they would clean up the mess they left. They did not. They next informed me they were not aware of the kitchen sink leak/clog. They agreed to look at it. He fixed the leak but broke another part of the pipe. He then told me I needed to get all the pipes under the sink replaced/changed to prevent further problems. I informed him that I had not had any problems with the piping other than the leak and the slow drainage. I was told to pay $750 of the $850 quoted price and that they would return the following day to repair the sink. They wrote up a ticket promising to return the following day to fix the pipe the plumber broke. I called several times on 11-12-14 about their promising to return. They kept telling me a tech would be out shortly. No one ever came. The sink can not be used as the broken pipe is wide open. I can not use the kitchen sink at all.

Desired Settlement
I would like full restitution of the amount paid. $750.00. For causing a hardship and for not being professional I would like damages in the amount of $500.

Business Response
Please see attached or caselink.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This accounting is completely untrue. The plumber broke another part of the pipe trying to reinstall the pipe. He also left a crack in another part of the sink. I was given a written promise that the plumber would return the following day. No one came. Repeatedly on Wednesday I called and was promised a technician would return and fix the drain. I waited all day and had to pay a house sitter.

The owner called me a few days later. He asked me what had happened. He promised me he would come out, and would explain how to use the water heater. He said he may be able to fix a broken sink in my basement since I had paid out an additional 550 dollars to have a plumber fix the pipes broken by the plumber. That agency, caton plumbers, informed me of the crack and gave me an estimate on the charge to repair/replace. On Saturday the owner of all about drains did not show or call me.
Since his technician broke the pipe he had stated he was willing to give me two drain cleanings. I informed him that I did not need this. I said I had a broken sink in the basement. He stated he was willing to install a sink in my basement. I told him I had gotten the sink fixed and I was now out 1300 dollars.
The company has lied about what occurred. They are disreputable.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Sewer Pipe, Water Heaters - Dealers, Grease Traps, Pipe & Valve Fitters - Gas, Plumbing - Renovation & Repair, Plumbers, Pipe Inspection, Sump Pump Contractors

Additional Information

top

If a business refers you to another company or uses sub-contractors, BBB recommends that you research that company including reviewing their BBB business review.

BBB file opened: 03/07/2012Business started: 01/04/2011
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr)
500 N Calvert St Ste 401
Baltimore, MD21202
(410) 230-6001
http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/

BBB records show a license number of 6908 for this company, issued by Dept. of Labor, Licensing & Regulation (dllr). Their web address is http://www.dllr.state.md.us/license/. The expiration date of this license is 08/28/2015. This license is in the name of John Joseph Tewey.

Type: Licensed Plumber

Check License Status: https://www.dllr.state.md.us/cgi-bin/ElectronicLicensing/OP search/OP search.cgi?calling app=PLM::PLM_qselect6908

Please note that governmental licensing information may not be current.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rodney Buchanan (Owner)Mr. John Joseph Tewey (Partner)
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Sewer Pipe, Water Heaters - Dealers, Grease Traps, Pipe & Valve Fitters - Gas, Plumbing - Renovation & Repair, Plumbers, Pipe Inspection, Sump Pump Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers residential and commercial sewer drain cleaning, hydro jetting, and cleaning for all types of drains.

Alternate Business Names
All About Drains, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for All About Drains

2042 Jasmine Rd

Baltimore, MD 21222-5638

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2042 Jasmine Rd 

    Baltimore, MD 21222-5638(443) 743-8442

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Greater Maryland, serving Western MD to the Eastern Shore. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*All About Drains is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on December 1, 2012. BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.